05:30 PM (GMT +5)

Old Saturday, March 12, 2011

Sociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to all
Default Cheap Marketing Tricks by Mobile Phone Cos

I dont know how irretated are other members but i am fed up of the advertisement pollution spread by the mobile phone companies these days. Every now and then the msg tone rings and one finds a new offer or ad of a service you never need.
And look at their ads on TV. How they bring young girls in mini dresses and ask us "hum apni nazaron say larkiuon ka akhtram karna kub seekhian gain" Waha, waha. Somebody should tell them that nobody will respect the girls if they will do such act in your ads on tv. I wonder where are the regulatory authorities that can bring some sense in their marketing tricks ? Where is PTA ? For how long they will continue to offer "ghanta Offer" and "night Package" to young boys and girls ?

lets protest against this unethical and anti-social advertisement of these revenue-hungry mobile phone companies who are disturbing our social values and norms for their vested interest.
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,347 Times in 1,010 Posts
Shooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud ofShooting Star has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Sociologist PU View Post
I dont know how irretated are other members but i am fed up of the advertisement pollution spread by the mobile phone companies these days. Every now and then the msg tone rings and one finds a new offer or ad of a service you never need.
And look at their ads on TV. How they bring young girls in mini dresses and ask us "hum apni nazaron say larkiuon ka akhtram karna kub seekhian gain" Waha, waha. Somebody should tell them that nobody will respect the girls if they will do such act in your ads on tv. I wonder where are the regulatory authorities that can bring some sense in their marketing tricks ? Where is PTA ? For how long they will continue to offer "ghanta Offer" and "night Package" to young boys and girls ?

lets protest against this unethical and anti-social advertisement of these revenue-hungry mobile phone companies who are disturbing our social values and norms for their vested interest.
a very nice topic indeed...

i agree with you upon the statement that marketing techniques used these days are really cheap...some example
1)look how they degrade rival companies(look at ads of jazz and ufone,also Ariel and Bright washing powder)in their ads.it is against the ethics of journalism.

2)i am very much against these"night packages"...it is completely nonsense..how can they defend this offer?even if someone is away from his/her family..and they have to go to university or to job the next morning..how can they wait till 12am to talk to their family and it is also likely that half of the members of the family must be sleeping by that time these companies are misleading our youth..it is a sheer waste of time,money and most importantly morals.
if they really want to give compensation to ordinary ppl,the should give it in the form of lower rates without any package activation and offer subscription,at day time.

3)one more thing which i have personally noticed is the shocking literally invisible font of "original charges"and terms and conditions....they never tell what is the original cost of subscription of an offer.you can only see that line with microscope.....this shows the general trend of hypocrisy in our national character and over all matters coz media is a mirror of society.

4)about ads on mobiles:it is a good sign that Pakistan is progressing in terms of IT.we are now becoming aware of e-commerce but the major problem is that the ethics are not taken into consideration in this rat-race.

5)girls are now being shown as "show pieces".we cannot deny the fact that"wajood-e-zan se hai tasweer-e-kainat main rang"...it is not a good thing either to just cut them totally off from the whole business...but their should be a moral code that what should be shown and what's not.
it is really condemnable thing that now 70 to 80% of ad feature a young couple...what kindda msg it give to our youth?
i don't agree with your statement....if a girl is in whatever dress,it is not right to tease her.. if a person has no ethics it does not mean that you loose yours....and i am very satisfied with that commercial that at least they are raising voice for females who really suffer this kindda treatment...trust me,if you are in veil,i am telling you ppl do tease you....now that old "candy bar"example is also somewhat irrelevant...men also have some social duties and responsibilities....app larki hoon to app ko pata chaly.

P.S---personally,i think these forward msg's are also being made by these companies..to boost let ppl achieve the target of 50000 sms per month otherwise most of us never do 5 to 20 actual msgs per day...hardly 2% ppl among us would have time to search and write and draw pictures and forward them.

the solution for all this is:Only "education"--Both of media and ppl.

Gulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really nice

There is some method to stop those advertisements on mobile phone or block those ad messages.although i dont know the exact method..bro's use them.i don't.

n I don't see any harm in those advertisement.Com'on don't be so conservative.come out of the shell.You can't get corrupted simply by seeing this stuff or indulging in that stuff..

They are just to grab the attention of youngsters n nothing else.

mukt will become famous soon enoughmukt will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Gulrukh View Post
There is some method to stop those advertisements on mobile phone or block those ad messages.although i dont know the exact method..bro's use them.i don't.

n I don't see any harm in those advertisement.Com'on don't be so conservative.come out of the shell.You can't get corrupted simply by seeing this stuff or indulging in that stuff..

They are just to grab the attention of youngsters n nothing else.

I just can't believe you just said that. It is irritating, If we don't want to get those messages they should NOT be sent to us. They should introduce a service that facilitates customers with ignoring these messages.

Also, young girls are coming on tv as our friend said and are posing their beauty and trying to sell products, how shameful is this. Are we really living in an Islamic society? We should surely protest, I am with you!
The Following User Says Thank You to mukt For This Useful Post:
Rixwan (Saturday, March 12, 2011)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,576 Posts
Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of

Very nice topic and it was question in Journalism paper as well.

I'm against these advertisements .Exposing girls and tempting dialogues are just to astray youngsters.I discussed it in detail in my paper with examples.
Behold dance show of Ali Zafar "Telenor Talk shawk" "ab sab ki ye he dhunn hai" aur sath chand be'hangam steps.aik aur add "Its fun to be young"..banda poochay ye e fun reh gaya hai kernay ko?aur jo Oldies goldies mein is se frustration paida ho ri hai,us ka kia?

