01:05 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Off Topic Section > General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests

General Knowledge, Quizzes, IQ Tests A zone where General Knowledge related to this exam can be shared.Surveys and Threads with polls and questions that require answers can be Posted here

Old Tuesday, December 27, 2005

Chilli is on a distinguished road
Default The Tasks Ahead

Speech at a Mammoth Rally at the University Stadium, Lahore on 30th October. 1947

We have achieved our cherished goal of freedom and have established Pakistan as an independent, sovereign State, fifth largest in the world. That freedom can never be attained by a nation without suffering and sacrifice has been amply borne out by the recent tragic happenings in this subcontinent. We are in the midst of unparalleled difficulties and untold sufferings; we have been through dark days of apprehension and anguish; but I can say with confidence that with courage and self-reliance and by the Grace of God we shall emerge triumphant.

Some people might think that the acceptance of the June 3 Plan was a mistake on the part of the Muslim League. I would like to tell them that the consequences of any other alternative would have been too disastrous to imagine. On our side we proceeded to implement this plan with a clean conscience and honest intentions. Time and history will prove that. On the other hand, history will also record its verdict on those whose treachery and machinations let loose forces of disorder and disruption in this subcontinent causing death of lakhs, enormous destruction of property and bringing about suffering and misery to many million by uprooting them from their homes and hearths and all that was dear to them. The systematic massacre of defenseless and innocent people puts to shame even the most heinous atrocities committed by the worst tyrant known to history. We have been the victims of a deeply-laid and well-planned conspiracy executed with utter disregard of the elementary principle of honesty, chivalry and honor. We thank Providence for giving us courage and faith to fight these forces of evil. If we take our inspiration and guidance from the Holy Quran, the final victory, I once again say, will be ours.

Do not for a moment imagine that your enemies can ever succeed in their designs. But at the same time do not make light of the situation facing you. Search your hearts and whether you have done your part in the construction of this new and mighty State.

Do not be over whelmed by the enormity of the task. There is many an example in history of young nations building themselves up by sheer determination and force of character. You are made of sterling material and are second to none. Why should you also not succeed like many others, like your own forefathers. You have only to develop the spirit of the "Mujahids". You are a nation whose history is replete with people of wonderful grit, character and heroism. Live up to your traditions and add to it another chapter of glory.

All I require of you now is that everyone of us to whom this message reaches must vow to himself and be prepared to sacrifice his all, if necessary, in building up Pakistan as a bulwark of Islam and as one of the greatest nations whose ideal is peace within and peace. Your immediate task is the rehabilitation of millions of our distressed and unfortunate brethren who are either already with us or who have still to join us in Pakistan, bereft of all they possessed or had in this world. The least we now can do for them is to receive them as our own brethren. No decent or sane person should consider that they are unwelcome burden thrust on us. Save all you can and give towards the relief of these victims of bestiality and vandalism who have suffered all this for the sole reason that they are Muslims.

Along with this, keep up your morale. Do not be afraid of death. Our religion teaches us to be always prepared for death. We should face it bravely to save the honor of Pakistan and Islam. There is no better salvation for a Muslim than the death of a martyr for a righteous cause.

I would also impress upon every member of this State, particularly our youth, to show the right spirit of devotion, courage and fortitude, to give a lead to the others and to set a nobler and higher example for those who may follow us and the coming generations.

Remember that the scrupulous maintenance and enforcement of law and order are the prerequisites of all progress. The tenets of Islam enjoin on every Mussalman to give protection to his neighbors and to the minorities regardless of caste and creed. Despite the treatment, which is being meted out to the Muslim minorities in India, we must make it a matter of our prestige and honor to safeguard the lives of the minority communities and to create a sense of security among them. I would like to impress upon every Mussalman, who has at heart the welfare and the prosperity of Pakistan, to avoid retaliation and to exercise restraint, because retaliation and violation of law and order will ultimately result in weakening the very foundations of the edifice you have cherished all these years to erect.

