-   CSS 2017 Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2017-papers/)
-   -   International Relations Papers 2017 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-past-papers/css-papers-1971-2017/css-2017-papers/114303-international-relations-papers-2017-a.html)

Anam Akram Monday, February 20, 2017 04:30 PM

International Relations Papers 2017

[CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=4]FEDERAL PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION
COMPETITIVE EXAMINATION - 2017
FOR RECRUITMENT TO POST IN BS - 17
UNDER THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

[U] INTERNATIONAL RELATIONS, PAPER - I[/U][/SIZE][/FONT]
[/CENTER]

TIME ALLOWED: THREE HOURS
PART - I (MCQs): MAXIMUM 30 MINUTES
PART - I (MCQs): MAXIMUM MARKS = 20
PART - II MAXIMUM MARKS = 80

[B] NOTE:[/B]
(i) Part - II is to be attempted on the separate Answer Book.
(ii) Attempt ONLY FOUR questions from PART - II. ALL questions carry EQUAL marks.
(iii) All the parts (if any) of each Question must be attempted at one place instead of at different places.
(iv) Candidate must write Q. No. in the Answer Book in Accordance with Q. No. in the Q. Paper.
(v) No Page / Space be left blank between the answers. All the blank pages of Answer Book must be crossed.
(iv) Extra attempt of any question or any part of the attempted question will not be considered.

[CENTER][FONT=Book Antiqua][SIZE=3][U] PART - II
[/U][/SIZE][/FONT][/CENTER]

Q. 2 What are the essential difference between the liberal internationalist and realist theories? In your opinion, why is realism the most dominant theory in the discipline of International Relations? (20)

Q. 3 The positivist and post-positivist debate offers a striking contrast in terms of approach and methodology of the study of International Relations. Describe, compare and critically evaluate the divergence between the two debates. Are there any point of convergence? (20)

Q. 4 The nation-state system is in a flux with an independence referendum in Scotland and another projected for Catalonia in September 2017. Critically evaluate reasons as to why the modern nation-state in Europe faces internal challenges to its sovereignty and territorial integrity. (20)

Q. 5 The rise of China is being heralded as a return of 'balance of power' politics in International relations. As the world moves towards multi-polarity, account for the essential features of the international security architecture and its evolving dynamics. (20)

Q. 6 Define globalization and its attendant manifestations in global politics. Do you agree with the view that economic globalization is a form of neo-imperialism which only stands to exploit the Third World states? (20)

Q. 7 Critically evaluate the strategically competitive dynamics of Pakistan-India relations in the context of Pakistan's growing ties with China and India's increased alignment with the United States. (20)

Q. 8 The non-state actor as a military competitor is gaining ground in the Middle East with the rise of ISIS. What strategies can the United Nations and major powers implement in order to ensure peace and security in Iraq and Syria. (20)

Taaruf Bhatti Monday, February 20, 2017 05:21 PM

[IMG]https://imageshack.com/i/pnd6j6tmj[/IMG]

fawadhash Monday, February 20, 2017 06:16 PM

[B][U]Paper 1 MCQs[/U][/B]

Wilson center chair
Foreign policy models
Dayton accord
Higher than hopes book
Offensive and defensive realism
The rise and fall of great nations
Theory of complex interdependence

[B][U]Paper 2 MCQs[/U][/B]

Highest carbon emitter
defense minister of Pakistan
work started on which route of CPEC
Biggest arms supplier
Which gas account for most of greenhouse effect
Highest natural gas reserves

I will keep posting as I remember

fawadhash Monday, February 20, 2017 06:39 PM

[QUOTE=Yousuf Aziz;1004162]It looked like Pak affairs paper. :D[/QUOTE]

And when the result come the basis of not giving enough marks would be "no application of theory" especially in the second part.

Roqayyah Monday, February 20, 2017 06:52 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004154]Paper 1 that i remeber
Wilson center chair
Foreign policy models
Dayton accord
Higher than hopes book
Offensive and defensive realism
The rise and fall of great nations
Theory of complex interdependence

Paper 2 that I remember
Highest carbon emitter
defense minister of Pakistan
work started on which route of CPEC
Biggest arms supplier
Which gas account for most of greenhouse effect
Highest natural gas reserves

I will keep posting as I remember[/QUOTE]
Which gas account for most of greenhouse effect yh question tu nhii tha instead
Iran pakistan gas pipeline is called peace pipeline
zarb e azb started on 15 june 2014
APS peshawar school attack on 16th december 2014

mharis ali Monday, February 20, 2017 06:58 PM

It seems easy paper as compared to paper 1. Dawn readers could easily attempt 4 questions

