Old Friday, October 14, 2011

xaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of lightxaara~hussain is a glorious beacon of light

This is the syllabus of journalism
SECTION-A
Concept and process of communication : Source, Message, Channel, Destination. Encoding, Decoding, Noise, Feedback Oral vs. Written Communication, Two step flow of Communication, Role of Opinion Leader.

Information and Journalism--Functions : Scanning the Horizon and reporting back.

News function
Educational Function
Opinion for motives
Entertainment function
Pakistan Press, An overview of the evolution of the Muslim Press in South Asia before 1947 and development of the Pakistan Press since 1947, its social economic aspect; Trends and Characteristics: Problems and Prospects.

Mass Media Components, functions and effects, Mass Media in Pakistan: Size and dispersion: Role in national development, Prospects and problems.

SECTION-B
News. Principles and techniques of News writing. Editorial Definition, ingredients, Types and functions of writing of Editorials.

Public Relations : Definition, Purpose and scope, Ethics, PR in Pakistan Duties of PRO: PR Procedures and Processes.

Magazine Journalism: Mag-Journalism in Pakistan. Types, Functioning Purpose its social aspects and scope.

Press Release, Press Note, and Press Communication: Definitions and Basic ingredients, Writing of Press Release, Press Note and Press Communique.

Advertising: Definition, functions, types and purpose. Its social and economic aspects, principles of successful advertising.

Press Laws: Press Laws in Pakistan (gradual developments) and the Right to Know concepts of press freedom and responsibility, Ethics of Journalism.

and here goes forestry,

Ecology and Gcneral Silvicullure.
Forest Statistics, Mensuration and Research Methods.
Forest Management and Economics.
Water Shed Management.
Range Management
Forests surveying and Engineering.
Forest Policy, Law and Protection.
Forest Biology, Wildlife and Natural Park Management.

Look closely at forestry's syllabus, it got some connection with your business background in some ways.

statistics and research methods se kuch na kuch know-how apki hai so you wont feel it all alien.
'Management' part bhi qabil.e.ghor hai, because you are well aware what management really is and you can relate your knowledge over here, i mean if relevant.
Policy, Law, protection should already not be a great deal to prepare for a student of management.
surveying and engineering bhi bohot though nahi ho ga if you studied Project Management too.

so, I would recommend you Forestry on the basis of syllabus. It is going to take less time.