-   Lectureship Past Papers (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/punjab-public-service-commission/ppsc-lecturer-jobs/lectureship-past-papers/)
-   -   Lectureship Paper of English 2011 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/punjab-public-service-commission/ppsc-lecturer-jobs/lectureship-past-papers/54989-lectureship-paper-english-2011-a.html)

Farrah Zafar Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:26 PM

Lectureship Paper of English 2011

[SIZE="3"]1)Repetition of same vowel sound ?
[B]
Assonance[/B]

2)The poet who used extensive alliteration ?
[B]
Keats
[/B]
3)Wuthering heights written by ?
[B]
Hardy[/B]

4)The poem "Byzantium" is written about ?
[B]
Imaginary city[/B]

5)Carl sadburg born at ?
[B]
Illinois[/B]

6)T.S Eliot was ?
[B]
Irish poet[/B]

7)Wasteland of Eliot is dedicated to ?
[B]
Ezra Pound[/B]

8)Shakespeare acted in one of plays of ?
[B]
Ben johnson[/B]

9)Elizabeth Sewell born in ?
[B]
England[/B]

10) Linguistics is combination of ______ words ?
[B]
Two[/B]

11)Sound produced with obstruction of air ?

I chose "diphthongs" but later I came to know right option was other,don't remember right now.

12)Semantics meaning ?

I chose "to relate" but I came to know that it's "Study of meanings"

(Linguistics chor k short stories opt ki theen and I suffered in test)

13)Word language consists of two_____ words
[B]
Latin[/B]

14)Simon is character in one of ________ novels
[B]
Golding[/B]

15)"Everyman in his humour" written by ?
[B]
Ben johnson[/B]

16) Caretaker written by ?
[B]
Pinter
[/B]
17)Waiting for Godot's originol language ?
[B]
French
[/B]
18) Stream of consciousness ?
[B]
Virginia woolf[/B]

19) "Sejanus" is satirical tragedy by ?
[B]
Ben johnson[/B]

20)Unified sensibility ?
[B]
Donne[/B]

21)Winding Stair is poem by ?
[B]
W.B.Yeats[/B]

22) Synaethesia
[B]
Unification of senses
[/B]
23) Time machine-the invisible man written by ?
[B]
H.G Wells
[/B]
24)The egoist written by ?
[B]
George Meredith[/B]

25) Hardy's own classification of novels?
[B]
Three[/B]

26)George Eliot wrote Adam Bede at age of ?
[B]
I wrote 20 but it was 40 :(
[/B]
27)Age of George Eliot ?
[B]
Victorian
[/B]
28) Chaucer was ?
[B]
sarcastic poet[/B]

29)Renaissance period ?
[B]
1550-1660
[/B]
30)King Lear written in ?

google k mutabiq 1603 to 1606 k darmayan likha gaya

31)17th century's historical event ?

I chose "Famine" but suna hai "Civil war" :( choose kerty kerty ruk gyi thi mein

32)Paradise lost was written in ?
[B]
1667[/B]

33)1660 - 1790 is rise of ?

I chose "Drama" but it's not confirm.Kindly confirm it

34)Literature became secular towards end of ?

I chose "18th century".Is it right ?

35)Tragicomedy of Shakespeare is also called ?
[B]
Reconcilation play
[/B]
36)Type of literarure,art or music is called ?
[B]
Genre[/B]

37)Enthusiastic addiction to study of Greek and Roman antiquity led to ?
[B]
None (Because it led to hellenism,romantism)
[/B]
38)Prospero was protagonist of ?

Pata nae

39)Age of Pope is called?
[B]
Augusten[/B]

40)Metaphysical poet is essay by ?
[B]
T.S Eliot[/B]

41) Treatise on liberty written by ?

I chose Oscar wilde but not sure.

42)Figure of speech,exaggeration for emphasis ?
[B]
Rhetoric
[/B]
43) Adnois written for ?
[B]
Keats[/B]

44)Songs of innocense and experience belong to ?
[B]
William Blake[/B]

45)Original title of Pride and Prejudice
[B]
First Impressions
[/B]
46)Shelley's first work?
[B]
Queen Mab[/B]

47)First writer of Picaresque novel ?

I chose Thackeray.Kindly confirm it.