Taaruf Bhatti Monday, February 20, 2017 07:13 PM

[QUOTE=mharis ali;1004180]It seems easy paper as compared to paper 1. Dawn readers could easily attempt 4 questions[/QUOTE]

This year each paper contained topics of GK and current affairs be it General Science, Pak Studies IR or subject itself. Other thing which must be surprising is that, every paper contains China-Centric questions CPEC and OBOR.
One must learn that FPSC have done this to discourage ratafication or rote learning and it tests candidate's general perspective and analytical reasioning.
Those who perpared deep and remembered history must be worrying😳

Yousuf Aziz Monday, February 20, 2017 07:26 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004165]And when the result come the basis of not giving enough marks would be "no application of theory" especially in the second part.[/QUOTE]
What theories should be applied to Energy Crisis & Climate Change? Just curious.

fawadhash Monday, February 20, 2017 07:44 PM

[QUOTE=Yousuf Aziz;1004203]What theories should be applied to Energy Crisis & Climate Change? Just curious.[/QUOTE]

:blink no idea but I have seen past dmc where people were quoting that theoretical application is necessary.In second paper I couldn't find any question that involved anything other than general discussion except for that question of liberal institutionalism.

Ahmad Abbas Monday, February 20, 2017 08:10 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004216]:blink no idea but I have seen past dmc where people were quoting that theoretical application is necessary.In second paper I couldn't find any question that involved anything other than general discussion except for that question of liberal institutionalism.[/QUOTE]

Those all questions from paper 2 were from Nuclear Proliferation, India Pakistan Relations, and Theories of Peace and War. Terrorism also has a theoritical perspective. It was theoretical, analytical, and policy oriented. Such papers are difficult most to attempt.

comp Engr Monday, February 20, 2017 08:13 PM

[QUOTE=Ahmad Abbas;1004231]Those all questions from paper 2 were from Nuclear Proliferation, India Pakistan Relations, and Theories of Peace and War. Terrorism also has a theoritical perspective. It was theoretical, analytical, and policy oriented. Such papers are difficult most to attempt.[/QUOTE]

Yes.You are 1000000000% my boy.My favouriteeeee Topic "Bombs,Highly enricheddddd"

ali ak Monday, February 20, 2017 08:26 PM

[U][B]Paper 1 MCQs[/B][/U]

[LIST=1][*] 1st chair woodrow wilson, zimmerman[*] neorealism concepts structuralism, geopolitics fp etc[*] balance of threa, walt[*] offensive/defensive neo realism, Power+Security maximizer[*] Realist+Rational+revolution smthng theory[*] NPT[*] Detente relaxation[*] graham allison FP decision, rational actor+bureaucracy+state decision[*] Constructivism main person[*] tragedy of gr8 power politics, mearshimer[*] newest state, sudan probably[*] Russia is semi presidential[*] French PM[*] US electoral college = 538[*] IBRD = int bank on development reconstruction[*] ostopolitik = east...[*] Gatt = trade tariff[*] Complex INterdependence = robert kohane + joseph nye[*] GDR = East Germany[*] Dayton Peace = bosnia[/LIST]
[U][B] Paper 2 MCQs[/B][/U]

[LIST=1][*] Defense Minister khawaja[*] CPEC route ?[*] Zarb e azab 15/6[*] Yemen strike 26/3[*] CO2 emissions china[*] Higher then hope mandella[*] mi5 uk[*] Modern Slavery bill uk[*] No army = iceland[*] Nato Sec Gen = Stollenberg[*] Eurozone = 18[*] Weapon exports USA[*] largest Gas = Russia i think[*] Iran Pak = Peace Pipe[*] Peace Angel 2014 = Sino Pak[*] APS 16 dec[*] Bandung 1955[*] Peaceful Coexistance = Kruschev[*] 92 environment conf = rio[*] rise & fall of gr8 power = paul kennedy[/LIST]

fawadhash Monday, February 20, 2017 08:40 PM

[QUOTE=Ahmad Abbas;1004231]Those all questions from paper 2 were from Nuclear Proliferation, India Pakistan Relations, and Theories of Peace and War. Terrorism also has a theoritical perspective. It was theoretical, analytical, and policy oriented. Such papers are difficult most to attempt.[/QUOTE]