Do your duty and have faith in God. There is no power on earth that can undo Pakistan. It has come to stay. Our deeds are proving to the world that we are in the right and I can assure you that the sympathies of the world, particularly of the Islamic countries, are with you. We in turn are grateful to every nation who has stretched out to us its hand of help and friendliness.

In the end, I once again appeal to the good sense of every subject and citizen of our State not to take law and order into his own hands but so to behave and act as to be a pillar of strength to his Government and leaders who are sincerely doing their best to put an end to the miseries and hardships of our unfortunate brethren seeking shelter with us, and battling against grave danger and menace which is facing us.

Default Protection Of Minorities

A SACRED UNDERTAKING
Broadcast Speech from the Pakistan Radio, Lahore on 30th October, 1947

A few days ago, I received harrowing accounts of the terrible happenings in the Punjab and the situation, from all accounts, appeared to be so grave that I decided to come to Lahore. On my arrival here, I immediately got in touch with various sources that were available to me and I was deeply grieved to realize that unfortunately, there was a great deal of truth in what had been told to me. I am speaking to you under deep distress and with a heavy heart. We have, undoubtedly, achieved Pakistan and that too without bloody war and practically peacefully by moral and intellectual force and with the power of pen which is no less mighty than the sword and so our righteous cause has triumphed. Are we now going to besmear and tarnish this greatest achievement for which there is not parallel in the whole history of the world by resorting to frenzy, savagery and butchery? And, will this lead us anywhere? Pakistan is now a fait accompli and it can never be undone, besides, it was the only just, honorable and practical solution of the most complex constitutional problem of this great sub-continent.

The division of India is now finally and irrevocably effected. No doubt, we feel that the carving out of this great independent, sovereign Muslim State has suffered injustice. We have been squeezed inasmuch as it was possible and the latest blow that we have received was the Award of the Boundary Commission. It is an unjust, incomprehensible and even perverse Award. It may be wrong, unjust and perverse and it may not be a judicial award, but political award but we had agreed to abide by it and it is binding upon us. As honorable people we must abide by it. It may be our misfortune, but we must bear up this one more blow with fortitude, courage and hope.

Let us now plan to build and reconstruct and regenerate our great nation and our sovereign State of Pakistan which, you know, is not only the biggest Muslim State in the world but the fifth biggest sovereign State in the world. Now is the time, chance and opportunity for every Mussalman to make his or her fullest and best contribution and make the greatest sacrifice and work ceaselessly and selflessly in the service of our nation and make Pakistan one of the greatest nations of the world. It is in your hands; we have undoubtedly talents; Pakistan is blessed with enormous resources and potentialities; Providence has endowed us with all the wealth of nature and now it lies with man to make best of it.

It is agreed on all hands that peace should be restored without delay and that law and order must be established and maintained at any cost. Now it is up to leaders and the rank and file of the communities to leave no stone unturned in fulfilling the sacred and honorable undertaking that was given at the Special Conference on the 29th August, to protect the minorities and work in everywhere for the welfare and safety of the refugees. The Lahore Conference of 29th has further laid down categorically certain ways and means to be adopted to implement its decisions and such further measures will be taken which have the solemn, firm and determined sanction of the Pakistan and the Dominion of India Government. Henceforth they will be naturally responsible, as the Punjab Boundary Force which was limited only to certain areas, could not deal with entire Punjab --both West and East, especially now as the rural areas have also been affected and, therefore, it has been abolished.

These decisions and measures adopted by the Special Conference should reassure the people of all communities that the Pakistan and India Government are determined to put down ruthlessly these orgies and their far-reaching consequences. But it requires the communities concerned to realize the folly and futility of indulging in this savagery which has already taken a colossal toll of human life and especially of the innocent ones and has displaced hundreds of thousands of innocent people rendered them- homeless and delivered them to starvation who are wandering about in the countryside for their lives --besides resulting in destruction of property on an extensive scale.

This is not the moment for me to go into the origin or cause of all that is happening or to apportion blame as to which community has disgraced itself more. It will be for the historians to give their verdict. Humanity cries loud against this shameful conduct and the deeds that have been committed. Those who are responsible for this holocaust must be dealt with an iron hand and put down ruthlessly. The civilized world is looking upon these doings and happenings with horror and the fair name of the communities concerned stands blackened in the eyes of the world.

