-   CSS 2014 Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2014-papers/)
-   -   Computer Science 2014 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2014-papers/90491-computer-science-2014-a.html)

EkPakistani Thursday, February 27, 2014 10:24 PM

Computer Science 2014

[B][CENTER][U]PART-II
SECTION-A[/U][/CENTER]

Q.No.2.
(a) The processor must have a process to handle exceptions.
Explain four things that the processor must be able to identify and/or take care of.
(b) Discuss the essential servers/services that are used to complete an intranet.
(c) Discuss why BIOS are not changed frequently.

Q.No.3.
(a) Distinguish between the architecture of x86 to a 68000 processor.
(b) Differentiate differences of Unix operating system over Microsoft window OS.
(c) Write a note on network topology. Which topology will you prefer for an techniques?

[CENTER][U]SECTION-B[/U][/CENTER]

Q.No.4.
(a) What advantages are provided in OOP over other conventional programming techniques?
(b) Draw a data structure of a course registration system for a university level institute.
(c) Discuss some cost estimation techniques used in software engineering.

Q.No.5.
(a) Write a do-while loop to compute the sum of the first 30 positive odd integers.
(b) Write a note on sorting algorithm. Write sodo-code for for insertion sort.
(c) What are the key issues on which software engineering do work with?

[CENTER][U]SECTION-C[/U][/CENTER]

Q.No.6
(a) Discuss the concepts of data independency in DBMS.
(b) Web-applications are getting popular now a days.Write a note on languages use for web-application developments.
(c) What is the difference between Raster and Vector Graphics? Write down at least four differences.

Q.No.7.
(a) Write a note on DATA Models.
(b) Discuss essential issues in network programming.
(c) Define 'Transformation' and discuss briefly its types.
[/B]

touqeer2010 Thursday, February 27, 2014 10:46 PM

(b) Draw a [B]data structure[/B] of a course registration system for a university level institute.

data structure? or Data Flow diagram ??

MisbahMalik Thursday, February 27, 2014 10:53 PM

[QUOTE=touqeer2010;700571](b) Draw a [B]data structure[/B] of a course registration system for a university level institute.

data structure? or Data Flow diagram ??[/QUOTE]

[URL]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Data_structure_diagram[/URL]

Initial few objectives were related to OS and Networking and were bit alien. Rest appeared easy to me. Last two were also confusing :waiting

Subjective portion was easy. I attempted Q no. 3, 4, 5 and 6 (3a and 6c went pathetic). Oh damn, I just recalled that I missed the 2nd portion of 3c :unsure: as I forgot to write about the 'preferred topology' after writing too much on network topologies. Khair ab kia ho sakta hai ... :hurt

Overall paper was easy and theoretical.

Good luck everyone ...

zarrar Sunday, October 11, 2015 05:33 PM

Assalam o alaikum.

I m student Ms Electrical Engineering. I plan to appear in CE-16 with computer science as one of my optional subjects.
I welcome seniors to guide me for preparation.

MisbahMalik Monday, October 12, 2015 07:48 PM

[QUOTE=zarrar;870675]I m student Ms Electrical Engineering. I plan to appear in CE-16 with computer science as one of my optional subjects.
I welcome seniors to guide me for preparation.[/QUOTE]

If your BS/BE is not in CS/SE/IT or any related discipline then don't even think to opt Computer Science...

zarrar Monday, October 19, 2015 03:20 PM

which else subject should i choose?
i have enough knowledge about computer architecture, networking etc but not good in programming.

zarrar Wednesday, October 21, 2015 08:29 AM

Assalam o alaikum.

is there any forum from which solution to above question paper may be available?

Muhammad Bilal Butt Thursday, October 29, 2015 01:11 AM

[QUOTE=zarrar;874106]is there any forum from which solution to above question paper may be available?[/QUOTE]

You may not be able find any useful resource over here or even on internet, if the above paper is concerned, because the paper is an amalgam of question from different CS courses, covering most of, I guess, all computer science. Since you're not a CS grad, so you will have difficulty finding stuff relevant to the above paper.

zarrar Thursday, October 29, 2015 11:45 AM

Assalam o Alaikum

Q.2(a) any 4 things that processor must be capable of identifying and handling means 4 exceptions or something else????

Muhammad Bilal Butt Thursday, October 29, 2015 06:45 PM

[QUOTE=zarrar;877866]Q.2(a) any 4 things that processor must be capable of identifying and handling means 4 exceptions or something else????[/QUOTE]

I spent a little time knowing about it and I guess it's about what are the exceptions a typical processor handles or takes care of. Question is related to Computer Architecture course. I hated this course when I was doing masters otherwise I would come up with an answer :)

04:39 PM (GMT +5)