Thursday, May 02, 2024
06:36 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Monday, February 16, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010

Thanked 1,291 Times in 524 Posts
Viceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to behold
Lightbulb My CSS Plan - Suggestions Invited

Dear Forum Members

I wish to have my first attempt in 2010
I like to do things in a kind of "organized" way

Below is a glimpse of where I am right now

1 - Occupational Group - Undecided as for yet but I think I would go for FSP, the reasons being,

1) The kind of person I am (Like to travel, Prefer Intellectual Development, Like to negotiate etc..)
2) I assume monetary benefits are higher in FSP and
3) I have not read any significant drawbacks of this group (uptill now) on cssforum or elsewhere... It seems kind of a "clean" place to me

Question : Is the above criteria fair enough for choosing an occupational group or are there any other factors as well that I should consider ?

2 - Preparation -

I have decided to go for the compulsory subjects first and then worry about the optional ones i.e. I am taking my time to decide my optionals, Once I am done with the compulsory ones, then I will start preparing the optionals

Question : Is that a good approach ?

3 - Preparing Compulsory Subjects

I have with me all the available past papers and I am making a list of suggested readings for each subject. I have started to prepare.... slowly

Questions:

Keeping in view the expected scoring trend in CE 2010 can you suggest me my optionals ?

Can you suggest me a precise list of readings for compulsory subjects especially for objectives ?

Is FSP the group I should be going for ?

Is there something I am missing uptill now, Do you have some other suggestions ?

Please do take a moment to leave your comment .... I'll be grateful
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: Qualifier: Awarded to those Members who cleared css written examination - Issue reason: Css 2010

Viceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to beholdViceroy is a splendid one to behold

Well Thanks for the consideration ranikhan , I have just graduated with my majors in Telecommunications Engineering ... I have been a good student I scored a CGPA of 3.2 which is not very easy when it comes to engineering.

Moreover, I have been relatively more comfortable with arts subjects e.g Sociology, Business Administration etc. (in other words.... I hate Maths)

Do let me know if you want to ask something else
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

Dear Forum Members

I wish to have my first attempt in 2010
I like to do things in a kind of "organized" way

Below is a glimpse of where I am right now

1 - Occupational Group - Undecided as for yet but I think I would go for FSP, the reasons being,

1) The kind of person I am (Like to travel, Prefer Intellectual Development, Like to negotiate etc..)
2) I assume monetary benefits are higher in FSP and
3) I have not read any significant drawbacks of this group (uptill now) on cssforum or elsewhere... It seems kind of a "clean" place to me

Question : Is the above criteria fair enough for choosing an occupational group or are there any other factors as well that I should consider ?
I think the criteria which you have set is enough to decide which service one should aspire to go into. Its all personal choice if you want to go FSP than that is the service you should go for, further more it fulfills the criteria you have set for yourself.

2 - Preparation -

I have decided to go for the compulsory subjects first and then worry about the optional ones i.e. I am taking my time to decide my optionals, Once I am done with the compulsory ones, then I will start preparing the optionals

Question : Is that a good approach ?
Given the fact that you have some time before you appear in the exam, i think it is a wise decision. Most senior's opine that css exam is all about the compulsory subjects. Most of the candidates who do not pass the exam fail in the compulsory subjects. So ensure that you have a sound grip over the compulsory subjects before you appear in the exam.

Questions:

Keeping in view the expected scoring trend in CE 2010 can you suggest me my optionals ?

As i told you earlier, the subject choice should be made according to one's aptitude. I would suggest you to opt for one subject in which you have done your last degree. You can add History ( Indo-Pak ), Sociology and Journalism to your list as well.
Can you suggest me a precise list of readings for compulsory subjects especially for objectives ?
Visit the begginer's section, complete set of books for all the subjects has been provided there.

Is FSP the group I should be going for ?
Definitely.

Is there something I am missing uptill now, Do you have some other suggestions ?
I think this is enough at this point of time .

