Old Monday, September 10, 2012

tobabar is on a distinguished road

You people are doing great work...

Ssara dear kindly post next question. We are waiting.

Originally Posted by Fassi View Post
Dear respected active and other members, I've posted the new question yesterday but still no one has answered, that's not fair...

So, after a lot of personal research, I'm going to post my answer. Please do evaluate it.

Q:6- What is concept of creation of universe according to Islam and science and what is the place of human in this universe and Islam? Discuss (16 Marks)

Concept of Creation of Universe According to Islam and Science

Introduction:

The Islamic view toward the universe is an intellectual, scientific view that creates the human emotions and feelings toward the greatness of Allah the creator. It also creates emotions and feelings toward the smallness of the human being and his weakness in front of this universe, which leads to the necessity to submit to Allah (s.w.t)

The descriptions of creation in the Quran are not intended as dry historical accounts, but rather to engage the reader in contemplating the lessons to be learned from it. The act of creation, therefore, is frequently spoken of as a way of drawing the reader into thinking about the order in all things, and the All-Knowing Creator Who is behind it all. For example:
"Verily in the heavens and the earth are signs for those who believe. And in the creation of yourselves, and the fact that animals are scattered (through the earth), are signs for those of assured faith. And in the alternation of night and day, and that fact that Allah sends down sustenance from the sky, and revives therewith the earth after its death, and in the change of the winds, are signs for those who are wise" (45:3-5).

Big Bang Theory?

The creation of the universe is explained by astrophysicists in a widely accepted phenomenon, popularly known as the 'Big Bang'. It is supported by observational and experimental data gathered by astronomers and astrophysicists for decades. According to the 'Big Bang', the whole universe was initially one big mass (Primary Nebula). Then there was a 'Big Bang' (Secondary Separation) which resulted in the formation of Galaxies. These then divided to form stars, planets, the sun, the moon, etc.

Islamic Concept vs. Big Bang:

Islam is a scientifically inclined religion, so, while describing the creation of the "heavens and the earth," the Quran does not discount the theory of a "Big Bang" explosion at the start of it all. In fact, the Quran says that "the heavens and the earth were joined together as one unit, before We clove them asunder" (21:30). Following this big explosion, Allah "turned to the sky, and it had been (as) smoke. He said to it and to the earth: 'Come together, willingly or unwillingly.' They said: 'We come (together) in willing obedience'" (41:11). Thus the elements and what was to become the planets and stars began to cool, come together, and form into shape, following the natural laws that Allah established in the universe.

Again, this fact is a corollary to the 'Big Bang' and was not known to the Arabs during the time of Prophet Muhammad (s.a.w.w). What then, could have been the source of this knowledge? The Quran further states that Allah created the sun, the moon, and the planets, each with their own individual courses or orbits. "It is He Who created the night and the day, and the sun and the moon; all (the celestial bodies) swim along, each in its rounded course" (21:33).

Concept of Expansion of Universe In Quran and Science: The Quran also does not rule out the idea that the universe is continuing to expand. "The heavens, We have built them with power. And verily, We are expanding it" (51:47). There has been some historical debate among Muslim scholars about the precise meaning of this verse, since knowledge of the universe's expansion was only recently discovered.

Concept of Creation of Universe in Six Days: The Quran states that "Allah created the heavens and the earth, and all that is between them, in six days" (7:54). While on the surface this might seem similar to the account related in the Bible, there are some important distinctions.
The verses that mention "six days" use the Arabic word "youm" (day). This word appears several other times in the Quran, each denoting a different measurement of time. In one case, the measure of a day is equated with 50,000 years (70:4), whereas another verse states that "a day in the sight of your Lord is like 1,000 years of your reckoning" (22:47). The word "youm" is thus understood, within the Qur'an, to be a long period of time -- an era or eon. Therefore, Muslims interpret the description of a "six day" creation as six distinct periods or eons. The length of these periods is not precisely defined, nor are the specific developments that took place during each period.

