Tuesday, April 23, 2024
04:07 PM (GMT +5)

Old Friday, April 16, 2010
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 176Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

rose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the rough
Thumbs up Commentary on "Balsphemy Laws: A fact Sheet"

On March 15th, 2010 (Yesterday) I confronted an article namely "Belasphemy Laws: A fact sheet" (Link to the article)
In the said article the writer wanted to say that the article 295 of the constitution is disciminatory and should be ommitted or changed. The article 295 of the constitution says two important things;

1. Islam would be the state religion of Pakistan.

2. Anyone who uses unrespective remarks against the Holy Prophet Hazart Muhmmad (PBUH) would be tried under criminal laws.

The writer was of the view that such constitutional articles are disciminatory as minorities are captured under this. Moreovere, he presented some statistics as well which show that almost 50 % of culprits under this article are non-muslims.

I was astonished to read that article that why one has got this thing in mind. Lets us see why article 295 is necessary to be in the constitution.

1. Islam would be the state religion of Pakistan.

Islam is the real democracy if applied in its full context. The period of Hazrat Muhammad (PBUH) and four khalifas was superb in terms of economic, social, educational and cultural development. Moreovere, the Quaid said several times that " Pakistan would be Islamic democracy". The word Islamic and democracy needs to be given attention.

Moreovere, the Quaid satd that "we did not struggle for Pakistan to aquire a piece of land but we wanted to have a homeland where we could live according to islamic teachings".

If Israel can describe itself a jew state why not Pakistan a Muslim state?

There is no disadvantage of being Pakistan as a Muslim state rather it is pride.

2. Anyone who uses unrespective remarks against the Holy Prophet Hazart Muhmmad (PBUH) would be tried under criminal laws.

This section of the consittution is also necessary. We are Muslims and the respect of our Holy Prophet is pivotal for us. If we just see our cultural norms the respect to our elders, parents, religious leaders, political leaders is very important for us so why not the Holy person who brought us out of darkness.

The above sections of article 295 has nothing to do with discrimination. It does not proposes dual punishment for Muslims or Non Muslims.

Rather the person should have tried to convince the pupulace that using such unrespective remarks against any one of the Prophet (offcourse including Hazrat Isa and Hazrat Dawood) should be treated as criminal laws and should be incorporated in the constitution.

Please discuss this vital issue. May be my ideas are not clear so want to discuss this.

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Saturday, April 17, 2010 at 08:41 AM. Reason: Link to article added
The Following User Says Thank You to rose_pak For This Useful Post:
Old Friday, April 16, 2010

mirzahadi is on a distinguished road

It depends how you want to look at the issue. If one knows Islam, he won't have any doubt about the validity of these articles. If you want to follow
Swiss civil code like Turkey or British common law in post-colonial states then Pakistan's constitution certainly needs and extensive revision.

Is the author of the article non-Muslim? That will explain a lot of things.
Old Sunday, April 18, 2010
40th CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 176Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

rose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the roughrose_pak is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by mirzahadi View Post
It depends how you want to look at the issue. If one knows Islam, he won't have any doubt about the validity of these articles. If you want to follow
Swiss civil code like Turkey or British common law in post-colonial states then Pakistan's constitution certainly needs and extensive revision.

Is the author of the article non-Muslim? That will explain a lot of things.
Mansoor Raza is the author of the article, seems a Muslim name. Howevere, the issue is looking at the history, ideology, struggle to achieve it and then the current situation of Pakistan makes it easily understandable that such an article from the constitution should not be abloshed rather a sub caluse can be added about the desrespect of any of the Prophets would be treated as criminal activity.

So the need of the hour is not omission but addition.
Old Friday, April 30, 2010

Suprah is on a distinguished road

Why are we still stuck following these draconian laws made during the Saudi-US funded insanity of Zia-ul-Haq's dark age era of the 1980s?

In a country where the 97% of the population is Muslim, who the hell would even want to commit blasphemy?

Frankly speaking, the whole case of blasphemy laws are just an excuse to target the minorities and smaller sects in this country - something which the JI, IJT, JUI and their sectarian killer allies etc have loved doing.

Christians, Hindus, Shias, Ahmedis, and even normal Sunnis have been targeted by these laws when all they did or say was NOTHING!

The need of the hour is omission. We dont need such useless laws.
40th CTP (OMG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 333

fromQAU will become famous soon enoughfromQAU will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Suprah View Post
Why are we still stuck following these draconian laws made during the Saudi-US funded insanity of Zia-ul-Haq's dark age era of the 1980s?

