-   Scholarships (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/jobs-scholarships/scholarships/)
-   -   guidance for the 90 % overseas scholarships' research proposal (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/jobs-scholarships/scholarships/53065-guidance-90-overseas-scholarships-research-proposal.html)

Gullalai Monday, August 22, 2011 06:50 AM

guidance for the 90 % overseas scholarships' research proposal

The GAT qualified candidates are going to submit their applications to HEC by sep 7, along with the research proposals. please guide me what should be the format of research proposal and of what length? is here any one who has previous experience of applying to this scholarship? what are the tips to acquire this opportunity?

sajjad sadique Monday, August 22, 2011 01:53 PM

[QUOTE=Gullalai;342780]The GAT qualified candidates are going to submit their applications to HEC by sep 7, along with the research proposals. please guide me what should be the format of research proposal and of what length? is here any one who has previous experience of applying to this scholarship? what are the tips to acquire this opportunity?[/QUOTE]

dear i got overseas scholarship for germany last year but i coudnt go due to some domestic problems.

research proposal is a plan or sketch of your future research work,it is essential as it shows how effectively can you design a research plan.it can be for any degree specially post graduate.its contents are following
1.title....choose an attractive and applicable title,collect research papers/literature about the topic.
2.abstract...this is summary of your plan usually written after all other things have been written.
3.introduction..pick key words of your title and introduce them along with their current status with references.
4. need for the project...elaborate why your project is essential and worthwhile.
5. objective.....what objectives do you aim at to achieve during your research.
6.methodology...most important and lengthy part of your proposal,briefly tell the methodology of your proposed experiment.
result/outcome....briefly tell the outcome and impact of your research.
literature cited...for references write down all the literature studied.

the ideal length is about 6-7 pages for a proposal.
further queries are welcomed.

Gullalai Tuesday, August 23, 2011 07:08 AM

Thanx a lot sajjad...
It would take lot of time ofcourse. I have a draft research proposal, which i had prepared for the my mphil in pakistan(which i couldnt complete). although i dont like the topic too much as i consider it very ordinary, but due to the time constraint i would take it into account.
But the problem is that proposal is based on the case study of a district of Khyber pakhtunkhwa.!!! plz guide me what should i do? should i alter it or start a new proposal (which would take lots of time). the topic of that is "developing relationship bw farm productivity and literacy rate" (my subject is economics)
also tel me how much are my chances of getting the scholarship with 64 test score and if i prepare a good research proposal!!!

sajjad sadique Tuesday, August 23, 2011 11:49 AM

[QUOTE=Gullalai;343242]Thanx a lot sajjad...
It would take lot of time ofcourse. I have a draft research proposal, which i had prepared for the my mphil in pakistan(which i couldnt complete). although i dont like the topic too much as i consider it very ordinary, but due to the time constraint i would take it into account.
But the problem is that proposal is based on the case study of a district of Khyber pakhtunkhwa.!!! plz guide me what should i do? should i alter it or start a new proposal (which would take lots of time). the topic of that is "developing relationship bw farm productivity and literacy rate" (my subject is economics)
also tel me how much are my chances of getting the scholarship with 64 test score and if i prepare a good research proposal!!![/QUOTE]

dear let me tell you few things.

the basic thing for being shortlisted for interview is GAT score only.
after u get shortlisted,time is given usually to you to revise or re design your research proposal.
so for the time being you can apply with any proposal but it may cost you so if you get time,3-4 days are enough to design a good proposal.
search the universities in the country you want to apply for and look for the project.
design a proposal having a good impact on pakistan as well as with a wider scope.

best of luck.

jamilaiqbal Tuesday, August 23, 2011 12:12 PM

@ Sajjad....
i am also interested to go to Germany on scholarship....My GAT score is 73 and field is molecular biology/ biochemistry....Pls if u can guide me about scholarship and interview details...Also tell me if i hav any chance to get scholarship...any guess..THanks

sajjad sadique Tuesday, August 23, 2011 01:40 PM

[QUOTE=jamilaiqbal;343320]@ Sajjad....
i am also interested to go to Germany on scholarship....My GAT score is 73 and field is molecular biology/ biochemistry....Pls if u can guide me about scholarship and interview details...Also tell me if i hav any chance to get scholarship...any guess..THanks[/QUOTE]

dear what is your lavel of qualification?
means 16years or 18?
last year for biological sciences merit was as under.
for 18 years 62
for 16 years i think 70 tha.

