05:46 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Sindh Public Service Commission > SPSC (CCE)

Old Wednesday, July 10, 2013

bliss is on a distinguished road

@ Ali Mallah Sahb,

I am a little bit confused about the way papers are conducted by SPSC. Therefore I am putting a few queries regarding it.

1. Answer sheets are blank or with lines?

2. Is there a Two-Papers a day scenario like it is in CSS?

3. Is there a MCQs portion in all subjects (except English & Sindhi essays), includding Optional subjects?

4. Finally, what about the Centers? Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur and Larkana, where in these cities the exams are conducted by SPSC? and which of these centers is better in terms of furniture, air conditioning, and noiseless atmosphere?

yasmeen lakho is on a distinguished road

Salaam to all members.

My Combination for Optional Subjects is IR + Islamic History I + Public Administration. Kindly comment is this a good combination or too lengthy? I am currently doing my MA in IR (which is the reason for me to take this subject).

After a little research I have come to know about 3 books on Public Administration. can the respected members choose one of them which will offer me most complete preparatory help?

1. Public Adminstration Revised and Enlarged Edition for CSS and PMS by ASIF J MIR, I. SHIFA, ALI SALMAN (CSP)

2. Public Adminstration - Theory and Practice in Pakistan by S.M. SHAHID

3. Advanced Public Adminstration by M. IMTIAZ SHAHID, MEMOONA SHAHID.

best of luck to everybody

pureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the rough

Originally Posted by yasmeen lakho View Post
Salaam to all members.

My Combination for Optional Subjects is IR + Islamic History I + Public Administration. Kindly comment is this a good combination or too lengthy? I am currently doing my MA in IR (which is the reason for me to take this subject).

I.R is comparatively low scoring subject when it comes to PCS assessment criteria. yes its evolutionary and thus lengthy enough to cover.

I would suggest you to opt for journalism or sociology or sindhi in its stead. Rest of the subjects in your optional scheme are good.

regards;
yasmeen lakho (Wednesday, July 10, 2013)
Section Officer
PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: SPSC CCE 2008 - Roll No. 1598

muhammad hussain is on a distinguished road

Salaam to all members.

After a little research I have come to know about 3 books on Public Administration. can the respected members choose one of them which will offer me most complete preparatory help?

1. Public Adminstration Revised and Enlarged Edition for CSS and PMS by ASIF J MIR, I. SHIFA, ALI SALMAN (CSP)

2. Public Adminstration - Theory and Practice in Pakistan by S.M. SHAHID

3. Advanced Public Adminstration by M. IMTIAZ SHAHID, MEMOONA SHAHID.

best of luck to everybody
combination is good. however , islamic history is better chioce with islamiate. in PCS 2008 the top order qualifiers had such combinations
1. islamiate , islamic history , IR
2.islamiate , islamic history , P.Ad
3.Indian history-I , IR , Sindhi

i didnt see any of them having Journalism/Sociology (though they are considered to be good subjects in CSS)
yasmeen lakho (Wednesday, July 10, 2013)

yasmeen lakho is on a distinguished road

Thanks for the reply Pureapak. What about my book selection with regards to PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION??

I have good command over International Relations, will it still be difficult to score?

I really don't understand the criteria of 'high' and 'low' scoring subjects? can u explain how this works? or its just a trend that we blindly follow?

Sociology is not my subject, I never studied it and i dont have any interest whatsoever in it, therefore i donot consider it prudent to opt for it. Sindhi I can speak, but cannot write, being of Sindhi descent, i admit its a shame, and i promise to work on it, but now is not the time.

Originally Posted by Ali Mallah View Post
Yes two years bachelor degree holders are eligible in terms of degree requirement.

G.K = WHo is who what is what by Carvan Publishers
English Composition = Exploring the world of English
Sindhi Essay = Sindhi Adab jo mutaaleo by Mukhtiar Mallah
and Islamic History period I = K. Ali or Imtiaz Shahid
Ali Mallah Bhai, I checked market today , there is no book authored by Imtiaz Shahid on Islamic History but his organisation by the name of ADVANCED PUBLISHERS do have a book on Islamic History, did u mean this book or some other book that Imtiaz Shahid has written himself? kindly ckear Ada.

Originally Posted by muhammad hussain View Post
combination is good. however , islamic history is better chioce with islamiate. in PCS 2008 the top order qualifiers had such combinations
1. islamiate , islamic history , IR
2.islamiate , islamic history , P.Ad
3.Indian history-I , IR , Sindhi

i didnt see any of them having Journalism/Sociology (though they are considered to be good subjects in CSS)
Muhammad Hussain Ada, does the Islamiat and Islamic History syllabus complement each other in terms of preparation?

What opinion do you hold of IR as a subject? low scoring or high scoring?

tunioxp367 is on a distinguished road

Muhammad Hussain Ada, does the Islamiat and Islamic History syllabus complement each other in terms of preparation?

What opinion do you hold of IR as a subject? low scoring or high scoring?
I.R will be high scoring this time, internal scource of PCS
The Following User Says Thank You to tunioxp367 For This Useful Post:
yasmeen lakho (Thursday, July 11, 2013)

pureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the roughpureapak is a jewel in the rough

Thanks for the reply Pureapak. What about my book selection with regards to PUBLIC ADMINISTRATION??

