-   CSS 2013 Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2013-papers/)
-   -   English precis and composition Paper 2013 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2013-papers/75847-english-precis-composition-paper-2013-a.html)

Prince of Duhmp Saturday, February 23, 2013 11:26 PM

Almost everything has been discussed at length, a minor share on my part..

I gave the heading "European Imperialism and and its effects on socio-cultural problems of underdeveloped countries"
Those people who are saying that "In democracy an ideal form of government?" is not mistyped and is correct how would they justify the question mark at the end, since it is a complete sentence. If it would be In then the statement must have been like this "In democracy, what is the ideal form of government? and even it does not sound okay. Wallah Aalam

azure Saturday, February 23, 2013 11:48 PM

[QUOTE=zabee8;562539]what is the antonym of abridgement??? my choice was dissect.... please clarify it![/QUOTE]

-
You chose the correct option, according to my knowledge.
Abridgement means "short ,reduced form of something"
Dissect means "extensive detailing"
-
abstract, synopsis bhi summary hi hoti hai.

Raja Bahar Saturday, February 23, 2013 11:53 PM

Precis Title

Culture, its impects on human societies.

asima khan Saturday, February 23, 2013 11:55 PM

precis title

social and culture development

Raja Bahar Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:00 AM

After I had completed my lecture the bell rang.
or
No sooner I completed my lecture the bell rang.
or
As soon as I completed my lecture the bell rang.

wajid Kiani Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:06 AM

[QUOTE=Raja Bahar;562594]After I had completed my lecture the bell rang.
or
No sooner I completed my lecture the bell rang.
or
As soon as I completed my lecture the bell rang.[/QUOTE]

I did it as; The bell rang after my lecture.

wajid Kiani Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:11 AM

We have amusement in form of music.
You will get hungry for all the work you have to do
We were glad to be there.
The bell rang after my lecture
We don't need to be afraid.

Z Bokhari Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:35 AM

I gave the title 'Culture and Imperialism', the very title of Edward Said's book. :)

Asi01 Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:45 AM

Title from my side

Cultural and social aspects of human societies.

Economic imperialism under colonial powers

Effects of Social and culture changes on subjugated countries.

The precise was taken from IR or Sociology.

Total words 354

made precise 118 1/3

sikander kalhoro Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:59 AM

if he were here ,he would be as wise as he was during the war

&

no sooner i had completed my lecture than the bell rang .

these sentences are 100% correct .

aminshah101 Sunday, February 24, 2013 01:56 AM

Precis Title

My Title of Precis: Cultural Structures: Evolution & Differences :thinking. Words between 110-119

Lets hope for the best and wishing all the very best to my fellows :bow.

aminshah101 Sunday, February 24, 2013 02:00 AM

[QUOTE=sikander kalhoro;562633]if he were here ,he would be as wise as he was during the war

&

no sooner i had completed my lecture than the bell rang .

these sentences are 100% correct .[/QUOTE]

Well I thing these go as follows:

If he was here, he would have been as wise as he was during the war.

"Were" a word I ya You ke sath lagta hai.

As for the other sentence, I wrote

After I had finished my lecture, the bell rang.

sikander kalhoro Sunday, February 24, 2013 02:15 AM

[QUOTE=aminshah101;562652]Well I thing these go as follows:

If he was here, he would have been as wise as he was during the war.

"Were" a word I ya You ke sath lagta hai.

As for the other sentence, I wrote

After I had finished my lecture, the bell rang.[/QUOTE]

my dear 'if i were there" , its a conditional sentence and we never use 'was' in conditional sentences . we always use 'were' . u may ask from senior english teachers .

as far as 2nd sentence is concerned ,so it might be a structure of english grammar .

Nate Sunday, February 24, 2013 08:45 AM

Well instead of doing four pair of words n idioms i did 5 of each coz for the past few years it was mandatory to do 5 idoms n whatnot. So i thought the same would be this year. Woh thu ghar jah ker dekha ke sirf 4 kerne they. So jus wanna clarify that my extra 5 th one would be cut or ignored the first four idioms/pair of words would be counted ? Right?

