11:47 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PCS / PMS

PCS / PMS Information about PCS / PMS

Old Sunday, May 29, 2011
Provincial Civil Service
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 2,335 Times in 569 Posts
Xeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdomXeric is a bearer of wisdom

PCS means Provincial Civil Service through which Section Officers and Assistant Commissioners are recruited based on 7 papers exam. PMS is new concept in which Officers are recruited which can be posted both as ACs or SOs. PMS is prevalent in KPK and Punjab and PCS still exists in Sindh and Baluchistan. Am I right fellows?
Old Wednesday, August 24, 2011

HiraHashmi is on a distinguished road
Default PCS vs PMS

can any one guide me about pcs exams? kiya pcs and pms is same thing? pcs ka exam kab and kahan and kaun leta hai?and dates,admissions etc kab announce hoty hain?
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 5951

hassanshariq is on a distinguished road

PCS is for provincial civil service. Every province has its own public service commission just like the FPSC for federal.

PMS stands for provincial management service. These exams have been taken every 2 years, but thats not a fixed rule. The punjab PMS was to be held from 7th september, but it has been delayed now and it will be re advertised.

The term PCS exam is used for all the inductions done through any of the provincial public service commission.
HiraHashmi (Wednesday, August 24, 2011)

Perhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of light

Originally Posted by HiraHashmi View Post
can any one guide me about pcs exams? kiya pcs and pms is same thing? pcs ka exam kab and kahan and kaun leta hai?and dates,admissions etc kab announce hoty hain?
I think you will get satisfied by the answer of hassanshariq who has cleared everything in his answer. The office of PPSC/PCS is near Shimla Pahari, Davis Road, Lahore. PMS is an exam to induct Officers in BPS-17 under provincial government. This year PMS is inducting Section Officers, Assistant Director Local Fund Audit and Excise and Taxation Officers.
Except PMS, other PCS exams are also conducted for different posts in different departments, as I qualified PCS and now Serving in CID in BPS-14.
For further details please visit PCS website and go through it
PUNJAB PUBLIC SERVICE COMMISSION

HiraHashmi is on a distinguished road

well...actually i really didnt get it. imean pcs exam pms kay sath hi hota hai kiya? ya pcs ki alag se announcement hoti hai?i know i am late for pms..but what about pcs exam? us mein to apear ho sakti hon abhi kay nahi?

Perhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of lightPerhar is a glorious beacon of light

well...actually i really didnt get it. imean pcs exam pms kay sath hi hota hai kiya? ya pcs ki alag se announcement hoti hai?i know i am late for pms..but what about pcs exam? us mein to apear ho sakti hon abhi kay nahi?
If you want to apply for PMS and you missed the chance this year, then don't worry, PMS(Punjab) is going to be re-advertised and you may apply in it. You may also apply for PCS and at present following PCS exams are within limit
Advertisement...
Jahan tak baat ha PMS ar PCS k difference ki tu.....
There are two types of commissions in Pakistan, 1. Federal Public Service Commission (FPSC which conducts CSS and other federal commission exams), 2. Provincial Commission Services (PCS), this is different for each province. For example Punjab Public Service Commission, Sindh Public Service Commission etc. So PCS is the name of commission which conducts exams to induct the officers/officials for respective provincial governments. PMS is the name of examination which is conducted by PCS (Provincial commission) PCS also conduct other exams (other than PMS), just as Induction of ASI (BPS-9), Assistants (BPS_14), Lecturers (BPS-17), etc and this exam is called PCS.
The Following User Says Thank You to Perhar For This Useful Post:
shahid_5151 (Thursday, August 25, 2011)
Old Thursday, August 25, 2011
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Roll no 12143

game awan will become famous soon enoughgame awan will become famous soon enough

@ senioors
correct me if i am wrong there are 3 attempts available to every candidate for pms/pcs if a person appeared in exams 4 a post(other than pms) advertised by ppsc say tehsildar /accountant etc will it mean he has only two attempts left for pms?

Hasan Raza Awan will become famous soon enoughHasan Raza Awan will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by game awan View Post
@ senioors
correct me if i am wrong there are 3 attempts available to every candidate for pms/pcs if a person appeared in exams 4 a post(other than pms) advertised by ppsc say tehsildar /accountant etc will it mean he has only two attempts left for pms?
malik sahab... PCS attemp aap jitni chahe kr lo but if you are within age limit

but for PMS you have only 3 attempts..you can call it mini CSS
hop u will get my point
PMS ki apni alg se 3 attempts hain it is not related with PCS
game awan (Friday, August 26, 2011)

Hasan Raza Awan will become famous soon enoughHasan Raza Awan will become famous soon enough

look hira PMS n PCS are two seperat things
PMS is Provincial menagment service(as like of CSS)
It comes after avery 2 years but its not a pet rule they can advertise it afer 1 year too.
PCS is another thing You can apply it at any time when you feel that you are qualifying for the given advertisement but remaining in age limt.
PMS has 3 chances....
PCS examz has many chances until you cross your age limt.
Ainee zulfiqar (Thursday, August 25, 2011), HiraHashmi (Thursday, August 25, 2011), Perhar (Thursday, August 25, 2011)

Default PCS also has three chances.

PCS has also three attempts limit for each post. Means you can attempt for the post of ASI thrice only, after that you could not apply for the same. But you have three, three chances each for other posts. For example I can apply thrice for ASI, thrice for lecturer, thrice for PMS, thrice for Zilladar, thrice for Traffic warden and thrice for bla bla bla.