02:58 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Punjab Public Service Commission > PPSC Lecturer Jobs > Lectureship Past Papers

Old Tuesday, October 04, 2011
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 4,047 Times in 1,576 Posts
Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of
Default Lectureship Paper of English 2011

1)Repetition of same vowel sound ?

Assonance

2)The poet who used extensive alliteration ?

Keats

3)Wuthering heights written by ?

Hardy

4)The poem "Byzantium" is written about ?

Imaginary city

5)Carl sadburg born at ?

Illinois

6)T.S Eliot was ?

Irish poet

7)Wasteland of Eliot is dedicated to ?

Ezra Pound

8)Shakespeare acted in one of plays of ?

Ben johnson

9)Elizabeth Sewell born in ?

England

10) Linguistics is combination of ______ words ?

Two

11)Sound produced with obstruction of air ?

I chose "diphthongs" but later I came to know right option was other,don't remember right now.

12)Semantics meaning ?

I chose "to relate" but I came to know that it's "Study of meanings"

(Linguistics chor k short stories opt ki theen and I suffered in test)

13)Word language consists of two_____ words

Latin

14)Simon is character in one of ________ novels

Golding

15)"Everyman in his humour" written by ?

Ben johnson

16) Caretaker written by ?

Pinter

17)Waiting for Godot's originol language ?

French

18) Stream of consciousness ?

Virginia woolf

19) "Sejanus" is satirical tragedy by ?

Ben johnson

20)Unified sensibility ?

Donne

21)Winding Stair is poem by ?

W.B.Yeats

22) Synaethesia

Unification of senses

23) Time machine-the invisible man written by ?

H.G Wells

24)The egoist written by ?

George Meredith

25) Hardy's own classification of novels?

Three

26)George Eliot wrote Adam Bede at age of ?

I wrote 20 but it was 40

27)Age of George Eliot ?

Victorian

28) Chaucer was ?

sarcastic poet

29)Renaissance period ?

1550-1660

30)King Lear written in ?

google k mutabiq 1603 to 1606 k darmayan likha gaya

31)17th century's historical event ?

I chose "Famine" but suna hai "Civil war" choose kerty kerty ruk gyi thi mein

32)Paradise lost was written in ?

33)1660 - 1790 is rise of ?

I chose "Drama" but it's not confirm.Kindly confirm it

34)Literature became secular towards end of ?

I chose "18th century".Is it right ?

35)Tragicomedy of Shakespeare is also called ?

Reconcilation play

36)Type of literarure,art or music is called ?

Genre

37)Enthusiastic addiction to study of Greek and Roman antiquity led to ?

None (Because it led to hellenism,romantism)

38)Prospero was protagonist of ?

Pata nae

39)Age of Pope is called?

Augusten

40)Metaphysical poet is essay by ?

T.S Eliot

41) Treatise on liberty written by ?

I chose Oscar wilde but not sure.

42)Figure of speech,exaggeration for emphasis ?

Rhetoric

43) Adnois written for ?

Keats

44)Songs of innocense and experience belong to ?

William Blake

45)Original title of Pride and Prejudice

First Impressions

46)Shelley's first work?

Queen Mab

47)First writer of Picaresque novel ?

I chose Thackeray.Kindly confirm it.

48)The road not taken by Frost is included in his collection ?

Mountain Interval

49)Bacon was intellectually great but morally weak.Who said this ?

I chose Dryden.Confirm it please

50)SWift's irony fused into ?

humour

51)Nothing is beneath science,nor above science.who said ?

I chose Russell

52)Bird in "Ancient mariner" ?

Albatross

53) Milton got blind in age of ?

54)Hemingway's nick in later age ?

Papa

55)Donne's faith ?

Protestant

56)John Keats gave up career of ____ to become a poet

I chose "farming" but people say "medicine"

57) Poet who studied at Cambridge but got no degree ?

pata nae

58) Which century is most important epoch in intellectual history ?