Durrani Abid Sunday, February 24, 2013 09:27 AM

Source of Precis,2013

[SIZE="2"]Précis has been taken from e-zine-VIEWPOINT(Issue:Feb,2013).
Page is on Faiz on the problems of cultural planning in Asia,Pakistan.
Title is:
Alien imperialist domination of Asian countries was not merely a passive process of pure political supremacy. It was also an active process of social and cultural subversion

[/SIZE]

link:
[url]http://www.viewpointonline.net/faiz-on-problems-of-cultural-planning-in-asia-pakistan.html[/url]

Stay blessed.

rehan459 Sunday, February 24, 2013 09:54 AM

my title was Cultural and social problems of underdeveloped countries. Kindly comment how good was that and please someone post the correct synonyms and antonyms answers. Thanks

SADIA SHAFIQ Sunday, February 24, 2013 10:04 AM

[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]My Title of precis was ; Evolution of post-colonial social and cultural structure of south world .[/COLOR][/U]

[U][B]PART I - COMPULSORY[/B]
[/U][/CENTER]

[B]Q.1 Choose the word that is near most similar in meaning to the Capitalized words. (1 Mark each) (20)[/B]

1. BRISTLE:
a) Regulate
[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]b) Flare up [/COLOR][/U]
c) Frail
d) Exhilarate
e) None of These

2. DELUGE
a). Immerse
b) Rescue
c) Drown
d)[U][COLOR=DarkGreen] Overflow [/COLOR][/U]
e) None of These

3. TIRADE
a) Argument
b) Procession
c) [U][COLOR=DarkGreen]Angry Speech [/COLOR][/U]
d) Torture
e) None of These

4. QUASI
a) Secret
b) Improper
c[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]) Seeming [/COLOR][/U]
d) Whole
e) None of These

5. VILIFY
a) To Prove
b) Boast
c) Defraud
[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]d) Defame [/COLOR][/U]
e) None of These

6. RIGMAROLE
a) Unnecessary
b) Disorder
c[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]) Confused Talk[/COLOR][/U]
d) Game
e) None of These

7. DEIGN
[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]a) Condescend [/COLOR][/U]
b) Pretend
c) Disparage
d) Refuse
e) None of These

8. PROLETARIAT
a) Trade Agreement
b) Government Secretariat
[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]c) Labouring Class [/COLOR][/U]
d) Wealthy Class
e) None of These

9. LUDICROUS
a) Liberal
b) Fearful
[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]c) Comic [/COLOR][/U]
d) Praise Worthy
e) None of These

10. MALEFIC
[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]a) Baleful [/COLOR][/U]
b) Belonging to a male person
c) Social
d) Fighting by Nature
e) None of These
[B]
Choose the word that is [B][U]nearly most opposite[/U][/B] in meaning to the Capitalized words.[/B]

11. LANGUID
a) Feeble
b) Dull
c[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]) Vigorous[/COLOR][/U]
d) Weak
e) None of these

12. HIGH-STRUNG
a) Nervous
b) Tense
c) Costly
[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]d) Calm[/COLOR][/U]
e) None of these

13. METTLE
a) Courage
b) Boldness
c)[U][COLOR=DarkGreen] Cowardice [/COLOR][/U]
d) Spirit
e) None of these

14. ABRIDGMENT
a) Epitome
b[U][COLOR=DarkGreen]) Dissect [/COLOR][/U]
c) Abstract
d) Synopsis
e) None of these

15. CAJOLE
a) Flaunt
b) Coax
c)[U][COLOR=DarkGreen] Beguile [/COLOR][/U]
d) Flatter
e) None of these

16. CELIBACY
a ) Virginity
b[U][COLOR=DarkGreen])Wedlock[/COLOR][/U]
c) Chastity
d) Single
e) None of these

17. INCLEMENT
a) Rough
b) [U][COLOR=DarkGreen]Unpleasant [/COLOR][/U]
c) Unfavorable
d) Genial
e) None of these

18. IRRESOLUTE
a) Ineffective
b) Without resolution
c) Yielding
d)[U][COLOR=DarkGreen] Sturdy[/COLOR][/U]
e) None of these

