-   Frequently Asked Questions (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/)
-   -   Officers Academy Lahore - Unveiled and Unfurled (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/43956-officers-academy-lahore-unveiled-unfurled.html)

ThePhoenix Wednesday, January 26, 2011 08:50 PM

Officers Academy Lahore - Unveiled and Unfurled

[B]NOTE:[/B][B]This thread in no way reflects upon the personal lives of the individuals mentioned. Everyone is entitled to their own opinions. These are just mine intertwined with some verifiable facts. The rest i leave up to your infinitely creative minds.[/B]

[COLOR="Blue"][B]After viewing and going through several threads about which academy is better and which is not, i've decided to write my own account of the academy i attended. Maybe this account will help future CSS aspirants to make up their minds more accurately and decide which academy to enroll themselves into.[/B][/COLOR]

And here we go...

Being one of the most prestigious and well renowned CSS academies in the Lahore District, Officers Academy fails to live up to its name. My very first day at Officers academy, i had a late epiphany - 'its a business. Period!'. But lets move on to the more finer aspects of attending Officers Academy Lahore.

[B]1. Capitalism -[/B] now this is something we Pakistanis are prone to dealing with everyday. However, this ideology gains new heights when one enrolls at Officers Academy Lahore. After initially paying the tuition fee of 35K, one is not relinquished from his duties of paying more 'dough' to the 'Officers Academy Trust Fund'. The various money siphoning techniques employed by SP Syed Hammad Haider include (but are not limited to):
- overpriced notes,
- an extra charge of Rs. 4000 on top of the initial Rs. 35000 for tests,
- Rs. 2000 for the 'Golden Notes' - a 300 page booklet containing current affair notes,
- daily lectures and topics not covered in class (which are 'supposed' to be read and understood by the student himself/herself), etc.

While a person with a financially stable background may be able to afford it, a person who has moved to the city from a distant village and belongs to a low/middle class family (majority of CSS aspirants) may find it hard to afford such 'lucrative' notes but apparently Officers Academy (which henceforth will be called OA) fail to recognize it.

[B]2. Punctuality -[/B] Undermined strongly at Officers Academy, the brightest example is the Principal/Teacher SP Syed Hammad Haider. If a class (70% of which are taught by SP Hammad himself) is supposed to start at 10, it will, with the grace of Almighty Allah, start at 10:30 if you're lucky enough and if SP Hammad did not forget to set the alarm the previous night. Ask any forum member, who attended/attends Officers Academy, and he will repeat this statement. When asked about this 'punctual' behavior, SP Hammad jokingly quotes "This was put in effect so that the students feel relaxed by the time i start the class." However, most of the other teachers do arrive on time but have to wait until SP Hammad finishes his absurdly late started class.

[B]3. Guidance -[/B] Abundantly available. Although SP Hammad may seem to be a bit outdated at times, other teachers like Mr. Tahir and Mr. Jafri are always there to help you even with the most mundane questions that you might have about CSS and its policies. Also, SP Hammad's brother Waqar is a very reliable source as well. No pun intended.

[B]4. Inefficient Faculty -[/B] As shocked as you might be when you come to learn of the realities of life, still more shocked you will be when you take your first steps inside Officers Academy. Apart from SP Hammad, Mr. Tahir, Mr. Mehmood Jafri and Mr. Zakaullah, the rest of the faculty are recently qualified students. Now ask yourself, a student who recently passed his CSS examination (2009 to be precise) and has no teaching experience, teaching you two to three compulsory courses. Let your imagination soar and think deeply about this. Apart from that, the Islamiat professor is perhaps the most fanatical, extremist and disrespectful man you'll ever meet. Yes i'm talking ofcourse about Mr. Zakaullah. In the first three weeks since my session started, six females left the class due to his obscene jokes. Now is this something you would expect from an islamiat professor? This is an eyewitness account ;)

[B]5. Male Chauvinism -[/B] Thought i should include this in my account for my female peers. Known for his well rehearsed male superiority comments, many female students walked out of SP Hammad's classes while the other females remained quiet having more tolerance to this sort of sexist behavior. So ladies beware! You've got a male chauvinistic principal if you join OA. If you have tolerance for this sort of opinions, then i urge you to enroll yourself at OA. Your patience will be tested to its limits. :haha

