11:20 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Jobs & Scholarships > Scholarships

Old Thursday, January 17, 2013

heavenhitman is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by saiq arshad View Post
listening and reading are generally considered easy so with little practice you can get more than 7 in those modules. speaking with practice everyday 7 is achievable and you dont need to remember fancy words to get 7,.... writing is the hardest one atleast for me... in writing you need good vocabulary, clarity of ideas which comes with extensive practice and reading books and newspaper.....

the most important thing to get good band in ielts is TIME MANAGEMENT, in listening you have to keep going with the tape and if you miss something forget about it keep going on, if you get stuck on it even for 3 4 seconds you will miss the next 2 or 3 blanks and then its hard to recover from that it becomes a rolling snow ball effect.... in reading keep track of time read the passage first and underline all the main ideas you find in that passage doesnt matter if you have to underline every line just do it, its easy to find answer from underlined lines and if you cant find the answer in 10 to 15 seconds move on to next question and come back to the left over questions once you all other questions are being solved....

i am a normal student with no education from some elite schools and never ever taken any english course or ielts preparation in my life but i have always managed to get 7.5 so its not hard to get over 7 band in IELTS you just need to watch time and know how to handle different modules.
thanks a lot for your suggestions,i am very conscious about my IELTS,i know that overall 7.0 band may not a hard nut to crack but what i need is 7.0 in each module,i think time management in case of reading is an actual task to complete,just 20 mints for a single passage & it have 3 passages,1 more thing to ask in speaking your accent matters or not?are the cambridge books are enough to prepare from?[/QUOTE]

nopes accent doesnt matter... yes for practice cambridge books are more than enough....
Old Thursday, January 17, 2013

umair jarwar will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by heavenhitman View Post
in 2009 me and my friend gave IELTS british council and i got 7.5 and he got 6 band and in 2012 we both gave IELTS again but this time i gave british council and he gave AEO i got 7.5 again and he got 7 so generally it has been seen that AOE can improve your band by 0.5 to 1 overall

but one thing to consider if you want IELTS result within one month then you should go for british council because many times the result of AOE have been delayed by 1 or 2 months.

listening and reading are generally considered easy so with little practice you can get more than 7 in those modules. speaking with practice everyday 7 is achievable and you dont need to remember fancy words to get 7,.... writing is the hardest one atleast for me... in writing you need good vocabulary, clarity of ideas which comes with extensive practice and reading books and newspaper.....

the most important thing to get good band in ielts is TIME MANAGEMENT, in listening you have to keep going with the tape and if you miss something forget about it keep going on, if you get stuck on it even for 3 4 seconds you will miss the next 2 or 3 blanks and then its hard to recover from that it becomes a rolling snow ball effect.... in reading keep track of time read the passage first and underline all the main ideas you find in that passage doesnt matter if you have to underline every line just do it, its easy to find answer from underlined lines and if you cant find the answer in 10 to 15 seconds move on to next question and come back to the left over questions once you all other questions are being solved....

i am a normal student with no education from some elite schools and never ever taken any english course or ielts preparation in my life but i have always managed to get 7.5 so its not hard to get over 7 band in IELTS you just need to watch time and know how to handle different modules.
I think I am going to appear with British Council.

Tell me about your speaking experience? What about it? What should be the preparation strategy?
Old Friday, January 18, 2013

heavenhitman is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by umair jarwar View Post
I think I am going to appear with British Council.

Tell me about your speaking experience? What about it? What should be the preparation strategy?
in speaking most people try to impress the invigilator by trying to come up with some genius kind ideas for their questions in which they start mumbling while making those ideas in their head.... be simple be truthful... answer the question slowly and in normal accent.... no need to speak fast and hard english.... do prepare some standard questionnaire topics available in books or on web
Old Tuesday, January 22, 2013

saiq arshad is on a distinguished road

After studying & preparing for IELTS i find writing is the most difficult task,it needs a lot of practice of writing,one should have a strong grip on grammar,vocabulary,punctuation etc.
so the only tip is to work hard & do more & more practice to get 7+ band.
Old Friday, February 01, 2013

AwaisAli is on a distinguished road

though i got same band score through AEO (in 2008) and British Council (in 2012), but my AEO experience was way better. British Council's speaking examiner was disgusting in Islamabad, as i was speaking she was making weird faces which was negatively affecting my confidence level. Moreover, their test location was pathetic.
Old Friday, June 14, 2013

sarang ali shaikh will become famous soon enough

AEO ilets k baad zaroori hai kya k sirf australia may apply karo ? ya her jagah karsaktay hian jahan jahan ilets manga jata hai ?

or ilets and toefl may kya faraq hai ?
Old Saturday, June 15, 2013

effy is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by sarang ali shaikh View Post
AEO ilets k baad zaroori hai kya k sirf australia may apply karo ? ya her jagah karsaktay hian jahan jahan ilets manga jata hai ?

or ilets and toefl may kya faraq hai ?
AEO is recognized worldwide & you can apply every where where IELTS is required secondly TOEFL is mostly the requirement of American Universities
The Following User Says Thank You to effy For This Useful Post:
sarang ali shaikh (Saturday, June 15, 2013)
Old Sunday, June 16, 2013

junni is on a distinguished road

Plz guide me about ILTES, as to:

What is the procedure/steps of test?
Where is it held?
After how much period is it announced?
What are its advantages?
Which books are recommended for preparation?
Old Sunday, June 16, 2013

Saqib Bangash is on a distinguished road

Yes, It is justifiably true that AEO can earn you good bands as compare to British Council IELTS. The reason is simple, AEO is new Organization and it needs attention and more candidates , yet British council was first to take IELTS. But keep in mind AEO is expensive than British council. I took IELTS in 2008 and acquired 7.5 over all. If if you prefer quality go for British council, otherwise if you are weak in English , and you only need higher bands to get accepted in University then, AEO is for you. However, I always prefer British council which is tough and hence check your ability to to use English much deeper.
Old Friday, July 05, 2013

AwaisAli is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by saiq arshad View Post
I need 7.0 band in each module,it seems difficult as i know overall 7.0 is easy but in each module it is lil bit difficult.so please give some tips how to get good band.thanx
It doesnt make much difference other than the speaking module. I took IELTS after self-study in 2008 through AEO and in 2012 though British Council.

Although, I got the same band (7.5, not less than 7 in each band) but arrangements and speaking module experience of AEO was way better.

Prefer taking Cambridge publications only. You may find following link of good help:

http://www.urch.com/forums/ielts/748...-material.html

Best of Luck.