In a country where the 97% of the population is Muslim, who the hell would even want to commit blasphemy?

Frankly speaking, the whole case of blasphemy laws are just an excuse to target the minorities and smaller sects in this country - something which the JI, IJT, JUI and their sectarian killer allies etc have loved doing.

Christians, Hindus, Shias, Ahmedis, and even normal Sunnis have been targeted by these laws when all they did or say was NOTHING!

this seems to be another extremist view.
sir u seem to be under the influence of secular extremism.
the mentioned article is unambiguous and unequivocally succinct.
we are an islamic state and the said article is part of our sacred constitution.
here the need is that of understanding the article in a broader perspective rather than in a blinkered and parochial one.the article represents the vision and policy of an islamic state.it does not target any particular sect, religion or section of people.those who take the illegal action against any particular sect or minority group, the state administration must take cognizance of such mishap and take the legal action against the perpetrators after an independently verified inquiry.

Originally Posted by fromQAU View Post
this seems to be another extremist view.
sir u seem to be under the influence of secular extremism.
the mentioned article is unambiguous and unequivocally succinct.
we are an islamic state and the said article is part of our sacred constitution.
here the need is that of understanding the article in a broader perspective rather than in a blinkered and parochial one.the article represents the vision and policy of an islamic state.it does not target any particular sect, religion or section of people.those who take the illegal action against any particular sect or minority group, the state administration must take cognizance of such mishap and take the legal action against the perpetrators after an independently verified inquiry.
The difference with my "extremism" (as you put it laughingly) is that I dont call it divine-made, and call my opponents kafir wajib-ul-qatl etc.

Religious interference in Pakistan has ruined a country which around 30 or so years ago did not care what religion its citizens followed. Now if one does not follow some line of faith, he/she is declared enemy.

Bhai jaan...go to google and search the victims of blasphemy laws in Pakistan. How can you forget when the 100+ homes of Christians (and a whole family) were burned down in Gojra because of the Sipah-e-Sahaba using the baseless lie of Quran being desecrated to target and arson the lives of minorities.

and that is the most recent example.

We have seen the legacy of Zia's Islamisation. And all we have gotten are sectarian killings, suicide bombings, increased religious intolerance, and of course the growing self-righteous hypocrisy in our awaam.

30 years of suffering...enough with that already. This was not God Given that's for sure....unless the US$ is considered the equivalent of a deity here.
40th CTP (OMG)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 333

fromQAU will become famous soon enoughfromQAU will become famous soon enough

The difference with my "extremism" (as you put it laughingly) is that I dont call it divine-made, and call my opponents kafir wajib-ul-qatl etc.

Religious interference in Pakistan has ruined a country which around 30 or so years ago did not care what religion its citizens followed. Now if one does not follow some line of faith, he/she is declared enemy.

Bhai jaan...go to google and search the victims of blasphemy laws in Pakistan. How can you forget when the 100+ homes of Christians (and a whole family) were burned down in Gojra because of the Sipah-e-Sahaba using the baseless lie of Quran being desecrated to target and arson the lives of minorities.

We have seen the legacy of Zia's Islamisation. And all we have gotten are sectarian killings, suicide bombings, increased religious intolerance, and of course the growing self-righteous hypocrisy in our awaam.

30 years of suffering...enough with that already. This was not God Given that's for sure....unless the US$ is considered the equivalent of a deity here.
the matter, u r referring us to, demonstrates the inefficiency of law-enforcing agencies and judiciary or the uselessness of constitutional articles or provisions??
Provincial Civil Service
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,335 Times in 569 Posts
Xeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdom

If you have grudge against religious parties then avoid to use this subject for criticizing their rule. Problem is not with Law rather its with us. We failed to implement law properly not the law by itself.

Although this law is not implemented with letter and spirit yet and no one is sentenced but this Law should be retained and on the Day of Judgment we will be proud of it that we had a law to protect the sanctity of Prophethood.

No matter we are following the Sunnah of Prophet PBUH apparently or not but every youth who Loves Holy Prophet will ready to die for him for any cause. Ghazi Alam Din and Amir Chema were not Molvis, rather they had western education but surpassed Molvis.

This law is not digested by Ahmadis and Qadiyanis. They still dream for their status as Muslim in Pakistan. You called it a draconian law - don't you are exceeding your limits ? Is it draconian act to to protect the name and sanctity of the Holy Prophet PBUH in a majority Muslim country. Shame on such Muslims who even think to call such laws draconian.

Although there are many points in your views which are arguable but for instance if all of your points are accepted then here questions arises whether all these acts such as massacre of Christain, sectrainism, religiuos intolerance etc are production of these laws or it is our attitude which led to these issues.