[B]6. Management -[/B] Hostile and ogling management resides at OA. Until recently, the evening receptionist was fired for consistent ogling and obscene remarks about a female student (after repeated complaints by the female to SP Hammad). The rest of the management have been known to behave rudely to students especially Hassan who, despite his rude comments and ill expression, does not differentiate between males and females :con

[B]7. The Principal -[/B] Now we come to the most impressive and outspoken personality of all. Yes you've guessed it right. Ladies and Gentlemen, allow me to reintroduce SP Syed Hammad Haider - owner, founder, CEO, principal and teacher of OA. This person is perhaps the best guide money can buy. He will tell you the subjects which you should opt for (coincidentally everyone ends up opting for sociology, journalism, british history, international law and/or geography - which are all taught by him - amazing isn't it?). I respect him as an older brother but i have to say this guy is a bit of a shylock when it comes to cash. [I]PERSONAL EXPERIENCE:[/I] Me and some other students had the misfortune to have lunch with him once. Some students were insisting on having a farewell when session ended so one day he asked a couple of students to have lunch with him. We departed the academy together and ended up in Salt n' Pepper village. When the lunch was almost over, he called a waiter over and told him that two students would pay for him. Apparently everyone thought it was a joke but how wrong we were! Those two ended up paying for him and in return all they got was a quick "Thanks" and boing! there he went. We weren't expecting him to pay for all of us but we could've been dutch and paid for ourselves. Apart from that, he's a very intellectual guy who teaches well. I still respect him and i hope, despite his innumerable cons, God bless him and guide him in the right path as he has for a lot of students (after they paid the tuition fee ofcourse) :dd

Now i don't know what other academies are like since i was caught up in this word to mouth marketing hoax and ended up paying for the entire session at once and therefore could not exit when i wanted. Alas! The pain!

As for my credibility, i've been studying at OA for the past five months being a CSS 2011 aspirant.

[B]Again, this article does not reflect anyone's personality and is merely what i observed. The facts provided in this article are genuine and can therefore be verified by anyone.[/B]

soloflyer Wednesday, January 26, 2011 08:58 PM

your so right brother... i myself visited this academy for 2 months ...and i left it even though i had paid for 2.5 months. the reason being most of the time mr.Sp was late and whole day was wasted....and sometimes especially in sociology or journalism class he will start bashing the girls in the whole lecture....and one time i asked him about the syllabus of british history 2 ....he plainly refused saying that it was against the academy rules...i told him that i had paid for half session and i will pay more afterwards...but he still refused..that was the last day i went to that academy...SP wants money only....he lies a lot ... in one class he said that no student of officers academy has ever failed in the essay paper....haha...
that was my experience

Sandhurst Wednesday, January 26, 2011 09:35 PM

As far as I know, he is no longer a serving SP. He was dismissed from service for faking his medical condition when subjected to a full medical tribunal.

aminshah101 Wednesday, January 26, 2011 09:54 PM

Well, really :wacko:

I heard he is on paid leave for 3 years or so.

And yes, the Academy has not been impressive that's why I left it for good. Tahir, Jafri sb and Umer Farooq (the EDS guy) were good.

mjkhan Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:08 PM

@phoenix

brother if asked would you adise anyone to join officers academy?
despite of all the loopholes you mentioned above do you think you gained something out of OA?
what are other options if not OA?(obviously css forum is alwayz there so need not to mention;))

ThePhoenix Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:27 PM

[QUOTE=Sandhurst;258303]As far as I know, he is no longer a serving SP. He was dismissed from service for faking his medical condition when subjected to a full medical tribunal.[/QUOTE]
you know sandhurst, you're so right.
I have no idea why he writes these initials (SP) before his name. I mean on all his notes and brochures he writes SP Syed Hammad Haider even though he's not even in service.
I guess its to attract the common man and get him to think that this SP Hammad will make him a ASP in police :D

[QUOTE=aminshah101;258310]Well, really :wacko:

I heard he is on paid leave for 3 years or so.

