-   Islam (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/islam/)
-   -   Does Namaz Really Prevent from Committing Sin ? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/islam/37907-does-namaz-really-prevent-committing-sin.html)

Sociologist PU Thursday, August 26, 2010 05:19 PM

Does Namaz Really Prevent from Committing Sin ?

[FONT=Georgia]This question came in my mind early morning today when i saw a boy committing theft in his neighbour's house. The boy lives in the next house and a regular namazi of five times and always rushes to mosque at azaan wearing a prayer cap on head. He was busy breaking the lock of the house as the owner is away and nobody was present at home. Later, i came to know he was able to collect valueables from that house like computer and other stuff.[/FONT]
[FONT=Georgia]I am wondering since then how it is possible as it is said, "Namaz buriaon say rokti hai" and he is regular namazi and i have also seen some other persons who are very regular in praying, but also very regular in committing worst kind of sins. :ohmy:[/FONT]
[FONT=Georgia]What is behind this strange behaviour ? Any comment ?[/FONT]

ghulamkhan Thursday, August 26, 2010 06:48 PM

"Namaz buraiyon sa rokti ha". A complete and comprehensive answer is in this line.

Xeric Thursday, August 26, 2010 07:00 PM

The Quran says:
[B]
[I]Recite, [O Muhammad], what has been revealed to you of the Book and establish prayer. Indeed, prayer prohibits immorality and wrongdoing, and the remembrance of Allah is greater. And Allah knows that which you do. [29:45][/I][/B]

A person kidnapped a driver alongwith his car, killed him and ran away with car. When the people followed him, he was offering prayer while standing near the snatched car after murder. :bow just an habit to perform.

We just offer the prayer as a habit. We read in the Holy Quran that theft is a big sin but who cares, did we follow? We are just doing exercise in namaz and if offer prayer with sincerity, care and concentration then it will change the human into a pious body.

Shaa-Baaz Thursday, August 26, 2010 07:07 PM

Namaz Burayaio se rokti ha aghur is neyat k sath pari jae to .........

Unfortunate we offer prayers just to sooth ourselves for the committed sins.
Han kabi kabi logho ko be dekhana hota ha k namaz perta hoo .

Aghur sole purpose namz perny ka buriayao se rokna ha to i think , it will work accordingly

Zoyee Thursday, August 26, 2010 08:57 PM

[B]@ SociologistPU[/B]

Answer lies in following lines:
[B][SIZE="2"][COLOR="Purple"]
ihdinas Siratual Mustaqeem Siratual Lazeena An Amtaa Alaihim Ghairil Maghdoobe Alaihim Walad Dualleen"
[/COLOR][/SIZE][/B]
[B]Show us the straight way,The way of those whom you have blessed.Who have not deserved your anger,
Nor gone astray.
[/B]
Question arises here that when we are seeking help from God to show right path then why we are unable to approach that right path?

No doubt namaz prevents oneself from committing sins but in recent scenario we are far away from the true spirit of worship. We used to offer namaz like show off, in order to call ourselves so called pious people or for the sake of performing a duty only without keeping in mind its pre-requisites and rules.
See when a muslim dont know what he/she is saying in namaz? Only few persons know the translation of the Arabic text of namaz.

Holy Prophet (SAW) is reported to have said:

[COLOR="Purple"][SIZE="2"][B]“My joy has been made in prayer.” (Al-Waabil al-Sayib, 37).
[/B][/SIZE][/COLOR]
Namaz urges [B]"khzu-o-khushu"[/B], [B]full attention[/B] then oneself can be familiar with [B]inner satisfaction[/B] and [B]spiritual joy[/B] that comes from performance of namaz in real sense.

Allah ham sab ko seedhay rastay per chalny kee taufeek day. (ameen)

striver Thursday, August 26, 2010 09:51 PM

Thats an interesting question but not a novel one, perhaps. I have had discussions regarding it several times. Truth is, Allah says in Quran, in Surah Ma'oon Ayah 4 onwards:

[B]So woe unto those performers of Salāt (prayers) (4) Those who are heedless of their prayers [/B]

In the above ayats, we are introduced to a new class of 'namazis', who are heedless to their prayers. In other words, their nature, practices and principles are unaffected by their prayers. Quran not only criticizes them but also goes on to say that they be subject to affliction.

It is us who must reform ourselves and our lives after prayer. How can a person, who says "ehde nas-siratal mustaqeem" in every prayer be indifferent to it. Ironically, most of the people who offer prayers dont even know the meaning of what they are reciting, let alone the purpose or intention.

Do you expect a parrot to change after it has learned kalima and a few ayats? guess not.....

