Friday, May 10, 2024
08:53 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > CSS Competitive Examination

CSS Competitive Examination The Central Superior Services Examination is conducted every year for induction to Group 17 of the Civil Services

Old Saturday, April 28, 2012

MAhmed61O is on a distinguished road
Default My Reservations!

Hi Though i want to persue my career in some other field but my parents are forcing me 4 CSS.
I paid a visit @ FPSC site & This forum & witnissed aspirants queries & Exam & syllabus structure.
Here are my reservations in respect to CSS when i compare it wid other Qualifications.(i know many will say there's no comparison but the ultimate end of any Qualification is to get a Job So it make sense when a comparison is made)
anyway, here comes my reservations:
1) There's a wide range of subjects to choose from & No. Of Occupational Groups in which One is recruited. But There is No Set Criteria 4 it.
Like if FPSC like to recruit anyone in PAAS or iTG then the a Professional Chartered Accountant is most suitable to fill such post but by looking @ Profiles of CSPs who are recruited in PAAS or iTG i was shocked that they dont have opted Accounting&Auditing. Instead they opted subjects 4rm Group & Others.
Many will say that 12 month of STP is provided But sorry to say Chartered Accountancy is'nt a Game of One year. As iCAP's CA qualification is of 6 yrs.
So there's a BiG Question mark on such Recruitment.
2) Salary: Salary is not attractive enough 4 a good living. Many will say that in Civil Service Salary is irrelevant tou for those i will say k in this time of inflation if salary doesnt matter then i would tend to think k since salary doesnt matter tou civil servants shayad Bandooq k Zor par hi Koi Cheez kharidtay hongay
3) Promotions: Here promotions are based on seniority & on Political refrence rather then Performance based promotions.
There are other reservations but first please answer theze.
Old Sunday, April 29, 2012

Hassan Razzaq will become famous soon enough

subjects- well interview panel has the right to allocate anybody in any group all the same he is first or the last on merit, so hopefully thwy will select the suitable person for thay group
salary- salary is handsome and there are some other prevaliges like education of 2 children is free, discounts for ambassadors, allowences, u get plots at retirement and pension, house accomodation, convaince and other facilities like servants are there, one can have a good and comfortable life
promotion- remember one thing, promotions are mostly on merit base but transfers are political.. your promotion depends on your hardwork, courses etc
css is a government job and if you compare it with any other government job then you will find that it is the best one among all jobs
now you cant compare css with business, as their is no policy making and country serving opportunity in business, every job has some special advantages on others, and css is not made for good salary etc but for care taking, reaponaibility and betterment of our beloved country and her people
sarfaraz shami (Tuesday, May 01, 2012)
Super Moderator
Moderator: Ribbon awarded to moderators of the forum - Issue reason: Best Moderator Award: Awarded for censoring all swearing and keeping posts in order. - Issue reason: Diligent Service Medal: Awarded upon completion of 5 years of dedicated services and contribution to the community. - Issue reason:

Thanked 1,987 Times in 1,041 Posts
Amna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud ofAmna has much to be proud of

Originally Posted by MAhmed61O View Post
:
1) There's a wide range of subjects to choose from & No. Of Occupational Groups in which One is recruited. But There is No Set Criteria 4 it.
Like if FPSC like to recruit anyone in PAAS or iTG then the a Professional Chartered Accountant is most suitable to fill such post but by looking @ Profiles of CSPs who are recruited in PAAS or iTG i was shocked that they dont have opted Accounting&Auditing. Instead they opted subjects 4rm Group & Others.
Many will say that 12 month of STP is provided But sorry to say Chartered Accountancy is'nt a Game of One year. As iCAP's CA qualification is of 6 yrs.
It is not just a job to perform duties regarding particular field , its is job to administrate with some professionalism the professionals, so need some more qualities and abilities. You can even see that eligibility criteria is Bachelor (simple B.A) only. The candidate selected definitely competent for that post. There are lot of example that the people with very good professional record and command in their respective fields badly failed at administration level. So you should keep in mind that its not a exam for degree , its is competitive exam and one have to prove himself that he is enough competent. Professional are there to guide and help them when required.

2) Salary: Salary is not attractive enough 4 a good living. Many will say that in Civil Service Salary is irrelevant tou for those i will say k in this time of inflation if salary doesnt matter then i would tend to think k since salary doesnt matter tou civil servants shayad Bandooq k Zor par hi Koi Cheez kharidtay hongay
Are CSP's living miserable live? No ,they got BPS-17 ,if i am not wrong it is a very good starting cos a MBBS or a Engineers also starts with the same grade in Govt.sector and all have almost same basic pay, but CSP have some extra privileges as mentioned by Hassan Razzaq like free education of kids, discounts allowances,free accommodation etc ,but most important and attractive is social prestige. Although, they haven't got too too much salary but what they get, they can easily spend a comfortable life in that.

