04:06 PM (GMT +5)

Old Thursday, January 26, 2017

De Despot is on a distinguished road
Default Refugee and migrant cirses. Write-up.

Seniors here to guide me? Kindly have a glance at this write-up I have written in line with some articles I read about Refugees crisis. Any senior to guide me: what areas need to be improved + tips and ideas.
My write-up:

Reguees and migrant crises
Refugees and migrants crisis is not a new phenomenon. Human beings have been moving from place to place by choice and under compulsion since ancient time. But today the situation has taken a completely new turn. Today, more people are fleeing their native regions due to violence, disaster, war, climate change and human rights violation. More than 60 million people are refugees and more are expected to migrate. The images of boats filled with people, drowning children and women, masses held behind fences and children crossing walls have caused more global attention towards the refugee crisis. News of persecution, deaths and smugglings are regularly making headlines in the mainstream media and more people are voicing for the refugees today.
But, it is ironic that despite these concerns very few countries are hosting a chunk of refugees and migrants. Nearly half of refugees are being hosted by only 8 countries. There is a lack of equitable responsibility sharing. Developed countries are showing reluctance to welcome the migrants and refugees. Fear, ignorance and xenophobia have ruled the reason. Many deaths are caused by mismanagement of shifting the people. Asylum-seekers are dying in their search of safe havens.
However, refugee crisis is not insuperable to be overcome. It can be smoothly addressed and overcome by adequately managed system of handling and shifting the people. We can save many lives and rehabilitate hundreds of people before they, in this state of frustration and isolation, turn to criminal networks in their search of safety and security.
The crises demand global sharing, equitable responsibility, cooperation and reciprocity. Xenophobia, discrimination and intolerance towards refugees need to be negotiated by the leaders of hosting countries. Mr Ban Ki-moon rightly observed that “it is time to build bridges, not walls”.
The global community should move ahead to strengthen the system of managing large movements of the masses. Every state needs to acknowledge and honour their responsibilities and international obligations. We need to ensure the safety and dignity of displaced people. The disdainful and discriminating treatment towards asylum-seekers is motivated by baseless presumptions that welcoming migrants and refugees would cause unrest, crimes and it would negatively affect the economy of the hosting countries. However, empirical precedents suggest that refugees and migrants, in fact, contribute to the growth and development of hosting countries. They generate their economy, redraw the demographic map of hosting countries which in itself is a direct advantage. Besides this addressing the drivers of forced displacements still needs to be a top priority for the international community. Thirdly, smugglers and traffickers should be combatted with an iron hand to ensure the safe migration of people.
Thus, it cannot be escaped to conclude that greater global cooperation, unity and equitable participation are the only ways to address this increasingly dreadful global challenge. Migration and movement of people will continue to grow in the coming future due to violence, disaster, violation of human rights, climate change and shortage of trade, skill and labor. The global community can only tackle this by cooperation and serious attention in which it has failed until now.

___I would be thankful to you for your valuable suggestion and tips. Many Thanks.

Last edited by De Despot; Thursday, January 26, 2017 at 05:33 PM. Reason: Spelling + Grammar
Old Monday, January 30, 2017

sadafazam is on a distinguished road

Very well written.
If you are preparing for an essay on this topic then its ok, otherwise divide it into headings, which can be, introduction, origins of the crisis, overview of refugee-producing countries, host countries, routes, legislations, turkey and EU deal over refugees, risks, challenges, effects(xenophobia,worldwide right wing popularity, stricts borders), suggestions followed by a conclusion.

Make a map of eastern europe and mark the relevant routes and destinations of refugees. You can find the charts in the link below.

http://america.aljazeera.com/watch/s...nt-crisis.html

You can also add UNHCR and its role. The 1951 refugee convention can also be quoted.
De Despot (Tuesday, January 31, 2017)
Old Tuesday, January 31, 2017

Thumbs up dead right.

Originally Posted by sadafazam View Post
Very well written.
If you are preparing for an essay on this topic then its ok, otherwise divide it into headings, which can be, introduction, origins of the crisis, overview of refugee-producing countries, host countries, routes, legislations, turkey and EU deal over refugees, risks, challenges, effects(xenophobia,worldwide right wing popularity, stricts borders), suggestions followed by a conclusion.

Make a map of eastern europe and mark the relevant routes and destinations of refugees. You can find the charts in the link below.

http://america.aljazeera.com/watch/s...nt-crisis.html

You can also add UNHCR and its role. The 1951 refugee convention can also be quoted.
So many Thanks. Such valuable suggestions were not really expected.
Your suggestion for "Headings" is really missing from my write-up (Yes, it isn't an essay).
Secondly, I deliberately skipped the point of UN Refugee convention 1951. Well, It would have supported my points better, you are right.
Third, I am little bit confused that if drawing maps is a better idea 'concerning' the accuracy of maps!
Again: your suggested headings are impressive.
Jazakallah.

sadafazam is on a distinguished road

You are welcome.
Map need not be 100% accurate. It just needs to be highly suggestive of the actual locations.

Originally Posted by sadafazam View Post
You are welcome.
Map need not be 100% accurate. It just needs to be highly suggestive of the actual locations.
aha, Thank You Sadafazam. I shall consider drawing some maps from now forth.