11:02 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PCS / PMS > PCS/PMS Result

Old Saturday, April 29, 2017

Demonstrative is on a distinguished road
Default A query for Sir Shahkaar about PMS Arabic

Could you please tell me which books you used for preparing Arabic, esp Arabic-II? Plus, how did you manage to write essay/ letter etc in Arabic?

Thank you in anticipation.
The Following User Says Thank You to Demonstrative For This Useful Post:
Shahkaar (Saturday, April 29, 2017)

Shahkaar is on a distinguished road

There were many contributing factors for Arabic. I studied Arabic in primary school, which means I have some know-how of Arabic grammar, tenses and translation. Secondly, my elder brother had opted Arabic in CSS. I had his guidance and notes too.
"Taareekh-e-Arbi Adab" by Abdul Haleem Nadvi is a good book.

As far as writing in Arabic is concerned, the knowledge of Arabic sentence structure and "Gardaan" are important. Reading Quran helps A LOT. It increases your vocabulary.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Shahkaar For This Useful Post:
Demonstrative (Saturday, April 29, 2017), Layth (Sunday, April 30, 2017)

Demonstrative is on a distinguished road

^

Thanks a lot for taking out time to reply.

Does the aforementioned book also cover the poetry and prose for Arabic- II?

I am having problem in finding a book that thoroughly covers translations for Arabic-II.

You are welcome.
Unfortunately, there is no single book which covers all translations of PMS syllabus. Some notes of Hafiz Arshad are available in the market. There is also a book written by Mr. Chughtai. I dont know how good or comprehensive it is. You will have to search the internet for some Arabic poetry and then translate it yourself (Khansa, Mutanabbi etc)
The Following User Says Thank You to Shahkaar For This Useful Post:
Demonstrative (Sunday, April 30, 2017)
Old Sunday, April 30, 2017

Layth is on a distinguished road

I also have 137 (62, 75) score in PMS, but I have very sound background in Arabic. I studied Arabic for 5 years, with no problem in speaking, reading and writing. Yet could not get good score. I attempted paper 1 in Arabic. How you attempted paper? Please discuss in detail.
Old Sunday, April 30, 2017

I attempted Paper 1 in Urdu. I used headings in my answers and tried to be to the point without any unnecessary details. Back up your answers with examples wherever you can.
Layth (Monday, May 01, 2017)
Old Wednesday, November 21, 2018

anasjamal is on a distinguished road

Aoa... kindly provide guidance for PMS Arabic paper 2...
How to cover the poetry part especially Mutanabi, Abu Tamam and Khansa ...

Wasalam. You have to search Mutanabbi on internet. Abu Tamam and Khansa's poetry isn't available unfortunately.
anasjamal (Wednesday, November 21, 2018)

anasjamal is on a distinguished road

And what about Muallaqat of poets other than Imra ul Qyas and Zuhair ? As the whole Muallqat portion is in syllabus, does the examiner touch upon Muallaqat of other poets as well except Imra ul Qays and Zuhair?

Labeed ka muallaqa bhi important hai.
anasjamal (Wednesday, November 21, 2018)