Its now depends upon someone what aspire him,only money or some prestige or both. Choice is open. You can found many from professional careers to Civil Servant , but hardly found Civil Servant to professional , cos here they can carry on both at a time with prestige and if they continues and improve their qualification in their respective field , chances increases to get promotion and other advantages as well like increments etc. etc.

3) Promotions: Here promotions are based on seniority & on Political refrence rather then Performance based promotions.

Yea, true, but this practice is common and applied on all department now a days .Performance itself is a proof of someone ability and got attention . If someone is not guilty , at least he will be satisfied.

In the last, It is recommended go for that ,for what you have aptitude .

Best Wishes

MAhmed61O is on a distinguished road

((promotions are mostly on
merit base but transfers are political.. your promotion depends on your hardwork, courses etc))

=>yar recently the media has highlighted One Case where a senior minister while using his
influence got double promotion
for her wife, who is a teacher in the department. The posting
of a teacher as additional
secretary, which is a cadre
post, was murder of merit
There are many stories like this & Inhi Reservations ko lay kar a petition has been filed in S.Court these days.
One more thing k Govt. mein Fire karnay ka Concept nahi hai but agar koi individual stick with their principles tou they transfer him/her somewhere else& get a new person to get their work done so it is a discouraging factor.

((now you cant compare css with business, as their is no policy
making and country serving
opportunity in business))

=>yar business managers are also involve in policy making process Like C&T group cant make any policy without the consent of chamber of commerce.
I believe u might remember k since last year govt. is trying to implement Value Added Tax but Wo kyon nahi kar paa rahay B.coz Unsay Powerful Group bhi hai jinkay saamnay they cant do anything Aur Humari Foreign Policy & Defence Policy r also prepared by GHQ & in GHQ
hence proved that CSS People r not the Policy makerz.

((its is job to administrate
with some professionalism the
professionals, so need some
more qualities and abilities. You can even see that eligibility
criteria is Bachelor (simple B.A)
only))

=>yar Since the nature of job is to administrate then MBA graduate 4rm Topmost university is The Most suitable B.coz MBAs ko Zyada Knowledge hoti hai Management Theories Aur Unki application ki Unlike simple Graduate B.coz MBAs ko Practical Exposure bhi hota hai as thay go through internships

((You can found many from
professional careers to Civil
Servant , but hardly found Civil
Servant to professional))

=> yar i really dont know k why MBBS Doctor or other professionals joins civil service i mean my sister is in her last year of MBBS, she always aim to specialized in Dermatology aur hota bhi yehi hai k apni hi field mein specialised kro Otherwise it makes them Jack of All Master of None.
Why professionals join Civil Service?One reason which i understand is this k Wo shayad Ratta laga kar pass tou ho jatay hongay but They wont be competent enough to pursue their profession in the practical world.

((In the last, It is recommended go for that ,for what you have
aptitude))

=> 100% Agree! But Yar yehi tou maslaa hai k There'z no Rite job 4 the Rite Person here in civil service.
Old Monday, April 30, 2012

asad ikram is on a distinguished road
Talking

Originally Posted by MAhmed61O View Post
Hi Though i want to persue my career in some other field but my parents are forcing me 4 CSS.
I paid a visit @ FPSC site & This forum & witnissed aspirants queries & Exam & syllabus structure.
Here are my reservations in respect to CSS when i compare it wid other Qualifications.(i know many will say there's no comparison but the ultimate end of any Qualification is to get a Job So it make sense when a comparison is made)
anyway, here comes my reservations:
well its all about social prestige...money is not everything..but to earn a money with honour is an achievment of life...a matric failed man can earn money more than a CSP officer but without any social respect in the society..
so CSS is all about social prestige and honour...and transfers and promotions haha..this is pakistan..so its all political matter...
Old Monday, April 30, 2012

stranger498 is on a distinguished road

dude there is a Quote about your situation that

"For a non-believer,no proof is legit and for a believer no proof is needed"

its all in your head,if you persue it on your own you can do it the best but if you are forced to do it then even if you are Topper of CA worldwide,sill you'll fail to deliver in this exam.
All the members have given you the right answersto your "RESERVAIONS" but as you have made your own mind(as it can be seen by self answered question in the start) so i don't think that we'll be able to persue you for this thing.