as i had 67 and 18 years of education,so i got selected for germany.

jamilaiqbal Tuesday, August 23, 2011 03:15 PM

Sajjad i hav done M.PHil (18 years of education)...and my field is Biochemistry/ Molecular Biology...

can u pls guide me about the countries... which countries should i choose? my first preference is Germany, confused about second and third... The other countries are China, France, Austria, South Korea and THailand...

Gullalai Wednesday, August 24, 2011 07:40 AM

@ sajjad
from where have you got this criteria of 16 years of education score should be 70 and 18 years 62???
i have 64 and have 16 years of education
and is it necessary that one would be doing his or her research based on the same proposal submitted to HEC?? is there any possibility to change the topic there and then?
and do you know some1 in social sciences who can discuss with me the proposal?

sajjad sadique Wednesday, August 24, 2011 11:54 AM

[QUOTE=Gullalai;343706]@ sajjad
from where have you got this criteria of 16 years of education score should be 70 and 18 years 62???
i have 64 and have 16 years of education
and is it necessary that one would be doing his or her research based on the same proposal submitted to HEC?? is there any possibility to change the topic there and then?
and do you know some1 in social sciences who can discuss with me the proposal?[/QUOTE]

this criterion was for last year for [B]biological sciences,[/B]HEC provided these details on web.
its not necessary you can change the proposal.
and sorry about that at present i do not have any contact with social sciences students.
merit for social sciences was below 60 as far as i remember.

[QUOTE=jamilaiqbal;343412]Sajjad i hav done M.PHil (18 years of education)...and my field is Biochemistry/ Molecular Biology...

can u pls guide me about the countries... which countries should i choose? my first preference is Germany, confused about second and third... The other countries are China, France, Austria, South Korea and THailand...[/QUOTE]

germany
austria
france

these choices are good.but last year france didnt give scholarships so germany is good as first preference.

jamilaiqbal Wednesday, August 24, 2011 12:50 PM

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;343772]germany
austria
france

these choices are good.but last year france didnt give scholarships so germany is good as first preference.[/QUOTE]
Sajjad in France the medium of instruction is French only...will it not be a big problem??? bc no one can be so fluent in French in just 5 month language course...

Vky Munir Thursday, August 25, 2011 06:52 AM

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;342866]dear i got overseas scholarship for germany last year but i coudnt go due to some domestic problems.

research proposal is a plan or sketch of your future research work,it is essential as it shows how effectively can you design a research plan.it can be for any degree specially post graduate.its contents are following
1.title....choose an attractive and applicable title,collect research papers/literature about the topic.
2.abstract...this is summary of your plan usually written after all other things have been written.
3.introduction..pick key words of your title and introduce them along with their current status with references.
4. need for the project...elaborate why your project is essential and worthwhile.
6.methodology...most important and lengthy part of your proposal,briefly tell the methodology of your proposed experiment.

further queries are welcomed.[/QUOTE]
Thanks Bro,

I am Also Applying for HEC 90% Scholarship. Your Tips are excellent.
There are few more queries.
I have selected a topic on my own without any guidance and advice from any senior but I am confused whether this topic will be suitable or not?
Also I have made the research topic specific for Pakistan, Is it usefull or Do I have to select topic according to the country I am applying for?
I have seen many Research Proposals for guidance, I have found some similarities, i.e. All these cite the author name and many other literature, but What If it is difficult for me to find any material on my research topic?

[QUOTE=jamilaiqbal;343804]Sajjad in France the medium of instruction is French only...will it not be a big problem??? bc no one can be so fluent in French in just 5 month language course...[/QUOTE]

It means a person will have to study French course for five months. I have three months course in French It only gives you basics not even make able to speak.

Also Are we eligible to apply for France without knowing French in Advance?
Kindly Reply....

