-   Past Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/pakistan-intelligence-agencies-jobs/intelligence-bureau-ib/past-papers/)
-   -   Lets discuss IB paper 2009 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/pakistan-intelligence-agencies-jobs/intelligence-bureau-ib/past-papers/21162-lets-discuss-ib-paper-2009-a.html)

Last Island Tuesday, January 20, 2009 06:29 PM

[QUOTE]Q What are Capital goods? I THINK IT IS ERXPORT BECAUSE U CAN GET ONLY CAPTIAL BY EXPORTING THAT GOOD MORE THAN THE DOMESTIC.[/QUOTE]

Capital goods are Raw materials used to produce finished products.
[url]http://www.investorwords.com/709/capital_goods.html[/url]

Any goods used by an organization to produce other goods.
[url]http://www.investopedia.com/terms/c/capitalgoods.asp[/url]

In Marxian economics, [B]capital goods[/B] originally referred to the means of production.[1] Individuals, organizations and governments use capital goods in the production of other goods or commodities.
[url]http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Capital_goods[/url]

[QUOTE]Q NOTHING MORE INFECTIOUS ............. BAD WORDS (TO) I WROTE IS IT OK? [/QUOTE]

Nothing is more infectious [B]than [/B]bad words.

[QUOTE]Q Which letter in a dictionary has most words and phrases? S r u sure about it?[/QUOTE]

A - 4.635 %
B - 5.959 %
C - 9.114 %
D - 5.208 %
E - 3.385 %
F - 5.312 %
G - 3.385 %
H - 3.958 %
I - 3.281 %
J - 0.729 %
K - 0.885 %
L - 3.333 %
M - 5.260 %
N - 2.083 %
O - 2.760 %
P - 8.072 %
Q - 0.364 %
R - 5.208 %
[B]S - 12.5 %[/B]
T - 5.625 %
U - 1.614 %
V - 1.093 %
W - 3.385 %
X - 5.208 %
Y - 0.364 %
Z - 0.104 %

Last Island Tuesday, January 20, 2009 06:41 PM

[quote=aliraza171]
which country had more noble prize hoders in 2008.
a.germany b.usa c.uk d.japan
a lot of members choose the option indicating japan,even i too think that it could b correct but i choose for USA.
Last island also went for this option.
so any other with different answer[/quote]
[B]
Nobel Prize in Physics 2008[/B]

Yoichiro Nambu – USA (1/2 of the prize)

(For the discovery of the mechanism of spontaneous broken symmetry in subatomic physics)

Makoto Kobayashi – Japan (1/4 of the prize)
Toshihide Maskawa – Japan (1/4 of the prize)

(For the discovery of the origin of the broken symmetry which predicts the existence of at least three families of quarks in nature)
[B]
Chemistry [/B]

Osamu Shimomura – USA (1/3 of the prize)
Martin Chalfie – USA (1/3 of the prize)
Roger Y. Tsien – USA (1/3 of the prize)

(For the discovery and development of the green fluorescent protein, GFP)
[B]
Medicine or Physiology [/B]

Harald zur Hausen – Germany (1/2 of the prize)

(For his discovery of human papilloma viruses causing cervical cancer)

Françoise Barré-Sinoussi – France (1/4 of the prize)
Luc Montagnier – France (1/4 of the prize)

(For their discovery of human immunodeficiency virus)

[B]Literature [/B]

Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio - France

(Author of new departures, poetic adventure and sensual ecstasy, explorer of a humanity beyond and below the reigning civilization)

[B]Peace [/B]

Martti Ahtisaari – Finland

(For his important efforts, on several continents and over more than three decades, to resolve international conflicts))
[B]
Economics[/B]

Paul Krugman – USA

(For his analysis of trade patterns and location of economic activity)

Amir Shafique Tuesday, January 20, 2009 07:16 PM

As i mentioned earlier that yes Alaska is situated away from the main land...but i assume that the examiner was asking about the direction and not the fact that it is situated away from main land...its just like when we say that bangladesh is on the east of pakistan.. we never say or said it ever that it is away from main land.... The option of main land was just to confuse the candidates...its my logic anybody may disagree.

As far as the difference between afforestration and reforestration is concerned i know it....that is why i believe that afforestration is about planting of new trees as it is planting trees where they never existed, while reforestration is to plant trees where trees existed before....yes the option might be planting of trees....the question was confusing and i belive that planting of trees is a more rational answer..