It is now up to the leaders and those responsible and in charge of the Governments to make their supreme effort to make amends for this indelible stigma. While the horizon is beset with dark clouds, let me appeal to you and give this message to the people of Pakistan. Create enthusiasm and spirit and go forward with your task, with courage and hope and we shall do it. Are we downhearted? Certainly not. This history of Islam is replete with instances of velour, grit and determination. So march on notwithstanding obstruction, obstacles and interference; and I feel confident that a united nation of 70 million people with a grim determination and with a great civilization and history need fear nothing. It is now up to you to work, work and more work; and we are bound to succeed. And never forget our motto: Unity, Discipline and Faith".

I have so far spoken to you in English as you know that the eyes of the world are upon Pakistan and we are watched by the various nations of the world with keenest interest since the establishment of Pakistan as an independent, sovereign State which has been a great and historical event. I, therefore, used the medium of English so as to be able to reach the world-wide audience, which exhibited great interest in Pakistan.

The text of my broadcast will be translated in Urdu and read to you in a few minutes time as well as published in the Press tomorrow, but, nevertheless, I would also like to say a few words in Urdu.

Pakistan Zindabad

(URDU PART )

Punjab kay Mossalmanon kay bulanay per main atthaees (28) tarikh ko Lahore aya

Jahan tak muj say ho saka ............aur Jis tarah muj se ho saka main ne asal aur theek theek halaat ka pata lagaya aur aj kal jo kuchh ho raha hai us ko samajhnay ki poori koshish ki.

Ap ko is wakt maloom ho gaya hoga ke Lahore main' jo Special Conference huee thee..... us main kya kya faislay kiye gaye.........aur un par amal karnay kay kaunse kadam uthay gaye.

Is Conference main Indian Dominion aur Pakistan ki Hakoomaton kay Numayinday ......... Dominion of India aur Pakistan kay Governor General yanee Lord Mounibatten aur main ............. hamaray salahkar aur specialists shamil thay.

Conference nay pooray pooray itifak kay sath yeh elaan kiya hai.... keye dono hakoomaton ka ye paak farz hai ki who awam kay mal aur jaan ki har tarah say hifazat karengi...aur hazaron ki tadaad main jo log apna qhar bar chhor kar bhaag rahay hain ........ unki hifazat ........... unki dekh-bhal ...........aur behtari kay liya dono hakoomaten apni apni takat kay mutabik sab kuchh kerengi.

Main apko yaqin dilata hun ki jahaan tak Pakistan ki hakoomat ka tualaq hai ...... ham apni zirnma-dari ko sar-anjam daynay key liye sab huchh karengay.

Mujey poori ummeed hai ke Indian Dominion ki hakoomat bhi aisa hi karegi

Jin jin baton par ham nay iqurar kya hai agar unko ba-izzat tarikay say ......... aur pooray iraday aur takat say poora kiya gaya to mujhay yaqeen hai ke is wakt jo nazuk surathall paida ho chuki hai us-main jaldi he acchhi tabdili paida hogi .......... aur ham sab phir aman-o-amaan say dono Hakoomaton main azad qaumon ki trah zindgi khushee say basar karengay.

Default Reorientation Of Education

Message to The All-Pakistan Educational Conference, held in Karachi on 27th November, 1947

I am glad that the Pakistan Educational Conference is being held tomorrow in Karachi. I welcome you all to the Capital of Pakistan and wish you every success in your deliberations, which I sincerely hope will bear fruitful and practical results.

You know that the importance of education and the right type of education cannot be over-emphasized. Under foreign rule for over a century, in the very nature of things, I regret, sufficient attention has not been paid to the education of our people, and if we are to make any real, speedy and substantial progress, we must earnestly tackle this question and bring our educational policy and program on the lines suited to the genius of our people, consonant with our history and culture, and having regard to the modern conditions and vast developments that have taken place all over the world.

