Tuesday, May 07, 2024
06:22 PM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions Please read the posts before posting the queries.

Old Tuesday, July 28, 2009
39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 222

floydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to all
Default Attention! ASP Adil Memon

First of all please accept my heartiest congratulations and best wishes for your allocation to Police Service of Pakistan. May you have a bright, secure and prosperous career(ameen).

Second of all, you are about join the prestigious CSA and would have less time checking out the ccssforum. Afterwards you'll be having your STP and finally UT-ship. I just want to make a request to you that whenever you get the time, please keep us informed in the future about your training, experience etc. Brother, please be assured that your success in CSS and allocation to PSP is a huge motivation for me and many other CSS aspirants.

Hopefully and confidently, I am looking forward to become your junior inshallah. Your contribution, therefore, matters a lot on this esteemed forum.

tu shaheen hai basera kar paharon ki chatano par
tere saamnay aasmaa aur bhi hai

regards,
floydian
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to floydian For This Useful Post:
Adil Memon (Monday, August 10, 2009), kamran atari (Sunday, August 09, 2009)
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

floydian,

thank you so much for the warm wishes and greetings. i'm so happy.

well, there's still a long way to go before joining the csa and npa. i'm quite sure someone of us will always be here. it's a jumbo batch after all. and i've heard they don't teach anything meaningful at csa. so this forum will definitely come in handy to end our boredom.

i like your penchant for getting inspiration from others rather than killing yourself with jealousy. you already have the right attitude. you just need to work hard now.

the rest is all with Allah. all the best with your venture.

regards,

PS: i am not yet an ASP. it will take time.

Adil Memon
Police Service of Pakistan (P.S.P)
37th Common Training Program

Last edited by Adil Memon; Tuesday, July 28, 2009 at 11:36 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
floydian (Tuesday, July 28, 2009)

idresee is on a distinguished road
Yes Mr. Adil you have done..... but (Race is not over yet--------tere sameney aasman aur bhi he)

any way CONGRATULATIONS from me (a sindhi )

The Following User Says Thank You to idresee For This Useful Post:
Adil Memon (Monday, August 10, 2009)
Old Friday, July 31, 2009

Sammar Ellahi is on a distinguished road

Above all Adil has got this achievement in the age of "23".

Yaar Adil, how were u able to demonstrate MATURITY in front of the interview panel. Because, I guess that your age at the time of interview would have been around 22 - 22.5 years. Getting into PSP at this age is really wonderful and amazing. Your parents must be very proud of you

I remember that you had said that you will REVEAL something about your Essay experince, but only after the final allocation is announced. What was that??
The Following User Says Thank You to Sammar Ellahi For This Useful Post:
Adil Memon (Monday, August 10, 2009)
Old Monday, August 10, 2009
Medal of Appreciation: Awarded to appreciate member's contribution on forum. (Academic and professional achievements do not make you eligible for this medal) - Issue reason: CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2008 - Merit 120

Adil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really niceAdil Memon is just really nice

aariz,

i just saw this post today. every time someone highlights my achievement, i feel very glad. thank you so much.

yes, you are right about my age. and as far as displaying maturity before the interview panel is concerned, i don't think i did well on that front. it was the very first interview of my life. since i thought i hadn't done well in my written exams and a css topper also predicted for me that i wouldn't score more than 610 in my written part (due to my optionals and my penchant for taking things easy), i was sort of demoralized. i didn't really prepare much for interview. for me, css was about a particular group. otherwise, just an experience helpful in attempting it again.

then, the day came. it wasn't easy to defend PSP as a first choice before the psychological test panel and interview panel. anyway, during the group discussion in psychological test, i angrily shouted at a colleague for not letting me and others have a turn to speak. my psychological test interview was however excellent. the final interview was a disaster. i was badly trapped by the chairman in an argument on 2 different questions. he prevailed on both. in the end, i even gave him an odd retort which i believe i should not have. Revenge!! hahaha

anyway, the forces behind destiny were at work. even though i got an average interview score (147), but my written score (678) and psychological test result probably bailed me out. and let's not forget that i had the domicile of Sindh (R) .

none of the essay topics i had prepared was posed in the exam. i had to improvise. i wasn't satisfied with my performance in it. i thought i had digressed a little bit. my handwriting wasn't attractive. my answer sheet was snatched while i was underlining the quotations. once, a css qualifier (a sindh-pcs topper in his turn) awarded me 10/100 marks on an essay i gave him for checking. i was short of confidence. so i kind of lost enthusiasm for attempting rest of the exams. they were now just a formality.

but see, despite all the mistakes, loss of interest, dissatisfaction and misguided fears, i still got my first choice. so i advise all the candidates not to feel down even if things don't go the way they want. there will be detractors who'll tell you that you're not good enough. the best thing to do is to ignore them. when Allah has decided to give you something, is there anyone greater than Him?

Moral: believe in yourself. miracles happen. my story is a case in point.

regards,

PS: aariz, you're a personal acquaintance and distant relative now. so your emails will be given a reply on priority basis. and you can also address threads/posts in my name. no problem.