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;343303]dear let me tell you few things.

the basic thing for being shortlisted for interview is GAT score only.
after u get shortlisted,time is given usually to you to revise or re design your research proposal.
so for the time being you can apply with any proposal but it may cost you so if you get time,3-4 days are enough to design a good proposal.
search the universities in the country you want to apply for and look for the project.
design a proposal having a good impact on pakistan as well as with a wider scope.

best of luck.[/QUOTE]

Dear Sajjad,

My GAT Score is 83 with 99.63 Percentile. I also have 3.56 CGPA in Mass Communications. As you mentioned only GAT score is required to get shorlisted. It means I can consider myself with greater chances to be shortlisted.

Anyway, the topioc I decided for Reasearch is "the Impact of Social Media when aligned with Digital Technology, especially on Pakistani Society having 60% youth". Is it good or do I have to make it more clear, which right now I think is not easy. Also I have not even written a single word of Proposal just because of the Complexity and Confusion of Topic.
Please guide me ASAP.

WAiting for Reply...

sajjad sadique Thursday, August 25, 2011 11:35 AM

[QUOTE=jamilaiqbal;343804]Sajjad in France the medium of instruction is French only...will it not be a big problem??? bc no one can be so fluent in French in just 5 month language course...[/QUOTE]

language will not be a problem,u will get language training in france too.many of my friends are there and they are facing no problems.

[QUOTE=Vky Munir;344198]Dear Sajjad,

My GAT Score is 83 with 99.63 Percentile. I also have 3.56 CGPA in Mass Communications. As you mentioned only GAT score is required to get shorlisted. It means I can consider myself with greater chances to be shortlisted.
Anyway, the topioc I decided for Reasearch is "the Impact of Social Media when aligned with Digital Technology, especially on Pakistani Society having 60% youth". Is it good or do I have to make it more clear, which right now I think is not easy. Also I have not even written a single word of Proposal just because of the Complexity and Confusion of Topic.
Please guide me ASAP.
WAiting for Reply...
Thanks[/QUOTE]

dear you have fair chances,just apply with what you have about the proposal at the present,you will get time after being shortlisted to revise your proposal.

mustafa zafar chaudhary Tuesday, September 06, 2011 07:00 PM

The problem here is this I have got the 83 marks with a 99.92 percentile and everything else but haven't got the research proposal so what do I do should I send the application without the proposal asking for sometime or should I look to manage a crappy proposal in one day.. immediate and prompt replies especially from hassan sajid would be appreciated

lailajafri Friday, September 09, 2011 12:08 PM

Please Share information

I have a few questions,
I got 73 marks in GAT, and applied for overseas scholarship in the field of ARTS, Please tell me the chances of scholarship.
what was the previous year merit?
If i will be selected, should i confirm my admission myself or HEC will facilitate for that?
one of my friend told me that we must have admission before the interview or before we will be shortlisted for interview, Please tell authentic information.
when will the shortlisting be expected?

sajjad sadique Monday, September 12, 2011 09:01 AM

[QUOTE=lailajafri;350146]I have a few questions,
I got 73 marks in GAT, and applied for overseas scholarship in the field of ARTS, Please tell me the chances of scholarship.
what was the previous year merit?
If i will be selected, should i confirm my admission myself or HEC will facilitate for that?
one of my friend told me that we must have admission before the interview or before we will be shortlisted for interview, Please tell authentic information.
when will the shortlisting be expected?

Regards[/QUOTE]

please let me know your highest degree and the country you've applied for?

lailajafri Monday, September 12, 2011 07:54 PM

please let me know your highest degree and the country you've applied for?

I did master in Mass Communication and English Literature. i have not applied in any country by myself. I selected Austria, China and Hanyang University, South Korea in my application. Please suggest and guide me which is better for me.

sajjad sadique Tuesday, September 13, 2011 10:56 AM

[QUOTE=lailajafri;351446]I did master in Mass Communication and English Literature. i have not applied in any country by myself. I selected Austria, China and Hanyang University, South Korea in my application. Please suggest and guide me which is better for me.

Regards[/QUOTE]

only for korea you will be asked to secure admission,for austria and china its not mandatory.

lailajafri Tuesday, September 13, 2011 05:10 PM

thank a lot

Thanks a lot sir for information, I contacted the university through e mail. but no response from the university people. should I ask some admission adviser in Pakistan?

