-   Degree Programs and Courses (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/degree-programs-courses/)
-   -   kindly suggest me some standard book on linguistics (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/degree-programs-courses/83814-kindly-suggest-me-some-standard-book-linguistics.html)

Asm Muzafar Thursday, August 29, 2013 08:19 PM

kindly suggest me some standard book on linguistics

hello, everybody

kindly suggest me some standard book on linguistics. I am doing masters in English language and literature from university of sargodha (private candidate) and have opted for linguistics in part 2. Your suggestions will be of great help to me as the exams are so close

faaizaa Friday, August 30, 2013 10:11 AM

why dont you consult those recommended books which are given with syllabus? are they not sufficient ?do we also need more books instead of them ? please guide us too?thanks in advance

kiyani Sunday, September 08, 2013 02:06 PM

Consult "Linguistics" by famous publishers.

Z Bokhari Monday, September 09, 2013 02:08 PM

[QUOTE=Asm Muzafar;643100]hello, everybody

kindly suggest me some standard book on linguistics. I am doing masters in English language and literature from university of sargodha (private candidate) and have opted for linguistics in part 2. Your suggestions will be of great help to me as the exams are so close[/QUOTE]

'The study of language' by George Yule (Cambridge university press)

'An introductory textbook of Linguistics and Phonetics' by Late Dr. Radhay Varshni (Famous publishers)

These two books are more than enough for the linguistics paper of UOS.

wasif786 Monday, October 21, 2013 11:31 AM

[QUOTE=Z Bokhari;646674]'The study of language' by George Yule (Cambridge university press)

'An introductory textbook of Linguistics and Phonetics' by Late Dr. Radhay Varshni (Famous publishers)

These two books are more than enough for the linguistics paper of UOS.

Regards.[/QUOTE]

Dear sister please recommend me good books for M.A English from pu?

Z Bokhari Monday, October 21, 2013 03:28 PM

[QUOTE=wasif786;660779]Dear sister please recommend me good books for M.A English from pu?[/QUOTE]

The books by "famous publishers" are really good for M.A English.

wasif786 Monday, October 21, 2013 03:54 PM

[QUOTE=Z Bokhari;660841]The books by "famous publishers" are really good for M.A English.[/QUOTE]

are these rather better than NKM? i heard NKM s are bit easy to prepare.
how should i prepare these 5 subjects? does selective study work?

Z Bokhari Monday, October 21, 2013 05:25 PM

[QUOTE=wasif786;660847]are these rather better than NKM? i heard NKM s are bit easy to prepare.
how should i prepare these 5 subjects? does selective study work?[/QUOTE]

Yes NKM books are easier but in my opinion the content of books of Famous publishers is far better than tne NKM one's.
I am not sure about PU but if you go through the past papers of last 10 years of UOS, you will see that the topics in the questions are almost the same in all those papers, the only change is in the language of the questions or more precisely the manner in which the examiners had asked those questions. In such a case, a bit of selected study can also be helpful.

marina khan Wednesday, October 23, 2013 06:43 PM

any body help me I want to do master in English from bzu but muje samjh nhi aa raha k itni sari books kis tara prepare ho gi plz guide me selected study ho skti ha iski? or konsi books helpful ho gi

09:23 AM (GMT +5)