05:02 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PCS / PMS > PMS Past Papers > PMS Papers 2006

Old Saturday, December 02, 2006

saleem malik is on a distinguished road
Default Solved/Unsolved Paper of General Knowledge

i prepared general knowledge well but still some mishaps occured in it.....
i remembered some questions with answers..please request other members
to share rest of mcq's or that i did not provide answers...
all the best for result..

1-china is not member of G-8

2-taliban was emerged in 1994 from qandhar

3-haifa is seaport of israil

4-The New York Exchange Market Is biggest one market ..

5-gestapo is secret police of germany

6-water on 0 degree celcius is 3.82 in heavier water form(70% sure)

7-H5N1 is bird flu virus

8-night blindness is due to deficiency of vitamin-A

9-zidane is origionally belongs to algeria.

10-j.k.rowling introduced the character of "harry porter"

11-qutab-ud-din aibak died durin playing polo.

12-choreography is techniques used for travelling in space.

13-sanjay gandhi is only one in gandhi family who was not murdered.

14-hollywood centre is california.

15-choromosome is part of DNA.

16-khalil jibran belongs to lebanon.

17-struggle of pakistan is written by ishtiaq hussain quereshi.

18-spirit of islam was written by syed amir ali.

19-india wins freedom was written by abual kalam azad but in

paper there is spelling mistake they wrote abdul kalam azad.

20-the history of GOD is written by stephen hawking???
please correct me (just in air)..

21-track-2 diplomacy:- create confusion to choose in these two.
1)non-official meeting with another country with the permission
of their own government[i choose this one but may be wrong]
2)two parties meeting during war.

22-DIET is parliment of japan(very simple)

23-rename of salisburri is harare.

24-asian development bank headquarter=manila

25-unesco headquarter is in paris.

26-iran link through the railway line with pakistan??[i dont know]
options were 1.quetta with tehran 2.khuzdar with isphahan,3.quetta with
?i forgot..

27-why aeral sharoon left his premier ship:due to physically disable.

28-pakistan,india did not agree on the prices of gas which demands iran..

29-ibn-e-khaldoon(i was confused whether he was astronmer,artist
and mathematician or historian)..

30-lvy is (dont know)

31-suiz canal links meditaranian sea with red sea..

32-golden gate bridge is located in "san francisco"

33-earthquake due to 1.? 2.? 3.earth roataion 4.earth revolution(i selected option 3//i think it is wrong)

34-which emperor burried outside pakistan-india(babur who is
burried in kabul so he definitely he was the choice)..

35-world economic forum held in "london" every year..

36-vishnu is god "saviour of mankind".

37-i m forgetting here abt. abbreviation..but i remembered i opted
none of these..(tell me which one is correct)

38-pakistan ambassedor in usa(gen retired jahangir karamat)

39-pakistan ist us ambassedor(i tick on m.s. ispahani,may be putras bukhari
or raja gahazanfar ali)?????

40-i forgot which dam will be construted on(i tick none of these means in baluchistan) ??????

41-i dont know pakistan will get how much electricity power
in 2012..i opted third option it also be forgotten may be start
from ??//

42- 2008 eco summit will be held in islamabad(not sure)

43- ist chief minister of punjab was "nawab mahmdoot"

44-which russian comapny supply natural gas to europeon union
????very tough

45-in china chinese muslim " ??" called with??i think the
question may be not same which i wrote??dont know abt answer

46-who got the nobel prize ist(correct answer.rabindar nath
tigore) other options were dulai lama,mother trissa//

47-longest regime of lady pm was margret thatcher(10years i know)
options were benazir bhutto,bandhara naike.

48-which one of these discover ist 1.barometer(i know 1643)
.bicycle(in 1830-1870 dont remember exactly) 3. clock
4.?? i choose option 3.clock(just on guess)....

49-father of modern pshycology(i opted segment faraid)..
not sure about...??????

50- napoleon lose the battle of waterloo from duke of wellington..

51-conqueror of central asia? 1.khalid bin waleed 2.muhammad bin
qasim 3.abdul malik 4.qutayba bin muslim[option 4. is the right answer]..

52-ist three members of eco pakistan,iran(third one was turkey).. simple

53-"diego garcia" is american neval forces exercises on indian ocean..

54-holocaust(killings of jews by nazis)..