Rana G Tuesday, January 20, 2009 08:03 PM

[COLOR="Silver"]Last Island Quote:
6. Scientists form which country won most noble prizes in 2008 [/COLOR]

Hi all buddies, its very interesting situation regarding score of papr. Even last day i calculated my score finally based on the answers avlble on net posted by different candidates. But now again my score is flactuating after finding different ans. Im also confused now. e.g about a day ago, I was dam sure that Japan (most winner priz) iz the right option. But list produced by last island made me confsd that i may be wrong. At the moment I hve insufficnt time to explore/browse on net to find the list. Ltr on i will personally confirm from net. But literally I still believe Japan is rite one.

Q. Panda by origin belongs to what country. It was not the question. Q was that Panda is national animal of which country? i.e China.

Q. An other qution. ppl got mix was abt Lahore Decl & OIC.
Exact question was "1974 relates to what" Ans is surely OIC.Coz 2nd OIC session was held at Lahore.

Q. What are capital goods..
I think these are manufactured good. manufactured to produce is wrong one.
I think person getting 70-75 will qualify. Good Luck e. body.

Last Island Tuesday, January 20, 2009 08:12 PM

[quote=Rana G]At the moment I hve insufficnt time to explore/browse on net to find the list. Ltr on i will personally confirm from net. But literally I still believe Japan is rite one.

[/quote]

Let me help you then.

Medicine

[url]http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/medicine/laureates/2008/[/url]

Chemistry

[url]http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/chemistry/laureates/2008/[/url]

Literature

[url]http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/literature/laureates/2008/[/url]

Physics

[url]http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/physics/laureates/2008/[/url]

Peace

[url]http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/peace/laureates/2008/[/url]

Economics

[url]http://nobelprize.org/nobel_prizes/economics/laureates/2008/[/url]

Rana G Tuesday, January 20, 2009 08:17 PM

Why I beleive that Japan is rite option. Coz mostly noble prz08 was shared by two 2 three winners. Islnd gave list of one each. I basically read this news in Weekly Magazine "Express" two weeks ago. Yes there was a lot of winners belonging to USA but unfortuantely i dint count which country is ahead and now that magazine is also dislocated. im trying to trace it. USA/Japan r too close option. Wat my memory says is Japan Japan & Japan.
[SIZE="5"][COLOR="Black"][/COLOR]Quote:
66. He has reached ....the same conclusion
Ans. on [/SIZE]

The Star Tuesday, January 20, 2009 08:38 PM

Rana G below is the list of the Nobel Laureates of 2008 in the field of science.the question was about the scientists, literature or peace does not fall in sciences. Economics is considered a science. if we exclude economics even then 4 scientist of USA won Nobel prize in 2008,while with economics this number rises to 5.on the other hand only 2 scientists of Japan got Nobel in 2008.there is no need to look for that magazine. Its confirmed that USA Scientists won the most Nobel prizes in 2008.
Here is the list my dear.

Physics

Yoichiro Nambu USA

Makoto Kobayashi Japan
Toshihide Maskawa Japan

Chemistry

Osamu Shimomura USA
Martin Chalfie USA
Roger Y. Tsien USA

Medicine

Harald zur Hausen Germany
Françoise Barré-Sinoussi France
Luc Montagnier France

Economics
Paul Krugman USA

Saqib Shah Tuesday, January 20, 2009 10:33 PM

Assalam-o-Alaikum all of U,

let me clear your mind first.....

Usa is the right when v talk about noble prize....

secondly 70-80 % marks not sufficent for that post.....becoz seats are very low and applied students are near about 8000....so according to this situation we hav to hav more then 90 % marks.....nither most probly we ll not slected......when i was slected for fia post i got 96 % in witten.......i tink that was my luck.....

now i think u hav clear idea ab %.......

Regard

Amir Shafique Wednesday, January 21, 2009 10:26 AM

Capital goods are those goods that are used in further production. The underlying concept is that they are never offered to the final consumer for consumption or else they will be called finished/consumer goods.

As far as the option manufactured good is concerned, it is wrong..a capital can exist in manufactured or in any other form.....For eg: computer storage chips are manufactured but are used further for manufacturing central procesing units(CPU), therefore chips are capital goods.

sparkofighter Wednesday, January 21, 2009 12:09 PM

then what is the right answer of captical goods? yar alot of confusion?
Q. his research reach .................. same conclusion(t0) you cannot use propersition with reached so i read it some where i think to is the option.
Q NOTHING IS MORE INFECTIOUS ........... THE BAD WORDS (to) because than is used for comparsion.
q which is best soil for agriculture >>> what is the the right answer
q by natural gas ..... it effect in breathing or?