And yes, the Academy has not been impressive that's why I left it for good. Tahir, Jafri sb and Umer Farooq (the EDS guy) were good.[/QUOTE]

aminshah101 you were luckier than most of us at OA. You got out right at the beginning i imagine and were better off. For me, i got stuck because i was dumb enough to pay the entire tuition in one go just because i was getting a discount. hehe

amk426 Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:36 PM

What I heard about SP Hammad.He has been dismissed form police service, as he was posted somewhere in northern area and did not joined and sent some fake medical. Hammad’s top priority is money and he earned a lot out this academy phenomenon. The trend in CSS 2010 written papers is quite different and now FPSC is discouraging FORMULA preparation , furthermore the reforms in CSS exam is also expected to enforce by 2012 so this academy theory may not be so much successful in future.

sajidnuml Wednesday, January 26, 2011 10:46 PM

@ThePhoenix

You are absolutely right. but these personalities are the part of every private instituion. You will find Sp Hamads in Kips, Noa, Nova. etc. yet candidates will join acadmies and will give account of thier sufferings to other students later on, as you have done it now. I have never been to acadamy. it is not because I could not afford tution fee, it is for the reason that they exploit students. Mushrooming of private acadmies in the recent years proves that it is a wonderful bussines provided you have the best propaganda machine. advertising made thier task easy.

It is a culture we have encouraged ourselves. the things you have told us are not new to this forum. Already many candidtes shared thier bitter experiencees here. But the quesions is through what way it is made possible to save the candidates from this wholesale plunder.
untill we present a solution to this question these monotonous tales would continue
resurfacing. And I will enjoy reading (hearing) them.

Once a very a close friend of mine consulted me on this issue. I suggested him not to join any acadamy for preparing css, I asked him if he had extra money he should donate it. anyway there were few others who opposed me saying i knew nothing. anyway my friend took admission in an acadmy in Johar town Lahore. Atleast you attended classes for 5 months however my friend left only after a month saying " I have wasted my money already now I do not want to waste my time here".

aariz Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:29 PM

@ThePhoenix
You have done brilliant job by narrating true picture of the officer academy. This is the same story of academies in Karachi. Most aspirants are being befooled and looted by CSP officers. KIPS,UQAIPS and the Commoners are examples. In short, exorbitant fees and no assessment.

Xeric Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:29 PM

In this post an academy is criticized particular which is against the norms of journalism ethics if you write it in newspaper. It can also be a tactic to defame this academy on commercial grounds. I am against the trends of academies since its inception because these are instruments of minting money for the owners.

Your allegations carry weight but its partiality questions the credibility of your analysis. Many members of the forum must be agree with these facts by it is not these are not uncommon in other academies.

aariz Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:30 PM

There shall be consumer violation cases on these academies. :angry:

Xeric Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:33 PM

[QUOTE=aariz;258355]There shall be consumer violation cases on these academies. :angry:[/QUOTE]

No one tried we have already consumer protection courts and they can be questioned there. But who cares? people pay, waste their money and then leave themselves on the mercy of circumstances.

Tehriim Wednesday, January 26, 2011 11:44 PM

I attended some lectures there in Aug, this is said by SP Hammad in front of us girls
"har rooz teen question prepare karein jaisa ke expert kehtay hain ke shadi se pehlay kisi aurat ke saath sleep kar lein, aapko shadi k baad mushkil nahi ho gi" issi tarah final exam mei mushkil nahi ho gi

ufff...... thank god i left the community

ThePhoenix Thursday, January 27, 2011 01:00 AM

[QUOTE=Binyamin;258354]In this post an academy is criticized particular which is against the norms of journalism ethics if you write it in newspaper. It can also be a tactic to defame this academy on commercial grounds. I am against the trends of academies since its inception because these are instruments of minting money for the owners.

Your allegations carry weight but its partiality questions the credibility of your analysis. Many members of the forum must be agree with these facts by it is not these are not uncommon in other academies.[/QUOTE]

Binyamin you're absolutely right in claiming that this would be a "tactic to defame this academy on commercial grounds" however, what you failed to notice is that i am not advertising any other academy. I merely posted a realistic picture of my experience in that particular academy (not to mention i'm still enrolled there because of my earlier decision to pay the full amount instead of monthly installments).

My only purpose was to educate the audience with what this particular academy is doing to its students and if you didn't notice i did mention that this is "my opinion intertwined with verifiable facts". Just wanted to make sure that other students don't make the same mistake i did.