55- 2 times river flowing on equator:sorry

56-sunlight is source of vitamin-D

57-problem of looking short sided object means "MYOPIA"

58-termenology used in stock exchange when it is going down
1.crashing 2.? 3.? 4? {i dont know}..

59-digital divide?? i dont know

60-blood vessels that carry blood from the heart
1.arteries 2.cappelaries 3.veins 4. valves [option 3]

61-fission??i dont know

62-country under the sea level[netherlands]

63-armagheddon?? tuqqa on "something on battle field dont
remembered its other options..

64- a variah state ???dont know..
option was 1.? 2.? 3. a week economy state ,4.a government not
well established since in came to being

65-jasmine is national flower of pakistan (the most simplest)..

66-the biggest planet "jupiter"...

67-how many moon have in saturn//dont know

68-dostilut desert is in "iran"

69-the biggest state of india(by area) 1.uther perdesh 2.behar
3.west bengal 4.mudiha perdesh ///i select option 1 not sure..

70-who is leader of modern china economy(confusion b/w ho gan
tau and chuen li)???tell me

71-US president during ist world war :wodro wilson..

72-Einstein's e=mc2
c=speed of light//option was none of the above.

73-Who introduced the law "every action having equal and
opposite reaction":newton very simple

74-please any other member write the complete sentence of
"built on the banks of the daugla & Euphrates river" : the hanging garden of babylon...
other options were 1.lighthouse of alexendria , 2. ? 3.none of these

75-diabhetus/insulin is due to problem of: pancreas
[i dont remember its compelte sentence but central point still is in mind]

76-problem in liver segmentaton is caused of : hipatitus

77-primary colours are:blue,red and yellow

78- how many zero's in a trillion: kash main trillionare hota tu mujhe bhe iss
ka answer pata hota lakh tu kabhi dekha nahi iss ka kiss tara pata hota...
haan agar question yeh poochte keh trillion ke peeche kitnay zero's hote hain tu zaroor bata deta .................................................. .......
Old Sunday, December 03, 2006

78-glacier:mountain of ice

79-world trade centre is now called "ground zero"

helloinspector is on a distinguished road

other question were:-
1:-the site of 11 sep site is called ground zero
2:-diameter of earth is 12756 km
3:-the name of France president is Shirak
4:-glacier is the mass of ice
5:-the meaning if Herbeas corpus

helloinspector is on a distinguished road

i remember some more
1:- to whom mehdi malasia belongs
2:-the year of concept of longitude
3:-who defeated mongoles
4:-biggest oil field in iraq

Miss_Naqvi has a spectacular aura aboutMiss_Naqvi has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by saleem malik
i prepared general knowledge well but still some mishaps occured in it.....
i remembered some questions with answers..please request other members
to share rest of mcq's or that i did not provide answers...
all the best for result..
Yes it is apparent from your post that you have prepared well so best wishes for you.

1-china is not member of G-8............ its right answer

2-taliban was emerged in 1994 from qandhar.......... Taliban emerged from Kabul and you can check the link http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Taliban but I have attempted it from jalalabad so its wrong option.

3-haifa is seaport of israil...... yes its the right reply but I made a guess that proved wrong... http://www.answers.com/Haifa

4-The New York Exchange Market Is biggest one market ..

5-gestapo is secret police of germany......have no idea so left it.

6-water on 0 degree celcius is 3.82 in heavier water form(70% sure)........... u r 100% right but I have made a wrong guess http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Heavy_water

7-H5N1 is bird flu virus........... true answer

8-night blindness is due to deficiency of vitamin-A........ True answer

9-zidane is origionally belongs to algeria........ True answer

10-j.k.rowling introduced the character of "harry porter"....... have no idea

11-qutab-ud-din aibak died durin playing polo....... True answer

12-choreography is techniques used for travelling in space........ wrong reply its right answer is dance movements. http://www.answers.com/topic/choreography

13-sanjay gandhi is only one in gandhi family who was not murdered........ made no option caz wasnt sure of it.