Best of Luck

Viceroy (Monday, February 16, 2009)

Thanx moonsalpha

I'll consider you PA suggestion but what about .... like I said I feel like being in the FSP (All that travelling ... intellectual grooming thing)

I have seen the Computer Science past papers and I think Bachelors in Computer Engineering would be much more helpful in doing that... my courses are mostly core telecom engineering courses

Physics is maths infact the mummy of maths and I hate maths how can i be comfortable with the mom

Journalism ... Yes thats what i have been thinking of to opt

Any comments on my other questions ?

@ at MHM

Here is the man I was targetting
I saw you online and I tried to PM you as well, it didn't work but its OK ... you are here

But Mumtaz Bhai ... I was wondering if there was some book list for the objective parts ... EDS etc.

Last edited by Princess Royal; Tuesday, February 17, 2009 at 12:21 AM.
Khadim-e-Fareed
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: Roll Number 3208-CSS 2008Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Best Mod 2009Member of the Year: Awarded to those community members who have made invaluable contributions to the Community in the particular year - Issue reason: 2009Elite CSP Medal: Members who previously received (CSP Award  and Member of the Year Award ) OR (CSP award + Gold Medal + Medal of Appreciation) are eligible for this award. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,189 Times in 442 Posts
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to beholdMumtaz Hayat Maneka is a splendid one to behold

@AoA Shah je.

You can get everyday science by Kashmiri and Everyday science by Majeed book depot. At the end of these books are solved past papers of last 25 years so prepare all the objectives from these books specially Majeed Book Depot's book. Then prepare the theory, the objectives were easy ( talking about the last two years ). You need not worry much .

Best of Luck
Ayan Khan (Wednesday, February 18, 2009)

Rana G is on a distinguished road

@ MohsinShah I have been a good student I scored a CGPA of 3.2 which is not very easy when it comes to engineering.
Well Mr.Mohsin, it is very well said that "Self praise has not recommendation yani k Apne Moo Miyan Mithoo. Ur above statment imlying this quotation. I brotherly suggest u to always assume urself humble and never try to take urself above the sky. The overconfidance comes under perview of proudness and Allah badly dislike proud. My one cousin did B.SC Engineer from UET Lahore and always supposed himself some thing exceptional. He appeared in CSS and couldn't qualify in thrice efforts. Y? Simply he assumed other ppl the filth of earth and Allah learnt him lesson.

Although ur lust to compete in CSS is a good sign but ur boasting style is not stiff and Allah dislikes it. CSS is entirely different than routine education. Duzn't matter anybody is too good in MBA/MCS/BSC Engg etc. but CSS always give a hard time. Only one or two optional subjects out of ur studied course may be helpful 4 u. In rest, u hv to leave no stone unturned to get through. I will pray for u but never over-estimate urselfr. Try to be modest and meek otherwise result will b the same as my cousin has tasted (I hv told u ppl a true and factual story). Being having a broad mind I hope u hv got what I meant to convey. Try to act upon it. Thanx. Gud Luck.
Regard
The Following User Says Thank You to Rana G For This Useful Post:
Viceroy (Wednesday, February 18, 2009)
Old Tuesday, February 17, 2009
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 4th in Sindh UrbanMedal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason:

Arif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the roughArif Rao is a jewel in the rough
Post Dear MohsinShah,

It's good that you have planned a year ahead of the exams, I suggest you should start reading DAWN newspaper regularly, esp. the Front page, back page, international, World in focus, Friday Feature and editorials etc.
This would help you in compulsory subjects like Current Affairs, Essay & English, Islamiat, and some optionals e.g. I.R.
Hope this info will be useful.
Old Tuesday, February 17, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - 13th in Sindh Urban

Frankenstein of css will become famous soon enough

@ MohsinShah
And last bhai planning kay saath do the hard work too yaar Its really a hard nut to crack preparing for 12 subjects and especially appearing in the very exhaustive routine where one has to face with two papers in a day. and the next day you are faced with another
aik aur dary ka samna tha munir
jo mein aik darya key paar utra
(or some thing like that)
One in the morning and the other in the evening
I am sure that you will be an inspiration to the other guys who would be appearing in 2011