Cheerio!

[QUOTE=Tehriim;258359]I attended some lectures there in Aug, this is said by SP Hammad in front of us girls
"har rooz teen question prepare karein jaisa ke expert kehtay hain ke shadi se pehlay kisi aurat ke saath sleep kar lein, aapko shadi k baad mushkil nahi ho gi" issi tarah final exam mei mushkil nahi ho gi

ufff...... thank god i left the community[/QUOTE]

Thank you Tehriim. This is exactly what i was talking about.

Maha Khan Thursday, January 27, 2011 07:50 AM

[COLOR="DarkRed"][SIZE="3"][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]I second the opinion of my other forum members...one thing,i noted that Mrs Hamad Haider'atitude is also very very rude...she used to discconect phone calls if some person wants only CSS,PMS information and not about admission...:)I dont know what went wrong with Sir Hammad,may be he is a complexed person(suspended Csp).....Golden notes are nothing...if you need notes,because you dont want to make your own notes then Toppers academy notes will be a better option for you people...i have seen some of their updated topics like Flood crisis,Baluchistan issue,18th amendment...they will defintely remove your confusion regarding these issues....being a senoir member and student of OFFicer Academy,i can only suggest you...as far as,Sir Hammad is concerned my forum brother is 100%right...once,i participaited in Officers' acdemy seminar in which he himself invited all the qualifiers,and asked them after seminar'Refrehment would be given to them"...but after,seminar he announced"only those people may come for refreshemnt who are from OFFICERS Academy,and other may go"....though i was a student of Officers Academy yet i felt very bad and left the academy...my one friend told me later that he entertain the guests in refrehment with only"tea,biscuits and "1" chicken rol'...:)what is this???we all are very mature at this level...but Sp Hammad is not...?yes he is very intelligent...but what is the purpose of Education?...Education is definetly a name of manners and patience....
Regards[/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR]

sumia Thursday, January 27, 2011 11:37 AM

[FONT="Verdana"][COLOR="Magenta"] academy is important for people who know little or nothing about css...now a days teachers of schools ,colleges,universities also treat education as nothing more than business...so these academies are no exception...! [/COLOR][/FONT]

naveed jamali Thursday, January 27, 2011 01:21 PM

need information about about NOA Hyd

can any one share his/her experience on Fida hussain's academy in hyderabad?

Sandhurst Thursday, January 27, 2011 10:52 PM

@Greenhorn

There is no conspiracy against this academy. It is the reality.

Hammad's actions are disgraceful and his dismissal from service is what he deserved. His using the title of "SP" is illegitimate given that he was dismissed from service, way back in 2006.

There can be no paid leave for 3 years when a person has had such a short career. So this story of him availing a 3 yrs paid leave is incorrect. I have known him since 2005 and since that time he has never been on duty and neither has he been promoted from the rank of "SP". I wonder if he still is in service why is he not getting promoted?

This academy is a one-man show revolving around the personality of Hammad who through his disgraceful actions is only tarnishing the image of CSP Officers. The specific allegations contained in the posts of ThePhoenix are confirmed by other forum members. His so-called "Golden Notes" is only the glitter which can NEVER be gold. His sexist remarks create an abysmal environment within the academy. He has been influential enough to force closure of book shops in Civic Centre, Barkat Market which had attempted to sell some of his notes at discounted rates. Those notes were originally written by Athar Ismail, PSP and were never Hammad's property or under his copyright so anybody could sell them but he sent his goons who forced the closure of the bookshops. His miserly behaviour when arranging seminars or so-called refreshments is well-known.

Administration of CSS Forum is requested to retain and properly advertise this thread on the main page so that candidates cannot be exploited by such professional swindlers and unscrupulous elements like Hammad.

