10:11 AM (GMT +5)

Old Saturday, April 07, 2007

prissygirl will become famous soon enoughprissygirl will become famous soon enough
Exclamation RED Mosque/Hufsah Madressah and ISLAM

we are all aware of the critical situation that is prevailing in the federal area in the name of Islam.yesterday,the In-charge of red mosque(lal masjid) Maulana Abdul Aziz announced the establishment of parallel judicial system in the mosque and sister saminaries.at the same time ,he also announced that if the govt.tries to interfere or attach the area the students will not hesitate in attempting suicide attacks to rout govt. on its fronts.
It is stated that the main purpose of this sort of announcements is to make arrangements for the establishment of the true islam in the country bcoz Pakistan was founded on the name of islam,and no stone will left unturned in making efforts for the flourishment of islam throughout the country.
It is the hot issue of the day in Pakistan and many questions are arising.women of Hasfah Madressah are shown with the sticks in their hands screaming slogons against the immorlity descended in the country.
how should we take this issue....is this something to do with politics, morality or terrorism??cant it be compared with the TAlibani doctrines? no doubt,it has been considered as a taliban supported movement and the students are becoming the pro-taliban brigade.

the actions done by the students of the concerned mosque and the announcements made by administration are condemned and criticised by the govt. and even the islamic scholars because making such announcements and and use of power(as done by the students) to impliment islam (by a group of people) is never the spirit of Islam.
do Islam allows the suicide attacks in such saituations bya single a group who want to impliment islam forcefully and forcably(it is rediculous to think like this)???
was this group flourishing silently...that at this stage it has become a threat to the country??
or
Was Govt. sleeping till now or waiting for something considerable or miserable to come up and happen???

doesnt it look like that the talibanian school of thought has held the roots of the country????
why the govt.is still reluctant to take steps to impede their way towards extremism??
in such a crucial situation what is the impact of Pakistan on the international media where Pakistan is already very notorious in this regard....and even when Pakistan is an ally of US against terrorism?????
and especially how will islam be presented on global screen even when we know that islam is other name of morality,humanity,humbleness and modesty???
cant this sort of activities be considered as the reaction against the govt.'s ultra modernisation towards Islam???......one believes it or not,govt is not depicting islam on true grounds.....what i believe,if pro taliban brigade of Laal masjid is one extreme....Govt is the other(there are no. of examples one of them is the PTV's censor policy).where we know that Islam is itself is the name of balance.shouldnt this brigade think that the best way to spread and preach islam is to be sweet and soft than harsh and cruel as their is no cruelty or "jabar" in islam???? but at the same time it is the fact that it is not the state that preaching or spreading of islam is required but the implementation of the rules and laws is required and the only way it can be done is when Govt.feels its responsibility towards it.

its govt.duty to impliment islam on true basis with all its spirit rather than letting any other group to raise and deliver orders of its own accord.
i will be grateful to all of you if u discuss this hot issue with all facts and figures because it is the hour of grief for me when i have a look on the country's internal situation.
reagrds

amy has a spectacular aura aboutamy has a spectacular aura about

The violent behaviuor of jama Hafsah girls proofs that some madressahs are training students to physically fight for their extremly dangerous concept of religious righteousness and activism.
i dont know that why our glorious religion is being hijacked by these fundamentalist groups.

A Rehman Pal is on a distinguished road

@PrissyGirl..
No doubt it is the Govt. duty to implement islam on true basis and with all its true spirits.. but wat happens is few ppl like have hijacked ISLAM in our country... wenever there will b some action or inquiry against such issues u would c same old faces delivering speeches and changing the thoughts of innconect ppl and compelling them to opt for a fundamental approach.
so Govt. has to wait and c ..........
and the same is happening now a days..
Old Sunday, April 08, 2007