There is no doubt that the future of our State will and must greatly depend upon the type of education and the way in which we bring up our children as the future servants of Pakistan. Education does not merely mean academic education, and even that appears to be of a very poor type. What we have to do is to mobilize our people and build up the character of our future generations. There is immediate and urgent need for training our people in the scientific and technical education in order to build up future economic life, and we should see that our people undertake scientific commerce, trade and particularly, well-planned industries. But do not forget that we have to compete with the world, which is moving very fast in this direction. Also I must emphasize that greater attention should be paid to technical and vocational education.

In short, we have to build up the character of our future generations which means highest sense of honor, integrity, selfless service to the nation, and sense of responsibility, and we have to see that they are fully qualified or equipped to play their part in the various branches of economic life in a manner which will do honor to Pakistan.

Default Pakistan And Afghanistan Two Sister Nations

Reply to the Speech made by Sardar Najibullah Khan, Special Representative of H.M. the King of Afghanistan in Pakistan at the time of Presenting Credentials to the Quaid-i-Azam on 3rd December, 1947

Your Excellency,

It has given me indeed very great pleasure to welcome you and to receive through you today, the gracious message of good wishes from His Majesty the King of Afghanistan. May I take this opportunity of asking you to convey to your august Sovereign my highest regard and esteem for him, and to the Government and the people of Afghanistan most cordial good wishes on behalf of myself, my government and the people of Pakistan. I would also ask Your Excellency to convey my thanks to the government of Afghanistan for the cordiality, hospitality and friendship that was extended to my Personal Representative, Nawab Saidullah Khan, during his stay in Kabul.

The Government and the people of Pakistan entertain nothing but feelings of warmest friendship towards the Muslim Kingdom of Afghanistan which is our closest neighbor and with whom for many centuries and for many generations the people of Pakistan have had countless religious, cultural and social ties. It is doubtless known to Your Excellency that the people of Pakistan have always admired the spirit of independence of the Afghan nation and its great strength of character

I desire that the relationship between these two sister Nations may be of the greatest and the most lasting friendship, and I hope that the two Governments will soon be able to settle and adjust, in a spirit of goodwill for the benefit of both, all those matters which require our immediate attention, and I do trust that the coming negotiations, that may take place, will secure and strengthen all the more the goodwill and friendship between our two countries which already exist.

I cordially welcome you as the First Representative of His Majesty the King of Afghanistan on behalf of our brotherly Islamic neighbor to Pakistan, and I assure you on behalf of my government and myself that we shall extend every assistance, co-operation and good will to you. May your stay in Pakistan be pleasant and happy.

Pakistan Zindabad

Default Service Before Self

Message to the Pakistan Scouts on 22nd December, 1947

Scouting can play a very vital role in forming the character of our youth, promoting their physical mental and spiritual development, and making them well disciplined, useful and good citizens.

If the real aim of the movement is to be achieved, scouts should learn to pay more than lip service to the scout laws and should not think that the scout movement is limited to going about in uniforms, scarves and badges for show. We are living in a far from perfect world. Despite the progress of civilization, the law of the jungle, unfortunately, still prevails. Might is considered right and the strong do not refrain from exploiting the weak. Self-advancement, greed and lust for power sway the conduct of the individuals as that of nations. If we are to build a safer, cleaner and happier world let us start with the individual --catch him young and inculcate in him the scout's motto of service before self and purity in thought, word and deed. If our young people learn to befriend all, to help other people at all times, subordinate personal interest to the welfare of others, eschew violence of thought, word and action. I am sanguine that the attainment of universal brotherhood is possible and within our reach. So I wish you God speed.