I have good command over International Relations, will it still be difficult to score?

I really don't understand the criteria of 'high' and 'low' scoring subjects? can u explain how this works? or its just a trend that we blindly follow?

Sociology is not my subject, I never studied it and i dont have any interest whatsoever in it, therefore i donot consider it prudent to opt for it. Sindhi I can speak, but cannot write, being of Sindhi descent, i admit its a shame, and i promise to work on it, but now is not the time.
Well, I personally do not know about the books, you are referring to.
I am therefore not in a capacity to rate them as effective or ineffective. Perhaps some other member here can do the needful.

2. The phenomenon of HI and LOW scoring Subjects is a result of general survey that we come to know after the content assessment by SPSC PCS.
The probable factors behind this bleak trend are majorly;
1. Heightened caliber of the copy checkers (say PHd holders)
2. Heap of Copies, lesser time and interest of assessors
3. Depth of a subject (excessively theoretical,abstract or
controversial nature) that is hard to do justice with in allotted time

3. That is very pleasant to know that you enjoy a upper hand at your subject. It is also important to know that assessment boards of SPSC(pcs) and that of university, college are pole apart. Both have a diversified set of standards to follow. PCS is a competitive exam and the procedures and modules of assessment can be toughened as per the fluctuating policy. that is modified specially in the face of huge candidates for meager number of posts. on the other hand its never the case with university or college board examinations. aint?

4. Its alright if you are having scruples to go for sociology (facile study of society). You can have a cursory view of the syllabus and find out what subjects excite your interest. Opt for them thereafter.

6. Having studied the past papers of I.R, if you are sure of yourself that you can well handle it as per the PCS requirements... You should give it a try... save your time for other un prepared subjects....

Wishing you a very good luck
Old Thursday, July 11, 2013
Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: CE 2012- Roll No 1988Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: PMS / PCS Award: Serving PMS / PCS (BS 17) officers are eligible only. - Issue reason: SPSC CCE 2013 - Merit 49 (ETO) BPS-17

Thanked 1,546 Times in 864 Posts
Ali Mallah is a splendid one to beholdAli Mallah is a splendid one to beholdAli Mallah is a splendid one to beholdAli Mallah is a splendid one to beholdAli Mallah is a splendid one to beholdAli Mallah is a splendid one to behold

Originally Posted by tanveersaeed View Post
MALLAH sahab can you tell me a good book for islamic history paper 1.where from i could find topics such as life of prophet,treaty of hudaybia and its importance,achievements and events of caliphate etc. what about mazhar ul haq book. but i reckon its too lengthy. please help me out with a concise book which i can cover in the given time since i have to go through other subjects as well.
Dear Mazhar ul Haq's Book is also best choice. I read from the Islamic History book by K.Ali, its short, comprehensive and really good book if you can find in market.

Originally Posted by bliss View Post
@ Ali Mallah Sahb,

I am a little bit confused about the way papers are conducted by SPSC. Therefore I am putting a few queries regarding it.

1. Answer sheets are blank or with lines?

2. Is there a Two-Papers a day scenario like it is in CSS?

3. Is there a MCQs portion in all subjects (except English & Sindhi essays), includding Optional subjects?

4. Finally, what about the Centers? Karachi, Hyderabad, Sukkur and Larkana, where in these cities the exams are conducted by SPSC? and which of these centers is better in terms of furniture, air conditioning, and noiseless atmosphere?
These are with lines.
Yes two papers a day in compulsory, optionals depend on time table.
No MCQs portion in optionals.
Well, every time they do not have same centers, they keep changing, for these details better to contact SPSC, they can guide you better in this regard. However they mostly chose government school/colleges buildings all around so you their condition better.

I want to make it clear here that no such trend of High scores and low scores exists in PCS specially at SPSC. As it has not been regularly conducted.

Ali Mallah Bhai, I checked market today , there is no book authored by Imtiaz Shahid on Islamic History but his organisation by the name of ADVANCED PUBLISHERS do have a book on Islamic History, did u mean this book or some other book that Imtiaz Shahid has written himself? kindly ckear Ada.
I have a book of Islamic History and Culture by Imtiaz Shahid. May be its no more in the market, you can also buy Islamic History book by K.Ali, or book of Mazhar ul Haq.

Originally Posted by tunioxp367 View Post
I.R will be high scoring this time, internal scource of PCS
Hahaha internal source...
bliss (Thursday, July 11, 2013), yasmeen lakho (Friday, July 12, 2013)

sidra siyal is on a distinguished road

Sir Ali Mallah! Any news of age relaxation ??

jaris ojeran is on a distinguished road

can i postpone DPC(departmental permission certificate) and send my form without it? as it is a lengthy process and do it when i qualify for interview. Inshallah. but i want my service years counted in new job ie through proper channel. can i relax and not waste time on getting DPC at this initial time. please reply. esp Mallah sir

and other querry.
should we just paste 3 photoes on form. or get them attested and send them with form.
or perform both above actions. please guide.