Concerned is on a distinguished road

@ prissy girl.
Well I am grateful that you have given excellent analysis on the topics even if you don't realize that most of the answers you gave urself. I am getting happier day-by-day that there are so many good, concernced and dedicated people living in Pakistan. Inshallah if we join hands no body can stop us in attaining ur aims.
Well I will try to analyze the topic by quoting ur own statements and then explaining them in my own philosophy, that's what I think:
"Maulana Abdul Aziz announced the establishment of parallel judicial system in the mosque and sister saminaries."
Well first of all who is he? Who made him the khalifah as they say. Who made him Qazi. If u say the students of that madrassa, then how can he be the qazi of the whole society, who selected him, Any jew can come and he can say that he is Qazi and he will implement parallel judicial system and he will bring true Islam. I bet he even don't know the true spirit of islam as he himself says "if the govt.tries to interfere or attach the area the students will not hesitate in attempting suicide attacks to rout govt. on its fronts".
The one who himself is talking about suicides and homicides can be a Qazi?? The one who don't obeys the rules of a society can become a Qazi??? well its simply ridiculous. Was Islam spread by weapons and was it imposed on the people? Well try to understand that Islam was always spread by the behaviour and the personality of that great muslim scholars. It was and it will never be spread by imposing it forcely on the people. Islam spreads when ppl accept it from the bottom of their heart and it always occurs when the non-muslims are impressed by the muslims who lead a humble and peaceful life according to Islam, which also emcompasses all the issues/fields of the world. No doubt, there will be wars against Non-Muslims but War against the Muslims themselves is ridiculous. Even the war against non-muslims occurs when they attack you and there are so many principles governing that as well e.g; No women, child or older people should be murdered, those who demand shelter 4m you, u should give them shelter. Do you think these so-called True Muslims are doing these things??? And also in Islam the killing of a single person is killing of the whole humanity, so do you think that Islam encourages to attempt suicide attacks. In which not only the life of the person himself is finished but he may kill so many intellects, so many doctors, engineers, other specialists of the future. It may even kill true Muslims as well. Just how can they justify these suicide attacks. The most important point to remember here is that these so called true people are so .... ( i wanted to say many things here but my religion as well as my philosophy compels me not to do so) , that they even don't realize that they are making instability inside the country and it gives such a suitable time for International hands to attack the country. Moreover, economy related issues, even instability in the minds of the ppl living here as well. Do you think, they are the true Qazis and true depictors of Islam?? In my opinion they are not true Muslims, they are Hypocrites - well but I must manifest here that I am no body to declare them as anyone, I am just saying according to what they are doing and what I think of that. God plz forgive me if I am not right. But if they are hypocrites for sure than plz God, I beg to pray that either convert them to true Islam or give them such punishments that they become a illustration for others.
It is stated that the main purpose of this sort of announcements is to make arrangements for the establishment of the true islam in the country bcoz Pakistan was founded on the name of islam,and no stone will left unturned in making efforts for the flourishment of Islam throughout the country.
well do these people were in favour of even creating Pakistan... And now they will left no corner to make Islam flourish in the country. well I am seeing which Islam are they trying to flourish - true Islam that they have created on their own. I am saying this because this is what they are showing. Don't realize well see for urself. "women of Hasfah Madressah are shown with the sticks in their hands screaming slogons against the immorlity descended in the country".
This is the teaching of their own created Islam.
how should we take this issue....is this something to do with politics, morality or terrorism??cant it be compared with the TAlibani doctrines? no doubt,it has been considered as a taliban supported movement and the students are becoming the pro-taliban brigade.
Well I think the root causes of these meet with the International politics, propaganda and these inturn have associations with the cold war which hass been there for so many years. Well I haven't analyzed the talibans nor the Al-qaeeda completely yet, so can't say much about this. Your views are welcomed. Well if u are giving examples of 9/11 or 7/7, plz give ur views that were these actually done by the talibans or were these pre-planned. And is taliban, a muslim revolution or a jewish .... And if they are actually a muslim revolution then Is international media giving them a bad reputation and what we all hear is just a mere Propaganda. I need views abut this"
the actions done by the students of the concerned mosque and the announcements made by administration are condemned and criticised by the govt. and even the islamic scholars because making such announcements and and use of power(as done by the students) to impliment islam (by a group of people) is never the spirit of Islam.
well the last few words are the spirit of your article as one of our teachers say "article ki jan". These announcements are also condemned even by the opposition parties or they should be.
do Islam allows the suicide attacks in such saituations bya single a group who want to impliment islam forcefully and forcably(it is rediculous to think like this)???
you gave answer yourself. But here u should focus on the underlined words.
was this group flourishing silently...that at this stage it has become a threat to the country??
Those against this country and against Islam were always there and they are always seeking opportunities to threat the country. This group may have his roots attached to middle-eastern power - u know what I mean to say.....
Was Govt. sleeping till now or waiting for something considerable or miserable to come up and happen???
well in single word YES. but I want to ask a few questions, Is this the responsibilty of the present govt. only or the previous govt. are to be blammed also. I mean to say if the previous govts. had their writs in the rural areas of frontier and Baluchistan, this would have never happened. Why they didn't tried to educate the people there. its a whole debate. But yes the present govt. has a role and the past govt. also had their roles too.
Well I see this issue also in this perspective that now the govt. has started to make their writ in these areas whether it is a reaction to that or not - its to early to comment on that, but that could be a possibilty. Well I appreciate that the govt. tried to reach these areas where no other govt. of the past reached but whether there strategies are right or wrong again its a whole new debate.
doesnt it look like that the talibanian school of thought has held the roots of the country????
Well it could be the roots of the remote areas but the roots of the whole country - I suspect not, It could be spread in the whole country but in the roots of the whole country - certainly not.
why the govt.is still reluctant to take steps to impede their way towards extremism??
Good question but answer is simple. They threatened for the suicide attacks and the problem is not that simple as it seem. Govt. has the responsibilty of peace and stability in the country. So the govt. is not trying to take sudden irrational steps without thinking.
in such a crucial situation what is the impact of Pakistan on the international media where Pakistan is already very notorious in this regard....and even when Pakistan is an ally of US against terrorism?????
First yes the situation is crucial. Secondly, International media itself has always been trying to disgrace Pakistan. We should not be thinking of them at the moment. And they are so prejudiced in their opinions and what they show is only one side of the picture. They just help there think-tanks in achieving their aims. On the other hand, our media is just concerned in making heaps of profits and nothing else.
and especially how will islam be presented on global screen even when we know that islam is other name of morality,humanity,humbleness and modesty???
Islam has been presented to the global screen in the form of Quran, Prophet(PBUH) and the Muslim scholars. That is why they are now just trying to disgrace islam so that there new generation is not attracted towards it. But the greater the try to disgrace Islam, the quicker it spreads. Here comes our duty to depict what the true Islam is...
cant this sort of activities be considered as the reaction against the govt.'s ultra modernisation towards Islam???......one believes it or not,govt is not depicting islam on true grounds.
I believe it may have a part to play in it. Its 100% accurate that the govt. is not depicting true Islam and that could be the reason that ppl started to join these ultra-extremist organizations. Where they are slowly brain-washed ( a type of hypnotism) and then this is what happens. It may not be a direct reaction but it could be a factor.. And one thing that I wanted to share with you. People say moderate Islam - well what is meant by moderate Islam. I say Islam is moderate in its self and there is nothing in Islam that is extreme, so why then the statements like moderate islam. It should be like the actual Islam in its fullest.
at the same time it is the fact that it is not the state that preaching or spreading of islam is required but the implementation of the rules and laws is required and the only way it can be done is when Govt.feels its responsibility towards it.
its govt.duty to impliment islam on true basis with all its spirit rather than letting any other group to raise and deliver orders of its own accord.

