-   SPSC (CCE) (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/sindh-public-service-commission/spsc-cce/)
-   -   SPSC CCE Announced 2013 (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/sindh-public-service-commission/spsc-cce/81483-spsc-cce-announced-2013-a.html)

bliss Wednesday, July 10, 2013 10:57 AM

@ Ali Mallah Sahb,

I am a little bit confused about the way papers are conducted by SPSC. Therefore I am putting a few queries regarding it.

1. Answer sheets are [I]blank[/I] or with [I]lines[/I]?

2. Is there a [I]Two-Papers a day[/I] scenario like it is in CSS?

3. Is there a [I]MCQs portion[/I] in all subjects (except English & Sindhi essays), includding Optional subjects?

4. Finally, what about the Centers? Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur and Larkana, [I]where[/I] in these cities the exams are conducted by SPSC? and which of these centers is [I]better[/I] in terms of[I] furniture, air conditioning, and noiseless atmosphere[/I]?

yasmeen lakho Wednesday, July 10, 2013 12:21 PM

Salaam to all members.

My Combination for Optional Subjects is IR + Islamic History I + Public Administration. Kindly comment is this a good combination or too lengthy? I am currently doing my MA in IR (which is the reason for me to take this subject).

After a little research I have come to know about 3 books on Public Administration. can the respected members choose one of them which will offer me most complete preparatory help?

1. Public Adminstration Revised and Enlarged Edition for CSS and PMS by ASIF J MIR, I. SHIFA, ALI SALMAN (CSP)

2. Public Adminstration - Theory and Practice in Pakistan by S.M. SHAHID

3. Advanced Public Adminstration by M. IMTIAZ SHAHID, MEMOONA SHAHID.

best of luck to everybody :pipe

pureapak Wednesday, July 10, 2013 03:32 PM

[QUOTE=yasmeen lakho;623259]Salaam to all members.

My Combination for Optional Subjects is IR + Islamic History I + Public Administration. Kindly comment is this a good combination or too lengthy? I am currently doing my MA in IR (which is the reason for me to take this subject).[/QUOTE]

I.R is comparatively low scoring subject when it comes to PCS assessment criteria. yes its evolutionary and thus lengthy enough to cover.

I would suggest you to opt for journalism or sociology or sindhi in its stead. Rest of the subjects in your optional scheme are good.

regards;

muhammad hussain Wednesday, July 10, 2013 04:55 PM

[QUOTE=yasmeen lakho;623259]Salaam to all members.

My Combination for Optional Subjects is IR + Islamic History I + Public Administration. Kindly comment is this a good combination or too lengthy? I am currently doing my MA in IR (which is the reason for me to take this subject).

After a little research I have come to know about 3 books on Public Administration. can the respected members choose one of them which will offer me most complete preparatory help?

1. Public Adminstration Revised and Enlarged Edition for CSS and PMS by ASIF J MIR, I. SHIFA, ALI SALMAN (CSP)

2. Public Adminstration - Theory and Practice in Pakistan by S.M. SHAHID

3. Advanced Public Adminstration by M. IMTIAZ SHAHID, MEMOONA SHAHID.

best of luck to everybody :pipe[/QUOTE]

combination is good. however , islamic history is better chioce with islamiate. in PCS 2008 the top order qualifiers had such combinations
1. islamiate , islamic history , IR
2.islamiate , islamic history , P.Ad
3.Indian history-I , IR , Sindhi

i didnt see any of them having Journalism/Sociology (though they are considered to be good subjects in CSS)

yasmeen lakho Wednesday, July 10, 2013 05:02 PM

Thanks for the reply Pureapak. What about my book selection with regards to PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION??

I have good command over International Relations, will it still be difficult to score? :blush:

[COLOR=Blue]I really don't understand the criteria of 'high' and 'low' scoring subjects? can u explain how this works? or its just a trend that we blindly follow?[/COLOR]

Sociology is not my subject, I never studied it and i dont have any interest whatsoever in it, therefore i donot consider it prudent to opt for it. Sindhi I can speak, but cannot write, being of Sindhi descent, i admit its a shame, and i promise to work on it, but now is not the time.:))

[QUOTE=Ali Mallah;622312]Yes two years bachelor degree holders are eligible in terms of degree requirement.

G.K = WHo is who what is what by Carvan Publishers
English Composition = Exploring the world of English
Sindhi Essay = Sindhi Adab jo mutaaleo by Mukhtiar Mallah
and Islamic History period I = K. Ali or Imtiaz Shahid
[/QUOTE]

Ali Mallah Bhai, I checked market today , there is no book authored by Imtiaz Shahid on Islamic History but his organisation by the name of ADVANCED PUBLISHERS do have a book on Islamic History, did u mean this book or some other book that Imtiaz Shahid has written himself? kindly ckear Ada.

[QUOTE=muhammad hussain;623401]combination is good. however , islamic history is better chioce with islamiate. in PCS 2008 the top order qualifiers had such combinations
1. islamiate , islamic history , IR
2.islamiate , islamic history , P.Ad
3.Indian history-I , IR , Sindhi

i didnt see any of them having Journalism/Sociology (though they are considered to be good subjects in CSS)[/QUOTE]

Muhammad Hussain Ada, does the Islamiat and Islamic History syllabus complement each other in terms of preparation?

What opinion do you hold of IR as a subject? low scoring or high scoring?

tunioxp367 Wednesday, July 10, 2013 07:14 PM

[QUOTE=yasmeen lakho;623408]Muhammad Hussain Ada, does the Islamiat and Islamic History syllabus complement each other in terms of preparation?