Fakhar e Pakistan Naseem Hameed ko kis kaam pe lagaya Mobilink ne,"Aur sunao".
Ufone saaf awaz...."tum he tou ho"..
Zong......."sab keh do"..They are source of encouragement for those who have no courage to express.lol
These adds are such tempting k ik dafa tou banda sharmindagi ki ataah gehrayion mein doob jata hai k haye Why I am not able to utilize these packages?Sigh

Gulrukh how can you say that these adds are harmless?Media is the mightiest power.If it can make your judiciary independent,it can also ruin young minds and it is doing.

My point of view is this; if mobile companies want to advertise,their focus should not only be youngsters as people of other ages also have listening and speaking power
IrfanShahid (Saturday, March 12, 2011), Shooting Star (Sunday, March 13, 2011), Sociologist PU (Saturday, March 12, 2011)

Gulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really nice

Originally Posted by mukt View Post
I just can't believe you just said that. It is irritating, If we don't want to get those messages they should NOT be sent to us. They should introduce a service that facilitates customers with ignoring these messages.

Also, young girls are coming on tv as our friend said and are posing their beauty and trying to sell products, how shameful is this. Are we really living in an Islamic society? We should surely protest, I am with you!
It's shameful but its inevitable.You can't ignore the facts.no doubt we are an islamic society but tell me in which add something bad has been shown.if you want to protest then protest co education..what's wrong if girl n boy talk.its the problem of their's n their parents..not ours..live your own life.
n don't be an old man at the age of 22 or 26 whatever..
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Gulrukh For This Useful Post:
Invincible (Saturday, March 12, 2011), unsolved_Mystery (Monday, March 14, 2011)

Sociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to allSociologist PU is a name known to all

Gulrukh, what happened ?

You seems much changed.( your ideas i mean) I remember your previous posts where you very proudly advocated DEATH for the LOVERS and today you are saying "what is wrong if a boy and a girl talk" ok, it is not a problem but it is certainly a problem if they talk all night using night package.
Anyway, it seems the mobile culture is changing the ideas of our young generation rapidly.

Thanked 1,572 Times in 792 Posts
Invincible has much to be proud ofInvincible has much to be proud ofInvincible has much to be proud ofInvincible has much to be proud ofInvincible has much to be proud ofInvincible has much to be proud ofInvincible has much to be proud ofInvincible has much to be proud of

Aur bhai Ghum hain in adds k ilawa.

I recall a beautiful sentence said by someone" Jis ne kabi gunnha nh kya hu wo pather marray"

So,only those should comment against add culture who despise to listen indian songs,watching movies and hollywood stuff.

Mobile companies just mean business, it would be insanity to expect promotion of islam or pak culture from these giant companies. Be realistic.

@ Invincible

Dost........ business k be kuch ETHICS hotay hain. If they want to increase their revenue, they should not do it on the cost of spoiling the minds of our young generation. They should remain within the parameters of Pakistani CULTURE. If they will not care for the people then what is the difference between them and those milk-sellers who mix water in the milk ?
Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: 2011Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Rixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really niceRixwan is just really nice

rightly said (raised issue)...actually presently we just care about what to do in our leisure time...in past people read and write to spend their time...but these packages today let us spending our time in wasting our precious time and money in form of calls and sms....thats why some of the people here took it ill that you mentioned this issue..which is not really an issue in their view..
but on the whole if we analyze this sms and call culture let us wasting our time and apparently causing damage to the roots of the Islamic society...now the question arises that how this damages us....

through sms package: mostly boys and girls..keep on sending their friends, relatives and colleges unnecessary sms..which are of no use...you find students during lectures sending sms and wasting their time which must be devoted to studies....while being at home..they kept on messaging here we are neglecting our families and studies aswell...on the whole we have wasted our lot of time which we can devote to studies or any other gaining knowledge activity....

through calls: through this we can waste our time by calling to friends or so called "some one specials"...calling them whole night resulted in restlessness..which ultimately disturbed the whole next day and person feel dozy and lazy..the whole next day will become unproductive...thats why we people are unable to do hardwork...

by doing all this we are causing damage to islamic culture...

Gulrukh in her post said that the person is conservative if one is mentioned or accepted something that is wrong....madam get life..this is disastrous if you have closed your eyes from the wrong doings of the society.....

Invincible..
my dear friend...w.r.t line you mentioned....is it bad if one is high lighting the issue which is slowly and steadily causing damage to our society and mind of the youngsters(the example of which is being shown by Gulrukh)...?

Shootingstar
i strongly disagree with your point that if if "a person has no ethics it does not mean that you loose yours"...see in Islam the girls are strictly not allowed to step out from their houses until or unless it is necessary and if it is necessary than they should be veiled in prescribed manner...now you mentioned that if girl is veiled properly after than she has to face lot of comments....ok i agree with this that girls are being teased if they are veiled but the ratio in this case very low than the teasing of unveiled girls....
on the other hand if something is being directed by Islam than how can one find space in this case..girls are directed to get veiled than they should veil themselves...first obey what Islam said than raise your voice against the problem if faced...

you see in Islam commenting on others and unveiling is prohibited..but if you unveiled than you cant raise your voice against teasing...and now you read the line you mentioned "if a person has no ethics(of not commenting others) it does not mean that you loose yours(getting veiled)"
Sociologist PU (Saturday, March 12, 2011)