Pakistan Zindabad

Default Protect Hindu Neighbours A Call To Muslims

Message sent to the Refugees on the occasion of tour of the not affected areas in Karachi on 9th January, 1948

I quite understand the feeling of the Muslim refugees and those who have suffered, and they have my fullest sympathy, but they must restrain themselves and act as responsible men, and not abuse the hospitality that has been extended to them and forget all that is being done for them to make their lot happier. I once more want to impress upon all Muslims that they should fully co-operate with the Government and the officials in protecting their Hindu neighbor against these lawless elements, fifth columnists and the cliques who are responsible for creating these disturbances, and restore trust and confidence amongst all the communities. Pakistan must be governed through the properly constituted Government, and not by cliques, or fifth-columnists or a mob, and the Pakistan Government are going to take the severest possible measures against the offenders, and they shall be dealt with sternly and ruthlessly. I fully sympathize with Hindus many of whom have been misled by propaganda that is being carried on to pull them out of Sind, with an ulterior motive, and as a result many innocent Hindus have seriously suffered. With regard to this unfortunate trouble, it is not yet known who was responsible for bringing the Sikhs to Karachi and arranging to lodge them at the Gurdwara without informing the District Magistrate, Sind, or any Sind Authority or Police; this is a matter which requires thorough investigation. At present it seems somewhat mysterious, but it is going to be fully investigated.

Pakistan Zindabad

Default On Pakistan-burma Relations

Reply to the Speech made by the Burmese Ambassador in Pakistan at the time of presenting Credentials to the Quaid-i-Azam on 21st January, 1948

Your Excellency,

It gives me great pleasure to receive you today in your capacity as the first Ambassador of the Union of Burma to Pakistan.

Your Excellency is no stranger to us as you have already been here for some months as the High Commissioner for Burma. The leaders and the people of Burma are also no strangers to us as in the past, History had brought our destinies together. With the great changes that took place on 15th August, 1947, geography has also brought our future closely together as borders of Your Excellency's great country are contiguous for hundreds of miles with the borders of Pakistan. As I had said in my message to the President of the Union of Burma, the attainment of complete independence by Your Excellency's country on the fourth of this month gave us in Pakistan the greatest pleasure as it marked the culmination of a process which was initiated in this very subcontinent.

I have no doubt that as in the past, in future also the many bonds that exist between the Union of Burma and Pakistan will be strengthened to the mutual advantage of both countries. I hope that these two lands, both ancient in history but both on the road to a new and high destiny, will strive with-energy to establish a lasting era of progress and peace.

I welcome Your Excellency's assurance to discharge your duties in such a manner as may best conduce to the lasting benefit of both peoples. I am glad to note that during your short term of office as High Commissioner in Pakistan you have received every assistance from Pakistan. I have no doubt that in the future also these good relations will continue and I assure you of our co-operation with your government.

On behalf of the government and people of Pakistan I once more extend to Your Excellency a most cordial welcome.

Pakistan Zindabad

Default Strong Defence A Bulwark Against Aggression

Address to the Establishment of H.M.P.S. "Dilawar" on 23rd January,

Gentlemen,

The first World War of 1914-18 was fought to end war. Its horrors quickened the conscience of the world and set statesmen thinking to devise ways and means of outlawing war. This led to the birth of the League of Nations and the idea of collective security, but the League of Nations proved only a pious hope. It failed to avert World War No. 2. The destruction caused by the first world war pales into insignificance as compared to the devastation and havoc resulting from the last world war and now with the discovery of the Atom Bomb, one shudders to think of the pattern of future wars. The war weary humanity in watching with fear and hope the evolution of the United Nations Organization for on its ability to successfully deal with the cause of war and threats to world peace will depend the salvation of mankind and the future of civilization. Pakistan which has been recently admitted to the United Nations Organization will do everything in its power to strengthen the Organization and help it in the achievement of the ideals which have been set up as its goal. While giving the fullest support to the principles of the United Nations Charter we cannot afford to neglect our defenses. However strong the United Nations Organization might be, the primary responsibility for the defense of our country will rest with us and Pakistan must be prepared for all eventualities and dangers. The weak and the defenseless, in this imperfect world, invite aggression from others. The best way in which we can serve the cause of peace is by removing temptation from the path of those who think that we are weak, and therefore, they can bully or attack us. That temptation can only be removed if we make ourselves so strong that nobody dare entertain any aggressive designs against us. Pakistan is still in its infancy and so is its Navy and other branches of the armed forces. But this infant means to grow up and God willing will grow up much sooner than many people thinks.