Maha Khan Friday, January 28, 2011 08:14 AM

[COLOR="DarkRed"][SIZE="3"][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]Sir Hammad once said in class"mein kyun jaon Gilgit...Lhr mein daily 2 lakh kama laita hun...logun ko kia takliff hai??..yes,he forcely disclosed "Sunny book shop"in Barket market...and owner of Asad Photocopy shop-Pizza Hutt,near Barket Market told me once he received threats from SP Hammad when he refused to give him KIPS' notes(which some student wanted to photocopy,and sir Hammad saw them when he visited that shop )......Sp Hammad is now not a csp ..but other persons are..thatswhy,he is behaving in this manner...he is a complexed person...a Deviant in a sociological term:)(well,he himself teaches sociology,so better knows about his psycholoy).....his notes are really good but expensive...he thinks we are not living in Pakistan or our parents are earning"Haram"like suspended Csps....:wub:..its not just my personal experience,but everybody hurts due to his ignorant and haughty atitude....Sir Jaffry is so nice...he is a real Csp....May Allah bless him....
Regards[/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR]

MAA_LLM Friday, January 28, 2011 12:40 PM

[QUOTE=Maha Khan;258845][COLOR="DarkRed"][SIZE="3"][FONT="Comic Sans MS"]Sir Hammad once said in class"mein kyun jaon Gilgit...Lhr mein daily 2 lakh kama laita hun...logun ko kia takliff hai??..yes,he forcely disclosed "Sunny book shop"in Barket market...and owner of Asad Photocopy shop-Pizza Hutt,near Barket Market told me once he received threats from SP Hammad when he refused to give him KIPS' notes(which some student wanted to photocopy,and sir Hammad saw them when he visited that shop )......Sp Hammad is now not a csp ..but other persons are..thatswhy,he is behaving in this manner...he is a complexed person...a Deviant in a sociological term:)(well,he himself teaches sociology,so better knows about his psycholoy).....his notes are really good but expensive...he thinks we are not living in Pakistan or our parents are earning"Haram"like suspended Csps....:wub:..its not just my personal experience,but everybody hurts due to his ignorant and haughty atitude....Sir Jaffry is so nice...he is a real Csp....May Allah bless him....
Regards[/FONT][/SIZE][/COLOR][/QUOTE]
Well sister Maha, I dont know much abt Mr. Hammad, but I personally left the Officers Academy after joing it in September 2009, and two reasons among others for taking such harsh decion after paying the healthy fee, were

1. I dont know why but I feel Mr. Hammad had some proudy feeling or so. He behaves in class as he is some kind of extra ordinary man, and we are just begging for his help.

2. Apart from fee, I was extremely annoyed by the so much expensive notes. That was also part of his earning, and he just wanted to earn more and more.

May Allah guide him and all of us to the right path. Ameen.

mrshaggz Friday, January 28, 2011 03:33 PM

I completely concur with the other members of this thread. I am a current student of Officers Academy and I will surely not recommend this academy to anyone.

I have no issues with Mr. Hammad writing SP in front of his name or charging exorbitantly for the tuition and notes. This is his free will and only market forces will force him to reduce the academy charges and notes charges at a realistic level. I have however serious issues regarding [B][U]Punctuality[/U][/B] I am enrolled in the morning sessions, and since Mr. Hammad himself teaches 90%+ of the morning classes, his being punctual is of paramount importance to the rest of the students. Sadly he has never been on time, NOT even once! If a class is supposed to start at 10: 00am, rest assured, Mr. Hammad will not enter the premises before 10:40am. A couple of times, I even had to wait for 90 minutes and had to take the class with next session as Mr. Hammad was 'en route'! For me, the 40k I paid to the academy does not matters; time does! which Mr. Hammad ensured I paid for with abundance.

ThePhoenix Friday, January 28, 2011 11:49 PM

[B]Let me add some more dough to my first post:[/B]

Officers Academy is just leeching off of the credibility and popularity of top position holders. Otherwise, there is nothing in the academy worth attracting new students.

[B]8. Campus and Facilities -[/B] The campus of OA is actually a residence (SP Hammad's brother still lives there with his family and Hammad himself just recently moved out). The entire academy comprises of 3 rooms for lectures, a lawn, a waiting room and (just to impress people) a well furnished office for himself and in the reception area is a picture of him dressed up as a SP and meeting a minister.
I can tell you this from my own personal experience that during those really cold days of Nov-Dec, we used to sit in the class (which had windows but no glass in them) and literally freeze ourselves. When me and countless other students asked for heaters, his reply was always "woh partay nai aap kay government kehti hai kay kapray motay pehna kerain aur heater na use kerain". We asked again and again and guess what, those cold days are long gone and there are still no heaters or glass in those windows.
Apart from that, we do have chairs in those rooms (Thank God) but oh guess what! The rooms are so crowded with furniture that it makes coming/going into a class harder than solving a Rubik's cube.

