-   CSS 2009 Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2009-papers/)
-   -   English Précis and Composition 2009 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2009-papers/23473-english-page-ranking-cis-composition-2009-a.html)

shujaat2009 Monday, May 04, 2009 11:45 AM

Answers of Q.6 (a)

Q.6. (a) Use ONLY FIVE of the following in sentences with illustrate their meaning: (5)
Extra attempt of any Part of the question will not be considered.

(i) Leave in the lurch.
(ii) Hard and fast.
(iii) Weather the storm.
(iv) Bear the brunt.
(v) Meet halfway.
(vi) Turncoat.
(vii) Where the shoe pinches.

1.When he was shocked by the death of his friend, everyone left him in lurch.
2.There are no hard and fast rules for learning english
3.He lost his job,but somehow his family whethered the storm.
4.Ordinary citizens will bear the brunt of higher taxes.
5.They settled argument by agreeing to meet each other halfway.
6.The turncoat betrayed his country.
7.He knows other subjects are easy but , essay-writing is where the shoe pinches.

Any corrections and suggestions are fully admired.

Silent Spectator Monday, May 04, 2009 03:33 PM

[quote=shallowwater]

(i) He said to him, “why do you waste your time?”

[B]Asslamulaikum,[/B]

[B]Dear Shallow water, Me and you both have committed mistakes in my and your's previous posts.[/B]
[B]If in reporting speech we use "Ask", Interrogative sentence, then in reported speech Question is not repeated as you did!![/B]
[B]The exact order is![/B]
[B]He asked him why he wasted his time.[/B]

[B]Regards.[/B]

Junaid Ilyas Monday, May 04, 2009 04:43 PM

what about Precis and it's title ?

@ hi all

post the title and soltuion as well

Raz Monday, May 04, 2009 05:01 PM

Some suggestions:

[QUOTE=Kamran5011]Q.5.

The Traveller exclaimed with wonder that it was [B]very [/B]dark night.

He inquired if i live in karachi.

He inquired whether/if i live[B]d[/B] in karachi.
or
He inquired [B]of me [/B]whether I live[B]d[/B] in karachi.

[/QUOTE]
...................................................................................

Kamran Monday, May 04, 2009 06:22 PM

@ Raz

[QUOTE]The Traveller exclaimed with wonder that it was very dark night.[/QUOTE]

Brother,Agreed.......it sounds more correct..........

[QUOTE]He inquired if i live in karachi.

He inquired whether/if i lived in karachi.
or
He inquired of me whether I lived in karachi[/QUOTE]

He inquired if I lived in karachi.
[B]OR[/B]
He inquired of me whether I lived in karachi.

I think..Both are correct....

Regds

Viceroy Monday, May 04, 2009 06:42 PM

[quote=Junaid Ilyas]@ hi all

post the title and soltuion as well[/quote]

It has been posted and discussed much here

[url]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-2009-past-papers/23325-paper-2009-precis.html[/url]

abeerseh Friday, May 08, 2009 11:36 AM

title of precis paragraph

Hi All!
the title that I suggested for precis was "the functions of Art"
can seniors please guide me about my choice of precis?

armaghan_arif Friday, May 08, 2009 02:42 PM

seniors plz guide

English paper went good Mashallah but I did one blunder,kindly seniors guide me whether I would be awarded or not in that case.
In objective paper,it was asked to fill (colour)the suitable box with blue or black pen.Instead of colouring the correct box I ticked the boxes Now my question is whether they would give me credit or not.Thanks for replying

Dolokhov Friday, May 29, 2009 02:40 AM

title of precis

it is hidden in the last line of precis

''the conception of the fine arts'':blink :dd :wub:

bunko Monday, June 01, 2009 04:42 PM

Correction

b) Correct ONLY FIVE of the following: (5)
Extra attempt of any Part of the question will not be considered.

(i) He swore from God.

Ans: He swore on GOD

08:30 AM (GMT +5)