View Single Post
Old Tuesday, July 07, 2020
***CAPTAIN HOPE***
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason:

Muhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the roughMuhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the roughMuhammad Ali Chaudhry is a jewel in the rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ayesha Burak View Post
I am a medical student exploring my career options.
I'll be thankful if someone can guide me from their personal experience and observation about how women fit in civil services. Also, can you survive if you have no relatives in beaurocracy?
I have good career prospects as a doctor both in home country and abroad but I want to live in Pakistan and set my goals here. Civil service allures me and I need to do some serious research before I decide going for CSS.

Here are the few queries I have:

1. What are the growth prospects in PAS? If my husband lives away, how often can I leave the station to be with him? How often will I be transferred? And how long will it take me to be posted in cities? In short, if someone can draw a hypothetical timeline of promotions and transfers from the start of service to near retirement, it'll be a huge favor.
Also, do you get medical coverage? If yes, from which hospitals? And does it cover consultation fees alone or the medicines too?
Are there foreign training programs in PAS? If yes, how often officers can get the opportunity?

2. Is FSP a good choice for a woman? Let's say your husband can relocate, can he seek employment in the host country? Do your kids lose school years during transfers? During your posting abroad, how often can you manage to return to Pakistan? Is the return state-sponsored? Can your parents visit you at their own expense? Is the accommodation big enough to have guests?