ThePhoenix Thursday, February 03, 2011 11:03 PM

Just got to know that two senior teachers at Officers Academy are giving private tuition sessions to CSS candidates/aspirants and Oh! guess what? The students they are teaching come mostly from Officers Academy.

Amazing isn't it? :laughing

(won't name any names since my job is to inform and not to extort)

sairaBano Friday, February 04, 2011 12:07 AM

Well i was just planning to join that academy but now reading all this :(

i have heard that their Current Affair notes are always very valuable. What you guys sat about that? Is here ny other source for current affair notes?

Pakistaniguy Friday, February 04, 2011 12:23 AM

Just Direction

Well guyz, you will find these kinds of teachers in every academy. True aspirants of CSS just get direction from these academies and they work diligently. They do not beleive on others' notes but they prepare their own notes. And they do not spend much time in academy especialy when they find that teachers are wasting their time. Wish you all goodluck for all your future endeavors.

ThePhoenix Friday, February 04, 2011 12:31 AM

[QUOTE=sairaBano;261097]Well i was just planning to join that academy but now reading all this :(

i have heard that their Current Affair notes are always very valuable. What you guys sat about that? Is here ny other source for current affair notes?[/QUOTE]
I have personally seen the Current Affairs notes of OA. They have two versions of their notes.
- The older 'Golden Notes' which have outdated current affairs notes. Available for 500.
- The newer 'Golden Notes' which are actually the other current affairs notes plus some 30 odd pages of new material. Available for 2000.

If you want to waste 2000 rupees on CA notes then be my guest. Otherwise, Jahangir Book Depot's World Times (Annual Edition) will work wonders for your CSS preparation.

I could've bought the so called 'Golden Notes' but i passed the offer. For me, Jahangir Times' World Edition is enough. It is updated with the latest of whatever is happening in the world with special emphasis on Pakistan's relations with other countries. Suppose you don't read the newspaper and are totally clueless about CA, then imagine you getting a year's worth of current affairs knowledge from one book. Yup the World Times (Annual Edition) makes it possible.

Apart from that, it has sections which help you with journalism, public ad, english and numerous other subjects. All of this in one book. What else could you want?

It usually retails for around 800 rupees in bookstore but if you can get to Urdu Bazaar, you'll get it for around 650.

Hope this helps. Hope for the best, prepare for the worst.

Peac3!

armaghan_arif Friday, February 04, 2011 01:12 AM

@all

salam people if u like to get officers academy notes in 300 to 400 mail me i would tell u the easy way to get them thanx

sajidnuml Friday, February 04, 2011 03:34 AM

@ThePhoenix

I like your campaign against the officers academy but you have not come up with a solid argument with respect to the role of other academies, by that you mean if not OA join other ones. but to me they are all alike no difference since the prime aim of private institutions is to rob you of your hard earned money nothing else.

Yes I understand that what you are sharing hre is your personal experience and has no other motives other than to expose to the candidates the real picture of this academy. As I have already said private education is a curse and shuold be condemns whatever way it is possible. even though there are its advantages I do not deny but its disadvantages predominate its advantages.

Therefore I am of the opinion that we should come up with clear cut arguments: "Say no to private education". Since change begins from home, we should discourage our friends, family members from sending their children to these houses of trade. We can have alternatives in the form of community schools suppose if government schools are not good. These community schools, institutions should be run on no loss no benefit basis. Same could be applied to css Acadmies. Where the motive should be to impart education not to earn money on different pretext.

This Forum is an example of Community Education System. Here people from diverse backgrounds participate and spend hours in making other students understand some things they otherwise can not. You are doing the same by participating so am I. Likewise we can have community education system which could be far better then these products (Private schools) of capitalism.

