-   CSS Competitive Examination (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/)
-   -   Is CSS really a competitive exam? (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/css-competitive-examination/48942-css-really-competitive-exam.html)

aariz Sunday, May 15, 2011 08:38 PM

[QUOTE=suman;301639]Doing away with optional subject will no create much difference in my opinion.blaming scoring or non-scoring trend will not serve the purpose.i wonder people still believe in scoring and non-scoring subjects after seeing the result of islamic history,journalism and sociology last year which were considered as high scoring subjects.when fpsc is trying to break this trend why we can't.i believe we should try to give our best to any subject that we opt and left the rest to Allah and examiner to do justice with us.this is the competition and best will win it.:vic[/QUOTE]

He is the ALLAH who writes our fate. Thus, it means we leave everything on ALLAH, and we should not improve the method?

[QUOTE=khuram_khokhar;301696]According to me it is a competative exam but only for Punjabians and KPK persons. they have to compete for even a single score wheras this is not same with sindh and balochistan.[/QUOTE]
Sindh is divided into Urban and rural. U want open merit system?

[QUOTE=game on;301733]WELL, dear, you are absoutely right when you say that you have a right to express your point of view in no uncertain terms and i vow to defend your right to the end!
NOW, get down to the business!

AGIAN, agreed that its your aptitude that earns maximum marks. Please tell me, if i can score 100/100 in any subject if i have so called aptitude in any subject execpt mathematics? i have so called aptitude in sociology, but i cant help secure 100/100 ever in my life! DEAR, do not confuse aptitude with low/high scoring phenomenon. To me, its not a myth! A genuine fact!
IF you still disagree, then, i would agree to disagree!:dd[/QUOTE]

Agreed, dont confuse aptitude with low n hi scoring phenomenon. Aptitude and hardworking are different.

[QUOTE=Ultimate CSP;301634]But if there will be no optional subjects, it will be injustice with science students. As students of History and political science and literature students already get an edge in general knowledge papers...[/QUOTE]

The exam can be blend of arts and science subjects, but all shall be compulsory.

[QUOTE=Shafique Malik;301640]We should never take a concept of low scoring or high scoring subjects. We

should subjects according to our taste and work hard. If you select high scoring

subjects and never work hard you can't qualify. But when you choose difficult

subjects and work hard with trust so you will be succeed. :))[/QUOTE]

I am not talking about low scoring and high scoring trend. What are ur views regarding the exams pattern?

mukt Sunday, May 15, 2011 09:13 PM

I think it's a competitive exam because not one or two but all aspirants are given the chance to chose optional subjects of their choice while 6 subjects remain compulsory for all so everyone is given a chance to pickup subjects of their own choice in which they think they can score or are good

However, If there are 12 subjects and all compulsory, that will help aspirants save a month or two which they often waste wondering about the correct optional subject selection, hahahah

also, I don't think there is low scoring or high scoring subjects. If you perform better in any subject you will get marks accordingly.

Usman Cheema Tuesday, May 17, 2011 12:52 PM

[QUOTE=mukt;301826]I think it's a competitive exam because not one or two but all aspirants are given the chance to chose optional subjects of their choice while 6 subjects remain compulsory for all so everyone is given a chance to pickup subjects of their own choice in which they think they can score or are good

However, If there are 12 subjects and all compulsory, that will help aspirants save a month or two which they often waste wondering about the correct optional subject selection, hahahah

also, I don't think there is low scoring or high scoring subjects. If you perform better in any subject you will get marks accordingly.[/QUOTE]

You are right that all of the candidates get a chance to opt the subjects of their choice but the problem is that some candidates are forced to opt certain subjects on which they do not have good grip just because of this that, that particular subject is rendered as high scoring and vice versa. In this way real talent remains veiled. Moreover, You do not think that there are any high or low scoring subjects but in reality there are. The problem lies here that in some subjects candidates are not rewarded according to their hardwork while in others candidates get much more without much hardwork. This thing need to be rectified.