Nauman Tuesday, September 13, 2011 10:06 PM

I recently stayed in Korea for a month. Thought the level of studies and quality is quite high, living there is not too comfortable. Language barrier is too high to be climbed easily, and so is the availability of halal food. Muslim population is very low, and pakistanis r even lesser.

ON reasons not related to academics, I'll advise everyone, and esp females, not to put RoK too high on their priority list,

sajjad sadique Wednesday, September 14, 2011 09:33 AM

[QUOTE=lailajafri;351761]Thanks a lot sir for information, I contacted the university through e mail. but no response from the university people. should I ask some admission adviser in Pakistan?[/QUOTE]

no HEC will guide you for admissions after you get shortlisted for interview.

najid ahmad Wednesday, September 14, 2011 11:22 AM

@sajjad
Dear sajjad i have GAT score 54 and I have M.Sc Economics degree with 71% percent.My percentage is 67% in metriculation and intermediate and in Graduation 71%. My preffered countries are 1.France.2.South korea.3.Thailand.
as they are for the 16 yrs candidate.
what you say about the chances and probability about the shortlisting?

Dear its true that no one can fluent in french in just few months.Second i have tried to contact many universities in france.Most of them even donot know english.Later i used french for the admission process discussion.They hardly reply of your email.Then how we can secure admission plz sajjad bhai guide as you have already experience in these things.Where as the Uk,Australia,Netherlands etc they easily grant admission letter and they are nice in communication.

My first preference is france but i think its a issue that there the medium of instruction is french.
plz Sajjad bhai guide usssssssssssssssssssssssss

sajjad sadique Wednesday, September 14, 2011 02:26 PM

[QUOTE=najid ahmad;352075]Dear its true that no one can fluent in french in just few months.Second i have tried to contact many universities in france.Most of them even donot know english.Later i used french for the admission process discussion.They hardly reply of your email.Then how we can secure admission plz sajjad bhai guide as you have already experience in these things.Where as the Uk,Australia,Netherlands etc they easily grant admission letter and they are nice in communication.
My first preference is france but i think its a issue that there the medium of instruction is french.
plz Sajjad bhai guide usssssssssssssssssssssssss[/QUOTE]

dear najid
you should not worry at all because the first thing is getting shortlisted for interview,acceptance comes after that and HEC will ask you for it.your score is not so high but b hopefull.

best of luck

M MAZHAR JADOON Wednesday, September 14, 2011 03:35 PM

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;342866]dear i got overseas scholarship for germany last year but i coudnt go due to some domestic problems.

further queries are welcomed.[/QUOTE]
Please guide who is eligible for this scholarship?

najid ahmad Wednesday, September 14, 2011 06:13 PM

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;352142]dear najid
you should not worry at all because the first thing is getting shortlisted for interview,acceptance comes after that and HEC will ask you for it.your score is not so high but b hopefull.

best of luck[/QUOTE]
@Sajjad
Dear its true my GAT score are not high but you know the previous merit of social sciences.So keeping in mind I'm fully confident.I'm trying for admission first because this will be consider plus point during interview.
Second, I want to share an interesting thing with friends.One can get admission in direct PhD with the MA/M.Sc degree (16 years of education).My friends are doing their PhD in china.You know china is a friend country and you can get admission along with scholarship easily.If someone need guidance I'll say warm welcum to all..
Thanks..

lailajafri Thursday, September 15, 2011 06:42 AM

Help needed

[HTML]I want to share an interesting thing with friends.One can get admission in direct PhD with the MA/M.Sc degree (16 years of education).My friends are doing their PhD in china.You know china is a friend country and you can get admission along with scholarship easily.If someone need guidance I'll say warm welcum to all..
Thanks.. [/HTML]

I have also heard the same.
Please guide me also about admission process and universities in china ans Austria which offers mass communication and english literature courses.

I shall be thankful

najid ahmad Thursday, September 15, 2011 08:40 AM

[QUOTE=lailajafri;352437][HTML]I want to share an interesting thing with friends.One can get admission in direct PhD with the MA/M.Sc degree (16 years of education).My friends are doing their PhD in china.You know china is a friend country and you can get admission along with scholarship easily.If someone need guidance I'll say warm welcum to all..
Thanks.. [/HTML]

I have also heard the same.
Please guide me also about admission process and universities in china ans Austria which offers mass communication and english literature courses.

