-   Introduction (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/introduction/)
-   -   excuse me, seniors! (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/introduction/1482-excuse-me-seniors.html)

Danyal Wednesday, November 16, 2005 12:58 AM

excuse me, seniors!

[SIZE=4][FONT=Tahoma]salam friends......i badly need a sincere senior's guidance ......i appeared in the exam this time with geography,forestory as two optionals in addition to sociology sindhi,cl,......i intend to change geo n forestry for political science, n journalism...the reason being the insufficient material of geo-2 i mean human geography at my disposal...........plzzz if any senior could guide me...[/FONT][/SIZE]

Abdullah Wednesday, November 16, 2005 01:19 AM

dear danyal i replaced forestory with sociology
as for, geo is concerned i m not in an intention to abondon it....
i don't know the reason for your leaving geo-2 owing 2 insufficient material ?
materiel is always available , but if you have no access to viable geo-2 material, u can go for other subjects ....
two of my optionals are same as urs, i.e journalism n sociology, so u can have contact with me regarding these two courses
good luck

Babban Miyan Ding Dong Wednesday, November 16, 2005 01:30 AM

Assalam Alaikum,

Welcome Aboard.

Thanks,

36thCommons Wednesday, November 16, 2005 01:36 AM

AoA Mr.Danyal.
'NHPAKI' obviously shares your subjects and has also made you an incredible offer!If however,you still feel burdened with the subject than it's best to drop it while you can.Political Sciences is a good substitute.For more information on it,please visit the OPTIONALS thread.I would'nt advice you to wait for your result to take a decision.God forbid your scores are not pleasing,you would've wasted precious time just waiting.

By the way,I had a word with the FPSC officials today.The result of CSS 2005 is due on the 22nd of November!

Gud luck!!!!

Muhammad T S Awan Wednesday, November 16, 2005 09:57 AM

i pray for ur success

u may like to go for the advice contained in the posting of nhpaki

however, geography can fetch some good marks, i suppose, if u r able to find good material on it, nd as nhpaki stated he wil b providing u the same

ny how, final decision is with u

Danyal Wednesday, November 16, 2005 03:50 PM

Assalam o Alaikum....dear friends
i greatly value ur guiding suggestions......
thanks alot....
i had visited urdu bazar khi for a number of times in search of the above mentioned subject (geo-2) n could find just one out-dated book containing decade-old statistics.
I did ask book-sellers if there was any book other than that n to my utter surprise they placed an intermediate book of SAARC geography before me...However i managed to prepare from whatever little i had .....but it heavily taxed my time......owing to this one reason i was intending to know from you all.
Otherwise believe me ...i have developed a good liking for the subject n have grasped it in a beffiting manner esp. physical geography.
Anyway , i m really thankful to u all esp nhpaki , 34th commomns, n tabassum...
Wont u tell me how to get the said material.?

Abdullah Wednesday, November 16, 2005 04:17 PM

dear danyal .... i am a resident of punjab , and situation here is also not very different
...the most authentic source for updated figures i'm having for the time being is; books for commercial geography (intermediate) by prof . mian mohammad ,,,,there are statistical figures based on the data taken from different sources , as latter as 2003/04....and i'm sure most of the people must be facing the same problem regarding the latest figures,,,try to search for commerce books for intermediate/bachelors etc....
i tink they should be available from urdu bazar khi...most prominent writers in this respect are
1; prof saeed ahmed siddiqui (esp his book "Economic Geography of the wrold"(commerce publications khi))
2;prof mirza mohammad munawar ; some of his books are "geography of south asia","commercial geography"etc
3;"comprehensive geography" by m. jahangir sanpal, this book gives you a superficial insight into all the topics given in css course outline....
as for weblinks ,
1; "www.nationmaster.com" is a reliable sourse for latest figuers
2; answers.com might also prove to be valuable sourse for you
best of luck

THE 1 Wednesday, November 16, 2005 09:38 PM

This might help

Dear Danyal, heres a suggestion for you:

Contact Mr. Nazar Ahmed Aftab - FARIDI BOOK CENTRE @ 2628273, i'm positive he'll be able arrange the book for you somehow. As far as i know, FARIDI's is the sole seller of CSS books in Urdu Bazaar, Karachi. Anyways, best of luck.

[I][B]BUSHaRRaF[/B][/I]

08:44 AM (GMT +5)