-   2010 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/kpk-public-service-commission/kpkpms/past-papers/2010/)
-   -   Essay KPK 2010 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/kpk-public-service-commission/kpkpms/past-papers/2010/43581-essay-kpk-2010-a.html)

Zarak Akhunzada Monday, January 17, 2011 07:25 PM

Essay KPK 2010

1 Attachment(s)
[CENTER][B]KHYBER PAKHTOON KHWA PUBLIC $SERVICE COMMISSION, PESHAWAR [/B]

[B]SUBJECT:- COMPETITIVE EXAMINATION FOR THE' POSTS OF PROVINCIAL MANAGEMENT SERVICE (BPS 17)[/B]

[B]ENGLISH ESSAY [/B]
[/CENTER]

Time Allowed: 03 hours Max Marks: 100

NOTE! Write a COMPREHENSIVE' essay (4000-5000 words) on any one of the topics listed below. Make sure you use correct form of discourse for the topic you choose - viz. expository, argumentative, persuasive, descriptive, narrative.

1. Forests are the lungs of the earth. Destruction of the world's forests amounts to death of the work' we currently know. What is your opinion? Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer .

2. Independence from parents is essential if Pakistani youth want to be able to stand an their own feet.

3. Describe your favorite vacation spot. Use at least three of the five senses (taste, touch, sound, sight, smell) in your description.

4. Your first day at a new college

5. Your first day at a new job

6. Your first visit to another country (or to a large city)

7. All citizens should be required by law to vote. Discuss.

8. Privacy is not the most important right. Give yoir opinion against this statement

9. Dieting makes people fat

10. Write about an experience that.shows that we should be careful of what we wish for.

H. R. Akhunzada Monday, January 17, 2011 07:29 PM

OHOOO Akhunzada Saib aap nay Matric ka paper q out kiya hai meray bhai. :)
By the why this paper was such a laugh. I dont know what they were thinking. Hahaha

DANISH_KHAN Monday, January 17, 2011 07:54 PM

My first day at college

I attempted this topic though I was having quite good knowledge of all the topics but the intense chill and severe cold wind turned each and everything down. I just managed to write 12 pages with 7 words per line and 25 lines per page along with an outline. I'm not sure about anything else at a moment but over all the paper was extremely easy.

imbindas Monday, January 17, 2011 08:27 PM

[SIZE="3"][COLOR="DarkRed"][FONT="Arial Black"]A student of 8th grade can pass and secure more than 70% marks in this paper.who knows better than a kid about first day in school or college ...i just cant stop laughing .. hehehehehe
:haha:haha:haha:haha:haha:haha:[/FONT][/COLOR][/SIZE]

Muhammad Arif Shah Monday, January 17, 2011 09:29 PM

[QUOTE=DANISH_KHAN;255850]I attempted this topic though I was having quite good knowledge of all the topics but the intense chill and severe cold wind turned each and everything down. I just managed to write 12 pages with 7 words per line and 25 lines per page along with an outline. I'm not sure about anything else at a moment but over all the paper was extremely easy.[/QUOTE]

same situation bro !!! but i wrote about 14,15 pages one the same topic, though i don't consider my material very efficient........

Umer Tuesday, January 18, 2011 01:38 AM

It is not always about pages.
20 pages of English with lots of grammar mistakes and no organization will yield lesser marks.
So even one with 8-10 pages could secure more marks than than of 20 pages.

Muhammad Arif Shah Tuesday, January 18, 2011 09:45 PM

YEAH Definitely !!!!!

kohatian_3560 Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:46 PM

its obvious that one should laugh at essay topics.but in my view one cant write 3000 words on topics like this ...............

mesogynist Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:40 PM

in my opinion essay topics,though very general gave ample space for a good writer to develop a quality essay.basically ,each person`s individual take on the topic matters.a school boy may write about his first day at school in a typpical manner however being pms candidates we were expected to produce some quality and difference on the said topics.in the end its the author`s specific approach that makes an essay good or bad.these topics were easy on ppl who had a tinge of creative writing in them while ppl hu had crammed facts n figures mostly failed.

