12:01 PM (GMT +5)

Old Saturday, July 19, 2014

waqas izhar will become famous soon enough

the capital will fly but will the land as well?
resources are scarce but have we achieved maximum efficiency in it?
and western economics says that resources are scarce, that is why we have wars. Islam does not say that resources are scarce. remember malthus? who said that increase in population will lead to starvation. has it happened?

zero interest means that inputs of the farm will become cheaper. it means that agricultural product will become cheaper too. agricultural products like seeds and cotton are used in industry, so industry products will become cheaper too. this industrial product will be exported and you get foreign exchange reserves.

also it is not the amount of money that matters, what matters is its circulation.

also only those loans will be sanctioned which will be profitable only. the loans for luxuries and consumption products will go down and so inflation won't go beyond a certain limit.

what you say is right but inflation is something recommended. if there is inflation you inducing firms to produce more. inflation then is not the problem, the problem then is whether you are allowing the firms to produce that much or not.

also if you abolish interest rate you have stabilized the economy because there is no danger of a trade cycle. stabilization of the economy will attract FDIs.

as far as islamic economics is concerned, it speaks of investing in necessary sectors first i.e. food, health, education etc.

and yes if it is to be practically implemented it is to be done gradually. presently the policy rate in Pakistan is 10%, so we will need to bring it down to zero in ten or fifteen or twenty years.

and yes imports will decrease but exports will increase. and with zero interest rate we will be able to supply goods for exports.

Thanked 1,122 Times in 674 Posts
mhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud ofmhmmdkashif has much to be proud of

Well you guys seem to be straying from the topic too much. The core of the topic is under Islamic indoctrination, no matter how you look at it, building up economies and pursuing economic interests is secondary or not important target, the primary objective of an Islamic state is protection of faith and faithful and furtherance of cause of Allah . How could this be achieved, through a democratic political system or a caliphate??? Evidence suggests that Muslims are not generally happy with democratic systems because it fails at the primary objective laid forth for an Islamic state by the religion itself, it rather focuses too much on the non important matters of economy which religion fears will take people away from faith and make them materialist (dunya ki muhabbat ). So how can democratic system become a choice of those Muslims who are vying for caliphate??

Buddha has a spectacular aura aboutBuddha has a spectacular aura aboutBuddha has a spectacular aura about

the capital will fly but will the land as well?
resources are scarce but have we achieved maximum efficiency in it?
and western economics says that resources are scarce, that is why we have wars. Islam does not say that resources are scarce. remember malthus? who said that increase in population will lead to starvation. has it happened?
Malthus example was about food, it was an exception but that example could not refute scarcity. We're going to run out of gas in the next 20 years. How plenty is that resource? Radio spectrum for mobile communication. How plenty is that? Land will not go away? What does it even mean? Take example of real estate. How plenty is real estate from downtown? Mall Road or Gulberg? A shop down there will be best for business but the space is limited. More buyers will skyrocket the price of real estate. Inflation again?

zero interest means that inputs of the farm will become cheaper.
How will that happen?

also it is not the amount of money that matters, what matters is its circulation.
Both matter. A large amount with more purchasing power shows it's a big economy. And a large amount of money circulating that has less purchasing power shows that the currency is inflated which is not much use.

also only those loans will be sanctioned which will be profitable only.
there is no way to determine that a venture will always be profitable, no guarantees.
But who will issue those loans? With zero interest rate no one will have an incentive to issue loans

the loans for luxuries and consumption products will go down and so inflation won't go beyond a certain limit.
People won't save because there will be no incentives to save. Their savings are used to lend borrowers by investment banks/financial firms. Jab savings hi nahi hongay to loan kesay finance hongay??

also if you abolish interest rate you have stabilized the economy because there is no danger of a trade cycle. stabilization of the economy will attract FDIs.
Trade cycle hi nahi rahay gaa.. downward spiral zarur hoga...

and yes imports will decrease but exports will increase. and with zero interest rate we will be able to supply goods for exports.
Imports will decrease when currency is depreciated and there is inflation. Since you have accepted there will be inflation you might as well check out the harms done by inflation esp. to the poor and middle class

Exports are going to benefit exporters but how're we going to even that out with the price hike as a result of high Oil prices that will directly hit poor and Middle class?

If inflation is not to go beyond a certain limit, how is that controlled? Monetary policy! And how is monetary policy controlled? Primarily by controlling interest rates. By fixing it at zero how is Government going to control inflation and keep it beyond a certain limit?
He that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow (Ecclesiastes 1:18)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Buddha For This Useful Post:
Gypsified (Sunday, July 20, 2014), Mazhar Ali Khokhar (Saturday, July 19, 2014)

Jessica Lorenzo is on a distinguished road

this forum is too complicated.. i am not getting its features
waqas izhar (Sunday, July 20, 2014)
Old Sunday, July 20, 2014

