03:02 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > Computers and Technology

Computers and Technology Discuss computer issues, topics, and technology. Ask your questions about computer related problems, software, gadgets, computer science & emerging technologies.

Old Monday, August 06, 2007

Waseemtabish is a jewel in the roughWaseemtabish is a jewel in the roughWaseemtabish is a jewel in the roughWaseemtabish is a jewel in the rough
Default Some Hidden Secrets in Windows XP

ust read it carefully and do work at it...

Hidden Secrets

Defrag

Secret - Hidden Command Line Switch
Instructions - Go to “Start”, “Run” and Type defrag c: -b to defragment the Boot and Application Prefetch information.

Notes - Windows XP will run this automatically every three days or so, during system idle periods. BootVis will evoke this when you run the “Optimize System” function. There is no need to manually run this unless you wish to immediately optimize a newly installed application’s load time.

IExpress

Secret - Hidden Install Creator
Instructions - Go to Start, Run, type iexpress

Notes - IExpress is a technology designed to simplify creation of a setup program. Using the step-by-step IExpress Wizard, you can create self-extracting files that automatically run the setup program contained inside. The setup program can be an .inf file or an executable program. IExpress technology automatically removes the setup files after installation, saving the user time and frustration.

Netmeeting

Secret - Hidden Internet Conference Application
Instructions - Go to Start, Run, type conf

Notes - Windows XP is the last version of Microsoft Windows to include NetMeeting. NetMeeting delivers a complete Internet conferencing solution for all Windows users with multi-point data conferencing, text chat, whiteboard, and file transfer, as well as point-to-point audio and video.

Notepad

Secret - Create a Log File
Instructions - Launch Notepad, Type .LOG on the first line, and then press Enter to move to the next line. On the File menu, click Save As, type a descriptive name for your file in the File name box, and then click OK. When you next open the file, note that the date and time have been appended to the end of the log, immediately preceding the place where new text can be added. You can use this functionality to automatically add the current date and time to each log entry.

no 2
Paint

Secret - Image Trails
Instructions - Open an image and hold down Shift then drag the image around to create an image trail.

Secret - 10x Zoom
Instructions - Open an image and select the magnifying glass icon. Left-Click exactly on the line below the 8x.

Private Character Editor

Secret - Hidden Font Editor
Instructions - Go to Start, Run, type eudcedit

Notes - You can use Private Character Editor to create unique letters and logos for your font library.

Windows Media Player 6.4

Secret - Hidden Windows Media Player
Instructions - Go to Start, Run, type mplayer2

Notes - Windows Media Player 6.4 (Classic) is installed along with Windows Media Player 7. The only update is that it now supports the latest codecs.

GAME SECRETS

FreeCell

Secret - Instant Win
Instructions - Hold down Ctrl + Shift + F10 during game play. Then you will be asked if you want to Abort, Retry or Ignore. Choose Abort, then move any card to instantly win.

Secret - Hidden Game Modes
Instructions - In the “Game” menu choose “Select Game”. Enter -1 or -2 to activate the hidden game modes.

Hearts

Secret - Show All Cards
Instructions - Edit this registry key: HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Microsoft\Windows\Curre ntVersion\Applets\Hearts and create a new String value named ZB with a Data value of 42. Start Hearts and Press Ctrl + Alt + Shift + F12 to show all the cards.

Background - This secret is a reference to Douglas Adams’ book the Hitch Hiker’s Guide to the Galaxy. ‘ZB’ is the initials of the character Zaphod Beeblebrox, the Galactic President. ‘42′ is the answer to The Ultimate Question Of Life, the Universe and Everything.

no 3
Minesweeper

Secret - Reveal Mines
Instructions - Minimize or close all running applications. Launch Minesweeper, then type xyzzy. Next hold down either shift key for one second. Now when you move the mouse cursor over a Minesweeper square you will see a tiny white pixel in the top left corner of your desktop screen. This pixel will change to black when your mouse moves over a mine. You may need to change you desktop background to a solid color other then white or black to see the pixel.

Secret - Stop Timer
Instructions - Launch Minesweeper and start a game so the timer starts counting, then press the Windows Key + D to show the desktop. Now when you select minesweeper from the taskbar you can continue playing with the timer stopped.

Pinball

Secret - Extra Balls
Instructions - Type 1max at the start of a new ball to get extra balls.

Secret - Gravity Well
Instructions - Type gmax at the start of a new game to activate the Gravity Well.

