12:22 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests

General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests A zone where General Knowledge related to this exam can be shared.Surveys and Threads with polls and questions that require answers can be Posted here

Old Wednesday, April 25, 2007

amy has a spectacular aura aboutamy has a spectacular aura about
Default How to reduce exam anxiety

Exam anxiety can be viewed in two different ways:

* Ineffective coping with the inevitable stress of an exam BEFORE the exam; and/or

*A strong emotional reaction of fear that interferes with thinking clearly DURING the exam.

The most commonly reported symptoms are:

Memory blocks or “blanking out” on things that you have studied;

*Fear of failing before the exam is even written;

*Physical symptoms such as rapid heart rate, shortness of breath, sweating, etc.;

*Lower reading comprehension; and

*Poor attention and inability to concentrate

These symptoms can also appear as you study for exams.

In order to overcome exam anxiety, you need to work on what you have control over when it comes to exams how you study, what you study, etc.), and not worry about what you can’t control (kinds of questions, number of questions, how other students perform, etc.).

Exam Anxiety Tip 1

Be Prepared Early

The most common cause of exam anxiety is lack of preparation for the exam. Set up a study schedule at least three weeks before your first exam. You may find that you actually need to start studying very early due to other commitments. Planning ahead also assists you to avoid cramming which can be a major cause of exam anxiety.

Exam Anxiety Tip 2

Sleep Well

Regular sleep is one of the best ways to control stress. Getting up and going to bed each day at the same times ensures that your body and brain are getting the rest they need for optimal functioning. Students who follow a regular sleeping pattern have been shown to perform 30% better than students who stay up late or get up early to study.

Exam Anxiety Tip 3

Same Caffeine & Sugar Intake

Keep caffeine and sugar intake the same during exam time. Don’t increase or decrease the amount of coffee, tea or cola that you normally drink as your body and brain are accustomed to getting a certain amount. Keep things in your life as stable as possible, especially during exam time.

Exam Anxiety Tip 4

Learned Relaxed Breathing

When you display any symptoms of anxiety during studying or during the exam, use relaxed breathing to calm yourself. Take your attention away from the task and take a few slow breaths. Say to yourself, “calm and relaxed” as you exhale. Practice relaxed breathing before the exam.

Exam Anxiety Tip 5

Don’t Study the Night Before

Studying the night before an exam causes your anxiety level to increase. Unfortunately, it doesn’t decrease when you go to sleep. Reduce anxiety by taking the evening off to relax – watch TV, see a movie, read a novel, etc.

Exam Anxiety Tip 6

Review Main Themes

If it causes you anxiety NOT to study the night before an exam, review the main themes of the course earlier in the day. Of course, that implies that you should have already studied well.

Exam Anxiety Tip 7

Have a Plan before the Exam

As part of your studying, think about how you will approach the exam, and what you will do when you run into trouble. Having a plan in place will assist you to worry less about failing, and help you to concentrate more on passing.

Exam Anxiety Tip 8

Aim to Do Your Best

Often, students start thinking negatively when things aren’t going well on an exam. This can lead to lower self-confidence and increased self-doubt. Recognize and turn off your negative internal dialogue. Focus on the task instead of on yourself. Do not try for perfection – aim to do your very best.

NOTE: Dont forget to pray .
Abdul Musawwer (Sunday, October 25, 2009), azure (Monday, February 06, 2012), A_Rehman (Thursday, July 09, 2009), fiza irum (Tuesday, October 30, 2012), Jahanzebmemon (Sunday, February 15, 2009), Mazharqureshi (Sunday, February 17, 2013), RABEEL RIAZ (Tuesday, November 02, 2010), shapar (Thursday, November 05, 2009), Shooting Star (Tuesday, March 01, 2011), tahir_mujtaba (Saturday, December 08, 2007), zia bugvi (Wednesday, October 20, 2010)
Old Tuesday, May 15, 2007

Sumairs is on a distinguished road

THANKS ALOT.. I Have to be aware of that in future.. to avoid such stuff...!!!!!!
Old Monday, November 12, 2007

Engr.Aftab will become famous soon enough
Default thanks amy but

hi
thanks for sharing such information ...............but this information would be usefull when only 2 months to exams would be there............... fateh hamary hogy
amy (Tuesday, November 13, 2007)
Old Tuesday, March 01, 2011

faizkhosa is on a distinguished road
Talking Usefull post

thanx dear. and upload more these kind of usefull links for specially duffers like me
Old Tuesday, November 15, 2011

wasfagillani will become famous soon enough

believe me...mayree raaton ki neend ghayab hoe ve hai.....

exam centre ka sochtay saath he nerves tite hona shoroo ho jatee hain and breathing problem ho jate hai......ajeeb nervousness hona shoro ho jate hai....

em hel stressed out....
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 08568

sadia hussain will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by wasfagillani View Post

exam centre ka sochtay saath he nerves tite hona shoroo ho jatee hain and breathing problem ho jate hai......ajeeb nervousness hona shoro ho jate hai....

em hel stressed out....
dont u think its too early to get stressed out?? and the important thing is stressing out wont help...u need to stay relax as far as possible...dont make CSS a nightmare for u....give ur cent percent and believe in ALLAH...thats all we could do
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No  1029PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: 2011 - Merit No. 88

brightstar55 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by wasfagillani View Post

Exam centre ka sochtay saath he nerves tite hona shoroo ho jatee hain and breathing problem ho jate hai......ajeeb nervousness hona shoro ho jate hai....

Em hel stressed out....
bhai jan css ki attempt lo sb dr khtm ho jyn gy. Believe me.
Old Monday, February 06, 2012
42nd CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 190

azure will become famous soon enough

"Sleep Well

Regular sleep is one of the best ways to control stress. Getting up and going to bed each day at the same times ensures that your body and brain are getting the rest they need for optimal functioning. Students who follow a regular sleeping pattern have been shown to perform 30% better than students who stay up late or get up early to study."
-

hmmm...good tipe shared.
But no matter how good my preparation is, i can't sleep in the night in exam days. :|
And it does affect my performance.
During solving the paper, there does come a time when i feel sleepy and tired.
:|
Old Friday, April 08, 2016

mehrmuradali is on a distinguished road

very useful tips are given for reducing anxiety. thanks.
Old Monday, April 11, 2016

ursula will become famous soon enough
Lightbulb

The most important thing which is worth noting is
" diet".
Prior to approaching exam in anxiety the most neglected part is our digestive system particularly petulence and stomach acidity is a major reason behind irregular and even sleepless nights.
So my best suggestion is to eat fiborous food, in addition to having a yougurt and banana in your diet.Eat food at its optimum timings and in case of depression, Wazzu (ablution) is the best thing that I observed in my life.( believe me I completed my whole preparation of CSS exam in 3 months only, and alhamdollilah I am satisfied, besides having no sleepless night in my single paper.Yeah, it was the most fabulous part of my life.Really owesome)just try this trick
The most interesting site that I would love to share is
http://www.greenmedinfo.com/
Just try to explore it.it has pathetically interesting facts related to our daily life medicinal problems.
I hope it will work.