06:11 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PCS / PMS > PMS Past Papers

PMS Past Papers PCS/PMS past papers here

Old Thursday, March 17, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,576 Posts
Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of
Default Pms-2006

Q.4 Rewrite any FIVE of the following sentence after making necessary corrections: (10 marks)

1) The mankind should love the nature.
Mankind should love nature.

2) The ailing patient had better to go to the doctor.
The ailing patient had better gone to the doctor.

3) Pakistanis are desirous to go to abroad.
Pakistanis are desirous to go abroad.

4) Shakespear is more famous that any English Dramatist.
Shakespear is more famous than any other English Dramatist.
or
Shakespeare is the most famous English Dramatist.

5) Having Crossed the River, the road looked clear before them.
Having Crossed the River, the road looked clear to them.

6) My statement is based on facts ,and I will not withdraw.
My statement is based on/upon facts so I will not withdraw.

7) I sent a verbal message to my friend.
I sent an oral message to my friend.

8) He asked me politely if i will go now.
He asked me politely if I would go then.

Correct me please.
Old Friday, March 18, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of
Default Pms-2006

Q.2 Use any FIVE of the following phrases/idiomatic expressions in sentences (15 marks)

(i) A cry in wilderness

Meaning: You're a voice in the wilderness, or a voice crying in the wilderness, if you're expressing an unpopular opinion or insight.

Sentence:When Galileo stated that the sun was the centre of the solar system, he was a voice crying in the wilderness. Most people thought he was crazy or evil, or possibly both.

(ii) Look your age

Meaning:to seem as old as you really are and not younger or older

Sentence:You certainly don't look your age. What's your secret?

(iii) All that jazz

Meaning: Everything else related to, or other similar things.

Sentence: I need some glue, paper, string, and all that jazz to make a kite.

(iv)An uphill task

Meaning: If doing something is an uphill task, it is difficult to do because of obstacles such as opposition from other people.

Sentence:
Looking for a job when you're in your 60's is an uphill task these days. Most companies want youth, not experience.

(v) Evil genius

Meaning:Talented bad person

Sentence:No one could ever suspect him;he is an evil genius.

(vi) Point blank

Meaning:1. characterized by directness in manner or speech; without subtlety or evasion
2. close enough to go straight to the target

Sentence:I asked him point-blank whether he wanted the job

(vii) Under the auspices of

Meaning:kindly endorsement and guidance, support, patronage of

Sentence:The tournament was held under the auspices of the city council

(viii) Go Down

Meaning:stop operating, be defeated,

Sentence:My computer crashed last night,the system goes down at least once a week

Old Sunday, March 20, 2011

Q.3 Construct sentences to distinguish between the meanings of any FIVE of the following pairs of words. (15 marks)

Bad:

Meaning:Evil; sinful.

Sentence:A bad workman quarrels with his tools.

Bade ;

Meaning:A past tense of bid.

Sentence:I bade him leave my room.

Gag,

Meaning:To stop the mouth of, by thrusting sometimes in, so as to hinder speaking; hence, to silence by authority or by violence; not to allow freedom of speech to.

Sentence:The press was gagged

Gauge ;

Meaning:determine the capacity, volume, or contents of by measurement and calculation

Sentence:Gauge the wine barrels

Mead,

Meaning: Meadow

Sentence:Daffodils grow in the mead.

Meed;

Meaning: A fitting recompense.

Sentence: The wrestler received his meed of praise from all the by-standers.

Fury,

Meaning:Violent anger; extreme wrath; rage; sometimes applied to inanimate things, as the wind or storms; impetuosity; violence.

Sentence:The cars and trucks behind us started beeping frantically and one driver looked at us with pure fury in his eyes.

Furry;

Meaning:Consisting of or similar to fur.

Sentence:
I went to the pet store and got to hold a furry kitten.

Memorable,

Meaning:Worthy to be remembered.