Secret - Instant Promotion
Instructions - Type rmax at the start of a new game to go up in ranks.

Secret - Skill Shot
Instructions - Launch the ball partially up the chute past the third yellow light bar so it falls back down to get 75,000 points. There are six yellow light bars that are worth a varying amount of points:

First: 15,000 points
Second: 30,000 points
Third: 75,000 points
Fourth: 30,000 points
Fifth: 15,000 points
Sixth: 7,500 points

Secret - Test Mode
Instructions - Type hidden test at the start of a new ball to activate Test Mode. No notification will be given that this is activated but you can now left-click the mouse button and drag the ball around. While in test mode press the following keys for more secrets:

No 4
Solitaire

Secret - Instant Win
Instructions - Press Alt + Shift + 2 during game play to instantly win.

Secret - Draw single cards in a Draw Three game
Instructions - Hold down CTRL + ALT + SHIFT while drawing a new card. Instead of drawing three cards you will only draw one.

OS SECRETS

Add/Remove

Secret - Hidden Uninstall Options

Instructions - Warning: Proceed at your own risk! Browse to C:\Windows\inf\ and make a backup copy of sysoc.inf. Then open the original file C:\Windows\inf\sysoc.inf in notepad. Go to “Edit” and select “Replace”. In “Find what:” type ,hide and in “Replace with:” type , then select “Replace All”, save and close the file. Go to the “Control Panel”, “Add/Remove”, select “Add/Remove Windows Components”. You will now see many more Windows components to uninstall. Do not remove anything with no label or that you do not recognize or fully understand what it does. Doing so can break certain functionality in Windows.

Control Panel

Secret - Hidden Control Panel Extensions
Instructions - Download and install TweakUI, launch, go to “Control Panel” and check any item not selected, then “Apply” and “OK”. You will now see the hidden control panel extensions.

Device Manager

Secret - Hidden Devices
Instructions - Go to the “Control Panel”, “System” icon, “Hardware” tab and select “Device Manager”. Select “View” and Show hidden devices.

Secret - Phantom Devices
Instructions - Go to “Start”, “Programs”, “Accessories” and select “Command Prompt”. At the command prompt, type “set devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1″ and press Enter. At the command prompt, type “start devmgmt.msc” and press Enter. Select “View” and Show hidden devices. You can see devices that are not connected to the computer. - Source

Notes - When you close the command prompt window, Windows clears the “devmgr_show_nonpresent_devices=1″ variable that you set and prevents phantom devices from being displayed when you select “Show hidden devices”.

No 5
Music

Secret - Music from the Installer
Instructions - Browse to C:\Windows\system32\oobe\images\title.wma and play.

Notes - “OOBE” stands for “Out-of-Box Experience”.

Shutdown

Secret - Display Hibernate Option on the Shut Down dialog
Instructions - Go to “Start”, “Turn Off Computer…” and press either Shift key to change the “Stand By” button to “Hibernate”.

HAVE FUN....
A Rehman Pal (Monday, November 05, 2007), aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Saturday, July 18, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), naad-e-ali (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), Predator (Monday, September 17, 2007), salik_malik (Wednesday, September 02, 2009)
Old Tuesday, October 02, 2007

arifa zaman is on a distinguished road

hi,
u have givn very interesting information abt XP, especially about diff. games which i dont knw. Nw i will apply it on my PC and will see wat hapns nxt..... lol.
regards,
Arifa zaman
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to arifa zaman For This Useful Post:
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Saturday, July 18, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), naad-e-ali (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), salik_malik (Tuesday, September 08, 2009), Waseemtabish (Tuesday, September 01, 2009)
Old Tuesday, October 09, 2007

mashal khan will become famous soon enough

My Brother,i Have Applied The Picture Trick But It Doesnt Work.
The Following 7 Users Say Thank You to mashal khan For This Useful Post:
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Saturday, July 18, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), naad-e-ali (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), salik_malik (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), Waseemtabish (Tuesday, September 01, 2009)
Old Saturday, October 27, 2007

Waseemtabish is a jewel in the roughWaseemtabish is a jewel in the roughWaseemtabish is a jewel in the roughWaseemtabish is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by mashal khan
My Brother,i Have Applied The Picture Trick But It Doesnt Work.
her video aur board ki apni setting hoti hai.agar app ko kisi bhi tarah ki help zarorat hai to Pm me

waseem abbas tabish

Originally Posted by arifa zaman
hi,
u have givn very interesting information abt XP, especially about diff. games which i dont knw. Nw i will apply it on my PC and will see wat hapns nxt..... lol.
regards,
Arifa zaman
app ka pc jal giya to main zimadar nahi hoon ga.lolz

Last edited by Princess Royal; Sunday, July 19, 2009 at 02:23 PM.
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Waseemtabish For This Useful Post:
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), naad-e-ali (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), salik_malik (Wednesday, September 02, 2009)
Old Tuesday, November 06, 2007

gumnam is on a distinguished road

nothing of ur direction is working. hahaaaaaaaaaaaaa
and finally cause us zap back to the reality..

Last edited by Wounded Healer; Wednesday, November 07, 2007 at 12:24 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to gumnam For This Useful Post:
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Saturday, July 18, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), salik_malik (Wednesday, September 02, 2009)
Old Wednesday, November 07, 2007

Decisive is on a distinguished road

i have applied only games/music and that hibernate wala (other i dnt understand :P) tricks... it works.. kool

Great keep posting such things

********** The S c H i l l e r **********
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to Decisive For This Useful Post:
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), salik_malik (Wednesday, September 02, 2009)
Old Tuesday, November 27, 2007
G R E N A D E
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Khushal  moderates General ChatMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Appreciation

Khushal has a spectacular aura aboutKhushal has a spectacular aura about

Waseem bhai that was a nice post but you shouldn't have posted the Games Cheats since no one will play it fairly now~[:P]
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), salik_malik (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), Waseemtabish (Tuesday, September 01, 2009)
Old Saturday, July 18, 2009

ambren_kanval is on a distinguished road

brother what is the difference between " Hibernate " & " Stand By "
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to ambren_kanval For This Useful Post:
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009)
Old Saturday, August 29, 2009

Default Window Xp Hidden Applications

WINDOW XP HIDDEN APPS

To run any of these apps go to start > Run and type the executable name (ie charmap).

WINDOWS XP HIDDEN APPS:

1) Character Map = charmap.exe (very useful for finding unusual characters)

2) Disk Cleanup = cleanmgr.exe

3) Clipboard Viewer = clipbrd.exe (views contents of Windows clipboard)

4) Dr Watson = drwtsn32.exe (Troubleshooting tool)

5) DirectX diagnosis = dxdiag.exe (Diagnose & test DirectX, video & sound cards)

6) Private character editor = eudcedit.exe (allows creation or modification of characters)

7) IExpress Wizard = iexpress.exe (Create self-extracting / self-installing package)

Microsoft Synchronization Manager = mobsync.exe (appears to allow synchronization of files on the network for when working offline. Apparently undocumented).

9) Windows Media Player 5.1 = mplay32.exe (Retro version of Media Player, very basic).

10) ODBC Data Source Administrator = odbcad32.exe (something to do with databases)

11) Object Packager = packager.exe (to do with packaging objects for insertion in files, appears to have comprehensive help files).

12) System Monitor = perfmon.exe (very useful, highly configurable tool, tells you everything you ever wanted to know about any aspect of PC performance, for uber-geeks only )

13) Program Manager = progman.exe (Legacy Windows 3.x desktop shell).

14) Remote Access phone book = rasphone.exe (documentation is virtually non-existant).

15) Registry Editor = regedt32.exe [also regedit.exe] (for hacking the Windows Registry).

16) Network shared folder wizard = shrpubw.exe (creates shared folders on network).

17) File siganture verification tool = sigverif.exe

1 Volume Contro = sndvol32.exe (I've included this for those people that lose it from the System Notification area).

19) System Configuration Editor = sysedit.exe (modify System.ini & Win.ini just like in Win98! ).

20) Syskey = syskey.exe (Secures XP Account database - use with care, it's virtually undocumented but it appears to encrypt all passwords, I'm not sure of the full implications).

21) Microsoft Telnet Client = telnet.exe

22) Driver Verifier Manager = verifier.exe (seems to be a utility for monitoring the actions of drivers, might be useful for people having driver problems. Undocumented).

23) Windows for Workgroups Chat = winchat.exe (appears to be an old NT utility to allow chat sessions over a LAN, help files available).

24) System configuration = msconfig.exe (can use to control starup programs)

25) gpedit.msc used to manage group policies, and permissions
aine_malik (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), ambren_kanval (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), khanzada_111 (Wednesday, September 02, 2009), kotla chokey 1 (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), naad-e-ali (Tuesday, September 15, 2009), salik_malik (Wednesday, September 02, 2009)