Sheeraz S Wednesday, January 19, 2011 12:21 AM

A ridiculous paper and oddly-worded in my assessment

Habib orakzai Wednesday, January 19, 2011 10:34 PM

well its really difficult to write 4000 words with healthy ideas on topics like first day at college or job etc. dont know whether one should write number of class rooms and bathrooms...lolxxx besides personel feelings, reasons to choose that college, and study environment.

prestigious Thursday, January 20, 2011 09:41 PM

@ English essay paper

The paper seems very easy but there is much deepness and logic in selecting these topics. These topics has been selected after intensive thinking...
They want to check the creativity in writing and also the beauty of expression...
Prayers fr all...

H. R. Akhunzada Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:55 PM

[QUOTE=prestigious;256806]The paper seems very easy but there is much deepness and logic in selecting these topics. These topics has been selected after intensive thinking...
They want to check the creativity in writing and also the beauty of expression...
Prayers fr all...[/QUOTE]

Deep thinking my dear is not something you can do in a 3 hour paper... atleast not the deep thinking you are talking about. If a philosophical topic was the need why give almost four topics pointing at the same contextual material.The irony is the fact is how you'd justifiably write 2000 words let alone a 3000 word essay. Still in the same view how can ones essay be upto the mark of its use of correct discourse for the given topic chosen viz. expository, [B][U]persuasive[/U][/B], [B][U]argumentative[/U][/B], descriptive, narrative; as given in the instructions note?
It, by my regard was very immature on the part of the Commission.

@prestigious please dont take my argument as personal (for i qouted your post).... no hard feelings.... thanks for the prayers....good luck all

prestigious Thursday, January 20, 2011 11:39 PM

[QUOTE=H. R. Akhunzada;256828]Deep thinking my dear is not something you can do in a 3 hour paper... atleast not the deep thinking you are talking about. If a philosophical topic was the need why give almost four topics pointing at the same contextual material.The irony is the fact is how you'd justifiably write 2000 words let alone a 3000 word essay. Still in the same view how can ones essay be upto the mark of its use of correct discourse for the given topic chosen viz. expository, [B][U]persuasive[/U][/B], [B][U]argumentative[/U][/B], descriptive, narrative; as given in the instructions note?
It, by my regard was very immature on the part of the Commission.

@prestigious please dont take my argument as personal (for i qouted your post).... no hard feelings.... thanks for the prayers....good luck all[/QUOTE]

@If a philosophical topic was the need why give almost four topics pointing at the same contextual material==> agree100 percent, and yeah ur points are also valid regarding "expository, [B][U]persuasive[/U][/B], [B][U]argumentative[/U][/B], descriptive, narrative; as given in the instructions note... "these things are not possible in most of the essay topics...

Xeric Friday, January 21, 2011 11:17 AM

The paper is seemingly easy and general topics but you will face problems to prolong it to 4k words. Furthermore, topic doesn't matter, examiner will check the paper according to the requirements of essay. It is not a paragraph writing or attempting a question of 20 marks. Let us wait for result. :unsure:

engrjawadshah1 Friday, February 04, 2011 10:36 AM

one of my friend who after showing the essay paper to Dr abdul salam ,islamia college peshawar,quotes his comments . "es bande ko jis ne ye paper banaya hai es ko ulta latka do agar mere pas ye paper aye checking ki liye to me kisi ko pass nahi karon ga kiyun ki en topics pe essay sere se ban hi nahi sakta koi be student mujhe en topics pe essay bana k dikha de "

The Manager Friday, February 04, 2011 10:47 AM

@PMS Essay

Dear frnds it was really pathatic bt keep in mind that there were only three essays to be selected by the candidates...1,7 & 10. remaining essays were just fr restriction of the choice and attempting one of those meanz sucide..... just think over the paper....