Zia's Afghan Policy, Musharaf's u-turn and certain other policies of government were the key factors responsible for such issues not the law by itself. Taliban used the name of religion then what you think Law of Shariah should be repealed.

If we validate you stance that Sipah-e-Sahaba Org. was responsible for Gojra incident altogether, assume that there is no Blasphemy law in the country, do you think that Sipah-e-Sahaba or other parties will not resort to such acts? That Law provided neither cover nor played any role in such incidents.

I failed to understand that why people first target that Law then people. Law is decorated in statute books whereas people are at work in the field. Did that law provide cover to those who were declared responsible for Gojra incident?

Last edited by Andrew Dufresne; Friday, April 30, 2010 at 10:57 PM. Reason: Merged

javed_iqbal7863 is on a distinguished road

Mr. Suprah!
keep it in mind that we separated this part of land from India to protect Islam and Islamic values.
Dear fellows!
I think we should avoid to discuss this topic. because, we all the Muslims have emotional thoughts regarding this topic.

Originally Posted by javed_iqbal7863 View Post
Mr. Suprah!
keep it in mind that we separated this part of land from India to protect Islam and Islamic values.
Dear fellows!
I think we should avoid to discuss this topic. because, we all the Muslims have emotional thoughts regarding this topic.
For a moment I gave a sad laugh at that line.

Correction: Pakistan was a country formed by uniting the Muslim majority parts and provinces of British India.

That line you wrote reminds me of Shoaib Malik's embarrassing press conference after Pakistan lost the 2008 World T20 final to India. Him, apologising to the rest of the Muslim World over Pakistan's loss.

Bhai sahib, India has more Muslims than Pakistan's entire population and they sure as hell were more than happy to laugh at Shoaib's naive statements - which sort of reflect the mentality among many Pakistanis.

Hum ney Muslim dunya ko sambhalney ka theyka nahin utha rakha....time to wake up from the Zia-era dream that Pakistan, with the help of Saudi-American aid - is supposed to be an Islamic citadel.

chalain, koi nahi...meri baat nah sahee...laikin Hasan Nisar ki baat ko ghor sey suniye.

http://www.youtube.com/v/6mDwHsK1qxg

Originally Posted by Crown Prince View Post

If you have grudge against religious parties then avoid to use this subject for criticizing their rule. Problem is not with Law rather its with us. We failed to implement law properly not the law by itself.

Although this law is not implemented with letter and spirit yet and no one is sentenced but this Law should be retained and on the Day of Judgment we will be proud of it that we had a law to protect the sanctity of Prophethood.

No matter we are following the Sunnah of Prophet PBUH apparently or not but every youth who Loves Holy Prophet will ready to die for him for any cause. Ghazi Alam Din and Amir Chema were not Molvis, rather they had western education but surpassed Molvis.

This law is not digested by Ahmadis and Qadiyanis. They still dream for their status as Muslim in Pakistan. You called it a draconian law - don't you are exceeding your limits ? Is it draconian act to to protect the name and sanctity of the Holy Prophet PBUH in a majority Muslim country. Shame on such Muslims who even think to call such laws draconian.

Although there are many points in your views which are arguable but for instance if all of your points are accepted then here questions arises whether all these acts such as massacre of Christain, sectrainism, religiuos intolerance etc are production of these laws or it is our attitude which led to these issues.

Zia's Afghan Policy, Musharaf's u-turn and certain other policies of government were the key factors responsible for such issues not the law by itself. Taliban used the name of religion then what you think Law of Shariah should be repealed.

If we validate you stance that Sipah-e-Sahaba Org. was responsible for Gojra incident altogether, assume that there is no Blasphemy law in the country, do you think that Sipah-e-Sahaba or other parties will not resort to such acts? That Law provided neither cover nor played any role in such incidents.

I failed to understand that why people first target that Law then people. Law is decorated in statute books whereas people are at work in the field. Did that law provide cover to those who were declared responsible for Gojra incident?
Protect from what and from whom?

a 100 people world wide died when the Muslim World went crazy and rioted over some obscure cartoons published in a secular non-religious country named Denmark. as far as I know, drawing pictures of Rasoolallah is forbidden for Muslims....so why should non-Muslims in a non-Muslim country be made to accept that as well?

what sort of example that gives to 5/6th of humanity? that muslims are crazy bigots who cant tolerate any thing without resorting to threats of violence?

Last edited by Arbab.Danish; Wednesday, May 05, 2010 at 04:19 AM. Reason: youtube link twice