14th

59)During age of Chaucer,England passed through ?

Medievalism

60)Marlow's primitive tragedy ?

Dr.Faustus

61)Shakespeare comedy rival ?

I chose Lily.Confirm it

62)Shakespeare comedy contain continental and ?

Mediterranean

63) Shakespeare's heroines have ?

Feminine traits

64)Who emerged as philosopher in "Merchant of Venice" ?

I chose cordelia but it's wrong,I'm sure

65) Which play started with incident of ship wreck ?

I chose "King lear".Not confirm

66)Sir Gwain and Green knight poems were written in ___ age

I chose Victorian but not sure

67)Process of introducing new words ?

I chose Coinage.Please confirm it

68)War between flesh and spirit in which novel of Hardy ?

I chose "the return of the native",not confirm

69)Norman conquest in ?

70)Queen Elizabeth descended throne from ?

71)University wits pe aik question tha,don't remember exact wording.Options mein years likhay thay.7,10 etc.

Antonyms

72)Brazen

I chose "Shy"

73)Capricious

I chose "Recollect" because all others seemed synonyms

74)Extrinsic

don't remeber it's options and what I chose

75)fluster

don't remember what I chose

76) Obdurate

I chose submissive

Synonyms

77)Truncate

I chose shorten and I think It's right

78)Impetuous

I think I chose "irrational"

79)nincompoop

I chose "Foolish" and it's right.

80)Elocution

It was somthing about speech.last option.and that's right

81)Ulysses pe question tha aik.kindly us ka answer bataye koi

82)Far fetched metaphor ?

Conceit

83)Because I couldnot stop for death written by ?

Emily Dickinson

84)Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath were?

Husband and wife

NOTE: My test didn't go well;many of the above answers are checked on google so don't dare to think,mine were correct

The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to Farrah Zafar For This Useful Post:
acbarasghar (Wednesday, October 05, 2011), Eager (Sunday, October 09, 2011), fadi99 (Sunday, September 06, 2015), saba zahid (Friday, June 17, 2016), UmairTheScholar (Friday, March 24, 2017), unsolved_Mystery (Tuesday, October 04, 2011)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Farrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud ofFarrah Zafar has much to be proud of
Default Exclusive's post

.85) People do not exist in _______but in functioning______

I chose Isolation,communities

86)The military censors______passages in letters that they thought might_____

87)Only a ____person could be ______to the suffering of people

88) Volcanic rock very often looks shiny because it had been _____

I chose Igneous

89) Fire station had been gone on______ at once

CSS Forums - View Single Post - PSC english literature paper.

Hardy
Right answer is Emily Bronte
The Following User Says Thank You to Farrah Zafar For This Useful Post:
saba zahid (Friday, June 17, 2016)

black shadow is on a distinguished road

how did you remember all the q

Thanked 1,356 Times in 719 Posts
unsolved_Mystery is a splendid one to beholdunsolved_Mystery is a splendid one to beholdunsolved_Mystery is a splendid one to beholdunsolved_Mystery is a splendid one to beholdunsolved_Mystery is a splendid one to beholdunsolved_Mystery is a splendid one to behold

11)Sound produced with obstruction of air ?
I chose "diphthongs" but later I came to know right option was other,don't remember right now. (It was consonant perhaps)

12)Semantics meaning ?
I chose "to relate" but I came to know that it's "Study of meanings"
(yes study of meanings)

I chose "Drama" but it's not confirm.Kindly confirm it (I chose poetry)

Pata nae (The Tempest)

41) Treatise on liberty written by ? JS Mill (I think)
I chose Oscar wilde but not sure.

Rhetoric (It was hyperbole i think)

I chose Thackeray.Kindly confirm it. (It was Fielding i think)

I chose Dryden.Confirm it please (I wrote POPE)

I chose Russell (I chose Aristotle)

55)Donne's faith ?