Sentence:The first battle of Panipat is a memorable event in the history of India.

Memorial ;

Meaning:Something, such as a monument or holiday, intended to celebrate or honor the memory of a person or an event.

Sentence:This is a memorial to the dead heroes of Pakistan.

Jewry,

Meaning: all the Jews

sentence: Dr. Lisa is an expert of Latin American Jewry.

Jury ;

Meaning:a group of people who have been chosen to listen to all the facts in a trial in a law court and to decide whether a person is guilty or not guilty

sentence: Police officers aren't usually allowed to be on a jury.

Glad,

Meaning:happy, satisfied

Sentence:I am genuinely glad to see you.

Glade;

Meaning:An open space in a forest.

Sentence:In cloudy weather, the trees create a pale green healing glade to walk in

Quake,

Meaning:To shake or tremble, as from instability or shock.

Sentence:It was the most powerful quake to hit the region in five decades.

Quack

Meaning:The characteristic sound uttered by a duck

Sentence:Ducks don't quack all the time but can be vocal if something surprises them.
The Following User Says Thank You to Farrah Zafar For This Useful Post:
Adele (Thursday, December 24, 2015)
Old Monday, March 21, 2011

Q.6 Translate the following passage into English. (20marks)

Asar-e-hazir elmi taraqqi ki intehaon ko choo raha hae.Taraqqi yafta aqwam ka turra-e-imtiaz aala
taleemi myyar hae.Es muqsad k hasool main nasab aur darsi kutub ko bunyadi ahmiat hasil hae.Jin
ko jadeed taqazoon se hum-aahung karna hamari hakoomat ka taleemi maidan ko fooqyat daena sabit karta hae.Zindgee kay aala myyar k hasool main elmi taraqi aur aala myyar bunyad ka darja rakhtey hain.Hakoomat es bunyyad ki farahmi kay liye maqdoor bhar koshishain kar rahi hae.Dua hae kay hamari nasul-e-noo jadeed taleemi taqazoon ko mad-e-nazar rakh kar Pakistan ki taameer-o-taraqi main bhurpur kirdar adaa karey.

Translation:

The present age is touching the extremes of progress.The distinguished quality of the developed countries is high standard of education.For this purpose curriculum and syllabus books owe primary importance and harmonizing them with latest demands,show our government's preference to educational field.Educational development and its high standard are basis for achieving high status in life.Government is doing its utmost efforts to provide this basis.May our new generation,keeping in mind the latest educational demands play effective role in development and progress of Pakistan.
The Following User Says Thank You to Farrah Zafar For This Useful Post:
Old Saturday, June 18, 2011
40th CTP (OMG)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2011 - Merit 177

mubeen saeed will become famous soon enoughmubeen saeed will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by Farrah Zafar View Post
Kamran wo passive wise mein 3rd form aati hai beshak sentence negative b ho per ye passive kisi soorat nae ho skta
dear farrah
English ka rule hy k could , would or should ka baad 1st form aya ge.
magar could be should be or would be k baad her soorat 3rd form aya ge.
so kamaran is right. postive ya negative sa koi farq nahi parhy ga.
Old Sunday, June 19, 2011

Md.Umar is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Farrah Zafar View Post
One day all factory workers did strike and demanded that their pays would be increased.

there will be should instead of would. whats your opinion.
The Following User Says Thank You to Md.Umar For This Useful Post:

BaLooch Salman will become famous soon enough

Translation Pms-2009

The great man has the same ordinary and meagre qualities on which everyone has a hold. The only difference is that a common man only has these qualities while great man carry their real spirit and essence. There was nothing ambiguous in the very familiar personality of Quaid e Azam. He was a thoroughly simple person as far as his personality is concerned. The list of his important qualities could go like : commitment, action,rhetoric and self-respect.

Originally Posted by Md.Umar View Post
there will be should instead of would. whats your opinion.
Yup.You are right.