19. ANNEXATION
a) Supplement
b) Augmentation
c) Appendix
d) [U][COLOR=DarkGreen]Contraction [/COLOR][/U]
e) None of these

20. INCUR
a) [U][COLOR=DarkGreen] Shun [/COLOR][/U]
b) Run
c) Blamed
d) Meet
e) None of these

J Hussain Sunday, February 24, 2013 11:21 AM

My précis title:
Dimensions of Cultural Evolution

Durrani Abid Sunday, February 24, 2013 12:28 PM

[QUOTE=SADIA SHAFIQ;562714][U][B]PART I - COMPULSORY[/B]
[/U][/
14. ABRIDGMENT
a) Epitome
b[U][COLOR="DarkGreen"]) Dissect [/COLOR][/U]
c) Blamed
d) Meet
e) None of these[/QUOTE]

I think " e" (none of these ) is right one.
Abridgement is noun while Dissect is verb and doesn't give opposite meaning in right sense.
Correct me if iam wrong.

HASEEB ANSARI Sunday, February 24, 2013 02:00 PM

[QUOTE]SADIA SHAFIQ:

17. INCLEMENT
a) Rough
[B]b) Unpleasant
[/B]c) Unfavorable
d) Genial
e) None of these[/QUOTE]Antonym of [B]INCLEMENT [/B]is [B]Genial[/B].

[QUOTE=Durrani Abid;562761]I think " e" (none of these ) is right one.
Abridgement is noun while Dissect is verb and doesn't give opposite meaning in right sense.
Correct me if iam wrong.[/QUOTE]

[B]Dissect[/B] is the right answer dear.

Shazi76 Sunday, February 24, 2013 02:45 PM

My Precis title was

Cultural Problems and Colonial Dominant Culture
(120 words)

Roqayyah Sunday, February 24, 2013 03:05 PM

i write precis title ''colonialism and its impact on culture''....:p, at last moment of paper my mind was not producing suitable title for precis :(

RASHIDSIYAL Sunday, February 24, 2013 07:03 PM

my title was.UNDERSTANDING THE PROBLEMS OF CULTURE.

xaharaza Monday, February 25, 2013 12:13 AM

Title: Imperialistic breed of colonials: the Feuds!!! :ninja:
and attempted Let us disagree in an agree-able way!

swmohiuddin Monday, February 25, 2013 06:27 AM

Imperial - Colonials and the Cultural Divide

Revolution vs Evolution

zuhaib ahmed Monday, February 25, 2013 01:19 PM

[QUOTE=Taimoor Gondal;562515]If he [COLOR="Purple"][B]was [/B][/COLOR]here, he would have been as wise as
he was during war.[/QUOTE]

[B]If he [I]were[/I] here, he would have been as wise as he was during the war. [/B]

If i'm wrong, correct me.

[B]Regards,[/B]

khankhajjak Monday, February 25, 2013 06:39 PM

zuhaib bhai what about this one

if he had been here, he would have been as wise as he was during war....

zuhaib ahmed Monday, February 25, 2013 07:14 PM

[QUOTE=khankhajjak;563392]zuhaib bhai what about this one

if he had been here, he would have been as wise as he was during war....[/QUOTE]

[B]It is correct as far as I know. [/B]

Intifada Monday, February 25, 2013 10:00 PM

[QUOTE=zuhaib ahmed;563417][B]It is correct as far as I know. [/B][/QUOTE]

Yes,it is correct as well. It depends upon the condition u r thinking.
Thank you. And zohaib bha as far as i know that would be he was, although i have also read were with he,at many places.

zuhaib ahmed Monday, February 25, 2013 10:19 PM

[QUOTE=Intifada;563515]Yes,it is correct as well. It depends upon the condition u r thinking.
Thank you. And zohaib bha as far as i know that would be he was, although i have also read were with he,at many places.[/QUOTE]
[B]
If he was...... It is wrong, I am cent per cent sure. :)[/B]

