04:21 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PMS Optional Subjects

Old Monday, April 11, 2016

Daisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura about
Default PMS Scoring subjects

Asslamo alikum all!
I was looking for some opinions about scoring subjects in PMS exams but could not find satisfactory response so I initiated this thread.

Members, especially those who appeared in PMS exams, are requested to share their experiences and views regarding Mass Communication, Geography, and Psychology especially. Those who opted Psy. kindly share If Psychology is scoring? I am interested in getting some idea about some good books of Mass com. and Geography too.

Till now, from previous DMCs etc., I have gotten a rough idea that Geography, Punjabi, and Social work are considered scoring subjects in PMS. Any guidance and recommendations will be highly appreciated.

Old Tuesday, April 12, 2016

Daisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura aboutDaisy has a spectacular aura about

Where are you Punjab talent? No one interested in PMS..............................??

Malik Safdar Abbas is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Daisy View Post
Where are you Punjab talent? No one interested in PMS..............................??
Punjab's talent actually resides in Karachi lol.
Well I think your subject combination is best. Social work, public ad. Geography, mass communication and Punjabi are considered high scoring. No idea of psychology.
I myself preparing for the said exam with public ad. Social work and mass communication.
Daisy (Tuesday, April 12, 2016)

Originally Posted by Malik Safdar Abbas View Post
Punjab's talent actually resides in Karachi lol.
Well I think your subject combination is best. Social work, public ad. Geography, mass communication and Punjabi are considered high scoring. No idea of psychology.
I myself preparing for the said exam with public ad. Social work and mass communication.
I was also thinking that Punjab's talent is on leave, changed their domicile or hibernated
Anyways! How was your experience with mass comm?? Ever scoring subject or often slaughtered (like journalism in CSS)?? Please tell me about its books too. Is it lengthy?

hussy72 is on a distinguished road

Aoa..yes mass com,as i have experienced yields high,i mean i scored 129,122 without ever seeing a book in pms 2012 & 2014 respectively,and expects the same this time
The Following User Says Thank You to hussy72 For This Useful Post:

Originally Posted by hussy72 View Post
Aoa..yes mass com,as i have experienced yields high,i mean i scored 129,122 without ever seeing a book in pms 2012 & 2014 respectively,and expects the same this time
Thats great! But how did you manage to get such a good score without even consulting a book? I mean... Do you have educational background in this subject or what? What was your strategy to attempt these papers?

Allah ka he koi karam tha i swear..but i strongly hate such an approach,i mean agar book parhli hoti tou shayad 140 plus leta,and no i have an MBA and mass com say taluq kam he hai

i guess general questions take ones to a par score..

same was the case with my essay,as i never wrote an essay before my exam..i scored 48 & 74 respectively in 012&014

Last edited by Amna; Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 11:47 PM. Reason: Merged / chain posts

i guess general questions take ones to a par score..
Then you must have presented your views in an impressive way!
General questions like?

same was the case with my essay,as i never wrote an essay before my exam..i scored 48 & 74 respectively in 012&014
but my experience says one should take these exams seriously..aur loaded ho k jana chaiyay her exam mai..respecting the basics is a must,improvisations must follow..

by general questions i meant the opinion based and i avoided the gener

i avoided the generic questions..like PEMRA ordinance for example,i knew i had not covered it,i never opted to solve any question that demanded its applicability..so i was left with the general questions where i gave my 100 percent to fetch something above average..

Last edited by Amna; Tuesday, April 12, 2016 at 11:47 PM. Reason: Merged / chain posts

so it is highly recommended that mass com paper be solved with a good mix of both generic as well as opinion based questions so as to outperform people like me lol