09:44 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > CSS Past Papers > CSS Papers (1971-2017) > CSS 2011 Papers

Old Saturday, March 05, 2011

ghulammujtaba86 will become famous soon enough

@ umar brother

dear just go through this article

Alkaline vs Alkali
If you use the terms alkali and alkaline in a non-scientific way, they mean basically the same — a substance that has a higher pH level than 7. It can also be interchangeably used with base. On the other hand, chemically speaking, there is a difference between alkali and alkaline. With the differences in its placement in the table of elements is already a big thing for a great number of chemists.

Alkali is the term used for any of the elements in the first group in the Periodic Table. Besides Hydrogen, which is a gas, Alkali metals include Lithium, Potassium, Rubidium, Caesium and Francium. In looking at the properties of these elements, we see that they have one free revolving electron at the element’s last ring, thus they are put in group 1 of the IUPAC Table of Elements. Alkali metals are silvery in appearance, if not with a golden appearance. These elements are known to be highly reactive and should be stored with the utmost care, like kerosene. You won’t find this type of element in nature.

The term “Alkaline” is used for the Alkaline Earth Metals in the Periodic Table of Elements. These elements are called “earth metals” because they are hard to melt even at a high temperature. Unlike the Alkali elements that have one free electron, Alkaline Earth Metals are found in Group 2 of the IUPAC system Table of Elements, with two free electrons. The elements in this group are Beryllium, Magnesium, Calcium and Strontium.

When it comes to chemical properties, the valence or the free electron at the end of both Alkali and Alkaline metals are what separate one from the other. Alkali metals can form strong bases more rapidly than Alkaline Earth Metals. Another difference between Alkali and Alkaline lies in the fact that Alkaline Earth Metals elements have a higher ionization energy and a smaller ring because of the fact they have an extra electron.

source
Difference Between Alkali and Alkaline | Difference Between | Alkali vs Alkaline

might you clear after this?

Ain Ullah is on a distinguished road

Very easy paper, I think it was made for 10th grade students.

Gulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really nice

My little cousin a student of Matric knew all MCQ's taqreeban..very easy as compared to previous papers.I dont know what's happening but papers are really easy.quite unexpected.What's the programe of fpsc this time.sarey pass karney hain it seems...Every body in my hall was looking happy n content...

It was a good decision to appear this time.

Amna syed is on a distinguished road
Arrow Every day science solved Part-I

EDS Part-I
Respected members plz check my answers:
Q1 c)
Q2 e)
Q3 a)
Q4 b)
Q5 a)
Q6 a)
Q7 c)
Q8 c
Q9 d
Q10 c
Q11 d
Q12 a
Q13 d
Q14 c
Q15 c
Q16 a
Q17 a
Q18 c
Q19 a
Q20 c)
Q21 d*
Q22 -------
Q23 a
Q24 b*
Q25 d
Q26 d
Q27 c*
Q28 c
Q29 b
Q30 e
Q31 c*
Q32 e
Q33 c*
Q34 a
Q35 c
Q36 d
Q37 d
Q38 a
Q39 c
Q40 d
Q41 c
Q42 d
Q43 c
Q44 d
Q45 b
Q46 c
Q47 d
Q48 a
Q49 e
Q50 a
&
Part-II was like falling off a log.
The Following User Says Thank You to Amna syed For This Useful Post:
virgoan (Monday, March 21, 2011)
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by ghulammujtaba86 View Post
@ umar brother

dear just go through this article

Alkaline vs Alkali
If you use the terms alkali and alkaline in a non-scientific way, they mean basically the same — a substance that has a higher pH level than 7. It can also be interchangeably used with base. On the other hand, chemically speaking, there is a difference between alkali and alkaline. With the differences in its placement in the table of elements is already a big thing for a great number of chemists.