14-hollywood centre is california........ you are right but I made a wrong guess http://www.answers.com/Hollywood

15-choromosome is part of DNA. Wrong reply..... DNA is the backbone of chromosome http://www.windows.ucar.edu/tour/lin...ics_intro.html

16-khalil jibran belongs to lebanon......... True but I opted false choice. http://www.kahlil.org/home.html

17-struggle of pakistan is written by ishtiaq hussain quereshi.......... Right

18-spirit of islam was written by syed amir ali........... Right

19-india wins freedom was written by abual kalam azad but in

paper there is spelling mistake they wrote abdul kalam azad.......... selected wrong..... I have no idea so didnt opted for it.

20-the history of GOD is written by stephen hawking???
please correct me (just in air)............ not sure

21-track-2 diplomacy:- create confusion to choose in these two.
1)non-official meeting with another country with the permission
of their own government[i choose this one but may be wrong]........ yes its the right answer and u can check the link. http://www.answers.com/Track%202%20diplomacy

22-DIET is parliment of japan(very simple)..... yea very simple

23-rename of salisburri is harare......... yea very right

24-asian development bank headquarter=manila.......... I guessed Japan caz its one of the major donar.... but you r right.. http://www.answers.com/Asian%20Development%20Bank%20

25-unesco headquarter is in paris...... yes its simple and right

26-iran link through the railway line with pakistan??[i dont know]
options were 1.quetta with tehran 2.khuzdar with isphahan,3.quetta with Turbat...
?i forgot..

27-why aeral sharoon left his premier ship:due to physically disable...... I made a wrong attempt but u r right

28-pakistan,india did not agree on the prices of gas which demands iran..... its what I have selected.

29-ibn-e-khaldoon(i was confused whether he was astronmer,artist
and mathematician or historian)...... He is Sociologist and Hitorian option D

30-lvy is (dont know)

31-suiz canal links meditaranian sea with red sea...... yes very right

32-golden gate bridge is located in "san francisco"..... yes very right

33-earthquake due to 1.? 2.? 3.earth roataion 4.earth revolution(i selected option 3//i think it is wrong)...... tuotonism(its movement of rocks in earths crust) I was sure of it.

34-which emperor burried outside pakistan-india(babur who is
burried in kabul so he definitely he was the choice)..... yea attempted right

35-world economic forum held in "london" every year..... I think I have attempted the same caz it was the guess.

36-vishnu is god "saviour of mankind".....yes right choice

37-i m forgetting here abt. abbreviation..but i remembered i opted
none of these..(tell me which one is correct) C was the correct answer Airborne Controlling....... it is like that.

38-pakistan ambassedor in usa(gen retired jahangir karamat)...... yes made the same answer.

39-pakistan ist us ambassedor(i tick on m.s. ispahani,may be putras bukhari
or raja gahazanfar ali)?????

40-i forgot which dam will be construted on(i tick none of these means in baluchistan) ??????.... Akhori Dam but I made a wrong choice caz it will be in Attock and Attock comes under Punjab territory while I considered it as part of NWFP as its near to Peshawar.

41-i dont know pakistan will get how much electricity power
in 2012..i opted third option it also be forgotten may be start
from ??//....... I have also opted third option

42- 2008 eco summit will be held in islamabad(not sure)

43- ist chief minister of punjab was "nawab mahmdoot"........... yes its the right answer

44-which russian comapny supply natural gas to europeon union
????very tough..... not attempted

45-in china chinese muslim " ??" called with??i think the
question may be not same which i wrote??dont know abt answer........ same here

46-who got the nobel prize ist(correct answer.rabindar nath
tigore) other options were dulai lama,mother trissa/...... yes caz he win Nobel laural in 1913 so he is the first from Asia.

47-longest regime of lady pm was margret thatcher(10years i know)
options were benazir bhutto,bandhara naike......... Yes its right

48-which one of these discover ist 1.barometer(i know 1643)
.bicycle(in 1830-1870 dont remember exactly) 3. clock
4.?? i choose option 3.clock(just on guess)....... Clock is the right answer that was invented in 16th century so its the first one.

49-father of modern pshycology(i opted segment faraid)....... yes Sigmend Freud is the father of Psychology but not modern Psychology but other options were irrelevant.

50- napoleon lose the battle of waterloo from duke of wellington........ I have no idea even never came across the opponent of waterloo battle.

51-conqueror of central asia? 1.khalid bin waleed 2.muhammad bin
qasim 3.abdul malik 4.qutayba bin muslim[option 4. is the right answer]....... I opted for Abdul Malik so it goes wrong.