48)The road not taken by Frost is included in his collection ?
[B]
Mountain Interval[/B]

49)Bacon was intellectually great but morally weak.Who said this ?

I chose Dryden.Confirm it please

50)SWift's irony fused into ?
[B]
humour[/B]

51)Nothing is beneath science,nor above science.who said ?

I chose Russell

52)Bird in "Ancient mariner" ?
[B]
Albatross[/B]

53) Milton got blind in age of ?
[B]
43[/B]

54)Hemingway's nick in later age ?
[B]
Papa [/B]:huh

55)Donne's faith ?
[B]
Protestant
[/B]
56)John Keats gave up career of ____ to become a poet

I chose "farming" but people say "medicine" :(

57) Poet who studied at Cambridge but got no degree ?

pata nae

58) Which century is most important epoch in intellectual history ?
[B]
14th[/B]

59)During age of Chaucer,England passed through ?
[B][B]
Medievalism[/B][/B]

60)Marlow's primitive tragedy ?
[B]
Dr.Faustus [/B]

61)Shakespeare comedy rival ?

I chose Lily.Confirm it

62)Shakespeare comedy contain continental and ?
[B]
Mediterranean[/B]

63) Shakespeare's heroines have ?
[B]
Feminine traits
[/B]
64)Who emerged as philosopher in "Merchant of Venice" ?

I chose cordelia but it's wrong,I'm sure :D

65) Which play started with incident of ship wreck ?

I chose "King lear".Not confirm

66)Sir Gwain and Green knight poems were written in ___ age

I chose Victorian but not sure

67)Process of introducing new words ?

I chose Coinage.Please confirm it

68)War between flesh and spirit in which novel of Hardy ?

I chose "the return of the native",not confirm

69)Norman conquest in ?

70)Queen Elizabeth descended throne from ?

71)University wits pe aik question tha,don't remember exact wording.Options mein years likhay thay.7,10 etc.

Antonyms

72)Brazen

I chose "Shy"

73)Capricious

I chose "Recollect" because all others seemed synonyms

74)Extrinsic

don't remeber it's options and what I chose

75)fluster

don't remember what I chose

76) Obdurate

I chose submissive

Synonyms

77)Truncate

I chose shorten and I think It's right

78)Impetuous

I think I chose "irrational"

79)nincompoop

I chose "Foolish" and it's right.

80)Elocution

It was somthing about speech.last option.and that's right

81)Ulysses pe question tha aik.kindly us ka answer bataye koi

82)Far fetched metaphor ?
[B]
Conceit[/B]

83)Because I couldnot stop for death written by ?
[B]
Emily Dickinson
[/B]
84)Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath were?
[B]
Husband and wife[/B]
[B]
NOTE: My test didn't go well;many of the above answers are checked on google so don't dare to think,mine were correct :([/B]
[/SIZE]

Farrah Zafar Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:39 PM

Exclusive's post

[SIZE="3"]
.85) People do not exist in _______but in functioning______

I chose Isolation,communities

86)The military censors______passages in letters that they thought might_____

87)Only a ____person could be ______to the suffering of people

88) Volcanic rock very often looks shiny because it had been _____

I chose Igneous

89) Fire station had been gone on______ at once

[url=http://www.cssforum.com.pk/359708-post8.html]CSS Forums - View Single Post - PSC english literature paper.[/url][/SIZE]

Farrah Zafar Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:43 PM

[QUOTE]

Hardy[/QUOTE]

Right answer is Emily Bronte

black shadow Tuesday, October 04, 2011 10:56 PM

how did you remember all the q

unsolved_Mystery Tuesday, October 04, 2011 11:31 PM

11)Sound produced with obstruction of air ?
I chose "diphthongs" but later I came to know right option was other,don't remember right now. [B](It was consonant perhaps)[/B]

12)Semantics meaning ?
I chose "to relate" but I came to know that it's "Study of meanings"
[B](yes study of meanings)[/B]

I chose "Drama" but it's not confirm.Kindly confirm it [B](I chose poetry) :([/B]

Pata nae [B](The Tempest)[/B]

41) Treatise on liberty written by ? [B]JS Mill (I think)[/B]
I chose Oscar wilde but not sure.