Very well said. But are there any responsibilites of the citizens as well or not?. If govt. is not efficient, the reason for it is that the people are not efficent as well... ( well its a whole debate again). But totally agreed that the law and order is the responsibilty of the govt. and I am sorry to say that no govt uptil now has been able to fulfil there responsibilities.
will be grateful to all of you if u discuss this hot issue with all facts and figures because it is the hour of grief for me when i have a look on the country's internal situation.
Well infact we all are grateful to you that you thought about the matter, you feel concerned about our country - our nation - our religion. And the analysis you give are BRILLIANT. and I think that the matter, as you presented has covered the whole story. May u have a long and happy life, Sis. and may u always think (and act too) so beautifully for our country. And Yes, we all are also really grieved about the present situation. And finally I have this special quote dor u and ur marvelous article:
"Vigorous let us be in attaining our ends, and mild in our method of attainment."
Again thank u so very much....
Old Sunday, April 08, 2007

prissygirl will become famous soon enoughprissygirl will become famous soon enough

@concerned
i am really grateful to u for ur appreciation and encouragement.....actually i was not expecting so.......when i was writing it i hadconfusions in my mind from where to start and where to end.....though i have a clear concept in my mind regarding this issue,but i want it to be discussed properly in the forum and the way u have settled my scattered thoughts about this issue is really appreciable....i like it and thanks alot

Old Monday, April 09, 2007

jsmawais is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Nice discussion

Excellent discussion and great analysis... I would like to increment it further by providing my own views on a few aspects. These may not coincide with the views of other people, but thats how I think.
Due to dearth of time, I will stick to the points which I want to share without reiterating known facts.

