03:48 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Pakistan Defence & Military Careers > Army

Old Tuesday, August 16, 2011
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 3622

nice051 will become famous soon enough
Question icto/captain queries

aoa! h r u all. dear frndz i have a few queries to inquire from u. i have been called by army for issb for the post of icto . icto is equal to captain. my queries r as under: what r prick and privilege available to icto ? is it a charmimg career for an engineer? whats about promotion? how would u rank icto vs civil servent? after joining will they allow to take exams like css pms etc? dear frndz and seniors i am looking forward for u precious replies.
Old Tuesday, August 16, 2011

SinfullSaint is on a distinguished road

Have they given you date of your issb test. Do they took initial interview from you and after your physical test how many days they take to call u for issb.
Old Wednesday, August 17, 2011
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 3622

Exclamation

Bro I belong to Batch2. one more query, is there any provision in army that if a person selected through Direct short service commission for the post ICTO can switch to other branches , for instance , SSG, ISI, Infantry,etc ? kindly give me info about this and also about my previous post.
Old Tuesday, September 13, 2011

Fatima47 has a spectacular aura aboutFatima47 has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by nice051 View Post
aoa! h r u all. dear frndz i have a few queries to inquire from u. i have been called by army for issb for the post of icto . icto is equal to captain. my queries r as under: what r prick and privilege available to icto ? is it a charmimg career for an engineer? whats about promotion? how would u rank icto vs civil servent? after joining will they allow to take exams like css pms etc? dear frndz and seniors i am looking forward for u precious replies.
All the perks that are available to officers will be available to you as well.

I believe its a decent career for an engineer (looking at unemployment in our country).

I aint sure about promotion because normally, Captains (talking about officers who come from L/C) can take Capt. to Maj. promotion exam after they have served four years in army. Plus, it will be hard to become a Maj. Gen.

You are allowed to take exams (before 28 years of age). Now the fact is that if you are an average officer in army, you can make you way to civil services. If you are an ace officer or a below average officer, you'll never be selected.

Bro I belong to Batch2. one more query, is there any provision in army that if a person selected through Direct short service commission for the post ICTO can switch to other branches , for instance , SSG, ISI, Infantry,etc ? kindly give me info about this and also about my previous post.
People selected through DSSC actually serve in supporting branches. They cannot switch to fighting arms (Infantry, Arty or Armoured Corps). So you'll have to serve in your parent formation but yes, even you can get a chance to serve in ISI. ISI postings are never for you entire life. You go tehre, serve for a couple of years and come back to your parent unit. Same holds true for SSG. For SSG, one has to volunteer and then there is a procedure for induction to SSG.

azizlashari is on a distinguished road

Inter Services Selection Board commonly known as ISSB, representing ISSB Kohat and its detachments at Gujranwala, Malir and Quetta. ISSB is the premier human resource organisation which selects future leadership for the armed forces of Pakistan. ISSB acts as nursery for the Armed Forces of Pakistan.

The candidates reporting at ISSB are subjected to an elaborate selection system and the ones with requisite leadership potentials are recommended to undergo training in the three services academies.
Old Sunday, September 18, 2011

Originally Posted by Fatima47 View Post
All the perks that are available to officers will be available to you as well.

I believe its a decent career for an engineer (looking at unemployment in our country).

I aint sure about promotion because normally, Captains (talking about officers who come from L/C) can take Capt. to Maj. promotion exam after they have served four years in army. Plus, it will be hard to become a Maj. Gen.

You are allowed to take exams (before 28 years of age). Now the fact is that if you are an average officer in army, you can make you way to civil services. If you are an ace officer or a below average officer, you'll never be selected.
i would really appreciate ur reply to my queries , but a few queries still remain unanswered. i got an impression from ur post that icto is a good job but at the time it is hard to get promotion after MAJOR . one more thing as we all know that a captain in army is exempted from written exam of css , is this previlige also available to icto. remember he has to sign a 7 years bond to serve army .
Old Tuesday, September 20, 2011

i would really appreciate ur reply to my queries , but a few queries still remain unanswered. i got an impression from ur post that icto is a good job but at the time it is hard to get promotion after MAJOR . one more thing as we all know that a captain in army is exempted from written exam of css , is this previlige also available to icto. remember he has to sign a 7 years bond to serve army .

No. I didnt mean to say that promotion from Capt. to Maj. is hard. Its just that I do not have much idea about policies for supporting arms. Yes, the same privilege will be available to you as well. Give me a day or two and I'll get everything confirmed inshaAllah.

ASIFMALIK is on a distinguished road

Dear ICTO Promotion is hard at highest level as according to my close relative who is currently a caption(ICTO ), to become brigadier one must have PHD qualification.

Originally Posted by Fatima47 View Post
No. I didnt mean to say that promotion from Capt. to Maj. is hard. Its just that I do not have much idea about policies for supporting arms. Yes, the same privilege will be available to you as well. Give me a day or two and I'll get everything confirmed inshaAllah.
@Fatima , Dear I would be highly greatful to u if u clear all the points that I posted in my previous threads. and surely u can take ur time

Originally Posted by ASIFMALIK View Post
Dear ICTO Promotion is hard at highest level as according to my close relative who is currently a caption(ICTO ), to become brigadier one must have PHD qualification.
@Asif Dear if u can ask the queries inquired in my previous thread from ur relative (iCTO) I would be highly greatful to u