khanbaba512 Tuesday, May 17, 2011 01:23 PM

Some discrimination will remain ..even if all the subjects are made compulsory.i think we have a choice and we can opt the subjects which we think are HIGH SCORING..this is not the fault of FPSC..they never said "[B]opt ARABIC this is high scoring just two tenses[/B]..If A is good in Arabic,and B is good in Urdu..then its is not the fault of FPSC that if A opted urdu and B opted Arabic and didn't scored well..before filling the forms..you have ample opprtunity to consider your options..If you are good in sciences,go for it...they are not going to compel you for SINDHI aur PASHTO paper..

Suman Tuesday, May 17, 2011 01:58 PM

[QUOTE=khanbaba512;302683]Some discrimination will remain ..even if all the subjects are made compulsory.i think we have a choice and we can opt the subjects which we think are HIGH SCORING..this is not the fault of FPSC..they never said "[B]opt ARABIC this is high scoring just two tenses[/B]..If A is good in Arabic,and B is good in Urdu..then its is not the fault of FPSC that if A opted urdu and B opted Arabic and didn't scored well..before filling the forms..you have ample opprtunity to consider your options..If you are good in sciences,go for it...they are not going to compel you for SINDHI aur PASHTO paper..[/QUOTE]

:clap fully agreed.but koi samjhay na dear!:))

Usman Cheema Tuesday, May 17, 2011 02:56 PM

[QUOTE=khanbaba512;302683]Some discrimination will remain ..even if all the subjects are made compulsory.i think we have a choice and we can opt the subjects which we think are HIGH SCORING..this is not the fault of FPSC..they never said "[B]opt ARABIC this is high scoring just two tenses[/B]..If A is good in Arabic,and B is good in Urdu..then its is not the fault of FPSC that if A opted urdu and B opted Arabic and didn't scored well..before filling the forms..you have ample opprtunity to consider your options..If you are good in sciences,go for it...they are not going to compel you for SINDHI aur PASHTO paper..[/QUOTE]

What discrimination will remain? Explain please. Considering your example what if A opts Arabic and B opts Urdu, both are good at their subjects but A scores higher because Arabic is a scoring subject and B is not able to score that much due this unjustified trend? It is the fault of FPSC that some subjects are scoring and some are not. Isn't it unjustice with those students who have background in such low scoring subjects?

mukt Tuesday, May 17, 2011 03:00 PM

[QUOTE=Usman Cheema;302674]You are right that all of the candidates get a chance to opt the subjects of their choice but the problem is that some candidates are forced to opt certain subjects on which they do not have good grip just because of this that, that particular subject is rendered as high scoring and vice versa. In this way real talent remains veiled.[/quote]

You are probably right but then again If 12 subjects are made compulsory some people will be lucky enough having good understanding of all those 12 subjects while on other hand some people might not be well versed with most of them so I think the optional subject option is relatively better but that's just what I think, I can be wrong, of course.

[quote]Moreover, You do not think that there are any high or low scoring subjects but in reality there are. The problem lies here that in some subjects candidates are not rewarded according to their hardwork while in others candidates get much more without much hardwork. This thing need to be rectified.

Regards,[/QUOTE]

I personally have not attempted the Exam yet so my own views are not based on experience however what I hear from here and there is the same as you say but that doesn't go down my throat for some odd reason.