[B]
Rhetoric [B](It was hyperbole i think)[/B]
[/B]

I chose Thackeray.Kindly confirm it. [B](It was Fielding i think)[/B]

I chose Dryden.Confirm it please [B](I wrote POPE) :([/B]

I chose Russell [B](I chose Aristotle) :([/B]

55)Donne's faith ?
[B]
Protestant [B](Donne was catholic, and he started writing against it to survive as far as i remember) [/B]
[/B]

I chose "farming" but people say "medicine" :( [B]Yes medicine is correct.[/B]

pata nae [B](ST Colerdige)[/B]

I chose Lily.Confirm it [B](I think it was Benson)[/B]

I chose cordelia but it's wrong,I'm sure :D [B](I wrote Portia)[/B]

I chose "King lear".Not confirm [B](I dont remember what i chose)[/B]

I chose Victorian but not sure. [B](I think is was written 1200-1285)[/B]

I chose Coinage.Please confirm it [B](Its correct I think) :)[/B]

I chose "the return of the native",not confirm [B](I think it was other i dont remember)[/B]

69)Norman conquest in ? [B] (1066)[/B]

[B]Correct, if wrong plz[/B]

rashidiqbal92 Tuesday, October 04, 2011 11:35 PM

[QUOTE=Farrah Zafar;359742][SIZE="3"]
.85) People do not exist in _______but in functioning______

86)The military censors______passages in letters that they thought might_____

87)Only a ____person could be ______to the suffering of people

88) Volcanic rock very often looks shiny because it had been _____

I chose Igneous

89) Fire station had been gone on______ at once

[url=http://www.cssforum.com.pk/359708-post8.html]CSS Forums - View Single Post - PSC english literature paper.[/url][/SIZE][/QUOTE]
Lectureship Paper of English 2011

1)Repetition of same vowel sound ?

Assonance

2)The poet who used extensive alliteration ?

Spencer

Emile Brontte

4)The poem "Byzantium" is written about ?

A country(a old ancient roman place’s name)

5)Carl sadburg born at ?

Illinois

6)T.S Eliot was ?

British poet

7)Wasteland of Eliot is dedicated to ?

Ezra Pound

8)Shakespeare acted in one of plays of ?

Ben johnson

9)Elizabeth Sewell born in ?

England

10) Linguistics is combination of ______ words ?

Two

11)Sound produced without obstruction of air ?

Vowel

12)Semantics meaning ?

Study of meanings

13)Word language consists of two_____ words

Latin

14)Simon is character in one of ________ novels

Golding

15)"Everyman in his humour" written by ?

Ben johnson

16) Caretaker written by ?

Pinter

17)Waiting for Godot's originol language ?

French

18) Stream of consciousness ?

Virginia woolf

19) "Sejanus" is satirical tragedy by ?

Ben johnson

20)Unified sensibility ?

Donne

21)Winding Stair is poem by ?

W.B.Yeats

22) Synaethesia

Unification of senses

23) Time machine and The invisible man written by ?

H.G Wells

24)The egoist written by ?

George Meredith

25) Hardy's own classification of novels?

Three

26)George Eliot wrote Adam Bede at age of ?

I wrote 20 but it was 40

27)George Eliot inclination regarding her approach to thought is towards ……………

I think Modern(Because she is considered a first modern novelist while belonging to victorian age)

28) Chaucer was ?

1. serious 2. humerous poet

29)Renaissance period ?

1550-1660

30)King Lear written in ?

31)the period from 1642 to 1651 ?

Civil war

32)Paradise lost was written in ?

33)1660 - 1790 is rise of ?

Novel

34)Literature became secular towards end of ?

I chose "16th century".Is it right ?

35)Tragicomedy of Shakespeare is also called ?

Reconcilation play

36)Type of literarure,art or music is called ?

Genre

37)Enthusiastic addiction to study of Greek and Roman antiquity led to ?

I wrote Humanism (Because it led to hellenism,romantism)

The Tempest

39)Age of Pope is called?

Augusten

40)Metaphysical poet is essay by ?

T.S Eliot

41) Treatise on liberty written by ?

J.S. Mill

Hyperbole

43) Adnois written for ?

Keats

44)Songs of innocense and experience belong to ?

William Blake

45)Original title of Pride and Prejudice

First Impressions

46)Shelley's first work?

Queen Mab

Smollet

48)The road not taken by Frost is included in his collection ?