STANCE OF MADRASSAH STUDENTS IN THE LIGHT OF THEIR OWN FIQH
For most of the educated people in general, and for the members of this forum in particular, the attitude of the students of Lal mosque and madressah-e-Hafsah is against the injunctions of Islam. Undoubtedly, I agree with that. But, there are a few juristic details which I want to present here with regards to the issue. This will have a two-fold advantage:-
(i) People who think that the madrassah is doing right, will get the correct answer from authentic sources & arguments
(ii) A few unanswered questions in the mind of ordinary people will also be answered (Insha Allah)

SCHOOL OF THOUGHT
According to my knowledge, the madrassah is sunni/hanafi and therefore, I will refer to the works authentic to their own fiqh for analyzing the issues.

(1) ESTABLISHMENT OF SHARI'AH COURT
The Imam of Lal Mosque has declared the establishment of a Shari'ah Court in the mosque/madrassah where criminal cases will be decided. The state laws clearly debar any person from doing so and in fact, the Imam has openly challenged the writ of a Muslim state.
In view of the fact, let me take the liberty to quote a fatwa (edict) from a well-known sunni madrassah, Jamia Binoria. It is available online at their website and I am quoting it here for reference:-
Answer: Since Muslims in your area [non-muslim country] with mutual consultation have formed a Jam'iat (group) and given it rank of Panchayat (Jury) in Dar-ul-Kufr and have given them the right of punishment, therefore, the punishment given to the said person is correct, but with the condition that the law of country has also permitted it.
Source: http://www.binoria.org/q_a/qisaas.html
Two things in the above edict are of immense interest:-
(i) The fatwa is from one of the most authentic Hanafi (specifically Deobandi) institution
(ii) It allows the establishment of a jury in a non-Muslim country only if the law of the country permits so
Just pause for a second and think that if the establishment of a jury in a non-Muslim state is dependent upon the state's permission, how can this be allowed in a Muslim state without permission?

For those who say that sunni scholars differ from each other in various issues, I am glad to tell them that an identical edict is found in Raddul Mukhtar fil fatawa-e-Shaami (henceforth, Shaami), Vol.7, p.93. Let it be reminded that Shaami and Aalamgiri are considered to be the most authentic Hanafi works on earth.

(2) HIJACKING WOMEN INVOLVED IN IMMORALITY
The students of the madressah had hijacked a woman (or women), claiming that she was involved in immoral practices. The point to ponder over is whether ordinary people have the right to punish others (for their crimes) or not?
In answer to this question, a very clear edict is found in Aalamgiri, Vol.2, p.253 which states: The authority of punishment rests only with the Muslim Ruler and not with the masses. A similar edict of Jamia Binoria is found here.
All Sunni scholars agree on this issue and in fact, jurists have ruled that an ordinary person cannot kill another Muslim EVEN IF HE HAS SAID SOMETHING DEROGATORY ABOUT THE HOLY PROPHET (PBUH) -- THE AUTHORITY RESTS WITH THE RULER. The reason behind such a commandment is to prevent fitna. According to fuqaha, if everyone is given the right of punishment, this will lead to fasad and fitna. Specifically, every person will kill other person and later claim that he had insulted the Prophet (PBUH) or did something of the same connotation.
In the light of the above discussion, it becomes crystal-clear that the madrassa students had no authority to take the statuary law in their hands. The proper method should have been to lodge a complaint in a court of competent jurisdiction and if she is found guilty after a just trial, she should have been convicted accordingly.

(3) IMPOSING SHARI'AH BY FORCE
This is a very important question to undertake. As I will show a little later, this incident has dissolved away the concept of Nahi anil Munkir (forbidding evil) from the minds of many people.
To begin with, I quote a very well-known hadith, found in Sahih Muslim, Ibn Majah, Tirmidhi, an-Nasai, Mishqat, at-Targhib and others:
He who amongst you sees something condemnable (sinful/un-Islamic) should stop it with the help of his hand; and if he has not strength enough to do it, then he should do it with his tongue, and if he has not strength enough to do it, (even) then he should (abhor it) from his heart, and that is the least level of faith.
This duty of forbidding evil rests on all Muslims and has been emphasized in both the Quran and Sunnah. But, there are a few very important principles to be noted here!
I cannot describe them more nicely save by quoting from Ibn-e-Taimiyyah's book Amr bil Ma'aroof Wa Nahi anil Munkir, pp.8-9.
Let Your Enjoining Of Good Be Itself Good
Friendliness and sympathy are the correct way in enjoining right and forbidding wrong. For this reason, it has been said: "Let your enjoining of good be good, and let not your forbidding of bad be bad."