I shall be thankful

Regards[/QUOTE]
Dear
Its confirm in china.Even merit is too low.Second division is also acceptable.But for this you will have to wait for next year i.e 2012.Keep visiting the china scholarship council website that is [url=http://en.csc.edu.cn/]China Scholarship Council[/url]
You will have to fill the online application form of the university first and later china scholarship council form.They are providing 1700 yuan in a month for Master candidate and 2000 yaun for PhD.No need to discuss with supervisor.Just fill out online application form of the university and china scholarship council form send it on the china council address given on the form.Three of my village fellow has left for china a month before.They were telling in a month normally expense are 600-700 yaun.
In most universities medium of study for doctoral programme is English in china.Before applying you can check the medium of study.
If need further let me know

shahabuddinshah Friday, February 03, 2012 04:20 AM

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;352142]dear najid

best of luck[/QUOTE]
Sajjad Bhai I have been shortlisted for interview for France and I have the same Queries as our brother Najid Ahmed has.. Please Help me in this regard... Please tell me how to get admission in French Uni.. Since I had terribly low percentages in my graduation and masters....I had 2nd Div in both in my B.Sc(Hons) and M.Sc....But I got 82 marks in GAT-General...and I have the same problem of French Lanugage...

Besides that I want to know what they will ask me in the interview.. and what they will be looking for... Do I need to prepare much better Research Proposal while appearing for interview (I really did not cared about Research proposal when I was submitting it earlier and submitted it in a hurry on last date)... And please tell other things which we might not know or ask you but which should be taken care of by one who is going to france or for interview for that matter..

My academic field is Mathematics (Physical Sciences) and I prepared the research proposal on robotics.. I didn't had enought knowledge about it on that time and now but I wanted to pursue my further education/research in that relevant field of robotics.... so you might make a guess how good my research proosal could be...

And how much stipend will I get there for MS leading to P.hD studies..

sajjad sadique Saturday, February 04, 2012 12:11 AM

[QUOTE=shahabuddinshah;399994]Sajjad Bhai I have been shortlisted for interview for France and I have the same Queries as our brother Najid Ahmed has.. Please Help me in this regard... Please tell me how to get admission in French Uni.. Since I had terribly low percentages in my graduation and masters....I had 2nd Div in both in my B.Sc(Hons) and M.Sc....But I got 82 marks in GAT-General...and I have the same problem of French Lanugage...

Besides that I want to know what they will ask me in the interview.. and what they will be looking for... Do I need to prepare much better Research Proposal while appearing for interview (I really did not cared about Research proposal when I was submitting it earlier and submitted it in a hurry on last date)... And please tell other things which we might not know or ask you but which should be taken care of by one who is going to france or for interview for that matter..

My academic field is Mathematics (Physical Sciences) and I prepared the research proposal on robotics.. I didn't had enought knowledge about it on that time and now but I wanted to pursue my further education/research in that relevant field of robotics.... so you might make a guess how good my research proosal could be...

And how much stipend will I get there for MS leading to P.hD studies..[/QUOTE]
dear search for french institute of ur interest,ask them for acceptance,make a proposal as they will suggest u.stipened is 950 euro/month

shahabuddinshah Sunday, February 05, 2012 01:30 AM

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;400287]dear search for french institute of ur interest,ask them for acceptance,make a proposal as they will suggest u.stipened is 950 euro/month[/QUOTE]

Sajjad Bhai.. besides that I want to know about language course.. Will it be arranged for us by HEC or We have to take admission in a French Course on our own...

sajjad sadique Monday, February 06, 2012 10:28 AM

[QUOTE=shahabuddinshah;400598]Sajjad Bhai.. besides that I want to know about language course.. Will it be arranged for us by HEC or We have to take admission in a French Course on our own...[/QUOTE]

hec will arrange and fund it fully

shahabuddinshah Tuesday, February 07, 2012 12:24 AM

[QUOTE=sajjad sadique;400897]hec will arrange and fund it fully[/QUOTE]

Thank you so much sajjad bhai.. I was really confused about all these questions and no one was to answer me anywhere. But you made my life easier. Thanks again..

shahabuddinshah Tuesday, February 07, 2012 12:54 AM

Sajjad bhai few more questions..

