-   Off Topic Lounge (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/off-topic-lounge/)
-   -   Internet is enough to find info for CSS subjects (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/off-topic-section/off-topic-lounge/39421-internet-enough-find-info-css-subjects.html)

j87ibz Thursday, October 07, 2010 09:25 PM

Internet is enough to find info for CSS subjects

Salam all members,

Most of respectables are searching for books for preparation for compulsory as well optional subjects.My personal experience suggests me that searching for books is a waste of time.You can find extremely relevant and easily accessible information on internet with high flexibility.

Please comment!!!

Gulrukh Thursday, October 07, 2010 09:45 PM

@j87...

You find good books on net becaz you are engineer.You can find good books over there unlike us.I see my brothers making flow charts,and making models of God knows what.Listening lectures of Indian and US professors.Aur patta nahin kia kia.they are Engineer too.

Internet is a miracle indeed.but books are must.remember its pakistan.

Bijli kabhi hoti hai kabhi nahin.

I read many books of C.Law on google books.And they are indeed awsome.
But at the end of the day it is the book material which i could retained in my head.

You cant compare books with internet.

And one thing wikipedia is not that reliable now i think.I heard that you can edit the material there.Although its not that easy.There is strong check on wrong information.But its not that reliable now.

But over all its good.

Arts students like us who are reading regional language cant find pashto etc on net.

Books + Internet= Great preparation.....Its my formula.

P.S...You helped my bro here that's why i know you are Engineer.

Omar Qadir Thursday, October 07, 2010 10:49 PM

The Apropos!

There is no harm whatsoever in the utilization of INTERNET as the only source of information. My Current Affair is from Internet all in all. I practice most of my English on Internet. Therefore if you think you can find all of your subjects on Internet, tis great. However, and let me say again, however book reading has it's advantages. Book has a style of writing, plus it makes you work to understand new words. You can skip information on INTERNET but skipping is not easy in term of books.

imran bakht Thursday, October 07, 2010 11:02 PM

books dear books...
there is no alternative for books . i second gul niazi bcoz i am unable to read from net as excess of every thing is bad so excess of expossure to pc screen may affect eyesight

j87ibz Thursday, October 07, 2010 11:03 PM

Very much right brother...and very well said.
But there are some points that made me to think in this way.

1. It is difficult to find a book exactly to user requirement but on internet one finds extremely relevant material with in no time.

2. Study from computer screen usually lowers rate of absorption but latter improves exponentially with time.

3. when one studies from book,the maximum he gets out of it, is the scope of book.Internet gives related material which is difficult to imagine other wise.I give you an example how it helped me in my current affairs paper( which is obviously very difficult for engineers),

I searched Pakistan on wikipedia and got the main headings like,

1.Etymology
2 History
3 Government and politics
3 Administrative units
4 Military
5 Geography and climate
6 Flora and fauna
7 Economy
8 Demographics
9 Education
10 Culture
11 Tourism
12 Sports
13 Transport
14 See also
15 References
16 Further reading
17 External links ( lots of related material)

[B]Is this not enough to cover the entire issues of pakistan???
[/B]

Many of my seniors told me to daily read news paper,but due to scarcity of time,I didn't want to do so.But I had a short cut,

[B]I wrote 2008 in Pakistan[/B]....All the majors events of 2008 relevant to Pakistan flashes within no time with organized formate.....and Alhumdullah for only 7-8 days of preparation,i completely attempted the paper,with 11 confirm marks in objective part confirm inshallah.

aariz Friday, October 08, 2010 03:00 AM

Ilm jaha kahe say milya, lay lo. I think, the internet is not sufficient for the preparation of the exam. You can not find every book on the net. The net is the best for some subjects like, current affairs, I.R. and natural science subjects.

Eager Thursday, October 21, 2010 08:33 PM

[QUOTE=j87ibz;219212]Very much right brother...and very well said.
But there are some points that made me to think in this way.

1. It is difficult to find a book exactly to user requirement but on internet one finds extremely relevant material with in no time.

2. Study from computer screen usually lowers rate of absorption but latter improves exponentially with time.

3. when one studies from book,the maximum he gets out of it, is the scope of book.Internet gives related material which is difficult to imagine other wise.I give you an example how it helped me in my current affairs paper( which is obviously very difficult for engineers),

I searched Pakistan on wikipedia and got the main headings like,

1.Etymology
2 History
3 Government and politics
3 Administrative units
4 Military
5 Geography and climate
6 Flora and fauna
7 Economy
8 Demographics
9 Education
10 Culture
11 Tourism
12 Sports
13 Transport
14 See also
15 References
16 Further reading
17 External links ( lots of related material)

[B]Is this not enough to cover the entire issues of pakistan???
[/B]

Many of my seniors told me to daily read news paper,but due to scarcity of time,I didn't want to do so.But I had a short cut,

[B]I wrote 2008 in Pakistan[/B]....All the majors events of 2008 relevant to Pakistan flashes within no time with organized formate.....and Alhumdullah for only 7-8 days of preparation,i completely attempted the paper,with 11 confirm marks in objective part confirm inshallah.[/QUOTE]

a very good suggestion indeed, worth following. thanks a lot..how did you prepare your essay???

axsim Thursday, October 21, 2010 11:58 PM

Books are mandatory, however they are no updated. Go through the books first, meantime also search on net to keep yourself update!

Rizwan Anwar Tuesday, September 13, 2011 08:52 AM

there is no alternative of good books

internet does not provide all relevant information

and you must search by topic name

but by books we came to know topics we never had heard about

how you can search them on ner

04:41 PM (GMT +5)