What according to you or others are scoring subjects though? Just curious in knowing some names :)

khanbaba512 Tuesday, May 17, 2011 04:43 PM

then don't select the subject which is LOW SCORING from your point of view..i never scored morethan 60 in URDU doesn't mean that nobody can score better than that..there is no continuous trend is css exams..Accounting is considered a high scoring subject but not every year..but still no body is forcing you to select a perticular subject..if some body is willing to select only HIGH SCORING SUBJECT then he can select applied mathematics,pure maths,physics,chemistry etc...most of the students know 2+2 in maths..as far as discrimination is concerned..[I]tu bhai ksi ne nahi kaha tha k MATHS parho ya RIAZEEEE[/I] ...fpsc can't satisfy every css aspirant..ok suppose that they have selected 6 more subjects and now the total cumpulsory subjects are 12 new subjects are
1:Economics
2:public administration
3:urdu
4:islamic history
5:international relations
6:constitutional law

Now there is no way that one person is expert in all the subjects..he have to work hard to remove his weakness in some subjects..so osme students will say that still there is discrimination and another thread with the name "Discrimination with science students":happy:

by the way tell me ..you can't have 98 numbers in english but u can gain 96,97 marks in mathematics...do you think that this is discrimination or ...

Usman Cheema Thursday, May 19, 2011 11:07 AM

[QUOTE=mukt;302731]You are probably right but then again If 12 subjects are made compulsory some people will be lucky enough having good understanding of all those 12 subjects while on other hand some people might not be well versed with most of them so I think the optional subject option is relatively better but that's just what I think, I can be wrong, of course.[/QUOTE]We are not saying to make all 12 subjects as compulsories, they can be reduced to 8 or 10. Furthermore, I think if one intends to compete on such a level then he should be well versed with a greater number of subjects.
[QUOTE=mukt;302731]I personally have not attempted the Exam yet so my own views are not based on experience however what I hear from here and there is the same as you say but that doesn't go down my throat for some odd reason.[/QUOTE]
Perhaps you will understand this phenomenon better when you will experience it your self.
[QUOTE=mukt;302731]What according to you or others are scoring subjects though? Just curious in knowing some names :)[/QUOTE]
Explore the forum, you will get an idea:).
[QUOTE=khanbaba512;302784]then don't select the subject which is LOW SCORING from your point of view..i never scored morethan 60 in URDU doesn't mean that nobody can score better than that..there is no continuous trend is css exams..Accounting is considered a high scoring subject but not every year..but still no body is forcing you to select a perticular subject..if some body is willing to select only HIGH SCORING SUBJECT then he can select applied mathematics,pure maths,physics,chemistry etc...most of the students know 2+2 in maths..as far as discrimination is concerned..[I]tu bhai ksi ne nahi kaha tha k MATHS parho ya RIAZEEEE[/I] ...fpsc can't satisfy every css aspirant..ok suppose that they have selected 6 more subjects and now the total cumpulsory subjects are 12 new subjects are
1:Economics
2:public administration
3:urdu
4:islamic history
5:international relations
6:constitutional law

Now there is no way that one person is expert in all the subjects..he have to work hard to remove his weakness in some subjects..so osme students will say that still there is discrimination and another thread with the name "Discrimination with science students":happy:

by the way tell me ..you can't have 98 numbers in english but u can gain 96,97 marks in mathematics...do you think that this is discrimination or ...[/QUOTE]
I am sorry man I am not getting what you are trying to say here.

Hamza Salick Thursday, May 19, 2011 11:28 AM

I maintain my views..that there should be a greater uniformity in the standard of process used to select the Civil servants..It is the need of the hour to phase out the 'luck factor' from CSS examinations..After all.what justice is this that someone opting for Persian,US history,European history etc has a better chance of getting through than someone choosing Public Add,Economics,Indo Pak history etc,the kind of subjects that are much more relevant and useful for this kind of service...why do u need some1 well versed with persian or U.S history when it isn't going to help a bit in the line of work..There should be a single list of subjects and everyone should be judged on those.I think these compulsory subjects should be added to the list of the ones already compulsory:

Public Administration
Development and general economics
Computer Skills and basic IT
Sociology
Indo-Pak history
Basic Law of the land

Ek taraf hum apni ghulamana zahniyat ka rona rotay hein,doosri taraf we have subjects like American and British history in our CIVIL SERVICES exam...I don't find any sense in this..

02:03 PM (GMT +5)