The warrior567 Monday, February 25, 2013 10:49 PM

[QUOTE=mommy;563445]yes i know.. but i did the same in paper.[/QUOTE]

proltariat means labour class...check it out :onesec

Kamran Ahmed Monday, February 25, 2013 11:22 PM

[QUOTE=Intifada;563515]Yes,it is correct as well. It depends upon the condition u r thinking.
Thank you. And zohaib bha as far as i know that would be he was, although i have also read were with he,at many places.[/QUOTE]

In subjunctive mood you only use 'were'

Intifada Tuesday, February 26, 2013 04:19 PM

[QUOTE=Kamran Ahmed;563561]In subjunctive mood you only use 'were'[/QUOTE]

kindly explain this rule ,sir. i am not well awared about this subjunctive mood

Kamran Ahmed Tuesday, February 26, 2013 04:53 PM

[QUOTE=Intifada;563802]kindly explain this rule ,sir. i am not well awared about this subjunctive mood[/QUOTE]

Here
[url]http://englishplus.com/grammar/00000031.htm[/url]

salemani Wednesday, February 27, 2013 08:24 PM

[B][SIZE="5"][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Seniors Please Help...................!!!![/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]

Firstly, I wrote down wrong date on answer copy, as I had to write down 23-02-13 but I wrote down 23-[B][COLOR="Purple"]03[/COLOR][/B]-13 and I skipped four pages in my asnswer sheet as I attempted precis, expansion, narration and correction from page number 1 to 10. After that by mistakenly, I started the rest question from page number 15th and 16th onwards.....:dd....:clap or ni karo neend pooori....:mad:...acchaa..After that I crossed with pen which I left blank pages...Now my all papers went good, just did this stupid mistake, as I was in tention and I commited bbbbBBlunders:cry... Please help me out......:sad:

salemani Wednesday, February 27, 2013 08:47 PM

What do you think, is it a BIG mistake? and its effect will be ""Failed considered""???

sikander kalhoro Wednesday, February 27, 2013 08:48 PM

yes ,it would give worse impression on the checker .

salemani Wednesday, February 27, 2013 08:49 PM

[QUOTE=sikander kalhoro;564521]yes ,it would give worse impression on the checker .[/QUOTE]

:(.......it was just a a little mistake '''''''''as the date was 23-2-13... I wrote it 23-[B]3[/B]-13.... I hope he will not note it....Allah will do better...

ihsanelahi Thursday, February 28, 2013 02:43 PM

[QUOTE=wajid Kiani;562600]
We don't need to be afraid.[/QUOTE]

u have changed the tense of the sentence,,,, we did not need to be afraid ... is correct one

Gotam Thursday, February 28, 2013 08:45 PM

[QUOTE=salemani;564495][B][SIZE="5"][COLOR="RoyalBlue"]Seniors Please Help...................!!!![/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]

Firstly, I wrote down wrong date on answer copy, as I had to write down 23-02-13 but I wrote down 23-[B][COLOR="Purple"]03[/COLOR][/B]-13 and I skipped four pages in my asnswer sheet as I attempted precis, expansion, narration and correction from page number 1 to 10. After that by mistakenly, I started the rest question from page number 15th and 16th onwards.....:dd....:clap or ni karo neend pooori....:mad:...acchaa..After that I crossed with pen which I left blank pages...Now my all papers went good, just did this stupid mistake, as I was in tention and I commited bbbbBBlunders:cry... Please help me out......:sad:[/QUOTE]

Issue of date is really not a concern as after each paper FPSC personnel check all copies for such mistakes and correct them instantly :happy:

And the left-pages is certainly an issue.:huh: It is because examiner might not even give a glance to the pages after he sees crosses. He would consider that as the end of paper if there is not indicative for continuation.

Hope that the examiner is not stressful the time he picks your answer-book, that would be your lucky part.

Good luck.

04:40 AM (GMT +5)