Amir Shafique Wednesday, January 21, 2009 02:25 PM

Answer for capital good is B) goods used for further production (for sure, check any economic book and look in into the glossary)

nothing is more infectious than words....you r right than is used for comparison and over here we are comparing words with nothing:)

Answer for soil is perhaps clay....(not sure though)...it is just a logical conclusion as the other options had nothing to do with fertility.. they were just layers of soil...( i may be wrong)

For natural gas it is breathing (again not 100% sure).. i say it because people die due to suffocation when there is natural gas leakage..

dr.atifrana Wednesday, January 21, 2009 07:01 PM

Friends

AOA:
CAN ANY ONE OF YOU TELL WHAT WERE THE OPTIONS FO Mudarba.
a)mode of investment
or
b)patnership
[B]second[/B] there was a question in which it was asked
that as the axis of earth is tilted so the north pole points to
a)north
b)south
c)east
d)west
plz answer with some example

I think all have participated in this discussion whole heartedly.And the
css forum is really bound to be appreciated.
keep your work on excellence.
Rana Atif

Last Island Thursday, January 22, 2009 12:17 AM

[quote] [B]second[/B] there was a question in which it was asked
that as the axis of earth is tilted so the north pole points to
a)north
b)south
c)east
d)west
plz answer with some example[/quote]

Question wasn't about the axis of the earth, Dr Sahib. It was "The needle of the compass points towards north , south, east or west?"

Raz Thursday, January 22, 2009 04:02 PM

[COLOR="blue"][U][I]sparkofighter: then what is the right answer of captical goods? yar alot of confusion?[/I]

[I]sparkofighter: Q What are Capital goods? I THINK IT IS ERXPORT BECAUSE U CAN GET ONLY CAPTIAL BY EXPORTING THAT GOOD MORE THAN THE DOMESTIC.[/I][/U][/COLOR]

Dear Sparkofighter:

Please don't confuse this concept:

100% sure: Capital goods are goods used for further production / to generate economic activity. Go through Paul A Samuelsson,
Lipsy,
Miller,
Schiller,
K.K.Dewet
Economics for A-Level (Oxford)
you will find same concept in all these books.

If this answer is wrong do bring me accountable for this because I have been facing this subject in M.A. Economics, B.Com, CA Foundation, Banking Diploma, MPA Finance and also taught this subject to MBA students in ISRA University. I have attempted economics subject with different titles in all these courses but never found the concept which you are depicting here.

Capital flow, capital formation or foreign Direct Investment should not be confused with capital goods.

abidfastian Thursday, January 22, 2009 08:22 PM

All in One

Here are 70 questions. Point out mistakes with logic / reason. If any other Q u remind then write it too.

AD-IB 2009

Q1. Human body normal temperature in Celcius = 37 C
Q2. Gobi desert is located in = Asia
Q3. OIC Head quarter is in which country = Saudi Arabia
Q4. Allama Iqbal publicly demanded separate state for Muslims in: 1930
Q5. Points of Quaid in the year: 1929
Q6 The author of book “Now or Never” Ch. Rehmat Ali
Q7. Creator of National Anthem of Pakistan. Hafeez Jalandhari
Q8. Pakistan’s national animal is: Markhor
Q9. When was Pakistan formally named as,” Islamic Republic of Pakistan”. 1956
Q10. Area of Pakistan in Million (Square Kilometer) in round figures is about: 0.8 Millions
Q11. General Secretary of UNO: Moon
Q12. Current elections in USA won by party: Democratic
Q13. No. of total member countries in Security Council. 15
Q14. No. of planets in solar system 8
Q15. UNO agency that looks after the welfare of workers: ILO
Q16. Muslim league founded at city: Dhaka
Q17. No. of members in Pakistan senate: 100
Q18. How many bones are there in human body? 206
Q19. 9/11 refers to: Air Attack
Q20. Panda is national animal of which country? China.
Q21. Age of Earth is how much year old: 4-1/2 Billions
Q22. 03 June 1947 relates to what: Partition of Continent.
Q22. Length of Indus: 3000km
Q23. Alphabet from which most words are formed: S
Q24. Ice melting at poles is because of: Ozone depletion
Q25. North pole of compass points to: North
Q26. Bali is an Island of: Indonesia
Q27. Who killed Abu-Jahal? Both Maoz and Maaz
Q28. Afforestation stands for: Planting of new Trees
Q29. Madam Curie is known for: Radioactivity
Q30. Panama canal connects: Atlantic and Pacific Oceans
Q31. On boiling egg hardens which indicates the presence of: Protein.
Q32. Abusive drugs damage cells of: Brain
Q33. In modern television Cathode Ray Tube is replaced with: Transistor

Q34. Who dissolved one unit:
a. Ayub Khan b. Yahya Khan (Correct) c. Zulfiqar Bhutto d. Zia ul Haq