Is it compulsory for candidates of France to take admission on their own in any of the French public universities. Since it is written on "Country Wise Interview Schedule and Pre-requisites" link on HEC website that [B]candidates are encouraged to secure acceptance letters[/B] from supervisors. What do they mean by [B]Encouraged[/B] here. does it mean it is not essential .If a candidate cannot secure acceptance letter will HEC make an arrangement for such candidate's admission in any of the French University/Institute for him/her.

And will the candidates of 16 years of Education be admitted to masters or direct to PhD. I read somewhere on hec's website that they mean fast track PhD and not masters. But the program i am interested in and which is relevent to my research proposal are being conducted at masters level and not on PhD level (atleast I can't find those).

and I can not understand what HEC means to say here:

[B]"HEC does not encourage a separate Master Degree Studies followed by PhD studies rather universities are being advised to offer bridging program for deficiency make up in the fast track of PhD admission."[/B]

In fact I want to ask you that should I apply for masters degree or PhD studies at French Universities while addressing them through my Proposal...

I'll be really thankful to you if you answer these questions.

sajjad sadique Tuesday, February 07, 2012 01:24 AM

[QUOTE=shahabuddinshah;401096]Sajjad bhai few more questions..

Is it compulsory for candidates of France to take admission on their own in any of the French public universities. Since it is written on "Country Wise Interview Schedule and Pre-requisites" link on HEC website that [B]candidates are encouraged to secure acceptance letters[/B] from supervisors. What do they mean by [B]Encouraged[/B] here. does it mean it is not essential .If a candidate cannot secure acceptance letter will HEC make an arrangement for such candidate's admission in any of the French University/Institute for him/her.

And will the candidates of 16 years of Education be admitted to masters or direct to PhD. I read somewhere on hec's website that they mean fast track PhD and not masters. But the program i am interested in and which is relevent to my research proposal are being conducted at masters level and not on PhD level (atleast I can't find those).

and I can not understand what HEC means to say here:

[B]"HEC does not encourage a separate Master Degree Studies followed by PhD studies rather universities are being advised to offer bridging program for deficiency make up in the fast track of PhD admission."[/B]

In fact I want to ask you that should I apply for masters degree or PhD studies at French Universities while addressing them through my Proposal...

I'll be really thankful to you if you answer these questions.[/QUOTE]

dear go for a mphil leading to phd programme...1+3=4 years
acceptance has a weightage in interview but its not necessary..
send emails to as many professors as u can with your updated cv...its no matter from where you get acceptance..just get one anywhere...as its not final admission..HEC not necessarily allots the same institute after granting scholarship...so no worries,,,,just try

lailajafri Monday, March 05, 2012 12:15 PM

Dear All.
I have a query, i made my proposal that is directly related to Pakistan. Should i change it? if no, how can i defend it in interview? any suggestions in this regrad?????

Bilal Ahmad Khan Tuesday, April 10, 2012 12:35 AM

[QUOTE=lailajafri;410209]Dear All.
I have a query, i made my proposal that is directly related to Pakistan. Should i change it? if no, how can i defend it in interview? any suggestions in this regrad?????[/QUOTE]
[COLOR="Blue"]dear!
1st if you can defend it then you don,t need to change it.(a thesis proposal is mandatory, through it they want to see your research proposal making skills, if they have any objection regarding it, later on they can suggest you to change topic, but you should confirm it whether you have to dedicate to country of your study or the country you belong, in selection process another candidate will have better topic than you then it may be a negative point for you. because in my opinion, you should always select a thesis proposal which should not supplement a peculiarity, it should benefit universally.)
how can you defend it, it's depend on you that whats your aim to select it?why this while there may be many other?
you can defend it through study of literature regarding your topic.(make a complete understanding with your proposal)
ask questions from yourself, which you expect they can ask from you.[/COLOR]

07:33 PM (GMT +5)