I did try to solve the nuclear factor question and the India-Pakistan relation by using at-least some language of IR to differentiate it from current affairs paper. Lets hope the checker is bit lenient. :bow

comp Engr Monday, February 20, 2017 08:42 PM

[QUOTE=ali ak;1004243]Paper 1
1st chair woodrow wilson, zimmerman
neorealism concepts structuralism, geopolitics fp etc
balance of threa, walt
offensive/defensive neo realism, Power+Security maximizer
Realist+Rational+revolution smthng theory
NPT
Detente relaxation
graham allison FP decision, rational actor+bureaucracy+state decision
Constructivism main person
tragedy of gr8 power politics, mearshimer
newest state, sudan probably
Russia is semi presidential
French PM
US electoral college = 538
IBRD = int bank on development reconstruction
ostopolitik = east...
Gatt = trade tariff
Complex INterdependence = robert kohane + joseph nye
GDR = East Germany
Dayton Peace = bosnia

Paper2
Defense Minister khawaja
CPEC route ?
Zarb e azab 15/6
Yemen strike 26/3
CO2 emissions china
Higher then hope mandella
mi5 uk
Modern Slavery bill uk
No army = iceland
Nato Sec Gen = Stollenberg
Eurozone = 18
Weapon exports USA
largest Gas = Russia i think
Iran Pak = Peace Pipe
Peace Angel 2014 = Sino Pak
APS 16 dec
Bandung 1955
Peaceful Coexistance = Kruschev
92 environment conf = rio
rise & fall of gr8 power = paul kennedy[/QUOTE]

France PM is Bernard Cazeneuve

Ahmad Abbas Monday, February 20, 2017 08:46 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004250]I did try to solve the nuclear factor question and the India-Pakistan relation by using at-least some language of IR to differentiate it from current affairs paper. Lets hope the checker is bit lenient. :bow[/QUOTE]

It would be good If you touched NSG, dual policy of non-Proliferation regime, IAEA concerns...

The comclusion would be "Proliferation begets proliferation" as Muhammad Elbaradei, former IAEA chief often comments.

[QUOTE=comp Engr;1004252]France PM is Bernard Cazeneuve[/QUOTE]

Higher than Hopes - Mandella
Constructive theory founded by - Alexander Wendt

Ahmad Abbas Monday, February 20, 2017 08:51 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004250]I did try to solve the nuclear factor question and the India-Pakistan relation by using at-least some language of IR to differentiate it from current affairs paper. Lets hope the checker is bit lenient. :bow[/QUOTE]

On India Pakistan part of the question: Arms race, cbms, Deterrence, escalation, Nuclear zero, Mutual Vulnerability, Mutual Assured Destruction and total war were the key terms from theory

fawadhash Monday, February 20, 2017 08:52 PM

[QUOTE=Ahmad Abbas;1004255]It would be good If you touched NSG, dual policy of non-Proliferation regime, IAEA concerns...

The comclusion would be "Proliferation begets proliferation" as Muhammad Elbaradei, former IAEA chief often comments.[/QUOTE]

:blink In nuclear factor question I focused more on the how the nuclear issue has influenced the international politics by giving example of Indo-US alignment in context of strategic agreement. US concerns about the nuclear proliferation vis-a-vis Iran, North Korea. Indian alignment with west to contain china through concession of strategic agreement. Pakistan desire to maintain nuclear parity and contain India pushing it to china. I wonder if it can be considered right?:confused:

[QUOTE=Ahmad Abbas;1004259]On India Pakistan part of the question: Arms race, cbms, Deterrence, escalation, Nuclear zero, Mutual Vulnerability, Mutual Assured Destruction and total war were the key terms from theory[/QUOTE]

On this one I focused more on claims and counterclaims of each other about terrorism on part of other. Kashmir issue as freedom fighters or terrorists? Pakistan harboring terrorists or not? India supporting terrorism via Afghanistan or not? Linking this debtate to global perspective of terrorism :thinking

Ahmad Abbas Monday, February 20, 2017 08:59 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004261]:blink In nuclear factor question I focused more on the how the nuclear issue has influenced the international politics by giving example of Indo-US alignment in context of strategic agreement. US concerns about the nuclear proliferation vis-a-vis Iran, North Korea. Indian alignment with west to contain china through concession of strategic agreement. Pakistan desire to maintain nuclear parity and contain India pushing it to china. I wonder if it can be considered right?:confused:[/QUOTE]

It's absolutely right! Theory in applied IR is just relating it with the present. So in this case 'Key Terms' of Peace & War were to be related with a potential conflict.