@ fahad khan
No preference will be given to a candidate for promotion however there is a provision for special remuneration for PHDs officers in bureaucracy . They get an extra salary for that feat.
Old Wednesday, February 18, 2009

moonsalpha is on a distinguished road
Thumbs up Im also Telecom Engineer Major Wireless

BROTHER!
  • Don't see the Dept. now, just Aim for your favorite one.
  • All depts. have their own Charms.
  • I'm Telecommunication Engineer Batch SP-04 and get the Degree in Feb.09.
  • My Majors were totally Wireless Next Generation Telecommunication.
In my opinion, Telecom Engineer can do batter then any one else, because of we are the one who runs with the speed of Technology and Twice the Speed of Time.
Brother, Physics can save 100 Marks subject . And it can be quite easy for Engineer, While There is no Mathes in it.
And by the way, as I know the Curriculum of Engineering we have to study Mathes in all 8 Semesters .

Else, Computer Science is very easy for Us .
Engineer can do any thing. we are well organized and dependable.
brother just faith in ur own self, Aim and Hit, Aim and Hit, Aim and Hit. there is nothing, in ur way. U have a Aim. and as I know Personally, Engineers They can do any thing, If you ever doubt, Brother think back of ur FYP. What U have Invented in FYP. Think again, tell everyone, If U really Invented something That might make a difference, then U can do any thing. and Well done U got more then 3 GPA , and Brother I know how we earn that GPAs, Its all about Changing the World Frequently and Successfully .

Bro! If wanna study real good books, go for Jahangir Publishers
for Public Administration go for Dr.Karamat Azim (DG. CSA, LAHORE)
CURRENT AFFAIRS AND PAK. AFFAIRS BY IMTAZ SHAHID
Old Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Originally Posted by Rana G
Well Mr.Mohsin, it is very well said that "Self praise has not recommendation yani k Apne Moo Miyan Mithoo. Ur above statment imlying this quotation. I brotherly suggest u to always assume urself humble and never try to take urself above the sky. The overconfidance comes under perview of proudness and Allah badly dislike proud. My one cousin did B.SC Engineer from UET Lahore and always supposed himself some thing exceptional. He appeared in CSS and couldn't qualify in thrice efforts. Y? Simply he assumed other ppl the filth of earth and Allah learnt him lesson.

Although ur lust to compete in CSS is a good sign but ur boasting style is not stiff and Allah dislikes it. CSS is entirely different than routine education. Duzn't matter anybody is too good in MBA/MCS/BSC Engg etc. but CSS always give a hard time. Only one or two optional subjects out of ur studied course may be helpful 4 u. In rest, u hv to leave no stone unturned to get through. I will pray for u but never over-estimate urselfr. Try to be modest and meek otherwise result will b the same as my cousin has tasted (I hv told u ppl a true and factual story). Being having a broad mind I hope u hv got what I meant to convey. Try to act upon it. Thanx. Gud Luck.
Regard

Thank you very much Rana G for your advice, in fact, I feel that if I were proud and over-confident etc. I wouldn't have posted this thread to invite suggestions from all the members.

The post that you have quoted was in response to another member's inquiry regarding my educational career ... I felt that it may be helpful for her if I tell her that I am good at studies or not ... moreover, I have also said in a previous post that I hate maths ... I have been passing all maths and calculus related courses with a grade no more than C+

I firmly believe that CSS is a journey of self exploration ... some thing much more and bigger than the privileges associated with it and to be successful in that journey one has to be humble

Hope this clarifies the impression you got and thanks again for the concern you have shown

Warm regards

Last edited by Mumtaz Hayat Maneka; Wednesday, February 18, 2009 at 01:48 AM. Reason: Thanks, we already had the idea but our respected member had other ideas, its so nice of you to have satisfied him.
The Following User Says Thank You to Viceroy For This Useful Post:
Mumtaz Hayat Maneka (Wednesday, February 18, 2009)