Benefits Must Outweigh Negative Consequences
Enjoining right and forbidding wrong being one of the greatest obligations or commendable acts in Islam, it is essential that the benefit therein outweigh its negative consequences. This is the general spirit of the messages of the prophets and the revealed books, and Allah does not like chaos and corruption. All that which Allah has enjoined is beneficial, and the epitome of benefit. Allah has praised salah (the opposite of corruption) and the "musliheen" (reformers, or those who bring about salah). And He has praised those who believe and do good works (saalihaat), while condemning corruption (fasaad) and those who cause it in many places in the Qur'an. Thus whenever the adverse effects (mafsada) of any act of enjoining or forbidding are greater than its benefit (maslaha), it is no longer part of what Allah has enjoined upon us, even if it be a case of neglecting obligations or committing the forbidden. This is because it is upon the believer to fear Allah in relation to His slaves, and their guidance is not his responsibility. This is part of the meaning of the verse in which Allah says:
"O, you who believe, your selves are your responsibility, those who go astray will not harm you when you stick to guidance."
"Sticking to guidance" is only accomplished by fulfilling and carrying out all obligations. Thus, when a Muslim does what is obligatory upon him by way of enjoining right and forbidding wrong, just as he fulfilled all other obligations, the going astray of those who go astray will not do him any harm.

Pitfalls Of Enjoining Right And Forbidding Wrong
Two groups of people fall into error in this area:
(A) One group leaves what is obligatory upon them in the area of enjoining right and forbidding wrong, clinging to an incorrect interpretation of the ayah quoted previously:
"O, you who believe, your selves are your responsibility, those who go astray will not harm you when you stick to guidance."
Abu Bakr once explained this error in a khutba saying:
"O people, verily you read this ayah, and you apply it where it does not belong, for I heard the Prophet (sallallahu `alayhi wa sallam) say: Verily when the people see the wrong-doer, and do not seize his hand, Allah is about to inflict them with a general punishment."

(B) The second group desires to enjoin and forbid the people with their tongues and their hands absolutely and in all situations without sufficient knowledge of the shari'a, nor forbearance, nor patience, nor regard for that which is beneficial and that which has more harm than benefit and that which is possible and that which is not possible.
(...)
This group, then, enjoins and forbids believing that they are in obedience to Allah ta'ala when in reality they are transgressors of His boundaries. In this way, many of the deviant and misguided groups considered themselves to be enjoiners of right and forbidders of wrong such as the xxxxxxxxx, and the xxxxxxxxx, and the xxxxxxxx {omitted} and others of those who erred in understanding that which Allah gave them in terms of enjoining right and forbidding wrong, and fighting jihad, and other issues. The corruption caused by this kind of enjoining and forbidding is much greater than any good which may result.
I hope that (Insha Allah) the above extract will have answered many questions and confusions. Let's try to apply the above principles to this particular incident.
In this case, the students of the madrassah came out with bamboo sticks and even captured many people. On top of it, threatening the government of suicide bombers is simply ferocious.
A few days back, probably on 7th April, in the program "Subah say Geo" on GEO TV, Hamid Mir presented his thoughts on this particular issue via phone. He presented a few very interesting points which I am reproducing here to the best of my memory:-
Yeh ma'asla talbanization aur madaris ka nahin, balkay barey barey jayyad ulema aur mazhabi jamaton nay kaha hai kay Lal Masjid waley sahih nahin kar rahey. Hatta kay opposition leader Maulana Fazlur Rehman bhi iss ko support nahin kar rahey. Sarron ka yehi kehna hai kay yeh tu wohi Amreeki charter ko pura karney ki sazish hai ... Lal Masjid kay Imam nay Mufti Taqi Usmani sahib say kaha kay mein nay khuwab mein dekha hai kay Islami inqalab yahein say utthay ga, tu Mufti Taqi Usmani sahib nay jawab diya kay aap kay khuwab ki koi shar'ai haisiyyat nahin.
Tu dar asal yeh Imam sahib chahtey hain kay fitna fasad ho. Aur chunkay Madrassah-e-Hafsa mein perhanay wali Talibaat NWFP kay ilaaqon ki hain, iss liye jab do char lashaiyn wahan jaen gi tu khud ba khud mulk mein fasad aur buhran mach jaey ga.
Before coming to the conclusion, I would like to present a personal observation. Now-a-days, almost everyone commits sins and no one is free from them. But, after committing sins, one can behave in two ways:-
(i) Either feel ashamed over his/her sins and ask mercy of Allah, even though he/she may repeat the sin frequently; { gunnahon per sharminda hona }
(ii) or keep on committing sins shylessly & openly admitting them, without feeling bad for committing them { gunnah kar kay uss per baysharmon ki tarah jam jana )
Attitude (ii) is completely wrong and is highly condemnable. If someone sells immodest CDs or drinks alcohol or does something of the like, he can't tell others that it is his choice and he will do whatever he wants! Islam never ever permits any such thing! It is a duty of all Muslims to abstain from such things and to stop such activities by tongue, or even by force, provided the methodology adopted is not ferocious. It should be noted that the use of force for Nahi anil Munkir rests with the state and that too isn't permissible if it will lead to disruption of peace & fitna/fasad.