52-ist three members of eco pakistan,iran(third one was turkey).. simple.... yes very simple

53-"diego garcia" is american neval forces exercises on indian ocean...... have no idea

54-holocaust(killings of jews by nazis)........ simple....

55- 2 times river flowing on equator:sorry...... dont know it

56-sunlight is source of vitamin-D......... yes right answer

57-problem of looking short sided object means "MYOPIA" .......... yes right answer

58-termenology used in stock exchange when it is going down
1.crashing 2.? 3.? 4? {i dont know}....... well I opted for third option it was something like bea....

59-digital divide?? i dont know

60-blood vessels that carry blood from the heart
1.arteries 2.cappelaries 3.veins 4. valves [option 3]

61-fission??i dont know...... Fission is when heavy particles break into pieces and release energy... a and b were almost similar in meaning but the difference was spilitting and addition of heavy particles so the option 2 was right choice.

62-country under the sea level[netherlands]...... I had attempted it but now not know what guess I had made.

63-armagheddon?? tuqqa on "something on battle field dont
remembered its other options...... not attempted

64- a Pariah state ???dont know..
option was 1.? 2.? 3. a week economy state ,4.a government not
well established since in came to being

65-jasmine is national flower of pakistan (the most simplest)..... yes

66-the biggest planet "jupiter"........ yes

67-how many moon have in saturn......... I have opted for 7 but link is showing its more than 56 http://www.answers.com/moons%20of%20saturn

68-dostilut desert is in "iran"....... well I made wrong guess, I opted for Kazikistan

69-the biggest state of india(by area) 1.uther perdesh 2.behar
3.west bengal 4.mudiha perdesh ///i select option 1 not sure......... not attempted

70-who is leader of modern china economy(confusion b/w ho gan
tau and chuen li)???tell me....... well I made a guess so not sure of it...

71-US president during ist world war :wodro wilson....... yes very simple

72-Einstein's e=mc2
c=speed of light//option was none of the above...... yes very right

73-Who introduced the law "every action having equal and
opposite reaction":newton very simple...... yes very simple

74-please any other member write the complete sentence of
"built on the banks of the daugla & Euphrates river" : the hanging garden of babylon...
other options were 1.lighthouse of alexendria , 2. ? 3.none of these....... I had opted for option d but unable to recall what was it.

75-diabhetus/insulin is due to problem of: pancreas
[i dont remember its compelte sentence but central point still is in mind]..... yes its right answer.

76-problem in liver segmentaton is caused of : hipatitus....... yes very right

77-primary colours are:blue,red and yellow..... I m sure about red, yellow and blue... caz when I did 3 month course of drawing we make all other colours by using these 3 so they are called primary colors

78- how many zero's in a trillion: kash main trillionare hota tu mujhe bhe iss
ka answer pata hota lakh tu kabhi dekha nahi iss ka kiss tara pata hota...
haan agar question yeh poochte keh trillion ke peeche kitnay zero's hote hain
tu zaroor bata deta........ its very simple there are 5 zeros in a lac, 10 lac = 1 million.... 10 million = 1 billion........ and 1000 billion = trillion so trillion has 10 zeros.

79- The diameter of earth..... it should be in Km but I dont know its answer I opted for 12.... something like this 12,756 km its right reply.... http://hypertextbook.com/facts/1999/...Martinez.shtml

It taken more than 100 minutes to reply the thread now looking for the cooperation of other members.

Best wishes for the aspirants of PMS

Miss_Naqvi has a spectacular aura aboutMiss_Naqvi has a spectacular aura about

Originally Posted by helloinspector
other question were
Well thanks for sharing these.... here goes my replies.

79:-the site of 11 sep site is called ground zero..... I have attempted it wrongly caz I chosen option D.

80:-the name of France president is Shirak....... Yes its right

81:-glacier is the mass of ice....... yes right

82:-the meaning if Herbeas corpus.......... I dont know it.
Old Monday, December 04, 2006

@miss naqvi..
2-m i wrong. ..............cant believe it bcz i read in ../caravan book /2004 edition/afghanistan issue/ page no.339/question no.4......i read also in the daily jang magazine dont remember its exact date....so still confusion i know u provide a link..i m sure taliban emerged from qandhar in 1994..
12-yes here u r rightly said that choreography means dance movements thanks for correction ......it was wrongly written in the caravan book they provided the answer choreography is the techniques for travelling of space so all guilt is on caravan books maker...

