03:29 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > Degree Programs and Courses

Old Thursday, March 22, 2012

sadia malik 2011 will become famous soon enough

@ arjumandzia

The regular students study the course in 4 semesters in two years. According to the previous rule for External candidates, the University used to take the exam of two years in one attempt, the whole course consisting of 10 papers. Now according to new rule, the students have to take the exam of 5 papers in August 2012. The next year, August 2013, they will take the exam of next 5 papers.

Paper 1: History of English Literature and Literary Criticism
Paper 2: ( Select either Phoneitcs and phonology or Grammar, Syntax, Semantics )
Paper 3 :Poetry
Paper 4. Drama
Paper 5: Prose

Sorry, I had commited a mistake in writing down the Paper number of "Grammar, Syntax and Semantics". It is not paper no. 5. It is Paper No. 2.

The rest of the papers are in second part of the exam in August 2013. We have to take the exam as external candidates. So please don't confuse it with semester system of studies.
faaizaa (Monday, September 03, 2012)
Old Monday, March 26, 2012

arjumand zia is on a distinguished road

@sadia malik
thanku very much ...i visited numl today i got hold of syllabus but didnt get past papers cuz desire person was not there....if u got some papers please exchange questions wid me ... i need help in phonetics n phonology... will u plz tell me how ur preparing for this paper? ..one of professor told me that get hold of notes of this subject than u can easily pass this paper otherwise its difficult to pass. i need help desprately in this and in essay paper how to prepare for this paper? plz guide me for both of this subject...
Old Monday, March 26, 2012

@arjumand zia

Which subjects are included in Part 1 of the exam according to the syllabus given to you by NUML ?
Old Tuesday, March 27, 2012

@sadiamalik
1 history of english literature&literary criticism
2phonetics n phonology OR semantics , grammar
3 poetry
4 drama
5prose

these ate the subjects for 1st semester ... i need ur help in phonetics n phonology how to prepare this subject n in essay paper ie in prose...guide me how to prepare these subject ?...

Old Tuesday, March 27, 2012

@ arjumandzia

1. Phonetics and Phonology is a subject in which you have to memorize word to word almost the notes.

2. For preparing the Paper of Prose, get hold of key books on the writers published by New Kitab Mahal or Famous publishers. They are for preparing English essays. But there is hardly any helping material available on Short stories.

3. What have you come to know new about the exams by your latest visit to NUML ? ( Registeration will be in June and fee is Rs. 10,000. Am I right ? )

4. Who told you that we are taking exam through semester system ? ( According to my information, the external candidates take exam through annual system, Part 1 and Part 2.)
Old Wednesday, March 28, 2012

@sadia malik
well i visited examination department they hand over the syllabus n told me have to give 5 papers; registeration might start in may or june when the add is given..each paper fee is 2000 recommended ...this year there is achange in exam pattern one of proffesor confirms to me ..how to prepare for short stories give me idea how i can prepare for this?
Old Tuesday, April 24, 2012

kiyani will become famous soon enough

sadia malik and arjumand zia, thanks for discussing valuable information at this forum, i am also planning to do master in linguistics and literature from numl as a private candidate. I just gave my B.A exams from UOG.

I have some Phonology notes prepared by numl i'll upload them soon.
The Following User Says Thank You to kiyani For This Useful Post:
Old Friday, November 23, 2012

Maryam Hina is on a distinguished road
Post Need guidance for MA English external from NUML

AOA!

I want to appear in MA English exams in 2013 as external candidate .
Any body who has done Masters in English form NUML , please guide me regarding the past papers, course books and any other guide books.
I shall be thoroughly obliged .

The Following User Says Thank You to Maryam Hina For This Useful Post:
faaizaa (Friday, December 07, 2012)
Old Monday, November 26, 2012

kiyani will become famous soon enough

@ Maryam Hina check the following links.

http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic...rnal-numl.html
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/css-optio...uml-notes.html
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic...a-english.html
http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic...rnal-numl.html
The Following User Says Thank You to kiyani For This Useful Post:
Old Tuesday, December 04, 2012
44th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2015 - Merit 160Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,161 Times in 660 Posts
courageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to beholdcourageneverdies is a splendid one to behold
Default @ Members Interested to Appear in NUML as Private Candidate for MA English

CONDUCT OF M.A PART - I / SUPPLEMENTARY EXAMINATIONS FOR EXTERNAL (PRIVATE) CANDIDATES FEB 2013

National University of Modern Languages, Islamabad is going to conduct M.A Examinations for external (Private) candidates for the award of Masters Degrees in English, Urdu, French and Turkish languages on annual basis. The exam will be held in Feb 2013. Candidates having passed Bachelor’s Exam with one year gap or any other equivalent examination recognized by the Higher Education Commission, Government of Pakistan Islamabad will be eligible to appear in the M.A External (Private) Examinations. The candidates of M.A French and Turkish are required to have studied the French/Turkish Language as an elective subject at B.A level or having Advance Diploma/Interpretership from a recognized University. Application Forms, Syllabus, Books and Model Papers are available at NUML’s Main Campus and its Regional Campuses. However, the exam will be held only at that centre where the number of candidates is not less than ten. The applications forms alongwith the syllabus can also be obtained by hand on payment of Rs.500/- or through post by depositing a bank draft amounting to Rs.600/- in favour of NUML Islamabad. The candidates of supplementary examinations are required to attach a copy of their Result Card of previous examination alongwith their admission forms.

The forms duly filled in may reach the NUML Main Campus / Regional Campuses at Lahore, Karachi, Faisalabad, Multan, Quetta, Hyderabad and Peshawar by 15th Jan 2013.

Source: http://www.numl.edu.pk/datesheet/Add...Dec%202012.pdf

The Following User Says Thank You to courageneverdies For This Useful Post: