-   Scholarships (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/jobs-scholarships/scholarships/)
-   -   General Information one can have about scholarships (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/jobs-scholarships/scholarships/84472-general-information-one-can-have-about-scholarships.html)

Amna Thursday, September 12, 2013 02:34 AM

General Information one can have about scholarships

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]The general Information one can have about scholarships. [/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]
[SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkGreen]How to Select PhD Topic[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B][/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]1.[/B] First of all decide a topic in which You really have interest and you know you can do an advance and outstanding Research in it. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]2.[/B] If you don’t know which topic to choose then search relevant thesis online according to your scope of study, if you really find interest in it at the end of the thesis you will see what is future of this work.

[/SIZE][/FONT] [FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]3.[/B] If you think you can do any good contribution in it in future work shortlist that topic for your PhD. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]4.[/B] About this topic find latest papers and study that and make an outstanding research proposal. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkGreen][B]How to search supervisors [/B][/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]5.[/B] Shortlist universities according to world ranking in your field.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]6.[/B] Search relevant supervisors in each University who has a research paper on your selected topic. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]7.[/B] Shortlist many supervisors and email them. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]8.[/B] Make your full effort in writing email with full consideration and tell him clearly your achievements in academics and strengths.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]9. [/B]Never send the same email to every supervisor, every time change emails a little according to supervisor interest. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]10.[/B] Tell him about the matching of his scope of work and your research proposal. Keep in mind each professor receives many emails each day so be selective and ask if he has a PhD position available. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]11.[/B] If he finds interest he will response you positively else try other shortlisted professor. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]12.[/B] In Germany and other many countries each professor has paid position for PhD so you just don’t worry for scholarship, he will pay you which are enough for living there happily and will send you admission letter from his university and scholarship by himself. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]13.[/B] In countries like China, Turkey, Australia, UK, and many other advance countries supervisors haven't paid position so he just accepts you as PhD candidate but after acceptance you have to apply to that specific university and the supervisor helps with your application and the scholarship. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]14[/B]. Finally, keep in mind that a very well organized, well written, grammatically correct email can make your long cherished desire come true.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[B][FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkGreen]Emailing tips[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]It is very regretful to say, the prospective students spend a lot of time searching for good universities, good research group and above all, a good supervisor. But, many of them do not pay much importance and effort before contacting the supervisor. All your effort of searching and finding a good supervisor with a good research background that matches your interest can practically go in vain only because of a badly written email.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]Here are some tips that help you in effective emailing. [/SIZE][/FONT][INDENT] [FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]a)[/B] Your [B]Subject line[/B] should be meaningful. Never send an email without a subject and check whether the subject makes sense.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]b)[/B] It’s always good to add a line of greeting at the beginning of an email. [/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]c)[/B] Language should be easy to understand and positive.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]d) [/B] Try to keep your email short and don’t write essays. Nobody has enough time to read the essays.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]e)[/B] Start the email with introducing yourself (who are you, what is your qualification, significant academic achievements, etc.)[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]f)[/B] Use multiple paragraphs. Skip lines before paragraphs. Don’t make a paragraph too long (use 2-3 sentences per paragraph).[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]g) [/B]Don’t use Net-speak and all [B]Capital Letters[/B] in any word or sentence. This is [B]Rude![/B][/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]h) [/B] Always attach all your important documents and name them properly (especially your CV) in PDF version.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]i)[/B] People won’t open attachments if they aren’t convinced they need to. Mention a few of your key skills and research interest by using bullet points. [/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]j) [/B] If you have multiple attachments, use numbered items to describe what each document is for.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]k)[/B] It is good to use a nice ending for the mail, like: “Best regards, Kind Regards, Regards, Thank you”, etc.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]l)[/B] Do a spell-check and proofread before sending out an email[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]M)[/B] If you get a response to your email, make sure that you address it promptly, but very carefully. [/SIZE][/FONT]
[/INDENT][FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkGreen][B]How to get Scholarships?[/B][/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]Getting a scholarship is bit tough. The only way is to get a government scholarship offered by that specific country's government. You can search these government scholarships yearly on normal scholarship websites.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]15.[/B] Every country has its own scholarship program for international students normally once a year for example:[/SIZE][/FONT][INDENT][INDENT] [FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]a. [B]Korea[/B] it is KGSP,[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]b. [B]Turkey[/B] it is Turkey Bursary[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]c. [B]China[/B] it is China government scholarship for international students,[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]d. [B]France[/B] it is paris Effil scholarship, [/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]e. [B]Germany[/B] it is Daad[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]f. [B]UK [/B]Commonwealth[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]g. [B]USA[/B] Fullbright, [/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]h. Australia AusAid etc etc.[/SIZE][/FONT]
[/INDENT][/INDENT][FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]16.[/B] You have to search their dates regularly on available normal scholarship sites.
[/SIZE][/FONT]
[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]17.[/B] It is recommended you to first shortlist two or three countries according to your interest.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]18.[/B] To narrow your search about scholarships, it will be easy to find each and every scholarship offered in that particular country, and try your best to fulfill the requirements of these countries.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]19.[/B] You can apply for these their government scholarships which even pay your ticket as well plus all the things like fees, living, other expenditures but in these scholarships competition is normally high as people from throughout world applies for these government scholarships of that country. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]20.[/B] The GRE is not as much must but mostly you have to do IELTS. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]21[/B]. HEC has 90% overseas scholarships every year for china, Austria, Germany and Turkey etc. Which is purely on the NTS GAT basis and merit will vary according to your selected course and province as you can check merit on the HEC website of every previous batch.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]22.[/B] You have to sign a bond with HEC to serve in your country after you MS leading to PhD or only PhD. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][COLOR=DarkGreen][B][COLOR=Black]23[/COLOR].[/B][/COLOR] 10% HEC overseas scholarships are there based on GRE score for countries in UK, US, Australia and Canada but same HEC bond as well. Browse HEC overseas scholarships detail on HEC website.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]24.[/B] If you are willing for local MS leading to PhD in Pakistan you can easily get it by HEC indigenous scholarship offered in each year purely based on GAT marks and competition is really low and chances of getting it are high. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]25.[/B] If you want to come back after the degree to your Pakistan then you can choose any country.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]26.[/B] If you want to live there to do a job as well after your degree then prefer to shortlist Germany, Australia and Canada. But keep in mind in Canada, US and UK the scholarship rate for international students is really low at the start. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]27.[/B] After getting these scholarships from university or funding from supervisor directly you only have to give your ticket and visa by yourself to that country. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]28.[/B] In Finland, Norway, Germany, Austria and few other countries research degrees like Masters by research or PhD is free so even if you don’t get a scholarship you can go there as there is no fee but it will cost you a little until you get a job there which you can easily get if you know their respective language and Computer Programming. And in all these countries medium of instructions in degrees is English.[/SIZE][/FONT]