Protestant (Donne was catholic, and he started writing against it to survive as far as i remember)

I chose "farming" but people say "medicine" Yes medicine is correct.

pata nae (ST Colerdige)

I chose Lily.Confirm it (I think it was Benson)

I chose cordelia but it's wrong,I'm sure (I wrote Portia)

I chose "King lear".Not confirm (I dont remember what i chose)

I chose Victorian but not sure. (I think is was written 1200-1285)

I chose Coinage.Please confirm it (Its correct I think)

I chose "the return of the native",not confirm (I think it was other i dont remember)

69)Norman conquest in ? (1066)

Correct, if wrong plz

rashidiqbal92 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Farrah Zafar View Post

.85) People do not exist in _______but in functioning______

86)The military censors______passages in letters that they thought might_____

87)Only a ____person could be ______to the suffering of people

88) Volcanic rock very often looks shiny because it had been _____

I chose Igneous

89) Fire station had been gone on______ at once

CSS Forums - View Single Post - PSC english literature paper.
Lectureship Paper of English 2011

1)Repetition of same vowel sound ?

Assonance

2)The poet who used extensive alliteration ?

Spencer

Emile Brontte

4)The poem "Byzantium" is written about ?

A country(a old ancient roman place’s name)

5)Carl sadburg born at ?

Illinois

6)T.S Eliot was ?

British poet

7)Wasteland of Eliot is dedicated to ?

Ezra Pound

8)Shakespeare acted in one of plays of ?

Ben johnson

9)Elizabeth Sewell born in ?

England

10) Linguistics is combination of ______ words ?

Two

11)Sound produced without obstruction of air ?

Vowel

12)Semantics meaning ?

Study of meanings

13)Word language consists of two_____ words

Latin

14)Simon is character in one of ________ novels

Golding

15)"Everyman in his humour" written by ?

Ben johnson

16) Caretaker written by ?

Pinter

17)Waiting for Godot's originol language ?

French

18) Stream of consciousness ?

Virginia woolf

19) "Sejanus" is satirical tragedy by ?

Ben johnson

20)Unified sensibility ?

Donne

21)Winding Stair is poem by ?

W.B.Yeats

22) Synaethesia

Unification of senses

23) Time machine and The invisible man written by ?

H.G Wells

24)The egoist written by ?

George Meredith

25) Hardy's own classification of novels?

Three

26)George Eliot wrote Adam Bede at age of ?

I wrote 20 but it was 40

27)George Eliot inclination regarding her approach to thought is towards ……………

I think Modern(Because she is considered a first modern novelist while belonging to victorian age)

28) Chaucer was ?

1. serious 2. humerous poet

29)Renaissance period ?

1550-1660

30)King Lear written in ?

31)the period from 1642 to 1651 ?

Civil war

32)Paradise lost was written in ?

33)1660 - 1790 is rise of ?

Novel

34)Literature became secular towards end of ?

I chose "16th century".Is it right ?

35)Tragicomedy of Shakespeare is also called ?

Reconcilation play

36)Type of literarure,art or music is called ?

Genre

37)Enthusiastic addiction to study of Greek and Roman antiquity led to ?

I wrote Humanism (Because it led to hellenism,romantism)

The Tempest

39)Age of Pope is called?

Augusten

40)Metaphysical poet is essay by ?

T.S Eliot

41) Treatise on liberty written by ?

J.S. Mill

Hyperbole

43) Adnois written for ?

Keats

44)Songs of innocense and experience belong to ?

William Blake

45)Original title of Pride and Prejudice

First Impressions

46)Shelley's first work?

Queen Mab

Smollet

48)The road not taken by Frost is included in his collection ?

Mountain Interval(Confirm it)

I chose Dryden.Confirm it please(I think it was Pope)

50)Swift's irony fused into ?

Allegory

Bacon

52)Bird in "Ancient mariner" ?

Albatross

53) Milton got blind in age of ?

54)Hemingway's nick in later age ?

Papa

55)Donne's faith ?

Catholicism(but later he became protestant)

"medicine"

Coleridge

58) Which century is most important epoch in intellectual history ?