Rest you have justified the answer

fawadhash Monday, February 20, 2017 09:00 PM

[QUOTE=Ahmad Abbas;1004263]It's absolutely right! Theory in applied IR is just relating it with the present. So in this case 'Key Terms' of Peace & War were to be related with a potential conflict.

Rest you have justified the answer[/QUOTE]

Oh thank God. Its a relief.

Ahmad Abbas Monday, February 20, 2017 09:10 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004262]On this one I focused more on claims and counterclaims of each other about terrorism on part of other. Kashmir issue as freedom fighters or terrorists? Pakistan harboring terrorists or not? India supporting terrorism via Afghanistan or not? Linking this debtate to global perspective of terrorism :thinking[/QUOTE]

Good one! You don't need to worry about this paper. That is what it was all about. Just for making it a theoritical, one could criticize the global terrorism with "Critical Theory of Terrorism" and lack of definitional agreement. And exploitation of the term terrorist - using against the minority specially Muslims. That is what India is doing as a state sponsor of terrorism, snd yet benefitted post 9/11 by Bush rhetoric of Islamic Terrorism.

Then another dimension of theory was assymetrical warfare through proxies, the separatist movements funded by Indian intel, limited war chances, Strategic Culture of Hindu Fascism could also be linked.

fawadhash Monday, February 20, 2017 09:17 PM

[QUOTE=Ahmad Abbas;1004269]Good one! You don't need to worry about this paper. That is what it was all about. Just for making it a theoritical, one could criticize the global terrorism with "Critical Theory of Terrorism" and lack of definitional agreement. And exploitation of the term terrorist - using against the minority specially Muslims. That is what India is doing as a state sponsor of terrorism, snd yet benefitted post 9/11 by Bush rhetoric of Islamic Terrorism.

Then another dimension of theory was assymetrical warfare through proxies, the separatist movements funded by Indian intel, limited war chances, Strategic Culture of Hindu Fascism could also be linked.[/QUOTE]

I was more worried about these two questions. Now, i am feeling a bit more relaxed. Thanks for your long explanations.

Ahmad Abbas Monday, February 20, 2017 09:24 PM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004271]I was more worried about these two questions. Now, i am feeling a bit more relaxed. Thanks for your long explanations.[/QUOTE]

You're welcome sir. Good luck for your rest of exam and result, InshaAllah!

Taaruf Bhatti Monday, February 20, 2017 09:31 PM

MCQs.

1. GATT stands for?
2. NPT stands for?
3. Current defense ministet?
3. APS Peshawar Happened on which date?
4. Dente means?
5. Higher than hopes book written by?
6. Which route of CPEC is in progress?
7. Highest gas reserves are in which coutries?
8. Prime minister of france?
9. The rise and fall of nations book written by?
10. IBRD stands for?
11. Which country is without military?

Any one else ??

fawadhash Tuesday, February 21, 2017 06:21 AM

[QUOTE=Taaruf Bhatti;1004275]MCQs.

1. GATT stands for?
2. NPT stands for?
3. Current defense ministet?
3. APS Peshawar Happened on which date?
4. Dente means?
5. Higher than hopes book written by?
6. Which route of CPEC is in progress?
7. Highest gas reserves are in which coutries?
8. Prime minister of france?
9. The rise and fall of nations book written by?
10. IBRD stands for?
11. Which country is without military?
??[/QUOTE]

All the MCQs have been shared by someone on the previous page.

Greenboat Tuesday, February 21, 2017 09:06 AM

[QUOTE=fawadhash;1004328]All the MCQs have been shared by someone on the previous page.[/QUOTE]

Could not find? Where?

Yousuf Aziz Tuesday, February 21, 2017 12:37 PM

[QUOTE=Greenboat;1004339]Could not find? Where?[/QUOTE]

[B]Here they are: [/B]

[QUOTE=ali ak;1004243][U][B]Paper 1 MCQs[/B][/U]

[LIST=1][*] 1st chair woodrow wilson, zimmerman[*] neorealism concepts structuralism, geopolitics fp etc[*] balance of threa, walt[*] offensive/defensive neo realism, Power+Security maximizer[*] Realist+Rational+revolution smthng theory[*] NPT[*] Detente relaxation[*] graham allison FP decision, rational actor+bureaucracy+state decision[*] Constructivism main person[*] tragedy of gr8 power politics, mearshimer[*] newest state, sudan probably[*] Russia is semi presidential[*] French PM[*] US electoral college = 538[*] IBRD = int bank on development reconstruction[*] ostopolitik = east...[*] Gatt = trade tariff[*] Complex INterdependence = robert kohane + joseph nye[*] GDR = East Germany[*] Dayton Peace = bosnia[/LIST]