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]Keep in mind you are not the only one who is applying for a scholarship, people all over the world applies and search daily, so you have to do research, good grades are not enough, most of the times you get a scholarship even with bad or worst grades because of finding right scholarship with hard work. [/SIZE][/FONT]

[B][FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3]All the best and wish you good luck for your future endeavors[/SIZE][/FONT][/B].

[FONT=Trebuchet MS][SIZE=3][B]Courtesy:[/B] Mr. Muhammad Nabeel and Shahzada Qamar Hussain[/SIZE][/FONT]

azra khan Saturday, March 15, 2014 12:58 AM

kya GAT k bgair scholar shp nahi m il skti ??
please rply mjhy know how nahi hai
or mjhy highr study k lye bht need bhi hai

baarack Monday, March 24, 2014 09:16 PM

not for every scholarship but mostly for HEC based scholarships GRE is needed

ciddiqui Friday, November 07, 2014 07:17 AM

I did GAT(general) for admission in MS/MPhill, is it applicable on admission in abroad for master's program? In addition, i want to know about the difference between GRE(general) & GRE(local) subject-wise/GRE(subject) which is taken by NTS Pakistan. Regarding to take scholarship which one is suitable?

ahmad2 Sunday, May 14, 2017 01:54 PM

i have done MBA Finance and i am going to apply for MEXT scholarship in MS Finance or MS management.seeking assistant from the senior members and any volunteer who has secured any previous scholarship
In the application form there is a form "Reseach plan" its composed of three headings
1.present field of study

2.Your research topic in Japan: (Describe articulately the research you wish to carry out in Japan)

3.Study program in Japan: (Describe in detail and with specifics — particularly concerning the ultimate goal(s) of your research in Japan)

what topic should i opt ???
what should write in study program???

as i am applying first time for any scholarship kindly elaborate about writing format and contents.posting a sample and format will be highly appreciated

12:06 AM (GMT +5)