11:02 AM (GMT +5)

Old Friday, July 01, 2011

xaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by aariz View Post
How it should be? U mean every sate or only Islamic republic?

totally agreed.
If there cannot be Islam implemented in its true form, then every so-called Islamic Republic should be made secular.
39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 222

floydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to all
Default Islam and the Secular State

In order to be a Muslim by conviction and free choice, which is the only way one can be a Muslim, I need a secular state.
(Abdullahi Ahmed An-Na'im)

‘’The growth of republican spirit and the gradual formation of legislative assemblies in Muslim lands constitute a great step in advance. The transfer of the power of Ijtihad from individual representatives of schools to a Muslim legislative assembly which, in view of the growth of opposing sects, is the only possible form Ijma can take in modern times, will secure contributions to legal discussion from laymen who happen to possess a keen insight into affairs..........The only effective remedy for the possibilities of erroneous interpretations is to reform the present system of legal education in [Islamic] countries, to extend its sphere, and to combine it with an intelligent study of modern jurisprudence.’’
(Allama Iqbal)

Hence, it can be concluded that secularism is inevitable in Islamic countries because only a secular state offers a workable future for the place of Shari'a in Muslim societies
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to floydian For This Useful Post:
SADIA SHAFIQ (Wednesday, October 05, 2011), Saleeqa Batool (Friday, July 01, 2011), xaara~hussain (Friday, July 01, 2011)

Faseeh Muhammad has a spectacular aura aboutFaseeh Muhammad has a spectacular aura aboutFaseeh Muhammad has a spectacular aura about

One of my friend and class fellow always opposes me on believing that Pakistan must be secular. He supports his argument with a couplet of Iqbal that says..

"Juda ho deen sayasat say to rah Jati hay Changezi"

If i have reproduced it correctly. But dear fellows, Jinnah created Pakistan because Muslims in India were facing threat in Implement ion of Islamic rules & promotion of Islamic values by having a "Minority" in the legislatures. once we secured a country where majority is Muslim and majority is also acknowledged as sovereign, there remains no need to make "Haawa" of Islam as the laws will be made by Muslim majority and the de-fecto rule in the country will be Islamic via Muslim majority legislatures. That is simple !!
The Following User Says Thank You to Faseeh Muhammad For This Useful Post:
aariz (Saturday, July 02, 2011)

xaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by Faseeh Muhammad View Post
One of my friend and class fellow always opposes me on believing that Pakistan must be secular. He supports his argument with a couplet of Iqbal that says..

"Juda ho deen sayasat say to rah Jati hay Changezi"

If i have reproduced it correctly. But dear fellows, Jinnah created Pakistan because Muslims in India were facing threat in Implement ion of Islamic rules & promotion of Islamic values by having a "Minority" in the legislatures. once we secured a country where majority is Muslim and majority is also acknowledged as sovereign, there remains no need to make "Haawa" of Islam as the laws will be made by Muslim majority and the de-fecto rule in the country will be Islamic via Muslim majority legislatures. That is simple !!
Right!

ahmadd is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by ali emraan View Post
@maha
1. Actually,there is a misconception that if we pay respect to the minorities or other sects then we essentially have to be secular to do this.
Secularism terminologically has nothing to do with honouring the minorities.
it has just one objective:RELIGIONLESSNES

2. Moreover, in the multiethnic,multilingual,multicolour and multi religions society of pakistan,islam is the only binding force alongwith cricket(sorry to say). If someone inorder to follow blindly the western socalled intellactuallism
tends to erase this binding force then the following offsprings would be created;
PAKHTOONISTAN,REPUBLICS OF BLAUCHISTAN,SINDHU DESH etc.
1. Secularism doesn't mean "a state without religion" but it means a state where every one has the liberty and freedom to live according to their own religion.as in India,The US,UK and other countries.You have seen the Muslim as the president of India and a sikh as PM and a black president in the US,which is not possible in Pakistan.Citizen should be treated on equality which is the teaching of islam.