Adil Memon

Last edited by Adil Memon; Monday, August 10, 2009 at 06:31 PM.
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
Fadee (Tuesday, October 13, 2009), floydian (Tuesday, August 11, 2009), Muhammad Ali Awan (Monday, August 10, 2009)
Old Monday, August 10, 2009

amina1 is on a distinguished road
Default Need ur guide

Simply wao! Allah apko nazar-e-bad say bachay. Ameen. Now plz guide me about constitu law and political science. How much books u consult 4 preprtn n plz mention their names. Plz let us knw how much time in months is required 4 css preptin n how many hour per day as u do. Wish u best of luck in future.
Old Tuesday, August 11, 2009

amina1,

thanks for the prayers. i studied a lots of books for both subjects. let me mention their names first:

constitutional law: (my score was 56)

a comparative study of constitutions by sarfaraz akhund
select modern constitutions - v. d. mahajan
modern world constitutions - mazharul haq
constitutional history and development in pakistan - Mansoor Publishers
B.A. Part-II guide book for Political Science

Political Science: (my score was 57+72=129)

Part-1:
Western thought:
Western Political Thought - G. H. Sabine [this was very difficult to understand]
Western Political Thought : From Plato to Present by Judd Harmon
Western Political Thought - Dr. B. R. Bhandari

Muslim Thought: [you can skip this part like i did]
Muslim Political Thought by Muhammad Aslam Chaudhary
Muslim Political Thought by H. K. Sherwani

Principles:
Modern Political Principles by J. C. Jouhari
Principles of Political Science by an unknown author (some eminent indian professor, book was in question-answer format, in yellow cover)

Part-2:
For this part, i read the same books as of Constitutional Law and studied the additional constitutions from Internet.

note: all the names in bold are recommended for you

my way:
i had a long time to go before i was eligible in respect of age and qualification. so i built up my academic base for the first two years. during this time i read different books extensively just to learn the basic concepts.

when i was left with five months before exams, i started my exam-specific study keeping in view the question papers. so you can say, my exam related preparation was around 5 months.

i don't advocate such long periods of study as i was myself exhausted when exam were nearing. the time required for preparation is variable for candidates with different intelligence, study skills and retention power. i was just an intermediate when i began. you decide yourself how long will it take you.

further questions are welcome.

regards,

Adil Memon
The Following User Says Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
floydian (Tuesday, August 11, 2009)

amina1 is on a distinguished road
Default Thanks.

Thanks for quick reply. I wil prepare 4rm Jude Harmon's plato to the present. Is it enough 4 westrn or i should also go 4 some other books. Plz let me knw which country constitu is most important? And plz also guide 4 islamic studies, everyday scie, pakistan affairs, current affairs and english. Plz mention one book 4 each. May Allah bless you.
Adil Memon (Tuesday, August 11, 2009)
39th CTP (PSP)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2010 - Merit 222

floydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to allfloydian is a name known to all

Originally Posted by amina1
Thanks for quick reply. I wil prepare 4rm Jude Harmon's plato to the present. Is it enough 4 westrn or i should also go 4 some other books. Plz let me knw which country constitu is most important? And plz also guide 4 islamic studies, everyday scie, pakistan affairs, current affairs and english. Plz mention one book 4 each. May Allah bless you.
@amina1

Brother Adil Memon would definitely enlighten us more on your query.

Meanwhile, let me answer your questions.

In addition to Jude Harmon's book i would suggest another book which is in question-answer form. It is titled as Western Political Thought and published by 'Evernew Book Palace Urdu Bazar Lahore'. I f you manage to get hold of this book, I am sure, you would spend less time in preparing the Western Political Thought with great command on all important questions on western political thought.

Regarding constitutional law paper, the constitutions of USA, UK and Pakistan are most important. You also must prepare important questions on either Indian or French constitution. I would recommend question-answer type book for this paper which is titled as World Constitutions by Sohail Bhatti. The book comprehensively covers all important CSS questions with great depth and countless quotations. Also check the internet to keep yourself updated with latest constitutional developments.

Note: Please take some time and go through this august forum to avoid repetitive questions. Our respected seniors have already covered almost all the questions regarding subjects, preparation, books, strategy, tips, experiences etc.

regards,
floydian
The Following User Says Thank You to floydian For This Useful Post:
Adil Memon (Tuesday, August 11, 2009)

amina1,

judd harmon has an amazing writing style. i always wanted to imitate it. anyway, the book is indeed very good. but there's one problem with the book. the writer hasn't distinguished different aspects of the philosophies under different headings which would have made it easy to prepare answers to questions.

the other book i suggested, by dr. b. r. bhandari, has segmented sections of philosophies of plato, aristotle machiavelli. so it's more convenient for preparing answers.

i completely support floydian in his suggestions. question-answer format books are always more useful.

for book recommendations, please explore the forum. almost everyone has suggested one or two books. read the recently posted interview of our batch topper.

regards,

Adil Memon

Last edited by Adil Memon; Tuesday, August 11, 2009 at 10:12 PM.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Adil Memon For This Useful Post:
amina1 (Tuesday, August 11, 2009), floydian (Tuesday, August 11, 2009)