[LIST=1][*] Defense Minister khawaja[*] CPEC route ?[*] Zarb e azab 15/6[*] Yemen strike 26/3[*] CO2 emissions china[*] Higher then hope mandella[*] mi5 uk[*] Modern Slavery bill uk[*] No army = iceland[*] Nato Sec Gen = Stollenberg[*] Eurozone = 18[*] Weapon exports USA[*] largest Gas = Russia i think[*] Iran Pak = Peace Pipe[*] Peace Angel 2014 = Sino Pak[*] APS 16 dec[*] Bandung 1955[*] Peaceful Coexistance = Kruschev[*] 92 environment conf = rio[*] rise & fall of gr8 power = paul kennedy[/LIST][/QUOTE]

Greenboat Tuesday, February 21, 2017 03:28 PM

[QUOTE=ali ak;1004243][U][B]Paper 1 MCQs[/B][/U]

[LIST=1][*] Defense Minister khawaja[*] CPEC route ?[*] Zarb e azab 15/6[*] Yemen strike 26/3[*] CO2 emissions china[*] Higher then hope mandella[*] mi5 uk[*] Modern Slavery bill uk[*] No army = iceland[*] Nato Sec Gen = Stollenberg[*] Eurozone = 18[*] Weapon exports USA[*] largest Gas = Russia i think[*] Iran Pak = Peace Pipe[*] Peace Angel 2014 = Sino Pak[*] APS 16 dec[*] Bandung 1955[*] Peaceful Coexistance = Kruschev[*] 92 environment conf = rio[*] rise & fall of gr8 power = paul kennedy[/LIST][/QUOTE]

Some questions are difficult to understand in way, please rephrase them in simple meaningful sentences would be very kind of you.

civilengineer92 Monday, February 27, 2017 01:15 PM

Tough paper..

Sent from my SM-N9005 using Tapatalk

ubad Tuesday, March 14, 2017 03:07 PM

I think you touched the right dimensions in your answer.
The answer should revolve around in the context of:
- US-India Nuclear Agreement 2005 - shifting the strategic balance in India's favor.
- US efforts to include India in NSG - Pakistan's point of view is that it should be criteria-based instead of merit-based
- Main determinant of US strategic inclination towards India is to counterweight China through balance of power in Asia
- The international pressure on Pakistan to reduce its fissile material which reflects duplicity as India has already amassed vast fissile material.
- Pressure on Pakistan to get rid of tactical weapons, given India's cold doctrine poses existential threat to Pakistan.
- US as mediator in case of escalation between Pakistan and India.

Raam Deen Thursday, March 23, 2017 02:41 PM

What's the answer to Systems Thinking Theory question? Anybody?

Raam Deen Saturday, March 25, 2017 07:57 PM

[QUOTE=Raam Deen;1013418]What's the answer to Systems Thinking Theory question? Anybody?[/QUOTE]
People? Systems Thinking Theory please?

Faiizaa Monday, March 27, 2017 10:13 AM

Aoa. Can anybody tell me what is meant by age relaxation of 8 years? To whom this age relaxation is granted?

Raam Deen Monday, March 27, 2017 12:36 PM

What exam are we talking about here? CSS Exam does not have any such age relaxation (8 years) ��

Faiizaa Monday, March 27, 2017 01:12 PM

This is generally written in ppsc job advertisement

clamintine Tuesday, June 06, 2017 01:24 AM

Can someone recommended a book for international relations by any Pakistani author. I purchased the book of JWT but I am not satisfied with it, further I am using YouTube and britannica encyclopedia ​ as a source of prepartion for notes...
I am awaiting your humble response.
Thanks in advance

Yousuf Aziz Tuesday, June 20, 2017 10:25 AM

[QUOTE=clamintine;1025867]Can someone recommended a book for international relations by any Pakistani author. I purchased the book of JWT but I am not satisfied with it, further I am using YouTube and britannica encyclopedia ​ as a source of prepartion for notes...
I am awaiting your humble response.
Thanks in advance[/QUOTE]

Don't go for some random Pakistani publisher. If you want to get good marks, consult some books from Suggested Readings by FPSC in IR section like Globalization of World Politics by John Baylis.

NasimBajwa Saturday, September 30, 2017 02:02 PM

IR paperII of 2017

aoa
guys kindly share paper 2 of IR 2017 if any one have

08:52 PM (GMT +5)