Thursday, December 02, 2021
12:52 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests

General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests A zone where General Knowledge related to this exam can be shared.Surveys and Threads with polls and questions that require answers can be Posted here

Reply Share Thread: Submit Thread to Facebook Facebook     Submit Thread to Twitter Twitter     Submit Thread to Google+ Google+    
LinkBack Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old Friday, February 29, 2008
hijan_itsme's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Islamabad
Posts: 29
Thanks: 3
Thanked 23 Times in 6 Posts
hijan_itsme is on a distinguished road
Default Nobel Prize Winners in Economics

Nobel Prize Winners In Economics

For the year 2007, the Nobel Prize winners in Economics Science are Leonid Hurwicz, Eric S Maskin, and Roger B. Myerson for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory.
• 1969 Ragnar Frisch (Norway) and Jan Tinbergen (Netherlands), for work in econometrics (application of mathematics and statistical methods to economic theories and problems)
• 1970 Paul, A, Samuelson (U.S.), for efforts to raise the level of scientific analysis in economic theory.
• 1971 Simon Kuznets (U.S.), for developing concept of using a country's gross national product to determine its economic growth.
• 1972 Kenneth J. Arrow (U.S.) and Sir John R. Hicks (UK), for theories that help to assess business risk and government economic and welfare policies.
• 1973 Wassily Leontief (U.S.), for devising the input-output technique to determine how different sectors of an economic, social and institutional phenomena.
• 1974 Gunnar Myrdal (Sweden) and Friedrich A. von Hayek (UK), for pioneering analysis of the interdependence of economic, social and institutional phenomena.
• 1975 Leonid V. Kantorovich (USSR) and Tjalling C. Koopmans (U.S.), for work on the theory of optimum allocation of resources.
• 1976 Milton Friedman (U.S.), for work in consumption analysis and monetary history and theory, and for demonstration of complexity of stabilization policy
• 1977 Bertil Ohlin (Sweden) and James E. Meade (UK), for contributions to theory of international trade and international capital movements.
• 1978 Herbert A. Simon (U.S.), for research into the decision-making process within economic organizations.
• 1979 Sir Arthur Lewis (UK) and Theodore Schultz (U.S.), for work on economic problems of developing nations.
• 1980 Lawrence R. Klein (U.S.), for developing models for forecasting economic trends and shaping policies to deal with them.
• 1981 James Tobin (U.S.), for analyses of financial markets and their influence on spending and saving by families and businesses
• 1982 George J. Stigler (U.S.), for work on government regulation in the economy and the functioning of industry
• 1983 Gerard Debreu (U.S.), in recognition of his work on the basic economic problem of how prices operate to balance what producers supply with what buyers want
• 1984 Sir Richard Stone (UK), for his work to develop the systems widely used to measure the performance of national economics
• 1985 Franco Modigliani (U.S.), for his pioneering work in analyzing the behavior of household savers and the functioning of financial markets
• 1986 James M. Buchanan (U.S.), for his development of new methods for analyzing economic and political decision-making.
• 1987 Robert M. Solo (U.S.), for seminal contributions to the theory of economic growth.
• 1988 Maurice Allais (France), for his pioneering development of theories to better understand market behavior and the efficient use of resources
• 1989 Trygve Haavelmo (Norway), for his pioneering work in methods for testing economic theories.
• 1990 Harry M. Markowitz, William F. Sharpe, and Merton H. Miller (all U.S.), whose work provided new tools for weighing the risks and rewards of different investments and for valuing corporate stocks and bonds
• 1991 Ronald Coase (U.S.), for his pioneering work in how property rights and the cost of doing business affect the economy.
• 1992 Gary S. Becker (U.S.), for "having extended the domain of economic theory to aspects of human behavior which had previously been dealt with-if at all-by other social science disciplines"
• 1993 Robert W. Fogel and Douglass C. North (both U.S.), for their work in economic history
• 1994 John F. Nash, John C. Harsanyi (both U.S.), and Reinhard Selten (Germany), for their pioneering work in game theory

• 1995 Robert E. Lucas, Jr. (U.S.), for having and the greatest influence on macroeconomic research since 1970
• 1996 James A. Mirrlees (UK) and William Vickrey (U.S.), for their fundamental contributions to the economic theory of incentives
• 1997 Robert C. Merton and Myron S. Scholes (both U.S.), for developing a formula that determines the value to stock options and other derivatives.
• 1998 Amarty Sen (India), for his contributions to welfare economics
• 1999 Robert A, Mundel (Canada), for his work on monetary dynamics and optimum currency areas
• 2000 James J. Heckman and Daniel L. McFadden (both U.S.), for developing methods used in statistical analysis of individual and household behavior
• 2001 George A. Akerlof, A. Michael Spence, and Joseph E. Stiglitz (all U.S.), for market analyses with asymmetric information
• 2002 Daniel Kahneman (U.S.), for having integrated insights from psychological research into economic science; Vernon L. Smith (U.S.), for having established laboratory experiments as a toolin empirical economic analysis.
• 2003 Robert.F.Engle (US) and Clive W.J.Granger (UK) for developing the statistical tools for stock prices.
• 2004 Finn. E. Kydland (Norway) and Edward C. Prescott (US) for their contribution in macro economics.
• 2005 Robert Auman and Thomas Schillong for their contribution to Game Theory.
• 2006 Edmund S. Phelps (USA), for his analysis of intertemporal tradeoffs in macroeconomic policy".
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Nobel Prize Surmount General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests 2 Sunday, May 10, 2009 01:26 AM
The Man Behind the Nobel Prize ahsanghalib General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests 0 Saturday, December 16, 2006 04:57 PM
Nobel Peace Prizes ahsanghalib General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests 0 Saturday, December 16, 2006 04:48 PM
Economics an overview Naseer Ahmed Chandio Economics 0 Wednesday, December 13, 2006 09:40 AM
Nobel Prize Facts angelfalls General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests 9 Friday, July 07, 2006 02:21 AM

CSS Forum on Facebook Follow CSS Forum on Twitter

Disclaimer: All messages made available as part of this discussion group (including any bulletin boards and chat rooms) and any opinions, advice, statements or other information contained in any messages posted or transmitted by any third party are the responsibility of the author of that message and not of (unless is specifically identified as the author of the message). The fact that a particular message is posted on or transmitted using this web site does not mean that CSSForum has endorsed that message in any way or verified the accuracy, completeness or usefulness of any message. We encourage visitors to the forum to report any objectionable message in site feedback. This forum is not monitored 24/7.

Sponsors: ArgusVision   vBulletin, Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.