Throne of Allah (s.w.t): After completing the Creation, the Quran describes that Allah (s.w.t) "settled Himself upon the Throne" (57:4) to oversee His work.

The On-Going Process of Creation: A distinct point is made to counter the Biblical idea of a day of rest: "We created the heavens and the earth and all that is between them in six days, nor did any sense of weariness touch Us" (50:38). Allah (s.w.t) is never "done" with His work, because the process of creation is on-going. Each new child who is born, every seed that sprouts into a sapling, every new species that appears on earth, is part of the on-going process of Allah (s.w.t)'s creation. "He it is Who created the heavens and the earth in six days, then established Himself on the Throne. He knows what enters within the heart of the earth, and what comes forth out of it, what comes down from heaven, and what mounts up to it. And He is with you wherever you may be. And Allah (s.w.t) sees well all that you do" (57:4).

The Quranic account of creation is in line with modern scientific thought about the development of the universe and life on earth. Muslims acknowledge that life developed over a long period of time, but see Allah (s.w.t)'s power behind it all. Descriptions of creation in the Quran are set in context to remind the readers of Allah (s.w.t)'s majesty and wisdom.
"What is the matter with you, that you are not conscious of Allah's majesty, seeing that it is He Who has created you in diverse stages? See you not how Allah has created the seven heavens one above another, and made the moon a light in their midst, and made the sun as a (glorious) lamp? And Allah has produced you from the earth, growing (gradually)" (71:13-17).

Life Came From Water The Quran describes that Allah "made from water every living thing" (21:30). Another verse describes how "Allah has created every animal from water. Of them are some that creep on their bellies, some that walk on two legs, and some that walk on four. Allah creates what He wills, for truly Allah has power over all things" (24:45). These verses support the scientific theory that life began in the Earth's oceans.

Place of Man In The Universe:

Introduction:

What is the appropriate conduct for man in this life and what is his place in the universe. These questions have always been of fundamental importance. Both are interconnected so that one cannot properly by answered without the other. Realisation of what status he has in this life influences man’s attitude. Just as an uninvited guest would not behave as the chief guest of a banquet, the attitude of one who regards himself as a cog of the machine will entirely be different from the user or controller of the machine. The former, bound to the machine, would move with its rotation and working while the latter will control the working of the machine to meet his own ends. Similarly if a man considers himself an animal, albeit a developed animal, he cannot rise to the ranks of human because despite the highest development, an animal will remain an animal. A monkey can learn a lot but cannot become Socrates or Aristotle, One who is mindful of his status of a crowning creation of the universe, a master-piece of the All-wise and All-powerful who breathed His soul in him and honoured him with His divine spark, will certainly have a very different attitude. This attitude is mainly regulated by man's status and responsibilities in relation to his position in the universe.

Ancient And Scholarly Point of View:

Regarding the above said questions and their answers; different thinkers, philosophers and intellectuals of all times can be categorized into 4 groups.
1) The first group of philosophers is of those who equated man with animals, worms, beasts, etc. In their opinion, man will meet the same fate as these animals. Man has no precedence over them. The difference in certain attributes is not of much importance as similar differences are also present among the animals themselves.
2) The second group is of those philosophers who hold man a part of universal machine; the importance is that of the machine and not of the part. The wheel of the universal machine is rotating and man, like everything else in the universe, is playing his role. He is tied to it and his end is tagged to it. Great philosophers including Spinoza are included this group.
3) The third group is of those for whom man is the subject and fundamental purpose of the creation of the universe. He is the crown creation and the whole universe has been designed to his purpose. This group includes all great philosophers like, Socrates, Sophists, Plato, Aristotle and Kant etc.
4) Our present day philosopher, under the influence of science, thinks that he will shortly conquer the universe with the help of science and will also become its lord and master. He does not attach any importance to Allah (s.w.t) and is dreaming to become its master himself. Obviously his position is different but, actually, he belongs to the third one.