MaShWaNeE Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:12 PM

A man came to the propht mentioning another man that he prays 5 times but steals from ppl homes at night...the prophet answered that his prayers will stop him from this bad act Eventually....

Sorry i am quoting withiut reference..

The Star Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:26 PM

This thread is ridiculious.It has been clearly stated in the Quran by the Almighty.Title seems to be questioning the credibility of the Quran.You should have asked "How namaz prevents from committing Sin ?" We are not suppose to ask " Is hajj obligatory for a Muslim? " or "should Muslims fast" or "Is there really only one God". these all are established facts because Allah has said that.Similarly there should be no doubt in mind that Namz prevents from commiting sin because it has been clearly stated by Allah in the Quran.

How namaz prevent from commiting sins is another issue and we can debate on that.Namaz does prevent,there should be no doubt about it.

Invincible Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:28 PM

[B]Abdullah bin `Umar (May Allah be pleased with them) reported: Messenger of Allah (PBUH) took hold of my shoulders and said, "Be in the world like a stranger or a wayfarer.'' Ibn `Umar (May Allah be pleased with them) used to say: When you survive till the evening do not expect to live until the morning; and when you survive till the morning do not expect to live until the evening. While in good health (do good deeds) before you fall sick; and while you are alive (do good deeds) before death strikes.
[Al-Bukhari].

If we just follow this hadith in letter in spirit,Our all actions will be in right direction.

May Allah show us right path(Aameen)[/B]

Artemis Thursday, August 26, 2010 10:59 PM

I remember Irfan ul Haq on this topic. He said , [B]"Ager ap ke namaz ap ko burion se roktai hai to wo qabol ho gae". [/B]
Like namaz parhana aik act hai aur ye us ka result hai. ager result nahi milta tou namaz main kahien kami thi..

MaShWaNeE Thursday, August 26, 2010 11:11 PM

1 Attachment(s)
here is the translation of the Quranic verse with its full explanation...

and by the way i agree with @the star@.

we shud avoid further discussion.

[IMG]http://www.cssforum.com.pk/attachments/off-topic-section/islam/3589-does-namaz-really-prevent-committing-sin-untitled.jpg?d=1282846160[/IMG]

Invincible Thursday, August 26, 2010 11:14 PM

[B]It may help to understand easily. [/B]

[YOUTUBE]aJ8TEW_4Zg8[/YOUTUBE]

[YOUTUBE]Wng6gbuOJc0&feature=related[/YOUTUBE]

Artemis Friday, August 27, 2010 12:36 AM

I don't think there is something wrong with the question. We question things we can't understand and this is natural. The problem is instead of clarifying the doubts, people start discouraging others to ask about religion.

Question is never wrong. In fact what makes you to question anything from religion is the underlying [B]belief that there has to be a reason [/B]and you are simply asking for it. So those who ask out are better than those who don't; who learn to live with their doubts just because they think they are not supposed to ask.

Allah SWT has encouraged Muslims to use their wisdom and critical thinking in religion.

"Deaf are they, and dumb, and blind: for they do not use their reason". 2:171

striver Friday, August 27, 2010 01:30 AM

I concur entirely with Artemis. We must not stop others (or ourselves for that matter) to explore the truth or to establish the validity of any practice or statement in the name of religion. When prophet could invite the non believers to discuss tawheed, then who could restrain others from discussing other things. This is against, per se, the very spirit of our religion which invites people to think.

My earlier post very distinctly quotes from the Quran a class of prayer offerers who are heedless to their prayers and condemn them.

Shaa-Baaz Friday, August 27, 2010 01:31 AM

Artemis

Agreed with ur viewpoint but
In Islam we follow blindly and this is the true essence of belief.
Dekh ker to sabhi manty ha , jan ker be sabhi manty ha.
Aghur khuda ko daleel se mana jaye to daleel Khuda se bedi ho jati ha us ka koi faida nahe

Aghur Namaz buraye se nahe b rokti to it doent mean that one should give up.

ye mamlat differnt ha

striver Friday, August 27, 2010 02:35 AM

@ Shaa-baaz

How can you say that "believing blindly" is the true essence of Islam :O

Allah say in Quran that He created everything because he wished to be found. (With my limited knowledge, I cant quote that exact ayat number but I am sure many of learned people here would authenticate this statement.)

How can you find something without the use of your senses and without logical deduction?

This discussion is headed off-course so lets not prolong it.