ThePhoenix Friday, February 04, 2011 01:47 PM

Well said sajidnuml. Indeed i did not come up with an argument with respect to other academies. As i said in my posts earlier, i do not judge neither do i further the practice of judging others on preconceived notions. I provided my account and i left the space open for others to share their experiences.
I do not advocate other academies nor do i think they're saints. All these popular academies are out to suck your wallets dry. In a way you're right dude except that i hold no grudges against OA or any other academy. If you feel like joining OA, feel free. I can't stop or force you to make a decision :P

Seemal Friday, February 04, 2011 04:09 PM

I am currently enrolled at Officer's Academy and much to my plight, most of what ThePhoenix said is true. I have just joined one of the new sections this month and when i first read this article, i sent an email to Sir Hammad to ask for its authenticity. He did not reply and i sent him another email to which i still did not get an answer.
I think this proves that he has nothing to say or deny from the article. He comes very late and i don't have the courage to ask him face on.
I think i will be leaving this academy as it seems to be a waste of time and money. Since i am appearing in 2012, i still have time to ponder my choice of academy.
Anyways thanks ThePhoenix for such an enlightening article/post. God bless you and grant you success in CSS.

P.S. Sir Hammad does not stop provoking us girls and i am sick of his anti-female derogatory remarks.

Maha Khan Friday, February 04, 2011 06:30 PM

[QUOTE=Seemal;261465]I am currently enrolled at Officer's Academy and much to my plight, most of what ThePhoenix said is true. I have just joined one of the new sections this month and when i first read this article, i sent an email to Sir Hammad to ask for its authenticity. He did not reply and i sent him another email to which i still did not get an answer.
I think this proves that he has nothing to say or deny from the article. He comes very late and i don't have the courage to ask him face on.
I think i will be leaving this academy as it seems to be a waste of time and money. Since i am appearing in 2012, i still have time to ponder my choice of academy.
Anyways thanks ThePhoenix for such an enlightening article/post. God bless you and grant you success in CSS.

P.S. Sir Hammad does not stop provoking us girls and i am sick of his anti-female derogatory remarks.[/QUOTE]

Dear! Sir Hammad will never ever reply you:)....its my request to all forum members plz dont buy his so called "Golden Notes"...make your own notes...but "SAY NO TO HAMMAD":laughing..I know he will say after reading this article"O hain kia ye log jo mere against bol rhe hain...?kia pta inko?Hamad-No Comparison-....:)Toppers academy ki conspiracy hai ye,Fail shuda hain ye Saleem sahib Css mein...hain kia ye???...dekh lun ga sub ko",,,,:laughing...

Kamran Friday, February 04, 2011 06:47 PM

[QUOTE=Maha Khan;261516]Dear! Sir Hammad will never ever reply you:)....its my request to all forum members plz dont buy his so called "Golden Notes"...make your own notes...but "SAY NO TO HAMMAD":laughing..I know he will say after reading this article"[B]O hain kia ye log jo mere against bol rhe hain...?kia pta inko?Hamad-No Comparison-....:)Toppers academy ki conspiracy hai ye,Fail shuda hain ye Saleem sahib Css mein...hain kia ye???...dekh lun ga sub ko",,,,[/B]:laughing...[/QUOTE]

lolz....you know too much about abt SP Hammad.:)

During Medical tests in last month,I happened to meet a CE 2010 written qualifier.He was giving all credit of his success to SP saab.Kaya yeh khula tazaad nae?

Maha Khan Friday, February 04, 2011 07:21 PM

[QUOTE=Kamran;261522]lolz....you know too much about abt SP Hammad.:)

During Medical tests in last month,I happened to meet a CE 2010 written qualifier.He was giving all credit of his success to SP saab.Kaya yeh khula tazaad nae?[/QUOTE]

He is a good teacher but jo unko janta hai wo kabhi apni success ka credit unko nhi de skta...apne Parents ko de skta hai:(...i was in his hostel...7000 per month..jub k admission k wakt call pe 5000 kha tha...but after reaching acdemy with luggage he said"mein n 7000 hi kha tha",,...so,I cannot give credit to him...my cupboards are filled with useless notes about which he used to say",must lain"....khair all these are good memories with Pain:)...but hum inexperienced the... now this forum is giving us an oppotunity to share our views and emotions about Officers Academy...im not his fan but really grateful to my father who spent alot...Hats off u to baba...;)

mani1 Friday, February 04, 2011 07:55 PM

Officers academy also has a hotel? I never knew that....kahan hai?