What opinion do you hold of IR as a subject? low scoring or high scoring?[/QUOTE]
I.R will be high scoring this time, internal scource of PCS

pureapak Wednesday, July 10, 2013 08:28 PM

[QUOTE=yasmeen lakho;623404]Thanks for the reply Pureapak. What about my book selection with regards to PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION??

I have good command over International Relations, will it still be difficult to score? :blush:

[COLOR="Blue"]I really don't understand the criteria of 'high' and 'low' scoring subjects? can u explain how this works? or its just a trend that we blindly follow?[/COLOR]

Sociology is not my subject, I never studied it and i dont have any interest whatsoever in it, therefore i donot consider it prudent to opt for it. Sindhi I can speak, but cannot write, being of Sindhi descent, i admit its a shame, and i promise to work on it, but now is not the time.:))[/QUOTE]

Well, I personally do not know about the books, you are referring to.
I am therefore not in a capacity to rate them as effective or ineffective. Perhaps some other member here can do the needful.

2. The phenomenon of HI and LOW scoring Subjects is a result of general survey that we come to know after the content assessment by SPSC PCS.
The probable factors behind this bleak trend are majorly;
1. Heightened caliber of the copy checkers (say PHd holders)
2. Heap of Copies, lesser time and interest of assessors
3. Depth of a subject (excessively theoretical,abstract or
controversial nature) that is hard to do justice with in allotted time

3. That is very pleasant to know that you enjoy a upper hand at your subject. It is also important to know that assessment boards of SPSC(pcs) and that of university, college are pole apart. Both have a diversified set of standards to follow. PCS is a competitive exam and the procedures and modules of assessment can be toughened as per the fluctuating policy. that is modified specially in the face of huge candidates for meager number of posts. on the other hand its never the case with university or college board examinations. aint?

4. Its alright if you are having scruples to go for sociology (facile study of society). You can have a cursory view of the syllabus and find out what subjects excite your interest. Opt for them thereafter.

6. Having studied the past papers of I.R, if you are sure of yourself that you can well handle it as per the PCS requirements... You should give it a try... save your time for other un prepared subjects.... :)

Wishing you a very good luck :)

Ali Mallah Thursday, July 11, 2013 02:18 AM

[QUOTE=tanveersaeed;622672]MALLAH sahab can you tell me a good book for islamic history paper 1.where from i could find topics such as life of prophet,treaty of hudaybia and its importance,achievements and events of caliphate etc. what about mazhar ul haq book. but i reckon its too lengthy. please help me out with a concise book which i can cover in the given time since i have to go through other subjects as well.[/QUOTE]

Dear Mazhar ul Haq's Book is also best choice. I read from the Islamic History book by K.Ali, its short, comprehensive and really good book if you can find in market.

[QUOTE=bliss;623204]@ Ali Mallah Sahb,

I am a little bit confused about the way papers are conducted by SPSC. Therefore I am putting a few queries regarding it.

1. Answer sheets are [I]blank[/I] or with [I]lines[/I]?

2. Is there a [I]Two-Papers a day[/I] scenario like it is in CSS?

3. Is there a [I]MCQs portion[/I] in all subjects (except English & Sindhi essays), includding Optional subjects?

4. Finally, what about the Centers? Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur and Larkana, [I]where[/I] in these cities the exams are conducted by SPSC? and which of these centers is [I]better[/I] in terms of[I] furniture, air conditioning, and noiseless atmosphere[/I]?[/QUOTE]

These are with lines.
Yes two papers a day in compulsory, optionals depend on time table.
No MCQs portion in optionals.
Well, every time they do not have same centers, they keep changing, for these details better to contact SPSC, they can guide you better in this regard. However they mostly chose government school/colleges buildings all around so you their condition better.

[QUOTE=yasmeen lakho;623404]Thanks for the reply Pureapak. What about my book selection with regards to PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION??

[COLOR="Blue"]I really don't understand the criteria of 'high' and 'low' scoring subjects? can u explain how this works? or its just a trend that we blindly follow?[/COLOR]

Sociology is not my subject, I never studied it and i dont have any interest whatsoever in it, therefore i donot consider it prudent to opt for it. Sindhi I can speak, but cannot write, being of Sindhi descent, i admit its a shame, and i promise to work on it, but now is not the time.:))[/QUOTE]

I want to make it clear here that no such trend of High scores and low scores exists in PCS specially at SPSC. As it has not been regularly conducted.

[QUOTE=yasmeen lakho;623407]Ali Mallah Bhai, I checked market today , there is no book authored by Imtiaz Shahid on Islamic History but his organisation by the name of ADVANCED PUBLISHERS do have a book on Islamic History, did u mean this book or some other book that Imtiaz Shahid has written himself? kindly ckear Ada.[/QUOTE]

I have a book of Islamic History and Culture by Imtiaz Shahid. May be its no more in the market, you can also buy Islamic History book by K.Ali, or book of Mazhar ul Haq.

[QUOTE=tunioxp367;623438]I.R will be high scoring this time, internal scource of PCS[/QUOTE]

Hahaha internal source... :roll

sidra siyal Thursday, July 11, 2013 02:22 AM

Sir Ali Mallah! Any news of age relaxation ?? :(

jaris ojeran Thursday, July 11, 2013 02:32 AM

can i postpone DPC(departmental permission certificate) and send my form without it? as it is a lengthy process and do it when i qualify for interview. Inshallah. but i want my service years counted in new job ie through proper channel. can i relax and not waste time on getting DPC at this initial time. please reply. esp Mallah sir

[B]and other querry.[/B]
should we just paste 3 photoes on form. or get them attested and send them with form.
or perform both above actions. please guide.

05:48 AM (GMT +5)