06:45 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > Degree Programs and Courses

Old Friday, January 20, 2012

sadia malik 2011 will become famous soon enough
Default Plans

I will appear in August 2012 for Part 1 Inshallah. For part 2, next year August 2013 will be my exam days Inshallah.
faaizaa (Monday, September 03, 2012)
Old Monday, January 23, 2012

zarkash5 is on a distinguished road
Default Rizwan

friends ! all the best .... i m also making my mind to appear in M.A English exams as a private candidate ... :P
The Following User Says Thank You to zarkash5 For This Useful Post:
Old Tuesday, January 24, 2012

anastasia is on a distinguished road

Sadia..as syllabus is different for different universities..first tell about the papers included in previous n syllabus..it's not that tough..you can finish it in time if you start your preparation

don't worry..if u have attended 3 semesters then you might be aware that you can do it..

Last edited by Shooting Star; Tuesday, March 20, 2012 at 05:33 PM. Reason: merged
The Following User Says Thank You to anastasia For This Useful Post:
Old Wednesday, February 08, 2012

Default @ arjumandzia

Have you got hold of new syllabus Arjumand ?
Old Tuesday, February 14, 2012

arjumand zia is on a distinguished road
Post @sadia malik

aoa,
sorry for late response last week i visited numl they told me they are resheduling the external syllabus they havent finalized yet so , most probably after 25th feb they said first call n then come n check the syllabus ..i went to the book bank they havent given any books to me ...they were asking for syllabus ...am very worried how am going to prepare for papers...as am leaving for umrah next week.

Old Tuesday, February 28, 2012

MA ENGLISH LITERATURE AND LINGUISTICS (External candidate Part 1 )

Paper 1: History of English Literature and Literary Criticism

Core Text:
Alexander, Michael A History of English Literature

a) Old English Literature
b) Middle English Literature
c) Tudor Literature
d) Shakespeare and the Drama
e) Stuart Literature
f) Augustan Literature
g) The Romantics
h) The Age and its Sages
i) Poetry
j) Fiction
k) Late Victorian Literature
l) Ends and Beginnings: The Twentieth Century
m) From Post-War to Post-War
n) New Beginnings

Core Text:
Aristotle Poetics (Aristotle’s The Art of Poetry edited by Fyfe)
A Quintessence of Literary Criticsm-NUML

1.Introduction to Literary Criticism
2. Aristotle Poetics
3. Johnson, Samuel
a. Selection from Milton
b. Selection from Cowley
4. Wordsworth, William Preface to Lyrical Ballads
5. Coleridge, Samuel Taylor Biographia Literaria: Chapters 16 & 17
6. Arnold, Mathew
a. The Study of Poetry
b. The Function of Criticism at the Present Time
7. Eliot, Thomas Stearns Tradition and the Individual Talent

Paper 2: ( Select either Phoneitcs and phonology or Grammar, Syntax, Semantics as paper No. 5 ) Phonetics and Phonology

Core Text:
Roach, Peter English Phonetics and Phonology
Jones, Daniel & Gimson, A.C. A Dictionary of English pronunciation( 14th Edition)
Jones, Daniel An Outline Of English Phonetics