Adam or Apes and Islamic Concept?

Where do human beings fit into the development of life on Earth? Scientific theories currently hold that Homo sapiens evolved from earlier forms of hominoid primates approximately 3 million to 6 million years ago. However, the lines of descent between species are widely debated and not proven.
While Islam recognizes the general idea of the development of life over a period of time, human beings are considered different. Islam teaches that human beings are a unique life form that was created by Allah (s.w.t) in a special way, with gifts and abilities that had not yet been seen on earth. In short, Muslims do not believe that human beings randomly evolved from apes. The Qur'an makes brief mention of a group of people who were punished by Allah (s.w.t) for their disobedience and transgression, “When in their insolence they transgressed [all] prohibitions, We said to them: ‘Be ye apes, despised and rejected’” (Qur'an 7:166).

Many Muslim scholars however interpret this to mean that these human beings were literally turned into apes by Allah (s.w.t) . Islam teaches that human beings are a special creation of Allah (s.w.t) , given a special nature and an important role. Therefore, human being is the prime creation of Allah (s.w.t). He says, "We have indeed honoured the children of Adam; spread them in the land and the sea, provided them with good things; and preferred them in esteem over many things that we have created." (17:70)

Consequently, the life of human beings began with the creation of two people, a male and a female named Adam and Hawwa (Eve) not from apes. The Quran describes how Allah created Adam: "We created man from sounding clay, from mud moulded into shape..." (15:26). And, "He began the creation of man from clay, and made his progeny from a quintessence of fluid" (32:7-8). Thus, human beings have a fundamental attachment to the earth. While the creation of Eve is not described in detail, the Quran does make it clear that a "mate" was created with Adam, from the same nature and soul. "It is He Who created you from a single person, and made his mate of like nature, in order that he might dwell with her in love" (7:189). She is not mentioned by name in the Qur'an, but in Islamic tradition she is known as "Hawwa" (Eve).

From these two individuals, generations of human beings have inhabited the earth. "Oh humankind! We created you from a single pair of a male and a female, and made you into nations and tribes, so that you may know each other (not that ye may despise each other). Verily the most honoured among you in the sight of Allah is the who is the most righteous of you. And Allah has full knowledge and is well acquainted (with all things)" (49:13).

Critical Analysis:

The philosophers in the first group did not realise the importance either of the universe or man, as if they found the precious ‘Koh-i-Noor’ pearl from the garbage and they mistook it to be a commonplace stone. Otherwise, it is a that if a person ponders over the greatness, sublimity, grandeur, modes and wonders of this universe, he is dumfounded by the great and ingenious universe. If someone has the audacity to call the Red Fort a stable, he would hardly be a same person? Only a fool would consider such a great universe, which is manifest of the highest wisdom, to be useless. It is impossible to believe the destiny of man to be that of animals in the face of his capabilities, intelligence, sagacity and potential. While sitting in his room, man is capable of measuring the distance of the sun from the earth and the time its rays reach the earth. It would be foolish to hold about such an intelligent being that he would die as an ass and come to his end just like an animal. Such a concept would negate the purposefulness of the universe as well as of mankind and would reduce this universe to as absurdity. If man perishes like other animals, the universe is deprived of its purpose and responsibility and accountability is lifted and the universe becomes a play boy's game who discards the game as soon as he has enjoyed it to the fill. Can it be said about the great universe full of wisdom that it is a playboy’s game without a purpose? Man – a thinking being – perceives the grandeur and magnificence of this universe and exclaims O Lord Ye created it not aimlessly.