Everyone of you has an important role to play in strengthening the defense of the country and your watchwords should be faith, discipline and self-sacrifice. You will have to make up for the smallness of your size by your courage and selfless devotion to duty for it is not life that matters but the courage, fortitude and determination you bring to it.

I see some of you, who constitute the bodyguard at present provided at the Governor-general's residence, practically everyday. Today I see you in much large numbers and I am greatly impressed by your bearing and turn out. You must remember that your Headquarters Karachi, the gateway to Western Pakistan, besides being the port of call of ships of other nations, is also on the air route from the West to the East. People from all over the globe pass through Karachi and the eyes of the world are on you. I trust that, by your behavior and deportment you will never let Pakistan down, but would keep up the best traditions of the service and maintain high the honor and prestige of Pakistan as one of the greatest nations of the world.

Pakistan Zindabad

Default Rehabilitation Of Refugees

Speech on the Opening Ceremony of the Bengal Oil Mills on 2nd February, 1948

It has given me great pleasure to come here today to perform the opening ceremony of the Bengal Oil Mills. Every new mill or factory means a step forward on the road to the economic stabilization of our country and the prosperity of its people. Millions of our brethren have been displaced by the cataclysm that attended the birth of Pakistan. Most of them have lost all their worldly belongings as also their means of livelihood. Their rehabilitation presents a problem of colossal magnitude, the successful solution of which would require the concerted efforts of the Government and the people. The response to the Quaid-i-Azam's relief Fund has been magnificent and the munificence of people of the stricken but gratuitous relief and doles are only palliatives and do not provide a satisfactory solution of the refugees' problem. We do not want merely to keep these unfortunate people alive as a drag on society --we want them to live as self-respecting, self-relying and useful members of Society. All the refugees are not agriculturists and even all the agriculturists cannot be settled on land without fragmenting the available arable land into small uneconomic holdings. The only way in which these people can be put on their feet again is the rapid industrialization of the country which would provide new avenues of employment for them. Nature has blessed us with plenty of raw materials and it is now up to us to harness our resources to the best advantage of our State and its people.

You have mentioned the trials and tribulations of the Muslims of Kathiawar during the last few stormy months. While I fully sympathize with them in their suffering, I am sure they will not be overwhelmed by these temporary setbacks. Their resilience will enable them to weather these storms with equanimity and by their resourcefulness and spirit of enterprise they would soon retrieve their lost fortunes.

I thank you once again for your generous contribution to the Relief Fund and I wish your venture all success and prosperity and hope that it may prove a precursor to many more enterprises for which there is so much scope in Pakistan.

Pakistan Zindabad

Default On Ceylon's Independence

Message on the attainment of Dominion Status by Ceylon recorded on 4th February, 1948

The attainment of dominion status by Ceylon in the wake of India and Pakistan is a matter of great satisfaction and rejoicing to us, and on behalf of the people of Pakistan and myself, I extend to you our sincerest congratulations on this happy and historical occasion. We in Pakistan will watch your progress with most friendly and sympathetic interest as some of the problems confronting your island are similar to ours. We have both suffered from exploitation at the hands of a foreign power and now that a new era has been ushered, we shall have to strive every nerve to improve the lot of the common man, so sadly neglected heretofore. The problem confronting us is by no means small or easy but we must tackle it boldly if we are to prove ourselves worthy of our newly won freedom and sovereign Government of the people.

Ceylon is rich in material resources and talent and I have no doubt that under the guidance of her great leaders she will make rapid strides on the road to good government and prosperity and will play her rightful part in promoting goodwill and friendship throughout the world.

Pakistan has the warmest goodwill towards Ceylon, and I am sanguine that the good feeling which exist between our two people will be further strengthened as the years roll by and our common interests, and mutual and reciprocal handling of them, will bring us into still closer friendship. Once again, I wish all prosperity and a glorious future of Ceylon.

Pakistan Zindabad