15-again u r right CHROMOSOME IS BACKBONE OF DNA,,but whats wrong in books i read with opened eyes in a 1200 pages heavily book entitled as CELL....chromose is part of DNA...

19-i m 100% sure that abul kalam azad wrote india wins freedom...so
u can check it here...
http://www.globalwebpost.com/farooqm...zad_intro.html

82-Herbeas corpus means:writ by mean to seek relief from unlawful imprisonment...i forgot complete option but it is in the actual sence.....

83-mehdi army:options were 1.imam khomeni 2.hasan nasrullah(he has malaysia) , 3.khalid mishal 4.muqtada al-sadar...[correct answer is option.4 bcz it is working in iraq]

@miss naqvi..thanks to consume your energy&time for my thread.
2-m i wrong. ..............cant believe it bcz i read in ../caravan book /2004 edition/afghanistan issue/ page no.339/question no.4......i read also in the daily jang magazine dont remember its exact date....so still confusion i know u provide a link..i m sure taliban emerged from qandhar in 1994..
12-yes here u r rightly said that choreography means dance movements thanks for correction ......it was wrongly written in the caravan book they provided the answer choreography is the techniques for travelling of space so all guilt is on caravan books maker...

15-again u r right CHROMOSOME IS BACKBONE OF DNA,,but whats wrong with the books i read with opened eyes in a 1200 pages heavily book entitled as CELL....chromose is part of DNA...

u can check it here...

82-Herbeas corpus means:writ by mean to seek relief from unlawful imprisonment...i forgot complete option but it is in the actual sence.....

83-mehdi army:options were 1.imam khomeni 2.hasan nasrullah(he has malaysia) , 3.khalid mishal 4.muqtada al-sadar...[correct answer is option.4 bcz its working in iraq]

Snobbish is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by saleem malik
@miss naqvi..thanks to consume your energy&time for my thread.

15-again u r right CHROMOSOME IS BACKBONE OF DNA,,but whats wrong with the books i read with opened eyes in a 1200 pages heavily book entitled as CELL....chromose is part of DNA...

u can check it here...

83-mehdi army:options were 1.imam khomeni 2.hasan nasrullah(he has malaysia) , 3.khalid mishal 4.muqtada al-sadar...[correct answer is option.4 bcz its working in iraq]

THX Bro for everything ...it was indeed an entertaining story of g.knowledge i have in my account many right answers but where i selected the right one i have selceted many by guess and from these guesses many are correct and many are wrong ....well i was really sory when i selected "new YORK" for the answer of Hollywood centre at least we should know but yarr HOTA HAI KABHI KABHI ...........how could i do this dam i even did not know that sunjay ghandi is the only in ghandi family who die with natural death but no worries now i got it ............sceince based questions are all selected correct but where i lost my mind with inexauseable laziness was the mughal emperor ..
In short, i hope for the best .......PRAY FOR ME

wish u all the best guys

zaib is on a distinguished road

1.clock in the first invention before barometer and bicycle
2.Quetta-Taftan rail track between pakistan and iran
3.sanjay gandhi died in plane crash
4.built on the banks of the daugla & Euphrates river is sumerian civilization not the iranian or egyption
5.the hanging garden of babylon...are in Iraq
6.Pitras Bukhari was first pakistani to UN
7.A chromosome is a single large macromolecule of DNA, and is the basic 'unit' of DNA in a cell. It is a very long, continuous piece of DNA (a single DNA molecule), which contains many genes, regulatory elements and other intervening nucleotide sequences.
8.Abbrevation AWACS means Air borne warning and control system
9.Amarkahan like this desert is in China
10.http://72.14.235.104/search?q=cache:...k&ct=clnk&cd=4 Saturn hav main 07 moon
11.The blood vessels that carry blood away from the heart (the fresh blood that's full of oxygen) are called arteries, and the ones that carry blood back to the heart (the stale blood that's carrying the waste) are called veins.
12.The digital divide is the gap between those with regular, effective access to digital technologies and those without
13.Akhori dam will be constructed in district Attock of Punjab.
14.Kazakh (Muslims living in xinjiang are called)

My 40 answers only right but a lot of wrong so there may be chances of failure. Wish u all best of luck.