1. Phonetics
a. Areas of study
b. Phonetic universality and diversity
c. Usefulness of study
2. Concepts of ‘Sounds of Language’
3. Problems of English pronunciation
a. Lack of correspondence between spelling and pronunciation
b. Acoustic quality of speech sounds
c. Proper articulation of speech sounds
d. Mother tongue interference
e. Supra segmental features
f. Types of pronunciation
4. Requirements of foreign learners
5. Phonetic symbols
6. Process of articulation
7. Organs of speech-description and function
8. Classification of sounds
9. Articulation of vowels
10. Cardinal vowels
11. Vowel diagram
12. Description of English vowels
a. Pure vowels
b. Diphthongs
c. Triphthongs
13. Articulation of consonants
14. Place of articulation
15. Manner of articulation
16. Description of English consonants
a. Plosives
b. Affricates
c. Nasals
d. Laterals
e. Fricatives
f. Frictionless continuant
17. Semi vowels
18. Consonant clusters in English
19. Phonology
a. Relationship with phonetics
b. Areas of study
20. Phoneme
a. Phonemic theory
b. Phonemic test
21. Allophone
a. Complementary distribution
b. Phonetic similarity
22. Syllable
c. Structure
d. Syllabic division of words
e. Permissible and non-permissible sound sequences
f. Conventional character of syllabic distribution
23. Word stress
a. Levels of stress
b. Variability
c. Mobility
d. Rules and exceptions
24. Sentence stress
25. Strong and weak forms
a. Formation of weak forms
b. Importance of using weak forms
c. Weak form words
d. Use of strong forms
26. Assimilation
a. Historical assimilation
b. Contextual assimilation
c. Consonant change in assimilation
27. Elision
28. Intonation
a. English tones
b. Functions
29. Phonetic transcription
30. Pakistani speakers of English
a. Problems of pronunciation
b. Strategies for solving problems
c. Sociolinguistic environment
d. Intelligibility as a learning goal

Paper 5: Grammar, Syntax and Semantics
Core Text:
Palmer, Frank Grammar
Palmer, Frank Sementics

Grammar
1. Grammar and its Significance
2. Concepts of Traditional Grammar
a. Words
b. Parts of speech
c. Sentence
d. Clause
e. Phrase
f. Grammatical Categories
g. Concord and Government
h. Inflection and Syntax
3. Comparison of Traditional Grammar with Modern Linguistic Grammar (Linguistic allegations against traditional concepts)
a. The Notion of Correctness and Incorrectness
b. Speech and Writing
c. Form and Meaning
4. Morphology

Syntax
1. Theory of Syntax
a. Theme
b. How is it an improvement on the traditional grammar?
c. Its basic structure and emphasis
2. Methods of Sentence Structure Analysis.
i. IC analysis
a. The Theory
b. Methods of Display
c. Indications of Constituency
d. Limitations
ii. Phrase Structure Grammar
a. The Theory
b. Features of PS Grammar
c. Methods of Display
d. Indications of Constituency
iii. Lexicon
3. Transformational Grammar
a. The founder and the theory
b. Deep and surface structure
c. Different types of transformation
i. Questions
ii. Negatives
iii. Passivisation
iv. Complex and compound sentences
v. Conditionals

Semantics
1. Introduction
a. What is Semantics?
b. Historical Semantics
c. Semantics in other disciplines
2. The Scope of Semantics
a. Naming
b. Concepts
c. Sense and reference
d. The word
e. The sentence
3. Lexical Semantics: Fields and Collocation
a. Paradigmatic and Syntagmatic
b. Semantic field
c. Color systems
d. Collocation
e. Idioms
4. Lexical Semantics: Sense relations
a. Hyponymy
b. Synonymy
c. Antonymy
d. Relational opposites
e. Polysemy and Homonymy
f. Components
g. The Problem of Universals
5. Semantics and Grammar
a. Formal grammar
b. Grammatical categories
c. Grammar and lexicon
d. Grammatical relations
e. Components and the sentence
f. Predicates and arguments
g. Case grammar
h. Sentence types and modality

Paper 3 :Poetry

Core Text:
A Quintessence of Classical Poetry-NUML

1. Geoffrey Chaucer
a. Introduction to The Prologue
b. The Prologue to the Canterbury Tales
2. Edmund Spenser
Faerie Queene: Book 1, Canto 1
3. John Milton
a. The Argument: Paradise Lost Book 1
b. Paradise Lost, Book I
4. Alexander Pope
The Rape of the Lock
5. John Donne
a. Love Poems: Song; The Sunne Rising; Love’s Alchemy; A Valediction – Of Weeping
b. Holy Sonnets: Thou hast made me, and shall thy work decay; I am a little world made cunningly; If poisonous minerals, and if that tree; Death be not proud.

