Old Friday, February 26, 2016
46th CTP (PAAS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2017 - Merit 230

Toru is on a distinguished road

While this discussion is fruitful , it's a lot more futile. Anticipating success has a heavier downside in the strict mathematical sense in css, for only ''nothing'' is certain.

Though it's interesting to see such critical insight into the precis, mind if i ask where the passage mentions John being George's ''friend''? might as well be a colleague, cousin, brother..who knows? Which make's the friend-designate a ''personal input'' -- strictly against the rules of a precis.

Another, scientific rule is that a precis should AT MOST be a third of its original passage. It is encouraged to write in as few words as possible not compromising the essentials of the passage, while at the same time not exceeding a third of its length.

These rules aren't only mentioned by Saadat Ali Shah but also on the English departments of Oxbridge/Toronto/New Orleans etc.

Besides, if such scientific rigidites were adhered to in CSS, kia hee baat hoti. Aur agar aisa hota, then all those who used the word: friend John/ befriended george etc fail he hotay. Par aisa hota nahi hai. I know people who've passed the essay without even completing it. Given that we, at the forum, have the leisure of time enabling such critical evaluation; examiners hardly give (assuming) more than 2-3 minutes to a paper. Tow just relax, and hope the examiner's in a generous mood the day your paper's being checked.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Toru For This Useful Post:
aniya warraich (Friday, February 26, 2016), Disillusioned (Friday, March 18, 2016), exclusively (Friday, February 26, 2016), Nazish Hina (Thursday, June 09, 2016)