Sheeraz S Friday, February 04, 2011 10:57 AM

[QUOTE=engrjawadshah1;261361]one of my friend who after showing the essay paper to Dr abdul salam ,islamia college peshawar,quotes his comments . "es bande ko jis ne ye paper banaya hai es ko ulta latka do agar mere pas ye paper aye checking ki liye to me kisi ko pass nahi karon ga kiyun ki en topics pe essay sere se ban hi nahi sakta koi be student mujhe en topics pe essay bana k dikha de "[/QUOTE]

This is really ridiculous remark by Prof Abdul Salam. The essay paper was up to the standards; even more canonical than CSS's essay paper. Prof Salam better have his head examined!!

engr.Mansoor Friday, February 04, 2011 11:54 AM

My view

Salam to all aspirants of PMS.
After going through all the comments i came to conclusion that all the topics were nice and also good. Infact it is really hard and difficult to write on an easy topic. And the examiner will see the difference in approach by every student.
I have attempted "My first day at new job". And thats how i start it
"Beautiful car,handsome salary,attractive house and a large fleet of workers etc.This is not an excerpt from a novel.These are the dreams of every human being in this world.To achieve these goals every body burns its mid night oil and also sails against the tides of difficulties and hardships of life. Dreams is not what one see while sleeping but dreams are those which don`t allow you to sleep. After passing through the rough and tough educational career every student holds a piece of paper in his hand in form of degree.For other people it`s a piece of paper only but for the specific holder it is the reward of his sixteen years long and hard journey of his educational career. In other words that degree is the tool in hands of an educated person to achieve and fulfill his dreams."

After that i also have created some beautifull and dramatic scenes in it. Also i have mentioned the the lessons which i have learnt from my first day at new job.
And also ended my essay with Robert Frost quote
"the woods are lovely,dark and deep
But i have the promises to keep
And miles to go before i sleep
and miles to go before i sleep"

bilalhidayat Friday, February 04, 2011 10:29 PM

yes. I agree with the last person. dr. abdul salam should be whipped for his remarks. why would he fail a student if essay topics were like that ? a student didn't make a paper. Yes, some real time idiots made papers this time as we had "renewable sources of energy" examined twice in EDS paper. Ever saw that before in your life ?

adnanz01 Tuesday, February 15, 2011 01:48 PM

It might seem ridiculous or smwat gapshap Bt to tell U that standard writing on such topics is absolutely not easy. Remember its nt 8th or Matric Paper that you'll just write few main points and wind up ur essay.
Secondly in My view the Essay paper is not designed Just to see how much material u have abt a particular topic rather it is designed to judge and analyze ur writing skills and ur approach. So do remeber easy topics lead to troublesome situations, when it comes to Essay writing.

Its wat I believe, yet I may B wrong !

Muhammad Adnan

Islaw Khan Tuesday, February 15, 2011 11:42 PM

Well it would be more better if they have asked to write two two pages on all topics. And still some important topics were missing like Thirsty crow, morning walk, My best Teacher, My Best friend.

The odd topics of this paper were No.1 Forest and No.7 All citizens should be required by law to vote.

Still it was a positive step from PSC-KPK that everyone attempted paper. Graduation tak taqreeban har koi College gya hoga awr agr os ne Privately kia hay thu kahee chakkar thu lagaya hoga na......... wonderful.

ArsalanTheRock Wednesday, February 16, 2011 12:10 AM

[QUOTE=islah_G;266638]Well it would be more better if they have asked to write two two pages on all topics. And still some important topics were missing like Thirsty crow, morning walk, My best Teacher, My Best friend.

The odd topics of this paper were No.1 Forest and No.7 All citizens should be required by law to vote.

Still it was a positive step from PSC-KPK that everyone attempted paper. Graduation tak taqreeban har koi College gya hoga awr agr os ne Privately kia hay thu kahee chakkar thu lagaya hoga na......... wonderful.[/QUOTE]

A very crucial topic was missing and i dont knw how they didnt include it..

The Topic is..................[SIZE="3"][COLOR="Blue"][FONT="Century Gothic"]My Cow[/FONT][/COLOR][/SIZE]

prestigious Wednesday, February 16, 2011 11:09 AM

@islah_G & ArsalanTheRock

Positive approach & reply frm yours side. Its a good way which u adopted fr criticism....Inshallah when ppl like u will come forward then hopefully our society and system of educatn and policy making will improve... Without power and authority everything is meaningless....tnx bro.
and don't mind but i guess these topic will Inshaallah come in the next PMS essay paper...

umar riaz Tuesday, January 29, 2013 12:42 PM

if these essays are to be attempted, then what should be the possible outlines??
:thinking

[I][/I]4. Your first day at a new college

5. Your first day at a new job

6. Your first visit to another country (or to a large city)[I][/I]

06:32 PM (GMT +5)