-   Degree Programs and Courses (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/degree-programs-courses/)
-   -   what type of test will be of m.phil english from numl (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/degree-programs-courses/52374-what-type-test-will-m-phil-english-numl.html)

Tooba Malik Wednesday, August 03, 2011 07:17 AM

what type of test will be of m.phil english from numl

members plz guide me i want to take test of m,phil english literature in numl university .does any know about test type and number of total seats .what is merit cretaria ?plz reply thanks

courageneverdies Saturday, August 27, 2011 10:22 AM

[QUOTE=Tooba Malik;336337]members plz guide me i want to take test of m,phil english literature in numl university .does any know about test type and number of total seats .what is merit cretaria ?plz reply thanks[/QUOTE]

Sister, what became of your admission. I think the list of the candidates that have been granted admission in MPhil program has been notified. Did you compete for a seat in Literature or Linguistcs? Coz this time Linguistics proved to be fatal... People with excellent score in M.A. and GAT couldn't secure admission in Linguistics.

Best of Luck...

Tooba Malik Saturday, August 27, 2011 01:26 PM

bhyya plz share your paper of linguistics and interview question also as far as my admission is concernd i could not go for test so inshaAllah next time .would you tell me merit of literature?thanks

courageneverdies Saturday, August 27, 2011 06:17 PM

[QUOTE=Tooba Malik;345196]bhyya plz share your paper of linguistics and interview question also as far as my admission is concernd i could not go for test so inshaAllah next time .would you tell me merit of literature?thanks[/QUOTE]

Sister, there were four questions in total, I remember two :?:

1. Noam Chomsky's contribution to psycholinguistics.
2. English voacabulary is continously at an increase. Point out some sources that are instrumental in this development.

You're to attempt one question in all.

Can't tell for sure about the merit of MPhil Literature, but the number of candidates is less than those of linguistics so obviously one could have a chance to secure admission.

There was no interview at all. Merit was determined on the basis of M.A. marks, GAT and test conducted by NUML.

Alhamdulillah, I was able to secure admission in MPhil Linguistics. Best of luck to you in advance.

Tooba Malik Saturday, August 27, 2011 06:33 PM

congratulation bhyya jee.how many total seats are for linguistics and literature ? what is your no of selection list.which question you attempted .how much marks for test and time?

Tooba Malik Saturday, August 27, 2011 07:03 PM

ok thanks again congratulation....bhyya how much time was allowed time for 1 question of test and how much marks for that question?plz let me know about total seats of literature? which books you studied for linguistics?thanks

courageneverdies Saturday, August 27, 2011 07:11 PM

[QUOTE=Tooba Malik;345297]ok thanks again congratulation....bhyya how much time was allowed time for 1 question of test and how much marks for that question?plz let me know about total seats of literature? which books you studied for linguistics?thanks[/QUOTE]

Time allowed was one hour and the question was of 20 marks. I'll let you know about the total number of seats for literature next week InshaALLAH.

I studied no books for this test, all I did was to recall things during the test and this helped me a lot. NUML gives emphasis on linguistics in Masters course so that was an easy task for me.

courageneverdies Monday, September 05, 2011 04:33 PM

[QUOTE=Tooba Malik;345296]ok and how many seats are of literature?[/QUOTE]

Sister there were 29 seats for English Literature and 42 for English Linguistics. Today was our orientation.

Afshan Riaz Monday, July 30, 2012 10:13 PM

Hi Tooba.
i am applyng for m.phil english language in numl....can u guide me in a better way inorder to clear the test wd excellence?
i shall b very thankful to u

Afshan Riaz Tuesday, July 31, 2012 03:56 PM

Hi
i want to apply for m.phil english in numl..kindly help me out whthr to choose eng lit or eng ling....n wht type of questions r askd in ling n lit tests...
shall be thankful to u

05:04 AM (GMT +5)