Core Text:
A Quintessence of Romantic Poetry -NUML

1. William Wordsworth
a. Tintern Abbey
b. Ode on Intimations of Immortality
2. Samuel Taylor Coleridge
a. The Rime of the Ancient Mariner
b. Kubla Khan
3. Percy Bysshe Shelley
a. Ode to the West Wind
b. To a Skylark
4. John Keats
a. Ode on a Grecian Urn
b. Ode to a Nightingale
c. Ode to Autumn
5. Mathew Arnold
Dover Beach
6. William Butler Yeats
a. Second Coming
b. Sailing to Byzantium
c. Byzantium
7. Tennyson
a. Lines from In Memoriam
b. The Lady of Shallot
c. Break, Break, Break
8. Browning
My Last Duchess

Paper 4. Drama A

1. Sophocles King Oedipus (The Theban Plays: Penguin Classics)
2. Marlowe, Christopher Dr. Faustus
3. Shakespeare, William Twelfth Night
4. Shakespeare, William King Lear

1. Ibsen, Henrik A Doll’s House
2. Shaw, George Bernard Arms and the Man
3. O’Casey, Sean Juno and The Paycock
4. Pinter, Harold The Caretaker
5. Beckett, Samuel Waiting For Godot

Paper 5: Prose
Core Text:
An Anthology of English Essays-NUML

1. Bacon, Francis
Of Truth
Of Marriage and Single Life
Of Studies
Of Friendship
The New Year
2. Lamb, Charles
Dream-Children: A Reverie
Poor Relations
In Praise of Chimney-Sweepers
3. Hazlitt, William
Selection from Mr. Wordsworth
My First Acquaintance with Poets
4. Ruskin, John Work
5. Emerson, Ralph Waldo
Self-Reliance

Core Text:
An Anthology of English Short Stories –NUML
Selections From Hazlitt, Huxley and Russell - NUML

P
The Short Story - An Introduction by Brander Mathews
1. O’Henry
a. Gift of the Magi
b. The Last Leaf
2. Wilde, Oscar
a. The Devoted Friend
b. The Happy Prince
3. Poe, Edgar Allan
a. The Tell Tale Heart
b. The Fall of the House of Usher
4. Mansfield, Katherine
a. The Fly
b. The Doll’s House
5. Twain, Mark
a. A Dog’s Tale
b. A Helpless Situation
6. Wells, H.G.
a. A Moonlight Fable
b. The Diamond Maker
7. Huxley, Thomas Henry
a. From A Liberal Education
b. From Science and Culture
8. Russel, Bertrand
a. Politics
b. Ethics
c. Education
d. Psychology

The registration for external candidates will take place in June 2012 and Exams will be held in AUGUST 2012
faaizaa (Monday, September 03, 2012), kiyani (Tuesday, April 24, 2012)
Old Sunday, March 18, 2012

minoo is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by TRANSPARENT View Post
@sadia
well sorry dear i did my masters in english from punjab uni. so numl and ours secs are a bit different. so only few books are similar!
transparent hw can I seek ur help as me also doing M.A English by nw? my id on my profile n would b grateful if u can txt me for duidelines..........
The Following User Says Thank You to minoo For This Useful Post:
Old Tuesday, March 20, 2012

hi
aoa
is this new syllabus? secondly i wantur advice whether to chose phoneticsn phonology or grammar, syntax....?
Old Wednesday, March 21, 2012

@ arjumandzia

yes this is a new syllabus. I had called NUML Islamabad. They said that no change has taken place in syllabus. In my opinion "Grammar, Syntax and Semantics" is a confusing subject. Phonetics and phonetics is a better option.
I think you should also confirm from NUML and get hold of syllabus also. I am in Lahore. So its difficult for me to go there.
Old Thursday, March 22, 2012

yeh u r right am going this week will get and confirmed to u...but i guess there is a change wht i get from net was different syllabus regular people have different syllabus wht i get from their website...earlier in my opinion ;wht u have posted is little bit different there is no history of language and linguistic we dont have the syllabus u posted 2nd paper history of english literature dont have in new but there is critism.....acha am confused which coretext is for 1st semester coz there is 2 core text in one subject plz tell me abt it secondly paper2 wid option got one core text is this for both semester ...am i right and books of subjects are single wht u recommand for refrence each subject ov first semester plz guide me....am totally confused ..wht abt essay paper where i can get help for this paper which book?....