Q35. Mountain range where earthquake 2005 came:
a. Karakuram Range b. Hindu Kush Range (Correct) c. Himalaya Range

Q36. Gandhara civilization from:
a. Taxila (Correct) b. Mohinjodaro c. Multan

Q37. Chemical cells in human body
a. 21 b. 31 c. 41 d. 51 (Correct)

Q38. Mudarba is called
a. mode of investment (Correct) (its Islamic bond, Islamic banking etc) b. Bank

Q39. where is Alaska situated in America
a. North b. South c. East d. Away from land (Correct)

Q40. Martin Luther King was famous for
a. Human Rights (Correct) b. Labour Rights c. Freedom Fighter

Q41. Oldest mountains in Pakistan:
a). Kahari Mount (Correct) b) Murree Hills c) Hindu Kush Range d) Himalaya Range

Q42. Lahore declaration is related to
A. OIC

Q43. Law making agency is
a) presidency b) court c) administrative agency d) none of the above (Correct)

Q44. Cause of ozone depletion is
a) chloroflourocarbons

Q45. BIG ROCKS BREAK DUE TO
a) Evaporation (Correct) b) freezing water

Q46. Best soil for agriculture is
a) top soil b) sub soil (Correct) c) Loam

Q47. LITERACY IN Pakistan
a) 46% b) 50% c) 34% d) 56% (Correct)

Q48. British occupied punjab in
a) 1857 b) 1849 (Correct)

Q49. the effect of natural gas leakage on human body is
a. it is poisonous b. Dangerous to lungs c. Dangerous to kidney d: Respiration Problem (Correct)

Q50. What Is Speed Of Sound In Air?
A 1000km

Q51. Coming Down From Hill Why Our Ear Feel Pain?
A. High Pressure In Ear.

Q52. Which one is a Scandinavian Country?
a. Germany b. USA c. UK d. Norway (Correct)

Q53. What are Capital goods?
a. Manufactured goods b. Goods used for production c. Export goods d. Daily use goods (Correct)

Q54. Scientists form which country won most noble prizes in 2008
a. USA (Correct) b.UK c.Germany d. Japan

Q55. Major export of Pakistan is:
a. Rice b. Fruits c. Cotton (Correct) d. Sports

Q56. We receive Rain in winter from the region
a. Arabian sea b. Bay of Bengal (Correct) 3. Mediterranean sea

Q57. Which of following cells does not contain nucleus?
a) Red blood cell b) White blood cell c) Muscle cell (Correct) d) Brain cell

ANTONYMS
1. Relinquish: Resume
2. Robust: invigorous
3. Rustic: Sophisticated

SYNONYMS
4. Follow: Adhere
5. Approbation: admiration
6. Sensitize: realize
7. Relish: Enjoy
8. Booty: Wealth

PREPOSITIONS
9. They reached ....... the meeting point.
a. In b. on c. into d. at (Correct)

10. Abide…...the rules/laws?
a. to b. by (Correct) c. with

11. He has reached ....the conclusion
a. on b. to c. at (Correct) d. over

12. She opened the door ..... let cat in.
a) and (Correct) b) but c) so

13. Shazia ....I must tell me.....
a. either b. or (Correct) c. and

dr.ali.zaidi Thursday, January 22, 2009 09:57 PM

Cell without nucleus

Dear Borther! the only cell without nucleus is RBC. As far as muscle cells are concerned there may b muscle cells having multiple nuclei e.g. skeletal muscle cells or cardiac muscle cells, however smooth mucles have one nucleus.

Dr.S.M.Ali

dr.atifrana Friday, January 23, 2009 03:37 PM

abidfastian

Dear
Yar few of your answers are not correct.please check them again.
for example
[QUOTE] Q45. BIG ROCKS BREAK DUE TO
a) Evaporation (Correct) b) freezing water[/QUOTE]

The answer is ,due to freezing water
it is a phenomena in weathering, people can understand well who have strong knowledge of geography.
[QUOTE]Q50. What Is Speed Of Sound In Air?
A 1000km [/QUOTE]
Dear the speed of sound is 1200km

[QUOTE]Q53. What are Capital goods?
a. Manufactured goods b. Goods used for production c. Export goods d. Daily use goods (Correct)[/QUOTE]
Dear the correct answer is ,Goods used for further production

[QUOTE] Q57. Which of following cells does not contain nucleus?
a) Red blood cell b) White blood cell c) Muscle cell (Correct) d) Brain[/QUOTE]
Dear the correct answer is ,RBC

[QUOTE]8. Booty: Wealth[/QUOTE]
THE synonym of booty is "[B]plunder[/B]"
AND THERE ARE ALSO SOME QUESTIONS WHICH NEED TO BE CONSIDERED AGAIN.
SO PLEASE DONT SAY THAT ALL ARE CORRECT.OTHER MEMBERS MAY BECOME CONFUSED.
OTHER MEMBERS ARE ALSO REQUESTED TO RETHINK ABOUT THESE ANSWERS.

