10:18 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PCS / PMS

PCS / PMS Information about PCS / PMS

Old Tuesday, May 20, 2014
Excursionist
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,478 Times in 754 Posts
Man Jaanbazam has a spectacular aura aboutMan Jaanbazam has a spectacular aura aboutMan Jaanbazam has a spectacular aura about
Default Books for PMS (Seniors are requested to reply)

Asslam-o-Alaikum I have gone through various thread and found number of books mentioned by different people. I am from area where i cant find books related to CSS or PMS. I have to purchase them from Lahore . So kindly suggest authentic and brief books for PMS Subjects that cover whole course. It would be so kind of you. As my optional are
1. Social Work 2. Punjabi 3. Geography

For Social Work I found following books from different threads.
1. Social Work (Carvan) by Asghar Ali
2. Social Work By Waqar Aziz Bhutta
3. Social Work By Ahmed Najib
4. Social Work by Jahangir Series
5. Social Work by Dr. M Khalid

For Urdu I found following books from different threads.
1. Urdu Adab ki Mukhtasar Tareen Tareekh By Dr. Saleem Akhter
2. Urdu Adab By Amjad Shakir
3. Urdu General (ILMI Series) By Mehar Hayat Sial
4. ILMI Urdu Mazameen
5. Urdu General By Sohail Bhatti
6. Urdu (Carvan Series) By Khalid Naeem Khan
7. Urdu Advance (Carvan Series) By M Imtiaz Shahid
8. Urdu Mazameen By Abid Chaudary
9. Books On Special Study of a. Mir b. Ghalib c. Iqbal

For Punjabi I found following books from different threads.
1. By Faisal Hayyat Jappa
2. By Qamar Hasnain Qadri

Moreover i have also appeared in CE 2014 So i want to ask also that books for other subjects are same or i have to purchase different books for PMS.
For Pak Affairs:
I am following
1. Re-Thinking Pakistan By Saeed Ahmed Butt
2. Trek To Pakistan By Ahmed Saeed
I have prepared my own notes from these two books or they enough? I have heard that PMS paper for Pakistan Studies is mostly concerned with Post-Independence Era . I have gone through PMS Pak Affairs Paper of 2012 and 2009. Both are different. 2009 is mostly concerned with Pre-Partition Era and 2012 is concerned with Pots Partition Era.
Also i have found a recommended book in some thread of PMS for Post Partition Era is
1. By Ikram Rabbani

Now coming towards English Composition. As paper is a bit different from CSS So from where to prepare questions like
1. Urdu-English Translation
2. Composition Writing
I am following Past Papers of CSS and Book by Syed Sadat Ali Shah . Are they enough for PMS also ?

For Islamiat I am following two books
1. Towards Islamiat by Khurshid Ahmed
2. Islamiat for CSS by Furkhunda Noor

For GK I am following:
1. DAWN Newspaper
2. JWT Monthly
3. Carvan GK By Najib Ahmed

Also guide me in other subjects please.
I would be highly grateful if somebody can help me out with authenticate answers specially PMS Officers of forum are highly requested to reply. Jazak ALLAH