To sum up then, neither the students of Madressah-e-Hafsa are doing any good by wreaking havoc in the federal capital, nor are those people who don't hesitate to sell immodest films, or drink alcohol, etc.

Okay, this finishes one part of my analysis. Insha Allah, in the next few posts, I will shed light on a few more aspects of this issue.
Comments--whether good or bad--are welcome!

Take care,
Abdul Rehman.
Old Tuesday, April 10, 2007
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason:

prieti has a spectacular aura aboutprieti has a spectacular aura aboutprieti has a spectacular aura about

@prissygirl
well excellnt discussion going on...well done dear...

@concerned
agreed to ur debate and point of views...

I would like to share some factual history abt. Lal masjid

Capital developments

As per CDA records...

According to CDA records Lal Masjid is the oldest mosque built in Islamabad .The land for Lal Masjid was allotted some time in the 1960s and it was a 260'x 260' plot which is 8377.78 sq yards. The mosque was constructed by CDA. The construction was funded by the Finance Ministry and the mosque belongs to the Auqaf Department. The Imam and Moazzan quarters were further added in 1979. The Imam quarters are built on 400 yards and the Moazzan quarters were built on 111 yards. (Late) Maulana Abdullah was appointed the first Imam of Lal Masjid.

In August 1981 on the directive of President Zia-ul-Haq No 833, PC-I a grand restructuring of the Lal Masjid was done at the cost of Rs 7.255 million. General Zia was greatly interested in the expansion and renovation of the mosque so that large congregations could be held there until such time that the Faisal Mosque was ready. Funding was provided to the mosque in 1982 and again in 1984 for further renovation.

On December 12, 1988 an area of 15'x 40' (66.67 sq yards) was allotted for the Girls' Madrasa by the government. On the recommendation of the the Auqaf department additional area of 25'x50' was given for the madrasa in May 1994. The total allotted area of the Lal Masjid to date is 9094.45 sq yards which is 1.88 acres.

But in March 2001 the madrasa started encroaching on a 3389 sq yards plot adjacent to the mosque which was already allotted and earmarked for a Gymnasium. Several verbal notices were issued to the madrasa authorities and the khatib of Lal Masjid but to no avail. The first written notice was issued to them in 2002 which again failed to produce any result. In 2004 further encroachments were made and the 450 sq yards of plot allotted to Ministry of Education for the building of a public library was occupied by the madrasa. Another notice was served by CDA on 9-12-2004 but to no avail. As the inevitable next option an operation was planned by the CDA for the demolition of the illegally built building but they failed to do so because the ICT did not provide them with adequate police force.

Further notices were issues in Dec 2005, April 2006, and January 2007 without producing any results.

Capital Development Authority Ordinance 1960, clause 49C says: "If any building, structure, work or land is erected or constructed in contravention of the provisions of this ordinance or any rules, regulation or order the DC or any person empowered on his behalf may by order in writing, require the owner, occupier or person in control to remove, alter or demolish the building."

Responding to a question as to why did the CDA authorities fail to demolish the illegally constructed structure when it was under construction, CDA member Estate Brig Asad said: "At that time administration's anti-encroachment [wing] had only 25 people. There were no weapons, no equipment and no way to carry out an operation without the help of ICT (Islamabad Capital territory) chief commissioner and IG Islamabad. They provide the necessary support through the magistrate and police for any demolition operation.

"Because of the fact that this particular madrasa has female students the authorities were always apprehensive of taking any extreme action against them. The madrasa authorities exploited this situation to the maximum. An operation was planned for 9-12-2004, the CDA authorities were ready for it but the necessary backup was not there so it was called off."

-- N. Haider

http://jang.com.pk/thenews/apr2007-w...4-2007/enc.htm

A Man Would Do Nothing,
If He Waited Until He
Could Do It So Well
That No One Would Find Fault
With What He Has Done.