12:41 AM (GMT +5)

Go Back   CSS Forums > Beginner's Guide > Frequently Asked Questions

Frequently Asked Questions Please read the posts before posting the queries.

Old Thursday, November 21, 2013

Raat ka musafir is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Seemab View Post
No worries. You have 30 days more than what I had both in CE2012 n 2013 (and cleared both times alhumdulillah). Believe me, you can get through it IF Allah wishes so for you, and if you prepare smartly.

First of all, gather last 10 years papers of all your subjects. Pick out the most common ones, and those that you find important. Prepare those areas perfectly.

I had Journalism in 2012. I consulted a single book "Exploring Journalism" plus a couple of internet resources for objectives and abbreviations.

For Punjabi, "Punjab Rang" by JAhangir Publishers would be enough. I prepared Lok geet, Sufi poetry, and the Nasar part except for tanqeed. Iy would be great if you can get some book with a collection of Sufi poetry, so that you have more and more verses to quote in the exam.

For Psychology, get both Sheherbano books for a general understanding; and get Feldman for detailed explanations of important topics.

May Allah be with you.
How you prepare current affair and which book you consult for essay.

Please tell me the book for international law. Is jahanger book enough for this subject.

wasif786 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Seemab View Post
No worries. You have 30 days more than what I had both in CE2012 n 2013 (and cleared both times alhumdulillah). Believe me, you can get through it IF Allah wishes so for you, and if you prepare smartly.

First of all, gather last 10 years papers of all your subjects. Pick out the most common ones, and those that you find important. Prepare those areas perfectly.

I had Journalism in 2012. I consulted a single book "Exploring Journalism" plus a couple of internet resources for objectives and abbreviations.

For Punjabi, "Punjab Rang" by JAhangir Publishers would be enough. I prepared Lok geet, Sufi poetry, and the Nasar part except for tanqeed. Iy would be great if you can get some book with a collection of Sufi poetry, so that you have more and more verses to quote in the exam.

For Psychology, get both Sheherbano books for a general understanding; and get Feldman for detailed explanations of important topics.

May Allah be with you.
Brother first of all congrats for your success. you have got through twice in Css exam. Please guide us how did you attempt essays? i have an essay phobia

Location: Currently living in Karachi but planning to move to Rawalpindi in early Jan, 2014.
yawar siab is on a distinguished road

AOA, wasif786 how do u say that? just in 60 days? please guide? i am going to appear in 2014.
Old Friday, November 22, 2013

tuaseenm is on a distinguished road

Hello ma'am,

I also just started my preparation for 2014 i.e two weeks ago and find the material not as hard as other aspirants have mentioned. I haven't prepared for essay or comp tho I just read newspapers thoroughly and keep check on how to attempt the questions . Most candidates that I've met say that 2.3 months is a waste of an attempt but I only have this last opportunity as I'm not that young. Can you hit me with some study tips, in general for subjects such as current affairs, pak affairs , English and international law(not sure u opted for it) or how much time I should study in a day .

As of now . I pull allnighters 5-6 hours continuous. Fajr tak
Old Friday, November 22, 2013

wasif786 is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by yawar siab View Post
AOA, wasif786 how do u say that? just in 60 days? please guide? i am going to appear in 2014.
Walikam salam. Brother i myself seeking for guidance. lets just follow the thread and suggestion given by seniors. May Allah be with us Ameen.
Old Saturday, November 23, 2013
42nd CTP (IRS)
CSP Medal: Awarded to those Members of the forum who are serving CSP Officers - Issue reason: CE 2013 - Merit 73

Seemab will become famous soon enoughSeemab will become famous soon enough

Originally Posted by The Shah Ends View Post
What was the topic you attempted in essay paper? and what was your approach to that topic? i mean a very moderate and fruitful approach or a bit conservative approach?
I chose "Let me take care of today, tomorrow shall take care of itself". I emphasized the significance of punctuality, time management, vigilance etc.

Originally Posted by wasif786 View Post
Brother first of all congrats for your success. you have got through twice in Css exam. Please guide us how did you attempt essays? i have an essay phobia
Thank you very much. I qualified ONLY because of Allah and prayers of my ami abu.

For essay, I usually choose a topic which sounds unique, and upon which I can write enough. This time, it took me around 15 minutes while deciding the topic. Once I decide the topic, I close my eyes for at least 15 minutes and begin thinking about the topic. whatever comes to my mind, I write it down on the back of my answer sheet.

Once I am done brainstorming, I begin with the outline. A rough one on the back side. after organizing it, I leave 3 pages in the start and begin with the essay.

I write down the neat outline in the end, after the late insertions in the rough one have been made and the essay has finished.

I only add 3 or 4 quotations i the essay, as I have a bad memory.

Try to support your argument with examples from history, and even made up examples like Mr. A and B etc.

Hope this helps.
anum balouch (Saturday, December 14, 2013), Nosheen Bukhari (Tuesday, December 17, 2013), Raat ka musafir (Saturday, November 23, 2013), SAMEYA AROOJ (Friday, December 06, 2013), student (Thursday, November 28, 2013), wasif786 (Sunday, November 24, 2013)
Old Saturday, November 23, 2013

samar ahmad is on a distinguished road

Its only myth that DAWN reading is compulsory for Css aspirants. Don't waste precious time. And if a person is weak in Eng & Essay after 16 years of study. Then he can't improve it in short time. Therefore he should not waste time in CSS attempts. Because always he will get below 40 in Essay. Its not FPSC cruelty. Its your fault.
Old Sunday, November 24, 2013

RJ STYLE is on a distinguished road

Ok I think that one should read Dawn or any newspaper to improve language skills n genral knowledge as well sorry to say but I can not understand how can we decide about any one that either he can learn any thing or not (mairay khyal main kuch bhi seekhnay ki koi specific age ya time to nehi hai) so those who want to improve themselves.by reading newspaper they should continue with it.
regards n stay blessed
Good luck
Old Sunday, November 24, 2013

tuaseenm is on a distinguished road

Well , personally I read dawn just because of getting a good view of the current circumstances in Pakistan; and reading and learning isn't just confined to passing the Federal Commission, the knowledge we acquire through reading newspaper and articles stay with us for the rest of our lives, and I believe that these exams are more luck than hardwork. It's not about how hard you work; it's about how smart you are in beating the test.
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to tuaseenm For This Useful Post:
anum balouch (Saturday, December 14, 2013), MianAhmadPP (Sunday, November 24, 2013), SAMEYA AROOJ (Friday, December 06, 2013)
Old Friday, December 13, 2013

Ayla Khan is on a distinguished road

How you people are planning to prepare EDS?
The Following User Says Thank You to Ayla Khan For This Useful Post:
ultimatestruggler (Monday, December 16, 2013)