MaShWaNeE Friday, August 27, 2010 06:46 AM

@artemis and striver@

one thing muSt be clarified........
do not miss interpret the ayat AFALA YATADABARONAL QUARN..

dear it does not mean that u question the command of Allah....it means to think over the signs of oneness of Allah...it means to think over what Allah has created.....ta keh hamien Allah ke rabubiyat ka pata chaley...that he is the creater...the cherisher...the protector..sustainer..the lord of universe..............

it does not mean at all that u question the command of Allah or the Prophet....
@artemis said that there is nothing wrong with the question.....
let me correct you...
the question is "Does Namaz Really Prevent from Committing Sin ?.....brothers it shud be HOW NIMAZ PREVENT FROM COMMINTING SINS?........

WELL......GO AND GET HOLD OF A TAFSIR....WHCIHEVER U WANT...
WETHER IT BE
TAFSIR.E.IBNE KASIR
TAFSIR RAZI
TAFSIR.E.IBNE.JARAIR.
TAFSIR BY ABUL KALAM AZAD
MUFTI MUHAMMAD SHAFI
DR ISRAR AHMAD......

YOU WILL THE FIND THE SAME ANSWER....

Zoyee Friday, August 27, 2010 10:02 AM

[QUOTE][B]Origionally posted by Artemis[/B]
I don't think there is something wrong with the question. We question things we can't understand and this is natural. The problem is instead of clarifying the doubts, people start discouraging others to ask about religion.[/QUOTE]
[B]
@Artemis and SociologistPU [/B]
Dear there is nothing wrong with the question but keep in mind that there are some basic tenets of islam and Observance of Prayer is one of that. When we say that "Does Namaz Really Prevent from Committing Sin ? doesn't it seem like if we have any doubt about credibility of Namaz? These are established facts of Islam. Instead of this question, we can say "Why our prayers are lacking concentration? Why we are not observing prayer in its true spirit? Why we are not getting fruit of our worship?
[B][B]
[QUOTE]Originally posted by striver: How can you find something without the use of your senses and without logical deduction?[/QUOTE]

Dear one thing must be clarified here that concept of analogical reasoning should not be apply over basic beliefs of Islam. Analogical reasoning is for the signs of Allah, to think or ponder over creatures of Allah so that one must come to know about His CREATOR. Islam does not discourage anyone from questioning but in case of basic pillars of Islam we must have believe without any doubt.

if anyone have difference of opinion, no offense, i just performed my duty.

Saad Khan Friday, August 27, 2010 10:27 AM

[QUOTE=Sociologist PU;209054][FONT=Georgia]This question came in my mind early morning today when i saw a boy committing theft in his neighbour's house. The boy lives in the next house and a regular namazi of five times and always rushes to mosque at azaan wearing a prayer cap on head. He was busy breaking the lock of the house as the owner is away and nobody was present at home. Later, i came to know he was able to collect valueables from that house like computer and other stuff.[/FONT]
[FONT=Georgia]I am wondering since then how it is possible as it is said, "Namaz buriaon say rokti hai" and he is regular namazi and i have also seen some other persons who are very regular in praying, but also very regular in committing worst kind of sins. :ohmy:[/FONT]
[FONT=Georgia]What is behind this strange behaviour ? Any comment ?[/FONT][/QUOTE]

As some people are habitual criminal in the same sense there are habitual Namazis.They offer Namaz regularly with same religious devotion as we.
When i go to offer prayers in Mosque i have seen those people in first line who have the most suspicious activities..They do it as a habit.Its just another activity for them.
In fact they dont know the true meaning of Namaz.I might not be a great Muslim but whatever little i do i do with devotion.
The boy you are talking about is just one of those habitual Namazis whose parents have thought this habit to him since childhood.But maybe they have not thought him some other basic things which are necessary to be performed in life.
Namaz ke ilawa bhi aur khuch hota hai bhai...Ham samajh letey hain ke Namaz Roza ker liya aur bus sab gunah maaf...its not like this.

Sociologist PU Friday, August 27, 2010 11:03 AM

@ Zoyee
Yes, i agree.
The wording of the question should be as proposed by Zoyee.
(Admn plz change it as proposed by her, if possible.)

Sociologist PU Friday, August 27, 2010 06:36 PM

[FONT=Fixedsys]This situation reminds me the big summeglars of Landi Kotal and Bara in KP areas who are very strict in offering Namaz/roza/haj but their bussines is summegling and narcotic tarde. Whenever somebody ask them the reason of this strange behaviour their usual reply is;[/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys][/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys]"Namaz apni jaga, karobar apni jaga"[/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys][/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys]Is it right ?[/FONT]

Xeric Saturday, August 28, 2010 12:34 AM

[B][FONT=Garamond][SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue]Masjid to bana li shab bhar me, Iman ki hararat walo ne
Dil apna purana paapi hai, barso me namazi ban na saka.