Maha Khan Friday, February 04, 2011 09:00 PM

[QUOTE=mani1;261545]Officers academy also has a hotel? I never knew that....kahan hai?[/QUOTE]

Yes,it was in walton...running by his sister..he used to visit daily there...(hostel for girls)

ineXorable Friday, February 04, 2011 09:01 PM

Just read the first post in the thread and I have to say its pretty spot on. The delay in classes is quite frustrating.

Sir Jaffari was the only reason I went to the academy and skipped almost all the remaining lectures. Then again maybe all the academies are meant to be like this. Maybe the whole point of going to the academy is to interact with others who are preparing for the exams - share ideas with them and have discussions, pretty much like this forum. Oh and Geography lectures were also of great help !

So according to me here are the pros and the cons:

Pros: If you are having trouble with something you will know where to go for help/guidance plus as I said earlier, discussions with other (serious) students can be really really helpful.

Cons: A little expensive and you waste a lot of time there !!

Bottom Line: If you can afford it I'd say go for it. After all you pay 35k for the whole 6 months or so and they teach you more than 8 subjects.

P.S: Get the golden notes from Punjab Univerty's 'Tahir Photocopy shop' for Rs 250.
In fact I get all my notes from that guy instead of paying double the price at the academy you can get them for Rs 0.90/page. A pretty amazing deal I'd say !!

Dorothy Saturday, February 05, 2011 12:09 PM

[QUOTE=ThePhoenix;258322]Well firstly thanks for taking the time to read the article.
Secondly, it depends on the person itself if he/she wants to get something out of an experience however bad it might be.
For myself, i learned very little but yes i did get to know the basics about CSS since i have lived and studied abroad for the past five years but i guess any academy will tell you the basics.
One good thing that came out of me joining this academy is that i met some really intellectual people (who didn't like the academy either :P)

Overall, if you want my advice, don't go for OA since its both expensive and has a very casual environment. Such an environment does not foster learning and CSS is all about learning, knowledge and hardwork

Hope for the best, prepare for the worst. Good luck[/QUOTE]

hi..wat do you think about css department of css they are also doing good....i attend there session and it speaks volumes...on the other hand a lady sitting over there rabia basri was v v helpfil to me..i guess they are bes so far coz i ve been to all the institutes guys...goodluck

its real as mr hammad m so sorry to say but never incourage questions in class and behave as if he is running the country himself..he is not at all an edcationist..i over there felt that m among cheaters not teachers and as far as mr hammad is concern he portrays the approch of dealer not leader....this is a dellima that today ppl hav made education their bussiness and playing with dreams of students coming from all the corners of pakistan just for the sake of css.

Davidofff Sunday, February 06, 2011 03:11 PM

[FONT="Arial Black"]As someone who has known Hammad Haider long enough,I don't have a single favourable thing to say about him.To me,he reeks through and through of bad grooming.And he has never known any such thing as work ethics.Other academies might be just as rotten as OA but believe me,it is safer to visit a place that does not have a psycopath on the loose!![/FONT]

Seemal Sunday, February 06, 2011 03:12 PM

I just left the academy yesterday. I was talking to my friends about leaving the academy and Sir Hammad suddenly came behind us and asked me why i am leaving the academy. I told him about his lateness and then the fact that i was not receiving proper guidance and that none of the lectures were making any sense to me and his reply was:

"Aap jaisay logon ko CSS kerna he nai chahiyay. Business background walon ka koi kaam nai hai yahan."

In response i said, "Aap ko lerkiyon sey baat kernay ki tameez he nai hai Sir."
I said that and left fuming. Now is that how you talk to a girl? Kitnay ghalat tareekay sey baat ki hai unhon ney.

I'm sorely disappointed at that loser. :mad:

Davidofff Sunday, February 06, 2011 03:25 PM

@seemal
[FONT="Arial Black"]A single conversation with that man brings out how badly he lacks good grooming.He grew up imbibing those street urchin kind of manners!You should not be surprised if he rolled up his sleeves and packed u a big punch!!!You can even count on him for that.Like I said earlier,other academies might be just as bad when it comes to teaching but at least they dont harbour psycopaths.Really,I am not kidding.If u observe his behaviour,it wouldn't take u long to figure out what that something sure is wrong with him.[/FONT]

12:08 PM (GMT +5)