Atif Rana

Amir Shafique Friday, January 23, 2009 05:02 PM

Q57. Which of following cells does not contain nucleus?
a) Red blood cell b) White blood cell c) Muscle cell (Correct) d) Brain

i cant understand why is everybody stating the fourth option as Brain cell..it was nerve cell....

Rana G Friday, January 23, 2009 07:02 PM

All candidts apprd in AD (IB) test has been discsing all qts but im suprised tht 1 q has not been taken into consideration so far by any 1. My memory also recalled that one now. i.e. Badar is a). Missile b). Sattelite. c). Submarine d). Tank

Sattelite is ans.

sparkofighter Friday, January 23, 2009 07:23 PM

Raz sparkofighter: then what is the right answer of captical goods? yar alot of confusion?

sparkofighter: Q What are Capital goods? I THINK IT IS ERXPORT BECAUSE U CAN GET ONLY CAPTIAL BY EXPORTING THAT GOOD MORE THAN THE DOMESTIC.

dear thank u for your remarks. but as for as i think captial goods r that goods through which u can get money i think(may b i m wrong) and you can money get money by export manufacured goods to other states. which is best way to make ur captial alot and make ur economy booming to.

dr.atifrana Saturday, January 24, 2009 12:07 PM

Rana G &friends

Assalam u Aley kum
The BADAR is a sattellite (a space observatory of Pakistan), launched in december 2001 from Kazakhstan.It was designed by space innovations limmited (SIL) of the United Kingdom.

Amir Shafique Saturday, January 24, 2009 03:39 PM

One more question...

one cannot go beyond------means

a)his b) her c)one's d) ?

Answer: One's

Amir Shafique Saturday, January 24, 2009 05:36 PM

somebody plz tell how many questions were of english, how many of GK and how many of series (number and alphabet both)

@abid fastian

good job....but u have also posted some answers wrong there..like ice is melting on poles due to greenhouse effect not ozone depletion.........yes! depletion of ozone is making the green house process agressive and ozone is depleting fast due to pollution of which chloroflourocarbons are the most dangerous....got the link..capital goods one is also wrong but since much has been discussed about it so i wont comment on that...

again! can anybody recall the breakup..

The Star Saturday, January 24, 2009 08:07 PM

Ther were 15 questions of english.64 of General knowledge + everyday science and 21 of aptitude(numerical and alphabet series)

Rana G Sunday, January 25, 2009 12:30 PM

[B][I][U]Quote[/U][/I][/B][B][U]one cannot go beyond------means

a)his b) her c)one's d) ?[/U][/B]

I think its rite answer is itself.

The Star Sunday, January 25, 2009 03:06 PM

Not at all my brother . The rite answer is "one's"

Last Island Sunday, January 25, 2009 03:29 PM

[quote=Rana G][B][I][U]Quote[/U][/I][/B][B][U]one cannot go beyond------means

a)his b) her c)one's d) ?[/U][/B]

I think its rite answer is itself.[/quote]

The word “one” causes difficulties only as a pronoun. A pronoun is a word which stands for a noun.

In “one of a kind” or “one at a time” or “one is good enough”, the word “one” is not functioning adjectivally: it is not describing a noun or pronoun. Rather, it functions as a pronoun: it stands for (represents or “favours”) a noun.

One use of the pronoun “one” is to abstract from the grammatical numbers, singular and plural, and the grammatical genders (feminine, masculine and neuter). In the sentence [B]“ONE goes to Mombasa in vacations”[/B], you are referring to no particular number or gender.

By “one”, you can mean “I”, “he”, “she, it, you, they” or, indeed, the whole society for you are generalizing.This abstraction is why you must stick to “one” whenever you use it as a pronoun in the subject.

That is, “one” must be followed by “one” — never by any other personal pronoun. You cannot say: [B]“After one spends a week in Mombasa, he returns to Nairobi in time for him to resume work on January 2.” [/B]

For, by jumping from “one” to “he” and “him”, you are committing gross injustice to other grammatical numbers and genders. That is why you must say: [B]“After one spends a week in Mombasa, one returns to Nairobi in time for one to resume work…”[/B]

02:16 AM (GMT +5)