Alkali is the term used for any of the elements in the first group in the Periodic Table. Besides Hydrogen, which is a gas, Alkali metals include Lithium, Potassium, Rubidium, Caesium and Francium. In looking at the properties of these elements, we see that they have one free revolving electron at the element’s last ring, thus they are put in group 1 of the IUPAC Table of Elements. Alkali metals are silvery in appearance, if not with a golden appearance. These elements are known to be highly reactive and should be stored with the utmost care, like kerosene. You won’t find this type of element in nature.

The term “Alkaline” is used for the Alkaline Earth Metals in the Periodic Table of Elements. These elements are called “earth metals” because they are hard to melt even at a high temperature. Unlike the Alkali elements that have one free electron, Alkaline Earth Metals are found in Group 2 of the IUPAC system Table of Elements, with two free electrons. The elements in this group are Beryllium, Magnesium, Calcium and Strontium.

When it comes to chemical properties, the valence or the free electron at the end of both Alkali and Alkaline metals are what separate one from the other. Alkali metals can form strong bases more rapidly than Alkaline Earth Metals. Another difference between Alkali and Alkaline lies in the fact that Alkaline Earth Metals elements have a higher ionization energy and a smaller ring because of the fact they have an extra electron.

source
Difference Between Alkali and Alkaline | Difference Between | Alkali vs Alkaline

might you clear after this?

bhai it would look odd k mey eds k section mey english translations kerun matlub apko apnay hi explanation mey line nazar nai ati "If you use the terms alkali and alkaline in a non-scientific way, they mean basically the same — a substance that has a higher pH level than 7. It can also be interchangeably used with base.

the rest of the options were all acids. only this one was base kher you consider your answer right tassali rahay ge d

ghulammujtaba86 will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by umarabbas View Post
bhai it would look odd k mey eds k section mey english translations kerun matlub apko apnay hi explanation mey line nazar nai ati "If you use the terms alkali and alkaline in a non-scientific way, they mean basically the same — a substance that has a higher pH level than 7. It can also be interchangeably used with base.

the rest of the options were all acids. only this one was base kher you consider your answer right tassali rahay ge d
BHAI ye question chemistry se hai? if no then you are right.

i think you just read only non-scientific way brother read also other

When it comes to chemical properties, the valence or the free electron at the end of both Alkali and Alkaline metals are what separate one from the other
Alkali metals can form strong bases more rapidly than Alkaline Earth Metals. Another difference between Alkali and Alkaline lies in the fact that Alkaline Earth Metals elements have a higher ionization energy and a smaller ring because of the fact they have an extra electron.

rest is your choice
42nd CTP (PSP)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 62

umarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura aboutumarabbas has a spectacular aura about

brother there is a difference between Alkali Metals and Alkali. I have given you the link to wikipedia in one of the previous posts. Please consult that. Agur phir bhi dil ko nai par rahee yeh baat sahe tou i am saying na k consider your mcq correct

I also gave you the link to a book where Slaked Lime is mentioned as an example of Alkali. That was a Chemistry book.

and agur scientific baat hay tou: Ca is an alkaline Earth Metal but when it combines with hydroxyl group, it forms a base or interchangeably an alkali
Old Sunday, March 06, 2011

zooni is on a distinguished road
Default EDS objectives

AOA ALL friends here.....best of luck to all of you buddies.....

tension mat ley....ALLAH kher karay ga......

Paper tou easy tha lakin assesment dificult ha janab........

sab ko tou pass ni karay gy na....seats tou wohy hay,,400,,if m nt wrong....

baki jis ne ziada mehnat ki hugy,,phal usay hy milay ga.....

meray 18 wrong ho gye,,,baki fit ha....enjoy tha days,,,,,

and remeber in prayers.......ALLAH bless u all...
The Following User Says Thank You to zooni For This Useful Post:
Farrah Zafar (Sunday, March 06, 2011)

Arthur will become famous soon enoughArthur will become famous soon enough
Default Which planet has maximum number of moon?

a.Jupitor b.Saturn
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2009 - Roll no 1485

Akeeq will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Arthur View Post
a.Jupitor b.Saturn
Jupiter, 63.