Originally Posted by mhmmdkashif View Post
Well you guys seem to be straying from the topic too much. The core of the topic is under Islamic indoctrination, no matter how you look at it, building up economies and pursuing economic interests is secondary or not important target, the primary objective of an Islamic state is protection of faith and faithful and furtherance of cause of Allah . How could this be achieved, through a democratic political system or a caliphate??? Evidence suggests that Muslims are not generally happy with democratic systems because it fails at the primary objective laid forth for an Islamic state by the religion itself, it rather focuses too much on the non important matters of economy which religion fears will take people away from faith and make them materialist (dunya ki muhabbat ). So how can democratic system become a choice of those Muslims who are vying for caliphate??
But ypo need to educate people about merits of islam as well as democracy. Isn' t that economics? how about a third house of the parliament? One comprising of educated mullas
Originally Posted by Buddha View Post
Malthus example was about food, it was an exception but that example could not refute scarcity. We're going to run out of gas in the next 20 years. How plenty is that resource? Radio spectrum for mobile communication. How plenty is that? Land will not go away? What does it even mean? Take example of real estate. How plenty is real estate from downtown? Mall Road or Gulberg? A shop down there will be best for business but the space is limited. More buyers will skyrocket the price of real estate. Inflation again?

if there is scarcity which there was and is, then you need to increase efficiency and that happened. How do you presume we efficiey now?

How will that happen?

farm inputs are machinery, fertilizer and seed. At zero rate it will be easier to get loans. The bank will not provide loans and will only provide loans if they share profit and loss. The demand for food gradually increwses with population sosobagriculture will always be a profitable venture

Both matter. A large amount with more purchasing power shows it's a big economy. And a large amount of money circulating that has less purchasing power shows that the currency is inflated which is not much use.

have you ever heard of the clasical dichotomy?

there is no way to determine that a venture will always be profitable, no guarantees.
But who will issue those loans? With zero interest rate no one will have an incentive to issue loans

That is the point. Profit and loss should be shared. Presently it is unfair to the borrower. And if the borrower makes profit it iw unfair to the bank.
The one with wealth will issue the loans on profit loass sharing basis.

People won't save because there will be no incentives to save. Their savings are used to lend borrowers by investment banks/financial firms. Jab savings hi nahi hongay to loan kesay finance hongay??

S The saving will become part of the investment steam na bhai jan.

Trade cycle hi nahi rahay gaa.. downward spiral zarur hoga...

Will the demand for necessaries go down to zero? No. So the economy will attain a long run stable equilibrium. Initially might be a downward soiral but that will happen only once. Afterwards it will be up up and awy.

Imports will decrease when currency is depreciated and there is inflation. Since you have accepted there will be inflation you might as well check out the harms done by inflation esp. to the poor and middle class.
but supply will increasebto take advantage of the increased prices so inflation will become constant in the long run too.

If inflation is not to go beyond a certain limit, how is that controlled? Monetary policy! And how is monetary policy controlled? Primarily by controlling interest rates. By fixing it at zero how is Government going to control inflation and keep it beyond a certain limt
monetary policy is not the only way to check inflation. Increasing supply is too. Monetary policy is a short run solution. Supply side efonomics is a permanent one. And it is monetary policy which to control inflation increases unemployment

Originally Posted by Jessica Lorenzo View Post
this forum is too complicated.. i am not getting its features
Keep fiddling with the buttons you will learn also search the threads you will find helpful threads
The Following User Says Thank You to waqas izhar For This Useful Post:
Jessica Lorenzo (Thursday, August 07, 2014)
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2014

Gypsified will become famous soon enoughGypsified will become famous soon enough

the Islamic legislature is voluntary and independent. that means they do not have any interest in the passing or annuling of any law. compare that with modern legislatures.
I still don't understand what you mean by 'voluntary'. What does it mean that legislature is voluntary? Secondly, it still does not answer any of my questions. Whether voluntary or not, who is to elect it and how? You do need some kind of consensus and mechanism for the working of legislature, what is that? And what does it mean that legislature does not have any interest in passing or annulling of laws? Some historical example would help.

Originally Posted by Gypsified View Post
I still don't understand what you mean by 'voluntary'. What does it mean that legislature is voluntary? Secondly, it still does not answer any of my questions. Whether voluntary or not, who is to elect it and how? You do need some kind of consensus and mechanism for the working of legislature, what is that? And what does it mean that legislature does not have any interest in passing or annulling of laws? Some historical example would help.
Read page 692 second last para http://www.muslimphilosophy.com/hmp/...hirty-four.pdf

Read second para page 1242
http://www.muslimphilosophy.com/hmp/LXI-Sixty-one.pdf

Sorry it is page 1243.

How about a third house of the parliament comprising of mullas with graduation degrees??

Buddha has a spectacular aura aboutBuddha has a spectacular aura aboutBuddha has a spectacular aura about

To efficiency se scarcity khatam hojati hai? Food free hogaya hai? Food is still scarce that is why we buy it with money.

That is the point. Profit and loss should be shared. Presently it is unfair to the borrower. And if the borrower makes profit it iw unfair to the bank.
The one with wealth will issue the loans on profit loass sharing basis.
The point is not what should be done and what is fair and unfair, it's not ethics we're discussing but what will happen if the interest rate is made zero.

I guess all you're trying to say is that abolishing interest rate is magically gonna fix everything IN THE LONG RUN. It's some sort of magic potion to all economic problems and all our objections will just fizzle away IN THE LONG RUN. Right!

You're debating from an ideological point of view and continually self-sealing your argument.
He that increaseth knowledge increaseth sorrow (Ecclesiastes 1:18)
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Buddha For This Useful Post:
Abdul Wahid Channa (Thursday, July 24, 2014), waqas izhar (Sunday, July 20, 2014)