14th

59)During age of Chaucer,England passed through ?

Medievalism

60)Marlow's primitive tragedy ?

Tamberlaine

Ben Jonson

62)Shakespeare comedy contain continental and ?

Mediterranean(not confirmed)

63) Shakespeare's heroines have ?

Feminine traits(not confirmed)

Portia

Twelvth Night(Not confirm)

I chose Medieval age(not sure)

Coinage

Jude of the Obscure

69)Norman conquest in ?

70)Queen Elizabeth descended throne from ?
1. Robert Stuart 2. Robert…. 3. James Stuart(not sure)

71)University wits estimated literary period is little more than …….. years.

10 years, 8 years, 7 years, 6 years(confirm it)

72)Brazen

I chose "Shy"

73)Capricious

I chose "Recollect" because all others seemed synonyms

74)Extrinsic

don't remeber it's options and what I chose

75)fluster

don't remember what I chose

76) Obdurate

I chose submissive

Synonyms

77)Truncate

I chose shorten and I think It's right

78)Impetuous

I think I chose "irrational"

79)nincompoop

I chose "Foolish" and it's right.

80)Elocution

not sure
81)Ulysses poem was written by?

Tennyson

82)Far fetched metaphor ?

Conceit

83)Because I couldnot stop for death written by ?

Emily Dickinson

84)Ted Hughes and Sylvia Plath were?

Husband and wife

85. People do not exist in _______but in functioning______

86. The military censors______passages in letters that they thought might_____ security.
Not remember
87. Only a ____person could be ______to the suffering of people

88. Volcanic rock very often looks shiny because it had been _____

I chose Igneous

89. Fire station had been gone on______ at once
To
90) antynom of callous is ( I think oblivious)
The Following User Says Thank You to rashidiqbal92 For This Useful Post:
Eager (Sunday, October 09, 2011)
Old Wednesday, October 05, 2011

zash will become famous soon enough

@ rashidiqbal92 here is some correction

6. T.S.Eliot was born American, Moved to UK at the age of 25
8. Shakespeare played a little role in Edward I by Peele
9. Elizabeth is from Texas.USA
28. Chaucer was Sarcastic poet
32. Paradise lost was completed in 1664. (published in 1667)
47. father of picaresque novel: i think its' Fielding
63. Shakespeare's heroines have masculine traits
70. Queen Elizabeth descended throne from James Stuart
81.Ulysses is a novel by James Joyce

Last edited by zash; Wednesday, October 05, 2011 at 01:22 AM. Reason: correction

shazvu is on a distinguished road

Salam...Dear plz recheck re respost ur answer because there r lot of mistakes.so plz dont confuse people.like Ulysses definately a novel by james joyce but the questn was abt poem so answer was tenyson, similarly shakespeare acted in Johson's two plays.there r certain other mistakes.Anyhow wish u all Gudluck , mine was also not too gud lets c.

Mahvish Shahid has a spectacular aura aboutMahvish Shahid has a spectacular aura aboutMahvish Shahid has a spectacular aura about

Maine Nhe Btany Kia kia ChOose Kiye Thy

Ku ke Maine bhi Sab ki Tarha he Kia

Phli Posts parh k Laga k Ho gye Galat Then "Zash" G ne Hons;la Barha dia k Right Hain

GOod LuCk EveryOne..
malik sanaullah (Monday, December 31, 2012), zash (Wednesday, October 05, 2011)

Gulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really niceGulrukh is just really nice

T.S Eliot was American by birth..born in St.Louis,Missouri but later became British citizen in 1927.

I wrote he was American.is it right answer ?

And one fill in the blank about military etc..i answered '' expunged and jeopardize ''...

and in one fill in the blanks i wrote '' petrified '' not '' igneous '' coz i thought petrified would look suitable with '' has been ''...but i'm not sure.

only a.............person could be.............to the suffering of children.
i wrote '' callous and oblivious..is it right ?