In short, the universe as a whole is a creation of Allah (s.w.t) that created it for a purpose. Even everything which you witnessed today is cratered for a purpose. As Allah Says in Qur'an "We have not created the heavens and the earth, and all that is between them, for mere play, we created them not except with truth, but most of the do not know." [44: 38-39] Similarly, on another place Allah (s.w.t) says "We have not created the heavens and the earth and all that is between them for mere play. If We wanted to create aimless things, we would have done it if we were going to do (that)." [21:16-17]

Hence, Allah (s.w.t) has not created anything without purpose. Erath, Moon, Sun Galaxies these all the best creation of Allah (s.w.t) and these all are fully exploit in the wellbeing for human being. Human is also the beautiful creation of Allah (s.w.t) with a particular purpose as mentioned in Qur'an “And I did not Create the jinn and humans except they should worship Me.” [51:56] Similarly, at another place in Quran purpose of human creation is clearly mentioned “He Who created Death and Life, that He may test which of you is best in deed: and He is the Exalted in Might, Oft-Forgiving.” [67:2]

Faisla Bhai.. It is the best answer yaar. Very good attempt.

If you attempt like this in your papers, You can have atleaset 15/16.. Good Luck.

Originally Posted by ssara View Post
First of All you are welcome in this thread which is highly vital and beneficial for CSS-2013

I have checked the Paper of CE-12 and you are saying about this question.

Q.9. Describe the necessity and importance of religion for man and its effects on human life.

Right?

According to your gesturing, I think you have attempted it according to the need of the question that what was asked. But kindly attempt it here fully then we will be able to point out your mistakes and will surely let you know about your attempt exclusively. However, I am going to attempt this same question. And Shakeel has said rightly that you had attempted it according to the basic problem of human life it is also good idea to get your question attempted, with shakeel am adding that I think the question needs the necessity of religion plus its importance. After importance we have to discuses the religions’ effects which influence the human life. Hmmm… Ok I am going to attempt it right away and right now, just check it down and all members are requested to check this answer and you are free to criticize my attempt. It will highly be appreciated.

Here I am going to attempt this question now…….

Q.9. Describe the necessity and importance of religion for man and its effects on human life.

Introduction
Religion is the natural need of a man. It is the natural phenomenon. Without religion man can not spend his life with peacefully and prosperity. Besides human being wants to get physical and spiritual needs. No doubt, physical needs i.e., food, clothes and home is ease to asses but the spiritual needs are bit difficult because it can be attained by religion only. Religion is the best path for a man to spend his life according to certain laws, the laws that were made for human life nearly in all perspective. However, it is the religion’s influence, which teaches the man about good and bad deeds about wrong and right things exclusivly in missionary and divine sources. It is the religion which gets the human in peace and prosperity. Even, the atheists are going to start to follow a religion owing to frustration and demotivation from life. However, In this way religion has an outstanding importance and it is extremely necessary to follow a religion exclusively.

Necessity of Religion
Religion is the source which teaches the human being regarding the fixed laws which are made by God. However, there are certain beliefs in diverse religions. But it is a matter of fact, all people use to follow a single religion according to their beliefs and ground realties. It is the religion, which teaches about the existence of God, and Prophets. Nonetheless, The people who believe on Oneness of God what is said in Quran by Allah:

“Say: He is Allah, the One!, Allah, the eternally Besought of all!, He begets not, nor was He begotten, And there is none comparable unto Him.

Therefore, who believe in Oneness of God (ALLAH), establish the qualities of brotherhood, unity, love discipline, equality, honesty, justice and other more activities. Besides, man has gotten the knowledge of his basic problems and their solutions from the divine sources which were revealed on the Prophets in the certain times. Therefore, it can be said that the religion is the necessity of a man.

However, as a matter of fact that the religion is a universal truth. Many instances can be taken from history. In fact, different people have been following religions since Adam and according to the contemporary studies, it is also discussed that from the stone age what is called old Paleolithic, middle Paleolithic and till new ages have been following diverse religions in order to get their needs conducted practically. That is why a spiritual need of human life has an outstanding importance because human can not find it from anywhere except religion provides the solution of it. Therefore, in all perspective religion is extremely necessary in human life.

