12:52 PM (GMT +5)

Old Sunday, November 25, 2012

Thanked 1,992 Times in 631 Posts
zuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud of
Default How can one sharpen one's memory?

How can one sharpen one's memory? Means, how can notes, material, paragraphs, be memorized easily?
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 2547

Farhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by zuhaib ahmed View Post
How can one sharpen one's memory? Means, how can notes, material, paragraphs, be memorized easily?
memorized easily-- oxymoron--
When it comes to torrents of things to remember, one needs to understand these because rules are meant to be learned and actions are for execution. Only pointers can be memorized.

Thanked 1,992 Times in 631 Posts
zuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud ofzuhaib ahmed has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by Farhad Aslam View Post
memorized easily-- oxymoron--
When it comes to torrents of things to remember, one needs to understand these because rules are meant to be learned and actions are for execution. Only pointers can be memorized.
What are ways to sharpen one's memory?
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 2547

Farhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the roughFarhad Aslam is a jewel in the rough

Memory is not scale-able boss
It can only be made use to of events. Best approach is to sharpen your axe and let memory get help from its sharp edges.

SA Haider will become famous soon enough

What are ways to sharpen one's memory?
Badam khao
zuhaib ahmed (Monday, November 26, 2012)

sidra siyal is on a distinguished road

By writing again and again...
Old Monday, November 26, 2012

Ainuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really niceAinuddin Kibzai is just really nice

Brother Zuhaib.
Human being has always been in a hot pursuit of strengthening his memory through ages.
There are several factors that could contribute to enhancing the capacity of memory and cementing it even further.
There are several ways for doing so but the one I have found effective has been in the form of pictorial memory.
Reading something again and again will immensely enhance the memory via vision.
Therefore, I would suggest the follow technique for bettering memory.
Memory 2 types ki hoti hai. pata hai na?
1. Active memory
2. Passive memory
Whatever we revise is stored in our active memory while what we have forgotten is stored in our passive memory.
Firstly, make bullet notes of your topics.
Suppose you prepare topic # 1 first day in 2 hours.
Next day, before starting topic # 2. give just 10 minutes and normally revise topic # 1 and then start topic # 2
And then the next day, before starting topic # 3. give just 5 minutes and normally revise topic # 1 and 10 minutes for topic # 2 and then start topic # 3
The next day, the older the topic gets, the lesser number of minutes will be required for your revision
You will see that you will be revising your topic in 1 minute only since it develops it creates pictorial memory
Believe me, aap ko ye bhi yaad hoga ke kis topic ke kis page ke kon si headings hain
It will work wonders for you.
Iss tarah aap ki more than 15 revisions ho jayen gi
I hope i don't exaggerate but aap just topic ka naam sun ke ye bata saken gi ke iss ke pehle words kya hain or last or middle ke kya.
This technique will immensely help you memorize things based on pictorial grounds.
Huma Bukhari (Monday, November 26, 2012), Invincible (Monday, November 26, 2012), prestigious (Monday, November 26, 2012), student (Monday, November 26, 2012), zuhaib ahmed (Monday, November 26, 2012)

student is on a distinguished road
Default 10 ways to improve memory

10 ways

Do you find yourself forgetting where you left your keys or blanking out information on important tests? Fortunately, there are things that you can do to help improve your memory. Before your next big exam, be sure to check out some of these tried and tested techniques for improving memory. These strategies have been established within cognitive psychology literature to improve memory, enhance recall and increase retention of information.

1. Focus your attention on the materials you are studying.

Attention is one of the major components of memory. In order for information to move from short-term memory into long-term memory, you need to actively attend to this information. Try to study in a place free of distractions such as television, music and other diversions.

2. Avoid cramming by establishing regular study sessions.

According to Bjork (2001), studying materials over a number of session's gives you the time you need to adequately process the information. Research has shown that students who study regularly remember the material far better than those who do all of their studying in one marathon session.

3. Structure and organize the information you are studying.

Researchers have found that information is organized in memory in related clusters. You can take advantage of this by structuring and organizing the materials you are studying. Try grouping similar concepts and terms together, or make an outline of your notes and textbook readings to help group related concepts.

4. Utilize mnemonic devices to remember information.

Mnemonic devices are a technique often used by students to aid in recall. A mnemonic is simply a way to remember information. For example, you might associate a term you need to remember with a common item that you are very familiar with. The best mnemonics are those that utilize positive imagery, humor or novelty. You might come up with a rhyme, song or joke to help remember a specific segment of information.

5. Elaborate and rehearse the information you are studying.

In order to recall information, you need to encode what you are studying into long-term memory. One of the most effective encoding techniques is known as elaborative rehearsal. An example of this technique would be to read the definition of a key term, study the definition of that term and then read a more detailed description of what that term means. After repeating this process a few times, you'll probably notice that recalling the information is much easier.

6. Relate new information to things you already know.

When you are studying unfamiliar material, take the time to think about how this information relates to things that you already know. By establishing relationships between new ideas and previously existing memories, you can dramatically increase the likelihood of recalling the recently learned information.

7. Visualize concepts to improve memory and recall.

Many people benefit greatly from visualizing the information they study. Pay attention to the photographs, charts and other graphics in your textbooks. If you do not have visual cues to help, try creating your own. Draw charts or figures in the margins of your notes or use highlighters or pens in different colors to group related ideas in your written study materials.

8. Teach new concepts to another person.

Research suggests that reading materials out loud significantly improves memory of the material. Educators and psychologists have also discovered that having students actually teach new concepts to others enhances understanding and recall. You can use this approach in your own studies by teaching new concepts and information to a friend or study partner.

9. Pay extra attention to difficult information.

Have you ever noticed how it's sometimes easier to remember information at the beginning or end of a chapter? Researchers have found that the order of information can play a role in recall, which is known as the serial position effect. While recalling middle information can be difficult, you can overcome this problem by spending extra time rehearsing this information. Another strategy is to try restructuring what you have learned so it will be easier to remember. When you come across an especially difficult concept, devote some extra time to memorizing the information.

10. Vary your study routine.

Another great way to increase your recall is to occasionally change your study routine. If you are accustomed to studying in one specific location, try moving to a different spot during your next study session. If you study in the evening, try spending a few minutes each morning reviewing the information you studied the previous night. By adding an element of novelty to your study sessions, you can increase the effectiveness of your efforts and significantly improve your long-term recall.

source :http://psychology.about.com/od/cogni...emory_tips.htm
The Following User Says Thank You to student For This Useful Post:
42nd CTP (PAAS)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 66

sabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to beholdsabahatbhutta is a splendid one to behold

Enhance your power to concentrate, memory will be sharpened automatically.
The Following User Says Thank You to sabahatbhutta For This Useful Post:
Old Tuesday, November 27, 2012

sapphireg is on a distinguished road

Hmm for memorizing your notes you need to concentrate just on them,try to be faraway the thoughts which disturb you while study time and which indulge you in other activity, just try to focus on them (notes.material,stuff) that time.
The Following User Says Thank You to sapphireg For This Useful Post:
zuhaib ahmed (Tuesday, November 27, 2012)