2.we are facing identity crises.A country which get independence on the name of Islam and also urdu was considered a unifying force at that time.But Urdu has failed to become a unifying force and same is the case with Islam.If we have any unifying force for nationalism then it is "ant-Indiannes". But Indians have a nationalism of Indianness which has binded them as a nation.
"In 1947 there was a nation searching for a country and now there is a country searching for a nation"
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,188 Times in 1,060 Posts
Taimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant future

some people are arguing in fever of a secular state. If Pakistan should be a secular state then what was the purpose of making a separate homeland in the sub-continent. India is a secular state and Pakistan is based on Islamic ideology.
Pakistan ka matlb kia La Illa Ha Ill Allah.
If we are going to make Pakistan a secular state then we are dis-agreeing with the ideology of Pakistan.
Islam protects the rights of minorties and give them freedom of thought, freedom of worship and all kind of freedom.

unfortunately Pakistan is not running on her ideology and it had become an aristocracy rather than an Islamic democratic state.
Rixwan (Friday, July 01, 2011)

Originally Posted by Taimoor Gondal View Post
some people are arguing in fever of a secular state. If Pakistan should be a secular state then what was the purpose of making a separate homeland in the sub-continent. India is a secular state and Pakistan is based on Islamic ideology.
Pakistan ka matlb kia La Illa Ha Ill Allah.
If we are going to make Pakistan a secular state then we are dis-agreeing with the ideology of Pakistan.
Islam protects the rights of minorties and give them freedom of thought, freedom of worship and all kind of freedom.

unfortunately Pakistan is not running on her ideology and it had become an aristocracy rather than an Islamic democratic state.
u mean to say favour?

so, tell me one thing. is it the same Islamic state which Quaid meant for? nahi na?> where is religious tolerance? Islam k naam ko misuse kia ja rha hai. why don't we understand. why don't we understand that Islamic ideology was the need of past to get a free homeland.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,188 Times in 1,060 Posts
Taimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant futureTaimoor Gondal has a brilliant future

Originally Posted by xaara~hussain View Post
u mean to say favour?

so, tell me one thing. is it the same Islamic state which Quaid meant for? nahi na?> where is religious tolerance? Islam k naam ko misuse kia ja rha hai. why don't we understand. why don't we understand that Islamic ideology was the need of past to get a free homeland.
I pointed in my last post that this is not the same Islamic state.
It had become an aristocracy...
so we have to make it a religious state which is based on ideology of Pakistan rather than making it a secular state
Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: 2011Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Rixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really nice

Originally Posted by xaara~hussain View Post
u mean to say favour?

Yes, definitely its not that Islamic state which ought to be...but whose fault is this? Is this the fault of Pakistan or its people..? if its the fault of Pakistan than go ahead make it secular.. but if not than what is the point in changing her status...its the fault of us..the people..We have to change ourselves...Pakistan in itself is nothing its what its people want to make it...anything with no origin will be ruined in no time..Make this country secular means make this country with no origin, no rules, no basis..without this country will be finished...and if you are going to compare this country with other secular states than make one thing very much clear about one of the belief about which our religion tells us..that All the facilities and rewards for the non-muslims will be given in the world...they are not going to enjoy any benefit in the life here after...

as you said, Islam's name is being misusing than once again same thing comes than who is harming Islam, no one but WE, we have to correct or change oursleves....

Islam is not the thing which we use for our benefits and when the purpose is fulfilled leave it and change the path to get the benefit from something else...
Islam is the complete code of conduct which guides in every walk of life...now its up to us that are we going to derive benefit from it or not...

Originally Posted by Rixwan View Post
Yes, definitely its not that Islamic state which ought to be...but whose fault is this? Is this the fault of Pakistan or its people..? if its the fault of Pakistan than go ahead make it secular.. but if not than what is the point in changing her status...its the fault of us..the people..We have to change ourselves...Pakistan in itself is nothing its what its people want to make it...anything with no origin will be ruined in no time..Make this country secular means make this country with no origin, no rules, no basis..without this country will be finished...and if you are going to compare this country with other secular states than make one thing very much clear about one of the belief about which our religion tells us..that All the facilities and rewards for the non-muslims will be given in the world...they are not going to enjoy any benefit in the life here after...

as you said, Islam's name is being misusing than once again same thing comes than who is harming Islam, no one but WE, we have to correct or change oursleves....

Islam is not the thing which we use for our benefits and when the purpose is fulfilled leave it and change the path to get the benefit from something else...
Islam is the complete code of conduct which guides in every walk of life...now its up to us that are we going to derive benefit from it or not...
unfortunately the version of Islam followed here is not real Islam. Our society is growing Islamophobic. It's better making it secular, and that's the need of time. we cannot revert back the 'so-called' beliefs of masses and make them be moderate and tolerant.

Originally Posted by Taimoor Gondal View Post
I pointed in my last post that this is not the same Islamic state.
It had become an aristocracy...
so we have to make it a religious state which is based on ideology of Pakistan rather than making it a secular state
Making it a religious state? hmmm? and how is it possible?

Last edited by Rixwan; Saturday, July 02, 2011 at 09:43 AM. Reason: Merged