-   Frequently Asked Questions (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/)
-   -   techniques of reading (http://www.cssforum.com.pk/beginners-guide/frequently-asked-questions/61473-techniques-reading.html)

Aziz714 Friday, March 16, 2012 08:58 PM

techniques of reading

i am new reader of dawn and my english is not well plz guide me which part is benefit for me

usman khalid Friday, March 16, 2012 09:09 PM

[QUOTE=Aziz714;414156]i am new reader of dawn and my english is not well plz guide me which part is benefit for me[/QUOTE]

Read the Headlines, Letters to the Editor and Editorial Section.

Binte Shafiq5 Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:36 PM

I have also question regarding reading newspaper. I wanna ask that should we have to memorize the important happenings or facts mentioned in news paper like would there be any question related to them in papers. In my opinion in essay paper the current issues are addressed, so what should I do with it!
Secondily I mark out difficult word which are unknown to me and look for their meanings as well and then use them in sentences. But the thing is when I sit to write something I cant execute my vocabulary:confused: Its not that my english is weak Alhamdolillah I am good with it, But :sad: Somebody please help me on it!!!

marilatif Wednesday, March 21, 2012 11:55 PM

[QUOTE=Binte Shafiq5;415701]I have also question regarding reading newspaper. I wanna ask that should we have to memorize the important happenings or facts mentioned in news paper like would there be any question related to them in papers. In my opinion in essay paper the current issues are addressed, so what should I do with it!
Secondily I mark out difficult word which are unknown to me and look for their meanings as well and then use them in sentences. But the thing is when I sit to write something I cant execute my vocabulary:confused: Its not that my english is weak Alhamdolillah I am good with it, But :sad: Somebody please help me on it!!![/QUOTE]

yeah miss it happens with all the beginners. however, the problem will be diluted with the passage of time. so according to me ur strategy to remember vocabulary is good. u continue to pick difficult words and memorize them. with continuous writing practice, u will feel that u are gradually using those words in ur language.

secondly, there is no need to remember the facts and figures from newspaper. with the regular reading, these facts will automatically be settled in ur mind. because most of these issues are repeated.

however, if u want to beautify ur language then do remember some good sentences of renowned writers. try to imitate their style. that will greatly benefit u, when u will appear in ur exam.

gulaqsa Sunday, March 25, 2012 03:32 PM

[quote=binte shafiq5;415701]i have also question regarding reading newspaper. I wanna ask that should we have to memorize the important happenings or facts mentioned in news paper like would there be any question related to them in papers. In my opinion in essay paper the current issues are addressed, so what should i do with it!
Secondily i mark out difficult word which are unknown to me and look for their meanings as well and then use them in sentences. But the thing is when i sit to write something i cant execute my vocabulary:confused: Its not that my english is weak alhamdolillah i am good with it, but :sad: Somebody please help me on it!!![/quote]
aoa sister! Jst keep on practicing n practice with online english vcbs sites n read 20 to 25 vcabs daily also , day by day u will learn to use them in sentences as well insha allah ,, jazaka`allah :)

sabahatbhutta Sunday, March 25, 2012 05:03 PM

If you want to enhance your vocabulary kindly please dont try to memorize the words...
If you will try to memorize you will feel shy to use it in sentences and hence you will loose your confidence you will always think of whether you have used the word according to its real meaning in the sentence or not, whether it suits the sentence or not, am I wrong or correct,???? these questions when arise to your mind you will not be able to use the words, the only solution to this problem is just read the newspaper for the sake of getting knowledge and when you read it with interest you will automatically get the vocabulary and structure of the sentence into your bones. read the editorial of different newspapers it will help you to get to know about different techniques of good writing.

rushna khalil Wednesday, April 18, 2012 09:47 PM

refer monthly current affairs digest

guys 2day i found a very useful source for getting prepared for current affairs papers. it was current affairs digest which is published on monthly basis bearing detailed reviews on issues started in previous month.....it is very useful...do refer it.

Mehwish Urooj Wednesday, April 18, 2012 10:12 PM

[QUOTE=rushna khalil;422536]guys 2day i found a very useful source for getting prepared for current affairs papers. it was current affairs digest which is published on monthly basis bearing detailed reviews on issues started in previous month.....it is very useful...do refer it.[/QUOTE]

Please share the name name of that current affairs digest please....................

Qazi Tuesday, May 29, 2012 10:50 PM

Mehwish this is the name for that digest

shanimba1 Wednesday, May 30, 2012 01:11 AM

Dear css aspirant,
i have got these names through cssforum,monthly contemporary affairs by Imtiaz Shahid and if you want to the point and exact answers as asked in exams then you can refer Jahangir world times magzine.and one another best magazine is world times, which can cover your topics of current affairs and rest of subjects.you may also read the "Monthly Current Affairs Digest" by A.H Publishers. This monthly issue keeps valuable information about the ongoing current situation of the world

04:12 AM (GMT +5)