Importance of religions and its effect on Human life
The importance’s of religion can be discussed in the following synopsis.

Religion provides the solution concerning basic problems of human life
As a matter of fact, after Philosophy, Science and other sources have been doing remarkable job in order to tackle basic problems of human life. But, after having done a lot of efforts in philosophy by philosopher have been failed to answer the basic problems of human life what are called metaphysical questions that What is Universe, and Who is the creator of this Universe, about its purpose. Moreover, about human life that what is the main objective of human life in this world and what is the connection between human and God, and what is the importance of God and its creation of this universe and what is the notion of life after death. However, these sorts of questions have been solved by religions to the great extent. But the best religion what is called Islam has provided each an every thing regarding these questions’ concerns in order to solve them from the sources of Quran and Hadith.

Human concept of Soul and need of spiritualityReligion has an astonishing importance owing to spirituality. Like human’s physical needs i.e. food, clothes and shelter, the need of spirituality has an outstanding importance for fulfilling it by anyhow. And this need is fulfilled by Deen e Islam to the great extent effectively. Besides, other religion has tried their best to fulfil this need according to their beliefs. In Hinduism and Buddhism people use to go outside in a jungle for spending their time alone for getting peace, spirituality like sadhu’s exercise is the famous activities and same as the case with Buddhist people.

Religion provide will power in the time of adversity
An instance can be taken from the atheist people who do not follow any religion. Whenever they become frustrated form any thing and a limit cross and they people even commit suicide in that miserable and awful circumstances. On the other hand, to the other religions have certain beliefs, for instance according to the Last Prophet (SAW) has said that when ever you face any miserable problem just assume it that it is the will of Allah and the people will not commit suicide or any sort of thing which is uncommon.

Religions concept of Universe and its impact on human life
Religion provides the solution about a question that is ‘What is purpose of this universe’. However, some people use to bow before the sun, moon, sky and other similar natural thing because according to them these are the gods. However, according to the deen e Islam it has been cleared that the all creations of this universe have been done owing to comfortably of human life. Because, Allah says that this universe is made up for the temporary home of human being and one must not needs to preach them.

Life after death/Day of Judgment/Qayamat’s Importance in Religion and its effects on human life
One day this world has to be destroy. Because every thing which is made up naturally by the ALLAH, one day will have to be ended. This end is for Human life, Universe, and each an every thing. Even the end has to be gone to end. According to the belief of Islam, If one person who does bad deed will be punished in the time of qayamat and a person who does good deeds certainly be offered heaven by God. Every one will have to answer to God (ALLAH) about his bad and good deeds. Therefor according to the momin people who does not commit bad deeds will surely be award into Heaven by Almighty Allah. Therefore, it is the notion and concrete evidence in the western life that they are doing commit bad deeds because according to their religion they will be offered Heaven because they are superior, and this instance can be taken from Jews. An other example can be taken from Christianity. In a sect of Christianity, people use to do commit bad deeds by knowingly because according to them When Jesus Christ was going back, he kept along with him all of the bad deeds of his followers, therefore, the people who are committing bad deeds will not be punished because Jesus Christ will save them by anyhow.

Conclusion
To the conclude, religion is the basic need of human life like physical needs of a human and it is the natural truth that one can not spend his life with peacefully and prosperity without following a religion. Philosophers, scientists have tried their best to answer the basic problems of human life since many ages but have been failed to provide the solution so far. Although religions have solved all of these problems which are the most important in the human life. Religion teaches about the good and bad deeds, and also provides the way of life. That’s why it is the necessity of human life and has astonishing importance in this regard. Religion influence and boost the man to do well deeds, and teaches about the way of life exclusively. This is the religion which have provided peace and prosperity in this world.

Sara you are doing very very good job yaar. That is what we need in this forum. I appreciate your great work.

Saara your answer to this question is to be said to the point. Some arguments are still required. Such as about the conclusion and your introduction is good.

13/15 Score....