Mountain Interval(Confirm it)

I chose Dryden.Confirm it please(I think it was Pope)

50)Swift's irony fused into ?

Allegory

Bacon

52)Bird in "Ancient mariner" ?

Albatross

53) Milton got blind in age of ?

54)Hemingway's nick in later age ?

Papa

55)Donne's faith ?

Catholicism(but later he became protestant)

"medicine"

Coleridge

58) Which century is most important epoch in intellectual history ?

14th

59)During age of Chaucer,England passed through ?

Medievalism

60)Marlow's primitive tragedy ?

Tamberlaine

Ben Jonson

62)Shakespeare comedy contain continental and ?

Mediterranean(not confirmed)

63) Shakespeare's heroines have ?

Feminine traits(not confirmed)

Portia

Twelvth Night(Not confirm)

I chose Medieval age(not sure)

Coinage

Jude of the Obscure

69)Norman conquest in ?

70)Queen Elizabeth descended throne from ?
1. Robert Stuart 2. Robert…. 3. James Stuart(not sure)

71)University wits estimated literary period is little more than …….. years.

10 years, 8 years, 7 years, 6 years(confirm it)

72)Brazen

I chose "Shy"

73)Capricious

I chose "Recollect" because all others seemed synonyms

74)Extrinsic

don't remeber it's options and what I chose

75)fluster

don't remember what I chose

76) Obdurate

I chose submissive

Synonyms

77)Truncate

I chose shorten and I think It's right

78)Impetuous

I think I chose "irrational"

79)nincompoop

I chose "Foolish" and it's right.

80)Elocution

not sure
81)Ulysses poem was written by?

Tennyson

82)Far fetched metaphor ?

Conceit

83)Because I couldnot stop for death written by ?

Emily Dickinson

84)Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath were?

Husband and wife

85. People do not exist in _______but in functioning______

86. The military censors______passages in letters that they thought might_____ security.
Not remember
87. Only a ____person could be ______to the suffering of people

88. Volcanic rock very often looks shiny because it had been _____

I chose Igneous

89. Fire station had been gone on______ at once
To
90) antynom of callous is ( I think oblivious)

zash Wednesday, October 05, 2011 01:21 AM

@ rashidiqbal92 here is some correction

6. T.S.Eliot was born [B]American[/B], Moved to UK at the age of 25
8. Shakespeare played a little role in Edward I by [B]Peele [/B]
9. Elizabeth is from Texas.[B]USA[/B]
28. Chaucer was [B]Sarcastic[/B] poet
32. Paradise lost was completed in [B]1664[/B]. (published in 1667)
47. father of picaresque novel: i think its' Fielding
63. Shakespeare's heroines have [B]masculine[/B] traits
70. Queen Elizabeth descended throne from [B]James Stuart
[/B]81.Ulysses is a novel by [B]James Joyce[/B]

shazvu Wednesday, October 05, 2011 02:08 AM

Salam...Dear plz recheck re respost ur answer because there r lot of mistakes.so plz dont confuse people.like Ulysses definately a novel by james joyce but the questn was abt poem so answer was tenyson, similarly shakespeare acted in Johson's two plays.there r certain other mistakes.Anyhow wish u all Gudluck , mine was also not too gud lets c.

Mahvish Shahid Wednesday, October 05, 2011 02:36 AM

[FONT="Century Gothic"]

Maine Nhe Btany Kia kia ChOose Kiye Thy :huh

Ku ke Maine bhi Sab ki Tarha he Kia :cry:con:laughing

Phli Posts parh k Laga k Ho gye Galat Then "Zash" G ne Hons;la Barha dia k Right Hain :pipe:haha

GOod LuCk EveryOne.. :king[/FONT]

Gulrukh Wednesday, October 05, 2011 07:45 AM

T.S Eliot was American by birth..born in St.Louis,Missouri but later became British citizen in 1927.

I wrote he was American.is it right answer ?:blink

And one fill in the blank about military etc..i answered '' expunged and jeopardize ''...

and in one fill in the blanks i wrote '' petrified '' not '' igneous '' coz i thought petrified would look suitable with '' has been ''...but i'm not sure.

only a.............person could be.............to the suffering of children.
i wrote '' callous and oblivious..is it right ?

02:16 AM (GMT +5)