Tar aankhe to ho jati hain, par kya lazzat is rone me[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Garamond][SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue]
Jab khoon e jigar ki amezish se, ye ashq piyazi ban na saka

Kya khoob ameer e faisal ko, sannuse ne paigham diya[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Garamond][SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue]
Tu naam o nasal ka hijazi hai, par dil ka hijazi ban na saka

IQBAL bara Updeshak hai, Man bato se Moh leta hai[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][FONT=Garamond][SIZE=4][COLOR=DarkSlateBlue]
Guftar ka woh gazi to bana, Qirdar ka gazi ban na saka.[/COLOR][/SIZE][/FONT][/B]

muhammad bilal khankhel Saturday, August 28, 2010 10:29 PM

nimaz

wo nimaz nimaz he nahe jo app ko boraeyo say na bachaye.

sana_krn Saturday, August 28, 2010 11:11 PM

well this dicussion reminds me of a funny msg hope moderators will tolrate it but its the best discription for this q
bat to sari niyat ki hoti hia faraz
werna hajj to nargis nai b kia hoa hai
(with sorry o Ahmed faraz)
Allah said mai bndey ko wo do ga jis ka wo mjh seu gumman rekhey ga. namaz agr is liey perhi jai k Allah razi ho ga n dil sey hadyat mangi jai to milti hai
otherwise we all know shaitan ramzan mai zanjeero mai jakra jata hai but kia hum burai sey baz atey hain? nafs ki pakizgi k lie namazi jai to burai sey rukti hai werna to roza b dhal haai burai k lie nafs liey laikin hum baz nahi atey
bat sari niat ki hai

unsolved_Mystery Sunday, August 29, 2010 05:08 PM

well, in my opinion, question is really critical. "Does really" should be replaced with "HOW".
And, it has become common phenomenon that most of the people have become habitual in offering Namaz. It has been seen usually in the families who have strict molvi gharana where young ppl offer prayer regularly in the presence of their elders, but in practice, they violate the islamic principles being involved in immoral activities. I have seen guys who go to say prayer in the mosque located in other Mohallas where their beloved lives :laughing . There are countless examples where people who were found involved in many criminal and immoral activies belonged to religious families. Even an Imam Masjid was caught red-handed by the people of vicinity committing sexual molestation with his pupil.
"Namaz Burai say Rokti hay" depends upon how much your Niyyat is pure, your belief in Allah and how devoted your are religiously. Riya-kari is very common these days.
What Qu'ran has said, Its right. One should not question that what is written in Quran does really happen etc. :con

MaShWaNeE Monday, August 30, 2010 02:20 PM

@zoyee

Absolutely agree with zoyee...
c
(Admin is requested to keep an eye on relegious discussions....and to strictly prohibit personal opinions...)

ayesha iftikhar Tuesday, August 31, 2010 11:08 AM

yes i think this statement is absolute as the Quran says that

"Beshak namaaz behayae aur burai se rokti hai"

But according to me it is the matter of feeling. The muslims who offered prayers with right intension can feel it and are definitely prevent themselves from committing sins.

Zulfiqar Shah Wednesday, September 01, 2010 10:10 AM

Yes it is true.

"Beshak namaaz behayae aur burai se rokti hai"

If Namaz is offered with heart & fear of Allah.

Artemis Saturday, October 02, 2010 04:12 AM

[QUOTE=Sociologist PU;209327][FONT=Fixedsys]This situation reminds me the big summeglars of Landi Kotal and Bara in KP areas who are very strict in offering Namaz/roza/haj but their bussines is summegling and narcotic tarde. Whenever somebody ask them the reason of this strange behaviour their usual reply is;[/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys][/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys]"Namaz apni jaga, karobar apni jaga"[/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys][/FONT]
[FONT=Fixedsys]Is it right ?[/FONT][/QUOTE]

It reminds me of my friend's statement. She said, "wahan pe is tarha k nam hote hain "Bismillah Charas Center" is this true? :0

Sociologist PU Saturday, October 02, 2010 10:10 AM

Hahaha ...... Ya true.
And the owner is usually a Pacca namazi and sometime Haji as well !

Usman Cheema Saturday, October 02, 2010 11:32 AM

This is absolutely an undoubtedly true as in Quran it is mentioned:
"Beshak namaaz behayae aur burai se rokti hai".
So if someone continues to offer prayer and is also indulged in the wrong doings then he must understand that his Namaz is nothing but a physical excercise.

07:45 AM (GMT +5)